Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.3 / 5
62% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder

Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder
Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder
Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder
Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder
Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder
Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder
Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Lousy Shredder scrapped as critical spare not available”

Written on: 13/09/2020 by Alfthesailor (1 review written)

This machine does not draw the waste into itself: you have to push it through which is very slow. "Rapid"? I don't think so. I wouldn't rate it to cut anything thicker that 15mm. The final straw was that a circular magnet which is part of the overload protection broke and they are not available from Bosch, or anywhere else as far as I can see, which is really poor. See this fault on Youtube. It seems others have had the same problem. Go for one of the crusher types which pull the foliage through. Complete waste of money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disappointing experience with bosch 2200”

Written on: 12/01/2020 by repot (1 review written)

We wanted a shredder so that the trees and shrubs we grew could be useful again in the compost. The Bosch was our first foray into the world of shredding (garden, not guitar). We chose it because of the expected quality from this brand. This was in late May 2018. The poor little machine failed to impress much from the start, eventually being returned when it stopped. The local importers (NZ) were very slow assessing and deciding what to do. After a while (weeds growing through the bits needing shredding by now) they decided to replace the motor/ Earlier this week, it just stopped, again. The local dealer Mitre10 gave a refund. We purchased a Morrison shredder, which has been going gangbusters ever since. It was cheaper too.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Does what it says...”

Written on: 18/02/2015 by Mayvu1983 (1 review written)

Brought this shredder as it was the best electric option available at the store I visited. I can confirm that it happily chips freshly cut branches to about 35mm diameter. It's just digested the entire foliage of an unwanted, 8m tall privet. Making sure you've broken the the branches into fairly straight sections is key to getting a good shred. The pokery thingamabob does a brilliant job of feeding stuff in without getting your paws near the whirly bits... The only clogs I had were when I let the waste material build up to the point where the outlet became blocked.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Weak and clogs up”

Written on: 15/09/2014 by Capucine8 (1 review written)

Very disappointed. This was my first purchase of a shredder and not what I expected based on seeing the neighbours. This was the only product in B&Q and as I already have several Bosch garden products I was happy to buy this without researching first. That was a mistake. Having now read reviews I can echo those that tell of frequent jams with fresh green leaves and twigs, and of strings rather than finely chopped material. I too do not believe it could handle 40mm! It would kill it! I think the vertical position of the blade is bound to be an issue. The feed is very narrow as well, making this much harder it needs to be. The day after my purchase I found my local independent garden centre has a much more powerful, heavier shredder for only £129 when I paid £200 for the lightweight but flimsy Bosch - gutted! But when the blades are gone that's what I'll buy! That product has a bigger feed and the blade sits horizontally which us bound to cut through rather than jam.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not Fit For Purpose”

Written on: 24/08/2014 by Luisq407 (1 review written)

Strips wood rather than cutting it - wood comes out in long strips. Constantly jams and requires unblocking. Very disappointed with this shredder. Returned it to B&Q for refund. Thank you B&Q, Newport Isle of Wight

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy this shredder”

Written on: 05/08/2014 by WannesRaps (1 review written)

This machine is poorly designed and constructed, and a constant source of irritation and frustration. It worked only more or less properly for 1 season (before, I had a very basic Black & Decker shredder which lasted 33 yr but this model alas is not available anymore). The blades become blunt very rapidly. It doesn't shred properly but spews out long strips of bark. It is constantly jamming, so you have to constantly open the machine, which is a tiresome procedure, and moreover it is safeguarded in such a way it becomes a nuisance (in the end the machine remained off after it was closed again so I had to bypass the security system). It is made to wear out rapidly, with the blades cutting against aluminium parts. Service is nonexistent, I was told I should buy a heavier Bosch model for my garden job (wich was perfectly within the limits of Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w job description).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Did not last long”

Written on: 12/11/2013

Ok at what it does but mine has failed after only 70 hours of use. Expected more from Bosch. Wont be replacing from the same manufacturer. Gets clogged up very easily and only mulche very thin branches. up to about 12mm

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This shredder is utter rubbsih. I agree with the...”

Written on: 03/04/2011 by Bervieboy (1 review written)

This shredder is utter rubbsih. I agree with the previous reviewer, it is almost unusable. I bought mine at Argos on the strength of previous very good reviews of it. I paid £129 for it but having used it would not pay more than £5 for it. The problem is the tiny cutting head which appears to deflect twigs and immediately jam it up. I tried a variety of garden waste but it struggled with twigs of more than 2mm diameter (I am amazed that some folks seem to have had it cutting branches of 4cm!). It repeatedly jammed despite trying to feed the material in very slowly and I had to give up after an hour of fruitlessly trying to get it to shred anything. All in all probably one of the worst purchases I have made.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I am so disappointed with this shredder - it works...”

Written on: 30/09/2010

I am so disappointed with this shredder - it works perfectly, but has a pathetically small feed and when putting soft leafy stuff through constantly blocks you then have to unskrew a knob to get it all back out again. Time consuming to the point of unusable. The worrying thing is this seems to have good reviews, so what am I going to replace it with?!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bought this after reading the above reviews, and they...”

Written on: 16/04/2010

Bought this after reading the above reviews, and they are all true this is a great bit of kit! It made light work of all my sticks twigs and the brambles, I just put an ordinary plastic rubble sack underneath and it left virtually no mess where I was working! It is not too loud and the pulp that comes out went straight on the garden . very happy. And to make things even better its now £109 at Lawsons !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The main reason I decided to purchase this shredder...”

Written on: 11/02/2010 by classic0904 (4 reviews written)

The main reason I decided to purchase this shredder was that it was a Which? Best Buy. I am very pleased with my purchase - the product is well made with the usual Bosch quality and works very well. The unique 'prodder' makes short work of weedy and softer garden rubbish. The machine is no more noisy that a typical motor mower, but it is a good idea to wear some basic ear protection due to the its proximity to the user, also eye protection is wise. I paid £160 at Argos, but could have got it for about £130 from Lawson Garden Products and Southampton, and that included delivery.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“ ”

Written on: 28/11/2009 by Magnetic (33 reviews written)


This year I have been kept busy in the garden, cutting and pruning some of the many bushes and shrubs I seem to have collected over the years! This has, unfortunately, left me with an ever increasing pile of twigs and branches which the local council don't want to know about unless I cut them to small pieces first!

We DID have a garden shredder however this gave up the ghost in a puff of black smoke some years ago and, apparently, would cost us more to repair than to replace so has consequently sat idle for years just taking up space that could well be used for something more useful!

During the past few weeks, we have had quite a bit of rain in our area, following an extremely dry summer, and the garden has subsequently become somewhat muddy. Whilst pondering this problem recently, I decided that if we bought a new shredder it would solve at least two existing problems - clearing all the debris left from my pruning efforts (apart from the big branches that is) and providing a decent dry material for surfacing the walking areas.

After a bit of on-line research we settled on the Bosch AXT 2200 Rapid Electric shredder. It was, by no means, the cheapest on offer, but it DID have some very positive customer reviews. It certainly had a lot of attractive features compared to the old one we had. For one thing it is much lighter - the last one weighed a ton! (A slight exaggeration of course). It also has wheels - oh joy! No more lugging a three legged monster round the garden before you can start!

Assembly was easy enough, just a matter of fixing the stand and wheels, which took a few minutes, no more. One thing I found out, when reading the instruction leaflet, is that the cutting blade (apparently laser cut) can be turned around when one side becomes blunted and replaced if and when necessary. They even supply an Allen Key with which to change it.

Now to the interesting bit! Cutting - or should I say shredding - is very easy. Of course, you don't expect huge branches to go through but, everything I have attempted so far has been "chewed up" - and "spat out" with great ease. There is even a red plastic "pusher" to help things go through. The blade is not visible as it has a plastic shield - another improvement over that last model we had, as it prevents the shredder throwing bits of twig and branch out the top, which can be hazardous for whoever is using it. I did find it a trifle noisy, but then I really didn't expect it to work in silence. It didn't seem much worse than the paper shredder indoors.

As you may have noticed, I am quite thrilled with this machine and look forward to clearing the entire garden with great ease. Would I recommend it? Definitely!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tony From Cambridge's Response to Magnetic's Review

Written on: 11/02/2010

I found this review helpful because... it gives an extensive analysis from real life experience (bit of a story as well)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“The Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder is better than i...”

Written on: 23/06/2009

The Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder is better than i hoped. extremely fast shredding

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder is a really good...”

Written on: 04/05/2009 by greef (2 reviews written)

Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder is a really good machine, does what it says on the tin. Ligtweight, simple to assemble and use, copes with branches up to 40mm. It doesn't come with a collection bag but this is not a problem. It's a tad noisy but no worse than a petrol lawnmower or similar.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought this Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder after...”

Written on: 14/01/2009 by Noodleopolis (1 review written)

I bought this Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder after reading the reviews on this, and other websites I was very impressed at how well it copes with a wide variety of garden material. It can really handle 40mm branches with no problems. Just be careful with any non organic material in the feeder. Stones and wire will blunt the blade instantly.
If you are only going to shred large branches, then the ATX 2200 Quiet Shredder may be more suitable than the Rapid Shredder.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Got this Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder a while back. ...”

Written on: 20/11/2008

Got this Bosch AXT Rapid 2200w Shredder a while back. It is a good looking and performing machine for the ecologically sound garden.
Reversible blade for when one side is blunt, Not too noisy, Self feeding on branches, Handles green leaves well, Easy and quick to clear if stops feeding properly, Fairly lightweight to move araound.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have owned this machine for a couple of years. While...”

Written on: 19/11/2008

I have owned this machine for a couple of years. While it worked it was brilliant. Then came the day when for no reason it started to make funny noises! I took it to my local power tool & equipment repairer who told me something small had broken inside but Bosch small parts were unavailable & I would have to buy a whole new motor..almost the cost of buying new machine. What a shame. I will be lost without it. Think I will invest in something a bit bigger next time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I was going to buy the ryobi 2400 instead of the Bosch...”

Written on: 28/06/2008 by firebobby (1 review written)

I was going to buy the ryobi 2400 instead of the Bosch AXT but after reading web site like this and others, i'm glad i didn't. I also thought i had made a mistake buying the Bosch AXT 2200 after watching Freds shed on You tube, it seemed very noisy. I started the machine up at 8am in my back garden,what a surprise: very quiet.
It was a joy to use,my 13 year old son was soon out and watching, after few safety tips he was using it. I had cut the hedge and some branches from trees in the garden, it reduced all of this into fine mulch. We are very pleased with the AXT 2200,and would recomend this shredder.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We bought this Bosch AXT Rapid 2200 shredder as it was...”

Written on: 09/06/2008

We bought this Bosch AXT Rapid 2200 shredder as it was on sale for around £100 and has received good reviews, including from this site. Our garden doesn't produce huge amounts to shred, so we didn't want to spend hundreds on a shredder. However after a recent clean up we had quite a bit to get rid off, and at this price for such a highly recommended brand, we felt it was a bargain worth buying.

The box wasn't the easiest to open - in the end I opened up the top. Once inside the instructions showed a different way to open the box, although I'm not sure their way is even possible! Assembly is quick and easy though - you will need a mallet/hammer to put the wheels on and a screwdriver to attach the shredder to the metal base.

In use the shredder is quick, devouring the first branch I fed it in a few seconds. It ate everything I gave it, pulling branches in automatically. On finer material you may need to use the shoving board provided to push it into the machine.

Anything less than about 3cm wide goes through fine, but larger branches (admittedly towards the limit of the advertised capability) can cause it to stall and cut-out. On restarting it eats the rest of the branch with no problem. This may be because the branches had been sitting around for a while and hence had dried out a bit - but it's not a major issue.

I was worried that the shredder would be quite noisy given that Bosch produce a 'quiet' range as well. However it wasn't as noisy as I feared - although I would still recommend some ear protection. Eye protection is also a must since the odd chip can be spat out the top whilst feeding material in.

Overall we're very happy after working through a pile of branches today. Practically I think it would be difficult to improve on this shredder - it certainly seems indestructible. After a bit of use you get to know how much to put in at once, what might cause a jam etc. and cut the material down to lengths that it can handle more easily.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I bought this after reading several review of both...”

Written on: 27/04/2008 by ajdavidge (2 reviews written)

I bought this after reading several review of both this Rapid AX2200 HP and the Quier AX2200 HP shredders that Bosch make. Initially I was going to go for the Quiet model but was not able to find an outlet that had it in stock. I was a little wary of going for the Rapid version due to the possible noise, but I really wanted the 2200W of power - not just the 2000W.

The noise is not that noisy. My neighbours have petrol-fired rotary lawn mowers that are louder!! Yes - I have invested in some ear protection and I do use that when I am shredding for a longer period of time but it really isn't that loud. I can't imagine your neighbours complaining - and another benefit for me was the fact that the Rapid model was £50 cheaper.

I was impressed with the power and speed of the product. And if it thinks you have fed in too much and the engine stops. It is really simple to get it going again. Be careful with damp shredding - this can cause blockage at the blower end of the machine. Also - bamboo can leave its leafy top bits in the machine which again can cause an easily removed blockage. And I've just shredded a whole forest of black and hard cane bamboo easily.

Thank you, Bosch! I would absolutely recommend this power tool for gardeners. It beats every other shredder I have ever used and makes me wonder why I waited so long to make this purchase. It is worth every penny.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview