Volkswagen Golf 1.9 GT TDi 130 Mk4 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
88% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Volkswagen Golf 1.9 GT TDi 130 Mk4 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Volkswagen Golf 1.9 GT TDi 130 Mk4

Volkswagen Golf 1.9 GT TDi 130 Mk4
Volkswagen Golf 1.9 GT TDi 130 Mk4
Volkswagen Golf 1.9 GT TDi 130 Mk4
Volkswagen Golf 1.9 GT TDi 130 Mk4
Volkswagen Golf 1.9 GT TDi 130 Mk4

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“BEST golf ever”

written by Andreas-CY on 05/12/2022

Had golf 5 1.6 fsi ,golf 7 1.4 tsi ,golf 4 1.6. This is by far the best economic , reliable, fast , practical golf i have ever owned.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Pure driving pleasure ”

written by Victorias on 03/07/2012

Since buying this car I have actually enjoyed driving (well almost :)) I have yet to have one single issue with it and it drives like a dream. Petrol is a bit expensive but that seems to be the only costly effort of the car. Other than that I highly recommend this gorgeous piece of machinery!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Perfect economical car”

written by legendK on 21/06/2012

Its a perfect economical car suited for a family of 5. Good petrol mileage and a good aerodynamic shaped one. Recommended for most of the families of 5 !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Too good to be true”

written by CraftyBristolian on 20/02/2012

Bought this car from my then employer (Lloyds Bank). Ex-company car - well looked after and only 28k on clock. Despite colour description in logbook (beige!!) everyone agrees it's a light gold metallic. Car drives like a dream. It's the 130bhp model and the it's also my first diesel. Build quality cannot be faulted - the dash is as good as a BMW. Seats comfortable and vision excellent. Climate control keeps temperature steady. Road noise can intrude on some surfaces however. Performance is great - 35mph per 1000rpm means motorway cruising is v relaxed. Sips the fuel too. It's a job getting less than 40mpg. Ready to change but car of my dreams (a GTD 170bhp) just too dear! TDI 140 and remap beckons!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“GT TDi the best car i have ever owned!”

written by DAVE DANIELS on 15/11/2011

I have owned my golf GT TDi 130 for almost a year now and have to say that despite having to replace some consumable items i am equally as delighted with the car as the first time i drove it! the performance is incredible for a diesel! and even with the boot hard in it will still return 45+ MPG and pin your head to the headrest through every gear! and if you drive it with your slippers on it gives 66.5 mpg in 6th gear at 65mph! I have spent quite alot on repairs but only because previous owners didnt look after it! cam belts are a serious cost consideration! i think VW should seriously lower the price of replacing them! a VW dealer will charge you almost £600 for this! i paid £248 plus parts which has to include a new water pump for peace of mind, from my local garage but they used all genuine parts as VW do warrant their parts for 2 years! however there is a good supply of other parts available on the internet and they are getting cheaper! Common problems to look for are auxillary belt tensioner tends to seize, alternator clutch pulley can seize, window motors can be problematic, temperature sensor can create a host of problems like smoke, poor starting and irratic temp gauge as it also talks to the ECU and if its faulty it can tell the ecu the wrong information which causes overfuelling, as it thinks its colder than it actually is, but they are cheap and easy to diy fit. Overall a great little car but my biggest dislike is the road holding basically its rubbish! the rear end skips around all over the place and the asc light is almost permanently lit due to the lack of traction. all of this can be overcome with a large wad of money spent on decent suspension but i really dont think we should have to do it! So if you want a quick economical reliable hatch albeit a little jittery on the road but fun this is the one for you! and only £125 a year to tax! Bonus! but you MUST keep up the servicing! change your oil every 6k and you wont go far wrong!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I'm pretty sure that i am echoing what other people...”

written by on 07/02/2011

I'm pretty sure that i am echoing what other people have written about the GOLF GTtdi 130 however here goes.
Amazing power to MPG ratio... How can a car be this quick and still do 40-50 mpg? Its a fun car to drive i can honestly say i enjoy driving again ( i used to love going for drives when i was 18... Always starts without any difficulty.

It must be hard wearing as its done 105k and still feels amd looks like new. Even the interior is not showing signs of wear that most cars do at 100k plus.

PLus points its relaible, economical real mile muncher, fun to drive, all the switch gear is just right and i like the trip computers functionality.

Down side, rear wash wipe stopped working, frequent bulbs blowing on the rear, having alloys the tyres need frequent air, (tho i have found this on most cars with alloys) Top turbo pipe blown off (£75 for the part i fitted it my self), MPG drops in really cold weather and the engine takes quite some time to get top normal operating temperature so its some time before the heater starts to work.

Even with all that said, its not enough to put me off.. i'd still give it 9.5/10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought this car fron new, and over 9 years later it...”

written by on 04/01/2011

I bought this car fron new, and over 9 years later it is still going strong. 88,000 miles, original clutch, original exhaust and original catalytic converter. Only money i have spent has been on normal wear tear and annual serviceing.It is quick, reliable and very reasonable to run and to maintain, a great car that i would recommend without hesitation. The only minus for me, is the quality of the headlight alignment which for me is set too low, giving poor vision in nightime driving. Having said that, i would not hesitate to buy another Golf TDI, and will do so when i replace my current car

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Ive got a GT TDi mk4, and it has been remapped to...”

written by on 20/10/2010

Ive got a GT TDi mk4, and it has been remapped to 200bhp, its realy got some pull although abit much torque for a front wheel drive car, so cant realy get the most out of the power. :/

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2011

where did you get it remapped

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rickdon's Comment

Written on: 10/11/2012

How did u get ur 130 to 200?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“An incredibly reliable car. Now with 135k miles and...”

written by on 05/10/2010

An incredibly reliable car. Now with 135k miles and only minor parts needed replacement eg window winder and front shocks, all major parts are still original. Brilliant combination of economy and power (perhaps 130 BHP is a bit more than is needed)
The car still feels solid and no rattles, the interior (with leather seats) is still like new.
I would highly recommend the Golf

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“This is a sensible purchase as it blends decent...”

written by on 28/07/2010

This is a sensible purchase as it blends decent performance with great economy. I have had my PD130 re-mapped to about 165bhp. This gives me great flexibility - 50+mpg still achievable yet brilliant midrange power for overtaking if needed. The downside is the cars handling, suspension and weight - it's far too sloppy. Definitely a cruiser, perfect for the motorway but don't buy for genuine thrills. Check suspension and clutch before purchase.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ Good reliable vehicle, steady power and a comfortable...”

written by on 25/06/2010

Good reliable vehicle, steady power and a comfortable ride which is suitable for a familly or professional travelling long distances for instance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I've had my V W Golf tdi 130 for a year now. ”

written by on 09/06/2010

I've had my V W Golf tdi 130 for a year now.

The performance is excellent. I am however still a bit puzzled by the interior build quality. I know Volkswagen have a reputation for quality but I really have to question the interior. Full of rattles and knocks, cheap black plastic glovebox for example. The interior lets it down and stops me giving the car 5 stars.

I would be 50/50 buying it with what I know now but performance is superb.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Build quality is shocking, paid too much for a poorly...”

written by on 06/06/2010

Build quality is shocking, paid too much for a poorly build car, have been to mechanics more times than anywhere else, turbo failure, clutch,. Too expensive to maintain.My old focus was far more reliable and well built.
Only plus point...... Its a golf

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2012

got the 2001 gttdi 115 bhp its got black leather seats anyone any idea what its worth as most dont have full leather interior and arm rest

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“ive owned my golf gttdi 130 for over 5 years now and...”

written by on 01/04/2010

ive owned my golf gttdi 130 for over 5 years now and have had no problems apart from the usual werar and tear, brakes, tyres, 1 wishbone, bushes etc. normal things. never failed to start. so reliable hence why ive owned it so long. reluctantly up for sale now as a new addition to the family forces me to buy a bigger car but i can honestly say that this is the best car ive ever owned. meybe ill buy another 1 for my wife when she eventually decides to take her driving lessons!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Now I know i've not owned this Golf long, but I...”

written by on 26/02/2010

Now I know i've not owned this Golf long, but I thought i'd put finger to keyboard in the hope that my witterings would assist anyone who is thinking of purchasing one of these cars.

I began hunting for a MK4 Golf as I wanted a car that was well built, with a good pedigree and was nippy yet practical.

I drove ten variants of the GTi and GT TDi in both petrol and diesel guise before taking the plunge and I have to say that the diesel, for me, is a great choice. Frugal when driven thoughtfully, yet a bit of a monster if the mood takes you. Careful driving will see low to mid 50's in the miles per gallon stakes. That's great!

Build quality appears to be good so far. A rattly centre console winds me up a bit, but i'll sort it soon i'm sure.

My fave mark of golf of all time. I actually prefer it to the newer versions. It still has that Golf "look and feel", but with refinements and performance too. Happy days.... plus it's in my budget.

My Golf is a 2002 model has done 85k and I bought privately after looking at some really lousy examples via local dealers. It's completely standard and has good history. They certainly hold their value well and I manged to save around a grand buying privately compared to dealer prices (most local dealers were only offering 3 months warranty anyway, so i'll risk it thanks very much)

Test drive plenty before you part with your sheckles and trawl the internet forums for an idea of common problems/faults. This site, http://uk-mkivs.net/ is a great starting place.

Performance is great, handling is good. The car seems quite heavy compared to others in it's class, but it feels like it was built to last.

The 130hp diesel is all about torque - bags of it, which will happily whisk you along at 70mph via the 6 speed box at 2000rpm. A serious mile muncher.

Seating and general comfort is superb. Driving position is very relaxing. The centre arm rest is a nice addition and the stereo is adequate (but I would imagine it'd soon be ripped out and replaced by our younger owners....) Seems weird to have a tape player again after all these years.... Maybe i'll dig out some of my old C90 mixes??

Boot space is good and once the rear seats are folded down you've got some serious lugging capability.

My car has had cruise control fitted by the previous owner. I don't do many long trips, but a recent jaunt from Norwich to Dover was an utter pleasure.... if a little boring letting the car do most of the work for you! I wish i'd brought a book to read (i'm joking of course)

The oil burner is a little lumpy when cold, but once a few miles are covered it becomes more refined. Cabin noise is low.. possibly thanks to the low revving nature of the engine.

I had the passenger side dip bulb go this week. They're certainly "fun" to replace. I read with horror about people removing the bumper to replace bulbs, but all I can say is make sure you have a friend with technical know-how and very small hands. My glamorous assistant took all of 5 mins to fit the replacement H7 bulb. Result!

Normal checks apply when buying one of these motors, i,e history present, previous accident damage, firm evidence of cambelt change etc etc. All in all it appears to be a car that will go on for years without too many complaints if serviced regularly and treated with a bit of respect.

Re-maps and performance upgrades are all widely available, but i'm more than happy with how the car performs as standard..... plus I value my licence

So, to summarise, if you're in the market for a sensibly priced, comfortable, reliable and well-built all rounder, then the GT TDi could be the one for you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have owned my Golf GT TDI 130 for just over a Year...”

written by on 27/01/2010

I have owned my Golf GT TDI 130 for just over a Year now, and I can honestly say this car is absolutely amazing in every way! Pulls like a train, very reliable, strong engine and superb performance! The only thing that bothers me are the cheap interior parts, which gets easily scatched and leaves a mark!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i have owned mygolf for around 5 months and i am over...”

written by on 13/12/2009

i have owned mygolf for around 5 months and i am over the moon .had to changea wishbone and a brand new alternator but its worth it.dual mass flywheels are meant to be a big problem with these cars but until this happens im happy

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I've got the volkswagen golf gt tdi which is a fast...”

written by on 22/07/2009

I've got the volkswagen golf gt tdi which is a fast reliable n good lookin car. Would definately recomend it to friends and family.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My Volkswagen Golf Mk4 Tdi 110ps imported and owned...”

written by HeloErn on 07/07/2009

My Volkswagen Golf Mk4 Tdi 110ps imported and owned since Mar.'99 has now 81k. Both front windows have had plastic lifters replaced by metal but apart from that has been an economical reliable car.
Disappointingly it has recently developed intermittantly a drop in power usually when driving uphill or accelerating, and first gear is sometimes difficult to engage by going into third instead. While in Germany had engine checked by a VW dealer, but their scanner came up with 'kein fehler' (no fault), so I'm stuck with it until I find someone who can diagnose problem. The nearest VW dealer said they'd check but couldn't guarantee solving the problem!

Ernie

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

472623_Willbur1's Response to HeloErn's Review

Written on: 10/07/2009

The Problem with the acceleration sounds like the air flow meter which is a common fault on the MK4 golf. Ask the dealership to check.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Heloern's Response to HeloErn's Review

Written on: 21/07/2009

Well, as I wrote before I did get a VW dealer to check and they came up with no fault. I'm hoping to locate an independant who can pinpoint the problem without having to change everything to solve it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“I've owned my Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 130bhp Golf for...”

written by PD130 on 30/05/2009

I've owned my Volkswagen Golf GT TDI 130bhp Golf for around 6 months now having owned a 270bhp Impreza before it. It's unfair to compare the 2 cars as dynamically the Impreza is far superior...However, the mix of performance, fuel economy and price is astounding on the Golf TDI 130 and 150 models. As others have said, the torque is great on these cars although don't forget that they also have a 'conservative' 130bhp to back up the torque too. In fact, midrange acceleration doesn't feel far away from the Impreza I used to own (it doesn't sound as good though). If I want to I can get around 60mpg on a long run as well and usually 40mpg around town. The only negative aspect of this car is the stodgy suspension - it's definitely not a car to hustle round corners. However, as with most cars it's easily tunable so uprated suspension and antiroll bars can be fitted, and remaps can bring the car up to 180bhp and 300lb ft torque for £300!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Dingo72 on 21st February 2014 Report this content
Why has my boost stopped working?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview