Holiday Genie www.holidaygenie.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Holiday Genie www.holidaygenie.com
★★★☆☆
3.0
53.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Holiday Genie www.holidaygenie.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Holiday Genie www.holidaygenie.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Don’t expect compensation ”

★★☆☆☆

written by JoetheHammer on 14/04/2023

I had a lovely holiday in Mexico in December 2022 booked through Holiday Genie. I had pre booked transfer to and from Cancun airport to my hotel, over an hour’s drive away. I checked out on 27th December and waited for my transfer. It didn’t arrive. I contacted the emergency number and was told bluntly that they had no vehicles and that I should take a taxi. I had to pay US$100 (£85). On arrival home I contacted Holiday Genie expecting a refund. Over 3 months I’ve been asked to provide the details over and over and submitted the copy of the receipt twice only to be now told that, as the Mexican company has refused a refund, they are washing their hands of me. I’m extremely disappointed with their conduct and will never use them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Horrible Company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GillyCannan on 22/11/2021

Horrible company. Won't refund Holidays booked during covid. Hiding behind you cancelled of ure own free will. Yes I did whilst the world was in turmoil... Do not go near this company, shower of charlatans. You've been warned....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“This is my second holiday booked with an agent at...”

★★★★★

written by MarkSmethurst on 10/10/2021

This is my second holiday booked with an agent at Holiday Genie. Both times nothing was too much trouble as she found me very good deals.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolutely diabolical ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Scruffs2468 on 24/03/2021

I've booked a few holidays with them and their front end sales service and price is good but cheaper isn't better. The last couple of times weve had issues with the standard of villas in Orlando especially paying extra for an executive villa which wasn't up to a good standard as well as being dirty. Trying to get a complaint dealt with and money back is near none existent. They do not reply to emails, don't call you and just dont care. I would never recommend them and never use again. The company in Orlando Amsun just don't care they wouldn't give us the villa we paid for. They also force you to pay £75 insurance which you can refuse to pay. You don't get any insurance documents for the insurance you pay for. They are a very poor company to deal with. If you have a problem you'll wish you never booked with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Booking package to Dubai”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Avahh324 on 16/08/2018

LEAVE THIS COMPANY ALONE DON'T TOUCH THEM WITH A BARGE POLE. Tried to book a holiday package to dubai in October, web site gave me a price for 10 nights 0f 1544.36. I wanted a 14.35 flight back to uk. Although the web page stated there was NO increase for this flight back, the company representative tried to state that there was a premium to be paid for that flight and that the price quoted was and average. I argued that this was a misreprestation and if quoted on the website it should be honoured. I will be writing to trading standards and ATOL about this company and their practices.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“disgraceful,shocking unbelieveable”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 20/07/2018

just back from the worst holiday ever which I booked through this rogue company booked 21nights in Orlando florida in an executive villa the so called villa was a run down house in a residential area carpets filthy,showers slimey and dirty we had to take bedding and wash it before we could use it no change of bedlinen floor of pool dirty took us 3days to clean it grounds around pool filthy took 4days for management company to come and half wash it they told us he was to busy watching the football no pool cover no pool light no pool safety guard no smoke alarms filthy carpets no proper air conditioner alerted text from emergency services informing us of child snatcher in area I could write a list of other thing wrong .I contacted holiday genie and management to be told no way will they help this rogue company are only interested in taking your money no after care and they couldn't care less about their customers . they should not be allowed to trade I am at present going to contact watchdog I have photos, videos and a phone bill for 120 pounds I tried to even contact via facebook but no response .PLEASE DO-NOT USE THIS COMPONY HOLIDAY GENIE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Be warned, do not use this company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by isSmith1962 on 12/01/2018

Worst company ever be warned. Complained about Executive Villa in Kissimmee which was not clean and definitely not Executive standard. Blinds falling to bits, had to use sheets to cover bedroom window. Shower filthy and in desperate need of some TLC and upgrading, dust and dirt everywhere, pool full of dead frogs and screen around pool torn and missing. Complained and provided photographic evidence to be told there was nothing wrong with it the day before we arrived !!! Was told Villa would be modern re furnishing etc, well maybe it was 20 years ago !! Disappointing that Holiday Genie do not believe me considering the photos I sent them. Do not book with this company if you want a good holiday as if there is a problem they don’t care, i’ve spent 3 months waiting for a reply to my complaint of 2 October and it wasn’t worth the wait either !!!!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Avoid ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KaylieKeegan1 on 17/06/2017

*Don't use this company we are having to take them to small claims court * fraudulent holiday packages that don't exist booked a holiday through them & they have taken my money & not supplied everything in the contract. Customer services shocking false & misleading terms & conditions Left my family & young children stranded in foreign company

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Bargain holiday fantastic helpful staff”

★★★★★

written by on 14/04/2017

I would like to thank holiday genie for a fantastic family holiday to orlando we got our holiday at a bargain price we had a problem with our villa on arrival we was given the wrong lock box code by the villa management company which ment we was locked out of our villa for a few hours and could not contact the company so we called holiday genie the staff were extremely helpful and got us the correct code as soon as possible after reading some reviews on trip advisor after booking we was extremely nervous but there really was no need we paid the price we was quoted and staff helped straight away with any enquirys we had would 100% recommend holiday genie when booking a florida holiday :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Great Service...in the end! ”

★★★★☆

written by fiona.gavigan on 28/02/2017

Had a couple of problems with a name change - but once I informed their agent, he called the Airline, corrected - and secured a direct return flight in place of our original redirected flight. Had the confirmation of changes within 5 minutes of ending the call. Thanks!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“LAS VEGAS HOLIDAY ”

★★★★★

written by WAJ69 on 23/11/2016

Booked through holiday genie for a week in Vegas never had a problem the travel agent was great we flew with virgin direct to Vegas and back the hotel NEW YORK NEW YORK was fantastic I read some bad reviews about holiday genie but we can't complain we shall use them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“appalling, completely dissatisfied customer”

★☆☆☆☆

written by toffeecake100 on 05/02/2016

Where do I start? Flight did not exist, so rest of trip cancelled too. Attitude of staff if you can get hold of one, is dismissive and rude "what do you want me to do about it" followed by another ten minute hold and transfer around the call centre. After a week finally agree on refund to be told 10-12 weeks. Holiday booked a year ago now completely ruined, 7 year old devastated. Please avoid at all costs, not worth the hassle, stick with company's you know and look for ABTA membership.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“After sales does not exist ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by EYHook on 21/07/2015

Having booked flights to NY we had cause to cancel due to unforeseen circumstances. Whilst we didn't expect a full refund we have tried to contact Holidaygenie to ascertain what options we had. Our first attempt via their "live chat" which was unmanned and an email was received from them stating they would respond a.s.a.p. but when no communication had been received we emailed but still await any response. Although the ticket price was good the communication is non existent. If all had have gone to the original plan and we had flown then maybe the review would have been good but a measure of any company is communication and after sales. Even if they were offering the best holiday deal on the planet there is zero chance that they would get business from us.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Thailand”

★★★★★

written by MichelleWindsor on 09/05/2015

Second time i have booked a 3 week holiday to Phuket with this company. No issues had a great holiday and would use again. Mel was fantastic.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Florida!”

★★★★★

written by Fixbyprincess on 24/04/2015

Just returned from a fantastic holiday in Florida courtesy of mel at Holiday Genie. Booked short notice but managed to get an excellent deal! Flight times were excellent and the changeover at Newark was not a problem. On the way back we only had an hour in between connecting flights so we were a little bit anxious! However arrived gate 86 from Orlando stepped off plane then to gate 83 for connecting flight to Manchester! Easy peasy! Hire car straight forward and excellent car with great service from Budget rep, quick trip to Win Dixie then arrived at Cumbrian Lakes half an hour later. Beautiful 3 bed roomed villa within good distance of all attractions within five minutes we were all in the pool!! Thank you holiday genie can't wait to book again!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst customer experience ever! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Awilmshurst on 08/04/2015

Have just had a call to say my flight has been cancelled. My flight is in 5 days time. I wasn't home, so I was just left with a bumbling voicemail message to say my card will be refunded!!! I obviously called back as I'm meant to be flying Monday... The phone was put down 3 times. Finally someone spoke to me and said they would call back in an hour! Still waiting. Don't ever use holiday genie

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Customer rep is fantastic”

★★★★★

written by Kerry1973edwards on 04/04/2015

Customer rep is fantastic. She has been so helpful from the very start of my enquiry, she has answered all my questions regardless of the time of day/night I have messaged her, she has done everything and more than I could have expected and she continues to help me relax about my booking. Words really can't describe how happy I am with how helpful she has been and I really don't know what I would do without her. Thank you for everything xxx

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Daggerit on 16/01/2015

This has to be the worst company I've ever dealt with and if I could give negative stars I would. They provided incorrect information about ticket booking that resulted in us having to buy a whole new ticket but as this wasn't processed correctly on their side the process was done three times. This resulted in two refunds to my card being required, both of which took over two weeks and only happened when I chased them. Spent over four hours on the phone trying to resolve things but they seem to be incapable of performing any tasks that you need them to do. Eventually resolved four months later but meant that we lost the cot position on a long haul flight for my 5 month old son. Terrible, and they don't seem to care or try to help. Upon check in we were at the desk for an hour both inbound and outbound because Holiday Genie had managed to mess up our booking so badly with BA. Currently going through arbitration to get some money back from them for all the stress and time wasting they caused.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible after sales service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 07/01/2015

Booked flights through holiday genie. Flights were changed without any notification. Still waiting for issue to be resolved. Terrible after sales on the telephone. Phoned 5 times in one day, 2 of which the line just went dead after explaining my problem and the 3 other times the persons on the end of the phone were rude, disinterested and unhelpful( 3 different men). Would only deal with any issue via email and not over the phone..... still waiting!!!!! Yes the flight was booked at a very reasonable price however their customer care and service is awful. Please use caution

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“multi centre holiday to usa”

★★★★☆

written by debbienic on 24/12/2014

Booked a multi centre holiday to san Francisco, las vagas and santa monica via holiday genie, in October for my husbands 50th birthday. I dealt with mel who was extreamly helpful and arranged the whole holiday excellent and would highly comend her on the service she gave, however I did have a problem with a name being spelt wrong on a flight ticket. When this happened mel was unfortunatly on holiday, when telephoning to get help I was confronted with many long and exhusting telephone calls with nobody wanting to help, when asking to speak to a manager I was told the manager did not take telephone calls!!!!! If I had originally spoke to any of yhe people concerned at the begining of booking my holiday I would not have booked via holiday genie. My problem was only resolved a couple of days before we were due to leave and when mel had returned from her holiday , howevere this did cause a few sleepless nights. On A positive note the holiday was excellent and all connecting flights and hotels wnet to plan . We did travel back with virgins partner airline delta and found them very unhelpful when our seating was altered because of a diffrent aircraft and we could not sit with our family and the food was appalling. Would not fly with them again, Would book with holiday genie again but would only deal with mel

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Wonga1 on 23rd August 2015 Report this content
Please please help! I've made a package booking for hotel and flight to Orlando for March 2016 and had to pay £500 deposit. Since making the booking, I've read numerous negative reviews about Holiday Genie! What should I do, loose the £500 deposit or go ahead and hope that these reviews are not all true?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content benn3283 Written on: 24/08/2015
Hi. I used holiday genie last year for my holiday to Florida. Cannot recommend them enough for excellent service I received especially from Mel who sorted everything out for me. Nothing was too much trouble for her despite all the emails I was sending her. We have booked for next year and holiday genie was the cheapest I could get and again Mel has sorted out everything for us. No where else does the theme park tickets as cheap as they can get. I would not hesitate to use these.
Report this content oxyjohn Written on: 24/08/2015
I did have a problem with holiday genie but in the end it turned out to be the fault of the airline. It was just that holiday genie could have resolved the issue sooner if they chased it up a bit more. In the end the holiday went off without a hitch. Before and after this hitch everytime I've been with them everything has been very good and they have made helpful suggestions that have saved me money,
overview