Citymain Insurance www.citymain.com

Citymain Insurance www.citymain.com
★★☆☆☆
2.1
29.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Citymain Insurance www.citymain.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Citymain Insurance www.citymain.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Not fixed my phone”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Deborah1972 on 11/04/2024

City main have my phone twice sent at my expense and still not fixed I phone 14 comes back quickly and exactly the same absolutely fuming !! I’ve took it to a shop who said they can fix it as it’s a hardware problem but insurance won’t pay them as they are not Apple Someone help at my with end B Clark

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“SMALL PRINT DISHONEST”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JasminLopez on 18/02/2023

Purchased the optional gadget cover on Tescos backpacker travel insurance for my son at quite a significant extra fee which is underwritten by Citymain Administrators Ltd. A few months into the trip he lost his Apple watch 7 in the sea when swimming. Hidden well away from the headline benefits of their gadget cover is the usual insurance very small print that states only gadgets bought new and have a receipt can be claimed. First of all not many of us keep receipts and quite a few of us buy from online sites such as eBay when items can be as new, never used and only a few weeks old (as my Apple watch was) from private sellers, in this case it was even registered by us on our Apple account so all above board and genuine. But no, THESE ARE NOT COVERED, even though proof of item purchase, age, serial number and purchase price can be supplied to them. So yet again, buyers beware of insurance small print and their get out of paying small print. I will be raising this as a complaint with them and if that fails, with the Financial Ombudsman Service. Sometimes trying to do the right thing for peace of mind doesn’t work!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“AVOID AT ALL COST”

★☆☆☆☆

written by stevenblake on 03/12/2019

Hi so after 4 weeks and basically accusing me of fraud they processed my claim. Below is the final email, avoid at all cost! Worst company I have ever had the misfortune of encountering Dear xxx, Regarding Your Complaint: Insurance 2 Go   Following our previous correspondence, I have now had the opportunity to review your complaint and, after careful consideration of all information, can now offer our final response in this matter. Summary of complaint On 26th October 2019 you logged a claim for the loss of your iPhone XS 256GB. Your details were swiftly passed to our claims assessment team, they reviewed your details the following day and requested proof of address as well as further information regarding the incident. You kindly submitted a utility bill as proof of your address which was accepted and assessed on 27th October 2019 and our assessor’s requested further information surrounding the loss. You kindly contacted us the following day and provided answers to the questions previously requested. On 31st October 2019 you emailed our customer service department for an update on your claim, my colleague advised it was still undergoing assessment. We received a further email on 1st November 2019 requesting an update, my colleague advised of our timescales and to contact us if you did not receive a response. On 2nd November 2019 you emailed us to advise you had been without a phone for a week and required this for work and travelling. Our assessors contacted you via email later that day to advise your claim had been referred to our external claims team who would be in contact with you shortly. In response to this email you advised that you were unhappy that your claim had been referred and also advised you did not have a method of contact; you also requested a complaint be raised on your behalf. I responded on 3rd November 2019 to inform you that a complaint had been raised and passed to our customer relations team for review. I also outlined our complaints timescales as well as the declarations you agreed to prior to submitting the claim. I have included this extract for your reference below; “SPB UK & Ireland Ltd may pass your information to a claim investigator as part of the standard claim procedure whether at random or specifically selected to help in assessing your claim. If you are happy for us to share your information in this way, please confirm.” On 4th November 2019 you replied to my email informing you of our complaints process and timescales as you believed the 8 weeks to be excessive. I explained that this is the maximum timescale, which is set by the Financial Conduct Authority, however we would endeavour to resolve your complaint as soon as possible. My colleague emailed you later that day to advise you that a telephone interview would need to be conducted before we could progress your claim. In response you contacted our customer service team on 5th November 2019 to provide your work number which was passed to our external claims team. You later emailed us to enquire if you could purchase a temporary or new phone to be reimbursed upon the success of your claim. My colleague responded advising that this was not a service that we provide. On 14th November 2019 you emailed us to advise that you were unhappy with the contact from our external claims team and wanted to raise a complaint. My colleague apologised and advised a complaint had already been raised previously. As requested, you sent us a copy of your device proof of usage on 15th November 2019, this was reviewed, and your claim was later authorised on 19th November 2019. You kindly paid your excess and queried reimbursement for your accessories. My colleague advised that they were unable to locate any receipts of the original accessories and asked if you could resend this email. You requested to speak to a member of our Customer Relations team, however as no one was available, a message was passed on. You emailed a copy of the original receipts and my colleague responded requesting you purchase new accessories up to the same value and send us the receipts so we could reimburse you. You also requested an update to your complaint as you had not received any contact from our Customer Relations team. I replied on 22nd November 2019 to advise the reimbursement of your accessories had been processed and advised you that this would appear in the same account from where your premiums are collected within 5-10 working days. I contacted you on 22nd November 2019 to discuss your complaint in more detail. Here you advised you were not happy with the way in which our external claims team had conversed with you, or that they had contacted family members. Whilst I understand you would not have expected your family members to have been contacted, this is relatively common. Please note that when submitting your claim, you would have agreed to the following statement; I authorise Citymain to make any enquiries and obtain any information that they consider relevant in assessing the claim, including further written or verbal statements.” You intimated that you wished to raise a complaint specifically with RGI for the accusatory manner they conducted their interview, however I now understand that following your most recent discussion with them you no longer wish to progress that point, I understand that you are not happy that the replacement phone you received was the not the same as your original device. I advised that one option we could offer was to return the device to us once a grey model became available, but we would require your current device be returned beforehand. You advised that you did not wish to be without a device again and decided to keep the silver replacement. Whilst I understand you were expecting the same colour, as per our terms and conditions this is not guaranteed. I have quoted this below for your reference; “Replacement Equipment If your scheme administrator determines that your mobile phone needs to be replaced following a valid claim: 4. Please note that although we will endeavour to replace your mobile phone with the same colour, it may not always be possible and therefore you will be provided with an alternative colour in that situation.” Conclusion Through my review of your complaint I have noticed that the period between the 28th October 2019 to 2nd November 2019 we exceeded our assessment timescale of 2 working days and I sincerely apologise for this delay. Whilst I appreciate that you may not have expected the claim to have taken as long as it did. Unfortunately, we must ensure all claims meet our strict assessment criteria, and that all processes are being followed. In this instance your details were passed to our external claims validation team as agreed when initially logging your claim. Whilst I appreciate this had taken longer than expected, RGI did require a valid contact number in order to undergo their assessment of your claim. As soon as this was processed, and the requested proof of usage was received your claim was completed and authorised. I apologise that this is not the response you were hoping for, but I hope my explanation above brings clarity to our claims process. Please note that as per our Complaints Procedure this is our final response. If you do remain disappointed, you may also wish to contact the Financial Ombudsman Service. Further information about the Financial Ombudsman Service can be found on their website: I also enclose an explanatory leaflet about the FOS for your information via the link If you do not refer your complaint in time, the Ombudsman will not have our permission to consider your complaint and so will only be able to do so in very limited circumstances. For example, if it believes that the delay was a result of exceptional circumstances. Finally, thank you for taking the time to write and for the opportunity to explain our position. If you would like to discuss your complaint and our response in greater detail, please feel free to contact us. Please be assured that any additional discussions with us in connection with this complaint will not affect your right to refer to the FOS should you wish to do so as explained above.

Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Painful mobile phone insurance”

★★☆☆☆

written by Casey245 on 02/11/2019

Be warned, whilst my claim did get processed to my satisfaction, it was very hard to get to that point and if Sky (mobile provider) hadn’t been so helpful I don’t think I’d have got there. Here’s a summary of one of my conversations with this company: Me: Do you accept that I owned the phone? Them: yes Do you accept that I have provided enough evidence to show that I have lost the phone? Them: yes Me: Do you accept that you were providing me insurance for the phone that includes cover for loss? Them: yes Me: so you’ll be processing my claim then? Them: no, as you’ve lost the phone so early on into your contract you need to prove that you had used the phone, and this proof cannot be an itemized bill Me: why? Them: because thats what it says in the terms and conditions As I say, we eventually got there but this was mainly because sky were super helpful. But in fairness, I will reiterate that my claim did get resolved within a week and I am happy with the outcome, it was the journey to get there that felt more difficult than it needed to be so I will not be recommending. If you’re already using this company, my advice is to keep a cool head and persevere, try to talk to people and not rely on emails.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Send off to get phone fix and came back with worse issue”

★☆☆☆☆

Absolutely disgusted with this company. Diligently paid my insurance for nearly 2 years without a claim and finally sent it for a screen repair, in which the damage wasn’t effecting the phones performance at all. They sent it back and the middle sensor button wasn’t working, it had come back from them broken. I wrote to them and notified them they advised to send it back to them, in the time waiting for the package my phone dropped once more and even with the case on the screen cracked easily. When received they wrote to me saying they would not fix the damage that they had caused to the phone without me paying even more money, so I have to pay for their mistake as they ‘couldn’t say that the damage hadn’t been from the crack’. It was obviously 2 separate issues with the crack no-were near the sensor. Absolutely no moral and total money grabbers, I expected they would fix the crack as a good gesture after creating more more problems breaking my sensor but oh how wrong I was, not only did they not fix the sensor the didn’t fix any of it without wanting more and more. So happy and hitch free taking our money but when it comes to fixing your mistakes on my galaxy s7 edge TERRIBLE COMPANY Spb uk, citymain administrators, citymain ltd, Burnett & associates, Burnett computer services ltd and phone service centre. DO NOT USE!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“THE WORST PHONE INSURANCE EVER”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mvalluri on 23/10/2018

Please don't take insurance from this company.They will take your money for the insurance month by month but when you have to make a claim, they will ask for every little bit of evidence. I bought the Iphone 7 plus mobile phone from MobilesPhoneDirect. They recommended this insurance, first month insurance is free (Don't tempt). I din't even check the reviews of this insurance company. That is bad from my side. I paid 19 months of insurance and lost the mobile 2 weeks back. They are not giving the new mobile. I am paying 9.99 per month and just now compared with other mobile insurance. Other good insurance providers are providing for £8 per month. Please don't take insurance from this company

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ABSOLUTELY HORRENDOUS COMPANY! CANCEL YOUR POLICY QUICKLY”

★☆☆☆☆

written by brygbblake on 13/09/2018

ABSOLUTELY HORRENDOUS COMPANY! CANCEL YOUR POLICY AND USE ANOTHER PROVIDER!!! This company states a 2 working day turnaround, I sent all documents in on a Monday called two working days later to be told my documents are not with them and to try again, I did this while on the phone and over the next 8 days another 2 times I did this. They asked for repeat info which they have not clearly reviewed and in total my claim for a stolen phone has taken 10 working days!!!! I am now told after paying my excess that it will be another 3-5 working days for delivery! I would have assumed they would have rushed to get my phone out as a kind gesture to these horrific poor administration issues they face. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! USE A MORE TRUSTED AND MORE USER FRIENDLY COMPETITOR

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Great service ”

★★★★★

written by Trevino103 on 29/06/2018

Phone stolen Friday replacement sent out received Tuesday Every email answered promptly Replacement very good Thank you and worth £9.99 a month

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst experience ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Deandre444 on 12/06/2018

Wouldn’t recommend this insurance company to anyone it took them 5 days with me pestering them to finally get the email with the details of where to send the phone. Then after a week of hearing nothing i contacted them to be told they where waiting for parts all that needed replacing was the screen so surely they would have them in stock. Finally after two weeks and me threatening them with the ombudsman I have finally received an email saying the phone is getting delivered tomorrow. I won’t hold my breath as nothing would surprise me with this shambles of a company. Safe to say as soon as the phone is returned the policy is getting cancelled

Lisalund's Comment

Written on: 13/06/2018

Update got the phone back and it doesn’t work as soon as you unplug the charger the phone dies I am absolutely beyond fuming this company is a joke they are collecting the phone again tomorrow

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst ever ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Daniel512 on 14/03/2018

They are one of the most westing time ever dealt with. They send me replacements phone for my phone which was not even 1 week old , the replacement phone I got was used and repaired before , was overheating and switch it self on and off, I get in touch with insurance2go and they told me that they are gonna email me the return label to send the phone back , I have to chose them 2 weeks to send me the email finally after days and hours and keep calling and asking to be send the return label I got it after sending complaints email to head office, moreover after sending the phone 8 days the said we have not got it till I check the tracking and was showing that been delivered I contacted them and I spoke with the same person who told me that is not delivered and I said that the tracking shows that already delivered he told me that from repair centre maybe not updating , again after westing hours yesterday from morning till 16:30 I called back because they should call me but they didn’t I called before they close they claim that the got the phone but I have to pay access because as they said that the phone was damaged by post so i have to pay to sort out my problem which from the beginning was faulty. Customer before you purchase pay attention; the phone which they send you after claim they are used and been repaired before and they are not working good , and as I been told from them team manager that the phone is not covered from the company under warranty because the been open and fixed from unauthorised repair so it means not been fixed and refurbished and any replacement you received if there is any fault which gurntee there is you have to send it back and you have to wait weeks to get response and weeks to get the phone back apart from what kind of repair been done on the device.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst company and customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lisafal1 on 08/01/2018

How this company has a 5 star rating is beyond me!!! They are the worst company I have ever dealt with the customer service advisers and rude all they want is your money and not to deal with a problem or claim The claim has taken weeks and numerous phone calls Any one wanting insurance stick with your phone provider or another company absolutely terrible

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst company I have ever had to deal with!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Vincent289 on 03/11/2017

Customer service terrible. Send you out term and conditions after you have place a 12 month payment. I am disabled and put me through sending emails for days. Stress I don’t need with a long term illness. I never have had to deal with a company that robs people of their money. Will be getting phone screen fixed by Apple. Stay away from this company. Paid 75pounds for insurance they wouldn’t pay out for a phone I bought brand new. The seal was not broken when I received it. Would have given no stars but wouldn’t let me.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“HORRIFIC”

★☆☆☆☆

written by qrSalazar233 on 25/10/2017

The worst phone insurance I've ever received if I could leave no stars I would. Stay away my phone has been held hostage for over 3weeks with 0 updates and me having to chase them every week with 0 information. I just want to have my phone back.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No record of having paid £100 excess”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LucyC93 on 22/10/2017

Having had my phone stolen I promptly made a claim sending in all necessary documents within 24hours. I received an email saying ready to receive excess of £100 which I paid and received an automated email saying a replacement phone would be dispatched within 3-5 days. This never happened and after calling up it became clear they had no record of having received my payment on their system! Having complained via email and contacted them on Twitter (to get a response) I got to speak to a competent person who dealt with my query and got me a replacement phone sent out. Although if I hadn’t got in contact with them I would be without a phone and £100 out of pocket!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“nothing”

★☆☆☆☆

written by tomsy.. on 20/10/2017

i had my phone stolen reported to police had it blocked reported to city main ok. 3 months now no phone just got a bill for £700 they've cancelled my contact come on citymain wheres my phone still waiting platinum insurance as well.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“VERY POOR SLOW SERVICE ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by wpMartin183 on 07/10/2017

Insurance2go, by far the worst phone insurance company i have ever dealt with, had the worst experience ever with this company, long wait times make you jump through hoop after hoop and make you wait 2 days each time a bit of info aint good enough for them, its taken me near a week to get to where i am and still no decision look at next week now so even longer with no phone witch is a huge inconvenience its self let alone having to be made over a week for a replacement, cheap rate but poor slow service i would avoid like the plague if you want a speedy replacement, ive explained to them im waiting on very important calls for second job and an interview for apprenticeship but dont care for my loss of my phone or personal issues much. after this one service i will be cancelling it and taking my customer else where where i will be treated better for my custom, must have spent over £20 on phone calls by now also and been back and fourth to the networks store trying to get things that they just dont supply or cant.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Slowest service ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gilberto261 on 20/09/2017

Claimed an awful long time ago and only now have I recieved an email saying take to repair centre.. the phone is in awful condition and having to go through the hassle of taking it for repair to be then inevitably be told that its not repairable and having to wait for a new replacement its just such a long procedure. My previous insurers (3 insurance) replaced the phone the moment it was damaged. Straight next day delivery there was a new phone for you which was a million times than having to use a phone with heavy screen danage for a month plus. Will never insure my phone with these guys again. Customer service required numerous emails before they reply and want to help you out.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Couldn't fault the service :)”

★★★★★

written by Skylare248 on 17/09/2017

It was very straightforward to make the claim. Email correspondence from citymain was prompt and easy to follow. Provided the documents as requested in order to assess the claim. Staff pleasant to deal with on the phone. I'd rate this company five stars. I have already told friends and family that I am very happy with the service received.

Was this review helpful? 1 1

“Most frustrating experience ever!! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 384Gunn on 22/08/2017

so I broke my iPhone 7 home button, made a claim online, paid me excess and took the phone to a repair shop advised by Citymain. I then received an email advising that my phone is non repairable, replacement to be sent out.The phone never arrived due to the delivery company losing my replacement phone. Long story short, I'm still without a phone 9 days later as Citymain investigates!! Avoid this company!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst ever”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ikDoherty14 on 31/07/2017

Wish I would of read review centre before using city main. Won't make that mistake again. Cracked screen samsung 8+ 64gb, timescale 5-7 days Recieved 19th July Rang 29th July no information Rang again 31st July apparently being dispatched today. No communication, no offer of compensation for delay. Promise what they cannot deliver. Will pay extra to get a more premium service with another provider. Noone normal wants to be without their phone, in 10 yrs this is my second phone repair. Stay away from city main

Was this review helpful? 2 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by siangarner on 16th September 2015 Report this content
My phone has been stolen and I want to make a claim. What do I need to do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content rottiethedog Written on: 18/09/2015
First, report it to the police and get a crime reference number. Next, contact your insurance company to make a claim. I had my daughters phone insured by citymain and had minor problems with them. They were slow, but like most people we have a few good used phones in the house so weren't too inconvenienced by the 2 week repair time. My experiences have all been the same with every insurance company, as don't forget they're there to make money and don't like giving it back. If on the other hand you have these items covered by your house insurance I'd claim through them first as you'll get a new phone and not a refurbished one from citymain
Asked by lisav32 on 18th August 2014 Report this content
I've lost my details and my phone has broken. I've been paying £6.99 a month and cannot find any details. What can I do? 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Vintagechic1957 Written on: 19/08/2014
If you Re paying by direct debit the details will be on your bank statement. Try there first, alternatively phone them up and give your name , address, and the amount you pay monthly , they should have a record.
Report this content tonystravels Written on: 23/08/2014
Citymain have very poor Customer Service, I had to complain to the board of Directors and the Directors of the Company that own them to finally get my issue resolved. As long as you quote the Policy Name, and address they should be able to find.
overview