AutoAid Breakdown Cover Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
70% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AutoAid Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for AutoAid Breakdown Cover

AutoAid Breakdown Cover

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Broke down bank hol Monday at 7.30,rang for recovery...”

Written on: 03/09/2021 by Rice82 (1 review written)

Broke down bank hol Monday at 7.30,rang for recovery and was told after a very long phone call that I wasn’t covered !! I said I have yr email I front of me and it states my Motor home is covered and the registration is correct he still said my manager says we don’t cover motor homes I said well you have given me a policy stating I am covered he again said yr Not but we can get You Home for £459 a total of 41 miles, I am looking into involving the ombudsman but please don’t trust them… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Changed me to autorenew without asking me!”

Written on: 16/06/2021 by bkCrockett230 (1 review written)

Got 2 emails a month before renewal date telling me that they had changed the conditions on my policy to autorenewal. Luckily I spotted them and they didn't go to spam. You have been warned. Avoid… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service from AutoAid and Recovery company”

Written on: 05/05/2021 by Cunningham266 (1 review written)

I had the unfortunate experience of breaking down. Autoaid responded quickly and handled my breakdown efficiently, checking I was OK, safe and ensured I understood every step of the process. They sent text with details and a website link with further info. They also supplied details of the breakdown and recovery company [Riverside Motors]. They arrived promptly but unfortunately were not able to repair car due to severity of problem. However they promptly arranged for recovery vehicle… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Got me home 260 in one go”

Written on: 23/12/2020 by whitehall1212 (1 review written)

Absolutely wonderful in time if my difficulty… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Illegall auto renewal”

Written on: 19/11/2020 by Davethebravewithapermanantwave (1 review written)

Had ‘auto aid’recovery insurance for eleven months now and not had to call them at all. NOW I find they are going to ‘auto renew’ my policy. I am 75 years old and have had to get a great grandchild to negotiate the fact that the ‘opt out’ policy number is on a sister site! (ERS) and is difficult to track through.  I have managed to cancel the policy even though I might have to pay more through a rival company ( and have told them this on my electronic mail) It is only the fact that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
★★★★★

“Five star service”

Written on: 19/08/2020 by Billthebiker1100 (1 review written)

Been with Autoaid for a few years. Broke down at the weekend on my bike when I stopped for a short rest it would not restart .Called Autoaid for assistance and kept me updated with the recovery company and when the arrival will be within the hour. Technician from recovery company found the fault but insisted he would take myself and bike back home. Fantastic service from both Autoaid and SOS motorcycle recovery. Can not praise the service enough… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“First class service”

Written on: 15/08/2020

Changed to Autoaid after dumping the AA as they wanted £200. Broke down on the M1 motorway. Rang Autoaid and within 20 minutes someone was with us. Took us and the car to their garage. Did a diagnostics check and it was something they couldn't fix. Took the car back to Jaguar in Manchester and arranged a hire car for us. As Enterprise couldn't deliver they took us to the hire company. Couldn't fault the service at all. I received an email about a month before renewal regarding the auto… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Auto take your money from your bank”

Written on: 09/07/2020 by ian.tremayne (2 reviews written)

As another review has mentioned the price has increased, but the reason i will never go back to them is they have changed there policy to automatically withdraw funds from your bank to renew the policy UNLESS YOU TELL THEM not to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wilderole's Response to ian.tremayne's Review

Written on: 13/03/2021

most companies do that now either take the tick ouit the box or wait forthe reminder

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“39% price increase & renew without consent!”

Written on: 15/05/2020 by sleepyman (1 review written)

This company has increased its annual premium by 39% despite never claiming so was not going to renew, now i find they have changed their policy and have automatically charged my credit card for another year without my consent! No one is answering the phone or answering emails. They are an absolute disgrace AVOID at all costs you have been warned… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★★★★★

“from ringing them to the time the rescue man arrived 5...”

Written on: 25/04/2020

from ringing them to the time the rescue man arrived 5 star service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Home start help.”

Written on: 23/04/2020 by Yorkiedad (1 review written)

I have been a member for 2 years and never had to use the service before. Yesterday I got into the car and found the battery was dead and unable to turn engine over. Called Auto Aid and their breakdown man was with me within the hour and managed to supercharge the battery enough to start the car. He also tested the alternator which was working correctly and the battery which showed some cells had died and were unable to recharge. As this was the original battery on a 10 yrs old Kia it was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very sneaky - avoid!”

Written on: 21/04/2020

I've seen others have had a similar experience. Autoaid simply auto-renew policies after a year, at a much inflated premium. On the first day on the new policy I tried to cancel, but was told that a cancellation would cost me £31 (the total premium was £60). £31 to simply cancel a policy on the first day of an auto-renew is just so sneaky. They did send an email the month before, but every other company I've heard off will allow you to cancel for free in the cooling off period if they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“The WORST Breakdown service ever.”

Written on: 13/04/2020 by duggie43 (1 review written)

I had broken down with a flat tyre on double white lines on a very busy trunk road with lorries whizzing by,and on one occassion almost colliding with my car. I phoned Autoaid and explained the dangerous possition i was in and was told someone would be with me within the hour. I phoned repeatedly for over 3 1/2 hours before help eventually arrived. The breakdown mechanic had come from his garage less than 10 mins away and told me had only been informed by Autoaid less than 20 mins ago. My wife… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“don't bother”

Written on: 29/01/2019 by barryrigby (1 review written)

Bought breakdown cover with them then decided to cancel was told £15 cancellation fee what about 14 days cooling of period not with them they were saying read small print can't read small print when you are buying it online no option just hope i don't breakdown I wonder if there any good in that department… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
★☆☆☆☆

“don't do it.”

Written on: 22/12/2018 by stephanieaj (1 review written)

After seeing Martin Lewis singing the praises of AutoAid I thought I'd choose them as my recovery provider - what a mistake that was. I was miles away from home when my tyre was slashed in London. I called AutoAid, nervous and worried that I was by myself and stranded on a one way system whilst it was getting dark outside in an area I didn't know. I was told that they couldn't come and help because I didn't have a tyre repair kit on me. I told them that there was no way in hell a repair kit… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 13 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ ADDITIONAL CHARGES ONLY AFTER PAYMENT MADE. ”

Written on: 14/11/2018 by IssacHolman (1 review written)

I called into your customer service to take out a policy and was quoted on line £43. 31. When i received a confirmation e mail i got charged £48. 31. When i called i just got told that £48. 31 was the price. i explained that i have proof that only £43. 31 was my premium again to no avail. i asked for a supervisor and got the call cut off intentionally. I called again and again had another call centre person with attitude and complete bad manners who finally put me through to elsie. trying… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“Miracle Worker!”

Written on: 07/11/2018 by carmax1 (1 review written)

My old citroen would not move because of the clutch and I was convinced it was for the scrapyard. I booked in an Auto Aid guy who appeared and fixed it within minutes. He knew a lot about old cars and said he'd been working as a mechanic for over 30 years. Brilliant service. They are also lovely on the phone. Incredibly helpful. I am recommending to anyone who will listen to me. Amazing value for the price for annual cover compared to RAC! I'm an absolute convert… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★☆☆☆☆

“Highly Problematic”

Written on: 08/10/2018 by LanaMyers41 (1 review written)

Had a breakdown several months ago, no available recovery vehicles in the area, so I was forced by the Highways Agency to pay £150 to be towed to services. It's been 4 months since the breakdown and still no refund for AutoAid, dealing with them is a nightmare as you have to deal with the parent companies 'Call Assist' and 'ERS' all who use different reference numbers and need a full backstory each time you call. Stick with the RAC for now, they have vans and use one call center, and honour… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service”

Written on: 31/08/2018 by MalikGrantham136 (1 review written)

Out with our 2 young grandchldren when we returned to the car it wouldn't start. Phoned autoaid gave our location, received a text telling me who would be coming and would be there within 1 hour. Within 30 minutes received phone call to say look out for recovery vehicle, before end of the call he had arrived Very knowledgeable, friendly man quickly diagnosed the problem got us moving and on our way. Thank you Autoaid, excellent service very professional… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Called When I needed Help.”

Written on: 22/05/2018 by 467Garrison (1 review written)

Called on them for the first time today & apparently after 3 calls & 45mins I don't have a policy. Currently in a process of getting a refund of the £money I paid for a policy I don't have. I'll keep you informed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
overview