KTM 990 Adventure Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4
83.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Build quality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
KTM 990 Adventure - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Lightest Snowboard on Earth”

★★★★★

written by Winsnowboards on 09/05/2012

The new era of Snowboard is the product line of Burton. One of their snowboards is the 2012 Burton Method, which has been setting the stage for creativity and performance. Cool graphic on overall. It does have the Methlon baseline technology. And it does have the UltraMeth construction. Burton Method UltraMeth construction has the same effective edge as a normal board, but the nose is slightly longer than the tail. It does have a directional shape as well, making it the most versatile snowboard shape. It has a streamlined slimrail sidewall, meaning that shaves weight without sacrificing edge-hold or strength. It has an Ultrafly core that makes for the most functional, lightweight and durable out there. It has S2 MethodSkin fiberglass and highly durable base.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have been riding bikes for 43 years including road...”

★★★★★

written by on 31/03/2011

I have been riding bikes for 43 years including road racing and enduro and have owned many bikes both old and new I can onestly say that this bike has to be the best I have ridden to date the total package great V twin power great engine braking and with handling to match I bought my Adventurer new in 2008 with a pannier kit included in the price I ride both Winter and Summer and after 18000 miles I will be changing my chain and sprockets I also wash my bike after every ride and to date have had no problems with my brake calipers seizing.Finally it is nice having the grin factor every time I ride my bike.Thankyou KTM on producing such a fantastic machine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I'm an ex sport bike rider. I have not missed the...”

★★★★★

written by on 28/07/2010

I'm an ex sport bike rider. I have not missed the sports bike one little bit. The KTM is exciting to ride with incredible handling. It looks like it shouldn't hold the road, but boy does it.
I've now done 32,000 miles with no problems with the bike it self. The data tool alarm let me down recently!
We have ridden across Europe several times now.
It has taken us up snow covered passes and gravel road way beyond what I thought I was capable of.
My girlfriend does not want me to change , we both love this bike to bits. The akras are a must and as other have said it is thirsty, but that's a small down side to such a great bike. It embarrasses a lot of sports bikes on good bendy roads.
Try one you may love it to!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I love my Adv 990. Bought in June 2008, replaced my...”

★★★★★

written by on 27/05/2010

I love my Adv 990. Bought in June 2008, replaced my trusty 1200GS (owned for 3 years). I prefer the Adv in every respect except for fuel economy (30-35mpg adv, 45-50mpg GS) and pillion comfort (measured my moans per mile from wifey).

The Adv handles amazingly well for a bike with 21" front wheel. Very surefooted, lightning fast direction changes without ever feeling skittish. The ride is so comfy (especially over fast, lumpy bumpy 'B' roads and unclassified roads) that it's like being on a magic carpet. Compared to the harsh and rather crashy GS....well, the KTM is in a different league.

The engine is a punchy, responsive, gloriously alive feeling compact v-twin. The fueling is poor part throttle with original standard fuel map. I had the Akras (and Akra map) fitted to my bike...this solved the problem completely. The downside was the aforementioned poor fuel consumption...but well worth it! Response is sharp and exciting, but the bike never feels intimidating..it's always controllable and predictable. I'd say the bike has the perfect combination of power and torque for British roads. You just don't ever need any more.

The build quality is superb. High quality white power suspension is responsible for the lovely ride quality front and rear. Lovely paint finish on the bodywork and frame/engine (take note BMW!!!) mean that 2 British winters are yet to really make their mark on the bike - though in fairness, I do mollycoddle it (which helps)!

The only major downside, apart from the poor mpg, is that the bike is now so expensive. I paid 8.5k for mine, with all the extras (topbox, Akras, GPS cradle, heated grips) it was still less than 10K. The bike now retails for 11k + as standard! I'm just not sure I'd have paid that for it....though having said that, all new bikes have shot up in price over the last year or so, so maybe the KTM is still relatively good value...just not the uber-bargain that I believe it once was.

As I said at the beginning of this review, I love my Adv. If there's one other thing it has over most other bikes (ESPECIALLY the GS!) it's exclusivity. You can ride for 300 miles and not see another on the road. This tends to make it stand out...kids love it (they all want to rev the nuts off it!), middle aged wannabes loves it, OAP's...well they hate it, but they hate everything!

I'll be hanging onto mine for a great many more years yet, and when I do feel the need for something else, I expect I'll still keep the Adv. It's that good. :-)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My local Harley dealer loaned me a 08 990 while my CVO...”

★★☆☆☆

written by daveyP90 on 08/06/2009

My local Harley dealer loaned me a 08 990 while my CVO Springer Softail was in being serviced, my daily ride is a Honda ST1300 and Ive been riding for over 30 years now. The KTM is possibly the best, and worst bike ive ever ridden. Comfortable after a 200 mile spin today. Accelerates like being fired from a howitzer. Excellent build quality and finnish. Superb handling and agility. Beatifully laid out equipment and switch geat.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The KTM 990 is an amazing bike and absolutely rock...”

★★★★★

written by on 11/06/2008

The KTM 990 is an amazing bike and absolutely rock solid in use. I never want to hit a vehicle on a bike but on this you feel like you would stand a chance. The high riding allows you to see right over the average British hedge which allows you to move along B-roads in a rapid fashion which would feel nerve-racking on a super-spokes bike.
The engine is smooth and deceptively powerful. Not a lot of extra noise when you open the throttle but the speed jumps up even if from the lofty seat you do not really notice the speed increase. You really have to watch yourself in town riding and around camera zones.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview