Champix

★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
89% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Summary

Trying to quit smoking with Champix? Let us know if it has worked out for you and helped you kick the habit.

Add your own review to help others decide if Champix could help them stop smoking cigarettes.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Champix - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Champix

Champix

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Helped a lot”

Written on: 12/02/2021 by AG13 (7 reviews written)

Its a very good working solution to quit smoking. Helps to reduce craving and that irritating feeling you feel when you try to quit.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Actually Helps”

Written on: 30/11/2020 by kenray (8 reviews written)

I had a smoking problem for a very long time and wanted to quit. I tried champix which really helped me reduce my cravings of cigarettes.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“INCREDIBLE RESULTS”

Written on: 10/07/2019 by ssArsenault373 (1 review written)

I have quit smoking cold turkey, with Ziban and now with Chapix. The product is incredible. My dreams were wonderful.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“it works but be aware of side effect”

Written on: 13/06/2019 by AylaMurdock (1 review written)

I also wanted to quit cigg like many of us here. I am on 7 week of treatment. I have tried to quit many times before and after some time I have always started again. but this time I feel I can quit. 21 days without cigg. I did not quit in second week like is recommended. i did not have nuseance or digestion problem but afer 5 week I started to feel really weird and odd.my mood swing a lot, my blood preassure went up, very weird dreams, very sleepy, prickly sensation across my body like experiencec of electric shocks, numbing sensations of my all 4 limps, high pulse, anxiety, stressed, being not sure of going out, being paranaoid that something will happen bad to me, I even thouggt that my husband want to ge rid off me. after consulTION WITH MY GP we change dose to 0.5 not 1 mg and I felt ok and continue to take them. this medication is very good bur you have to be aware of symptoms and listen to your body and mind.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I slept all the time”

Written on: 16/01/2019 by julymoon (1 review written)

I persevered for two weeks hoping things would improve but by then I was asleep most of the time and felt drugged when awake. I could not keep awake. The notes said that it caused sleepiness in one out of ten people. I started the tablets when I knew I didn't have to drive. I got progressively more drowsy until I had difficulty staying awake at all. That's when I stopped taking them. It took two days for the effects to go away.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Would Not Recommend”

Written on: 15/10/2018

My experience with champix was extremely scary and I think it has changed me forever. I had taken then before for a few weeks and the only side affects were the dreams. Eventually I went back on the cigarettes and decided to give them another go which was possibly the worst decision I ever made. I am a 28 year old girl with life struggles like everyone else. First week was really sick, tired and having crazy dreams which I could deal with. Week 2 noticed serious mood swings but once again tried to ride it out. On Saturday night I went out and got drunk but was having such a good night when my mood just dramatically changed for no reason. I had trashed my house, cut my hair, etc. I woke up having a panic attack thinking I would die! It was like an out of body experience, I was like a different person and the rage I had felt for no reason I could not understand it until I went online to read so many people with experiences just like mine.  I honestly believe champix should be taken off the market. I understand it works great for some people but it is not worth the risk of people's mental health. I am so lucky to be alive and I just hope I don't have any long term affects but it is an experience I will never ever forget.

Bb4All's Comment

Written on: 21/10/2018

Thank you for writing this. I thought it was only me who was suffering. I tried Champix and had similar reactions. Day one first tablet taken at 11am, that night woke up with sweating and funny dreams that woke me but can't remember what they were about. Day two same again 11am and that night, hardly slept, hallucinations that were strange and ruined my next two days, slept fitfully for two nights, kept waking and felt miserable during the times I was awake, you mentioned suicidal and I found those symptoms too. I was on a serious downer. I had asked my Dr to prescribe me Zyban as I had used them years ago to stop and I did very successfully using them until a death in the family put paid to my cigarette free days and back on it again. My Dr refused to put me on Zyban and said he wouldn't prescribe them for stopping smoking and I told him I had tried the Champix and I have thrown them in the drawer and will never take them again.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“So far, so good”

Written on: 21/01/2018 by ioGalbraith211 (1 review written)

First I read loads of reviews. I am on day 18 and stopped smoking on day 10. I have not had so much as 1 puff and after smoking for over 30 years I never thought I would be able to go even one day without having a cigarette. I do have mild urges to smoke sometimes but these pass very quickly and are getting fewer. No side effects except I have had mild headaches for the past 3 days - but nothing that is unmanageable. They may not even be related to Champix. They are not magic pills and you do need willpower and I am determined. Feel better, don't smell of stale smoke and have more money - win, win.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★★★★

“Plz Start Now”

Written on: 04/12/2017 by Carleigh175 (1 review written)

i am a heavy smoker for the last 25 year. i planned to stop for only one main reason, either to stop it now while i can (sure with the help of Champix) or suffer alot of diseases which eventually will force me to stop smoking.so i made up my mind and now i am 30 days smoke free person. neverever will think to smoke again. champix is an excellent product, and i recomend it to every smoker. till now no side effects at all. now i wake up daily fresh, active and am able to breath very well. i hit to gym daily. folks, hitging gym along with quitting smoke will make u really feel u r still alive and clean human being. i pray for all smokers rlly to stop smoking and start a healthy life...its never too late guys.. stop smoking now plz or later u will be forced to stop it. Champix is a real good choice. wish u all life full of joy, happiness, and good health.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No warnings...??”

Written on: 20/10/2017 by Abagailu323 (1 review written)

I tried champix last year, I was determined to give up so got it. Although the doctor told me how it works there was no verbal warning beyond feeling nausea. After taking it for a week I started to suffer with severe headaches, I can honestly say I wish I had thrown the stuff away then but no, after 4 weeks of things getting worse and I still hadn't been able to quit smoking I approached the chemist for any information on the drug. I was shocked that they had to go online but strangely couldn't print it off. They rattled off a brief side effect list, but it didn't stick. By this stage I was suffering severe head aches constantly which in turn caused the tinnitus I suffer with to be extremely severe, had lost weight from not being either able to eat or to hold food down. I was unable to concentrate on anything so was more or less like a zombie. I rarely left the house unless I absolutely had to. At the end of the 2nd month I threw the stuff away I could not function in any normal form and friends were getting concerned with me, Then I finally managed to go online myself to check the drug out (NOT EVERYONE HAS ACCESS TO THE INTERNET especially on a fixed income), had I have had this information prior to taking it I WOULD NOT have even ask about it. Why are there no warning on the packaging or giving out with the drug at dispense, having read the warnings online I could relate to everyone of them, including the suicide one, not because I thought about it but the severe head pain I suffered was intolerable. Now I see they are advertising this stuff on tv, I seriously hope they have proper information of side effects with the drug now. I also hope that after reading Queensland court ruling that, all suicides have to be tested for the drug varenicline,

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★★★

“Quitting smoking with Champix”

Written on: 07/07/2017 by OlgaL (1 review written)

I am in week 7 right now taking Champix. I smoked my last cigarette on day 16. They did really tasted disgusting and I didn't want to get get used to the new (gross) taste, so I said to my self over and over again and still do, they cigarettes makes me feel super sick. It works. Of course still sometimes craving, especially when nervous or when the adrenaline goes up. But I stay strong and I know I can do it, especially for the reason I want to quit. My husband and I are planing to have a baby and I really wanted to get rid of the poison in my body before I get pregnant. This gives me power and strength not to give up. I know, there are a lot of different reason to quit smoking, but this one was the best for me. I tried patches and gums before, it didn't really worked, because I like the taste of the cigarette not so much the habit person. Yes, I know it was all just in my mind :-) See, how powerful it is? I needed to try Champix, a pill that makes cigarettes taste yucky. I believed in it and it worked. No side effects, just a head ache here and there. My mood is better than ever. Tip: before you start taking Champix prepare your self and close people around you on what could happen, your behavior changes, your moods and so on. You need all support you can get, people that clear your mind. Keep in mind, if you have severe side effects, tell your self " This is just the pill, is not me" The best and hardest thing I did so far in my life!!!!! Thank You Champix

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★★★★

“Highly recommended”

Written on: 18/02/2017 by Kailee1956 (1 review written)

A 30 year smoker tried everything.Found it really easy to stop very few cravings.No side effects mood better to be honest.Wish id tried it earlier

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“started taking champix 2012 while i was able to give...”

Written on: 24/11/2016 by Giovannit102 (1 review written)

started taking champix 2012 while i was able to give up the smokes,not long after suffered cva or stroke.while recovering it came to my attention that in canada and usa there is a class action against champix causing cardio vasclar and stroke as side effects.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Hard but worth it”

Written on: 22/10/2016

For me, the side effects have been horrendous, but I will not stop taking Champix until I finish the course (7 days to go). Having been a smoker for around 45 years, I am proud to say I haven't had one since week 3 of the course. I do still have a desire to smoke in the afternoons (if I'm bored) but I haven't weakened. I've been through hell with the side effects, so I refuse to go through all that and start smoking again. Mainly lack of sleep, nightmares, nausea and constipation have been the worst. But I'm nearly there and it's all been worth it. I took Champix last year and gave up smoking for 4 months, but had 1 smoke with work mates, which started the cycle again. I was gutted!! I have to be strong this time - godda do it for my husband, grandchildren and myself of course.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Strong Willpower and Champix dont work”

Written on: 26/09/2016 by Letitia05 (1 review written)

Okay, so I started Champix, 26 days ago and I am still smoking. Very disappointing because I read how all the other people quit their quit day. I've gone from smoking a packet to between 2 - 4 Cigarettes per day in week 2 and 3. I am on week 4 now and cigarettes still taste very good and I am back on a packet a day. Mmmmm I suppose that is still good but not the desired effect that I actually wanted. :( The dreams are REAL!!! Sometimes I don't know whether to worry because of things in my sub conscience or if its just the tablets, I am starting to eat a lot and then I suffer from constipation. So unless Champix is still going to work its magic I have come to the conclusion that Champix is for people with a low level of will power tolerance. Does it make sense? I have a very high level of tolerance :( Wasted money, paid for a doctor to get a prescription and still I did not get value for my money. So please tell me that there is still hope because I honestly do not have money to go to a doctor again, get a prescription and get the maintenance pack whereas the starter pack didn't create the desired results.

Animals82's Response to Letitia05's Review

Written on: 21/10/2016

The key is you have to stop smoking then you will see after a few days you just don't crave as much. I kept smoking wondering why wasn't working to ect... but I just thought I need to just stop so I did and 3 months later still not smoking don't get me wrong you still need to be focused and you get triggers were you really want a cigarette to, but key is to push on forget about them and you will be fine be happy being a non smoker and don't pine for a cigarette or you will just start back up. Alen carrs easy way to stop smoking book really helped to."good luck". I feel without Champix I may not have succeeded it gave me the start I needed.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“its worked for me”

Written on: 02/09/2016

I smoked from the age of 16 I'm now 54 smoked up to more than 20 a day. if I got stressed ide grab a cigarette. Cigarettes were a big part of my life.I had tried to give up before but I didn't have any will power, Now at 54 years of age I started to notice my health was getting worse, I had thought about getting a vapour and use that,But I was amazed at how much they also cost, so I was please that having a good chat to my stop smoking nurse she said I would be able to try champix. I set the date I wanted to give up and I actually stopped before that date,and I don't think I will ever have another cigarette again.I have had some side affects like headaches but not all the time,but the worst is the terrible taste in my mouth .I would say that champix have helped me to give up but I do still get the odd hurge to have a cigarette, but they only last a second.Im now into week 5 of my course, and i feel that confident on being a non smoker.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★★★★☆

“I HAVE STRUGGLED TO LET GO”

Written on: 28/07/2016 by Animals82 (1 review written)

I have been on here on and off reading reviews since I started taking Champix. I am on day 17 now unlike many who stopped within the first 2 weeks I've gone past this still smoking. The first week I did as my doctor suggested still smoke as normal, but day 4 I did notice I was going more hrs without a cig and they tasted nasty to. By the end of week one the taste wasn't as bad but I was down from 14 a day including using a low nicotine strength e-cig I use in between cigs, as I used to smoke 20 plus before, down to about 7 cigs a day now. Week 2 less cravings but quit day passed didn't stop, well decided not to give my self a hard time as want this to work. Doctor gave me 4 weeks more of the 1mg tablets I said really want to stop on week 3. So far I've been badly constipated to the point not gone at all in 2 weeks so had to take laxatives which worked. I have had a fuzzy feeling in my head like being stoned, headaches on off, trapped wind and blocked nose. Currently on day 17 today and down to 5 cigs still. To be honest all not really worth smoking taste and enjoyment not there for me it is just the letting go I am finding hard. In the past I tried several times to stop using all methods and failed I feel much more hopeful on this. On 3rd week cravings are much less now, Tomorrow is day 18 I've 2 cigs left and plan to only have these and stop. I know I can stop and could have days back, but this way feels best for me slowly does it. I feel positive using this product is does cut craving back will power and stopping are all that is required. Side effects are different with every one and I'm not liking them much but can deal with them. Good luck I do hope it works for you and my review helps anyone struggling. My advice give the pills time and stop smoking wen you feel you can.

Animals82's Response to Animals82's Review

Written on: 24/08/2016

Just an update on my progress. As above I did exactly as I said day 18 smoked last 2 cigs and stopped. I new I just needed to stop and mentally focus myself. I read Allen Carrs easy way to stop smoking as lots on here suggested. I was very impressed with the book really makes you look at smoking for what it really is and how it has you trapped. You are not in control of ur life when a smoker the cravings control you, how you have to stop what ur doing to get ur fix, you can never just relax enjoy life. This is something I am enjoying the most been a non smoker "freedom". I don't have to remember buying them counting how many I have smoked or how many is left. I leave the house without them and can shop without the need to rush to get out for my cigarette. I have been on Champix 6weeks into my 7th now and smoke free for almost 4 weeks. I do get cravings as I remained using a e-cig for over a week so I still was getting my nicotine fix after reading the book I new I had to stop using substitutes to be totally free and non dependant to nicotine. I am now not using it and happy still feeling positive and will keep going. Don't get me wrong I still crave especially after a meal but I push on staying focused is key. I have 4 weeks of Champix to go and will defiantly remain smoke free. I think about the cigarettes a bit on off as it's early days but I don't think I want to smoke I think about the future of been smoke free. I have so much more money to. Overall my advice you need to be happy about quitting and not unhappy this is key. You need to want to stop and feel positive each day. Do not pine or greave for the cigarettes u will soon be back to smoking if you start saying to ur self I miss them. Don't miss them be happy you have your life back. Good luck to all. And buy the book to it really will help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Worked for me, but be aware of possible side effect”

Written on: 29/06/2016 by 5yearson (2 reviews written)

I first wrote a review for Champix in about July/August 2011 when I used it. I did stop on the appointed day and can honestly say I have not had a cigarette since. As a 30+ a days moker for about 40 years that's a pretty good review for the product. I wish I could find my original review but sadly it's obviously in the archives. All I can say is that I had no really strong feelings about giving up - I only gave it a try as I had heard that Champix was quite successful and I do like an easy option. I was quite concerned about the possible side effects I read about, particularly the low mood issues, but I can honestly say I don’t think this happened, I kept asking my husband and colleagues whether I seemed depressed or more kranky than usual and they didn’t seem to think so (although they may have just been trying to be kind and supportive!) I did sometimes have quite vivid dreams but they were not unpleasant/frightening just quite dramatic. I also felt pretty nauseous for the whole course, but I don't eat breakfast and I think that’s supposed to help to stop the sickly feeling. So what's it like now? Well I don't really think about smoking , every once in a while I do get an overwhelming urge to have a cigarette but it soon passes. I'm not the least bit bothered by other people smoking, my husband still smokes and I don’t have a problem with it, although if I'm honest I can usually smell it if someone's popped out for a sneaky cig, whereas I don't think I'd have noticed before. I have put on weight, but I think that's a downside to giving up smoking and absolutely nothing to do with Champix, more to do with my lack of willpower and craving for sweet things – my advice – don’t let it get out of hand – be aware – and don’t keep telling yourself ‘you deserve it’! I'm a lot better off financially. I don't get nearly so out of breath at my exercise class, and I'm sure there's lots of other things that I just take for granted now. But the main thing for me is that I'm not 'ruled' by the need for a cigarette, I can go on holiday and not be desperate to get off the plane and out of the airport for a smoke, I can sit through a meeting without itching to get outside, I can join other people at lunchtime without always having to 'nip' outside for a cigarette - I don't smell of cigarettes - nor do my clothes. Was it worth it – yes - obviously it's much better for my health. So if you're struggling - hang on in there - I really feel if it worked for me it can work for anyone! Good Luck.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Suidal Tendancies Caused By Champix...I've just...”

Written on: 14/04/2016 by Ayersbr421 (1 review written)

I give it 1 star based on the effect it had on my wellbeing and my personal experience with it. 5 stars based on the effect it had on my nicotine addiction. I would still recommend this to a friend but it would come with a sincere warning that should be taken seriously. I would tell them about my negative experience as i am you. First off, i do not believe in taking medication that alters the natural chemistry of the brain...which Champix does...it's how your perception (and it IS perception...i didn't change from smoking tobacco to smoking rolled up bits of rubber and carpet fluff) of cigarettes is changed from enjoyable to sickly and disgusting (Champix does this well, kicked in for me on day 7, very powerful medication) i also found myself not suffering at all. It wasn't a case of 'grr, i need a cigarette so bad i could rip someone's head off but they make me feel horribly sick so i can't smoke one'...what a nightmare that would be...like sowing my lips shut so i can't fail my cold turkey. No, i felt fine and didn't really think about it and time seemed to fly by, really did. So...no withdrawals. It seemed to be the answer had been found after trying with solid intent to quit for 4 unbroken months (this time...20 a day for 20 years). I even phoned my Mum to share the joyous news and recommend she get this miracle of science off her doctor. This was 2 days ago...i have just flushed the remaining pills doen the toilet. Either that or i may leave my family for a life at my mum's (for no real reason) or kill myself within 3 days. I kid you not. Google 'Champix and suicidal thoughts' or something to that effect...i am one of those people. Now you know it's real and possible you may experience to. So when i recommend these to people i would say that it works and you will stop smoking, but there is a chance you may be one of the few who develop angry depression and suicidal tendancies..take it at your own risk, you probably will be fine, but if you start feeling moody for no reason, or your thought patterns or feelings change in any way shape or form out of the ordinary...flush the pills, try another method to stop smoking and accept these pills don't agree with you'.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Wouldn't have got this far without it!”

Written on: 31/03/2016

I wouldn't normally write a review on something, but I feel it is important to do so in this case. I have (or rather had) been a smoker for over 30+years and I know that without the help of Champix I'd still be smoking today. Yes, they gave me a few very odd dreams and yes, they did sometimes make me feel quite nauseous, but this would pass after 15 minutes and realistically, who cares if it's going to stop you from smoking! You do have to look after yourself in terms of drinking water and eating with the tablets but it was all worthwhile. I've never looked back and I would totally recommend the programme if you are really wanting to give the habit away. I hope you have the success that I had. Good luck.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Not easy as they say it is, even with Champix”

Written on: 14/02/2016

The hardest part of the day, is mid afternoons, if taken twice a day as prescribe, morning and night. By mid afternoon, craving is 100%, Champix, should think of the heavy smokers..and find a way, for them to take 2 one mg pills per day, and one 0.5mg mid day, to help heavy smokers quit for good. But then again, why would anyone care about my current problem. I did quit cigarettes, but I started smoking cigars mid afternoons, as Champix 1mg is not strong enough to last 14 hours, one taken at 6am, and second taken at 8pm.I am not a person who will quit, eventually Champix will tell my brain to stop period.I will talk to my Doctor, as what Champix, does to a human body..

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview