Samsung DVD-SH855M Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
30% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Samsung DVD-SH855M - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“awful”

Written on: 21/03/2014

I bought this samsung DH855M player/recorder a few days ago and after 4 days of getting no where with it i feel like putting it throught the window. I have all the connections correct but it says i need a tv code which is not listed in the book before i can use the input select button. It wont store channel programmes after scanning, so everytime i switch it off i have to do an auto search again and the machine keeps switching off every few minutes even though i have selected 6hr delay button. Would certainly not recommend this machine to anyone. I will never buy samsung products again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“This machine will not record any BBC channels without...”

Written on: 27/01/2010

This machine will not record any BBC channels without freezing the picture,due to drop in signal strength, unless the signal comes via satellite or cable and samsung say this is not a fault,not fit for purpose they should say!They don't say this in their details.Shops don't know or omit to inform you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Virtually unuseable and not fit for purpose - complete...”

Written on: 27/12/2009

Virtually unuseable and not fit for purpose - complete waste of money and should not be allowed on the shelves - given so many other people have had the same problems you'd think it was put together from the spare parts bin or did Samsung simply forget to test whether this combination of sophisticated components actually worked together! Since new its been a case of press a button, "any button" and go and make a cup of tea until it bothers to respond. As for the programme guide, its quicker to pop to town and buy a paper if you want to find out whats on next. Hard disk likes to record sound a few seconds after it records the picture (not funny) and when nothing works don't try and work out why - its the most unintuitive machine I've ever owned! Sent mine to the Samsung approved repairer and they said nothing was wrong with it (presume they meant this is how they all come out of the box). They have finally updated the firmware and replaced the hard disk (took a while to get the parts, I guess they are in huge demand). Yet to pick it up, but not feeling very confident. Why can't things just work?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Hard drive works well but you must persevere with the...”

Written on: 23/12/2009

Hard drive works well but you must persevere with the instruction book as it is not user friendly. The DVD does not work well, it does not burn to disc and mine has been scrapped in less than 2 years. Not recommended and not up to Samsung's usual standards.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I read all the bad reviews but because i already had...”

Written on: 09/11/2009

I read all the bad reviews but because i already had samsung tv, this just looked amazing alongside it. I needed to transfer home movies and record of cable or sky aswell as play divx's thru the usb. I cant fault it for my purpose. never use the digital tv or epg so cant comment on how useless it is or isnt.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I found Samsung DVD-SH855M is almost unusable with...”

Written on: 08/03/2009

I found Samsung DVD-SH855M is almost unusable with it's unbelievably slow functions. The weekly program guild and recording functions are just too slow. In my opinion, the worst piece of Samsung kit I have ever owned. Others have written about aerial problems. This will be true for most DTV receivers. For me, the machine is not worthy of its place under my telly. After racing home for 2 hours around the M25, I do not want to sit in front of the telly waiting 5 seconds between each and every channel change. Thanks for listening, I needed to get this off my chest.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“A good aerial is a must with this machine,or it will...”

Written on: 23/11/2008 by framanjo (1 review written)

A good aerial is a must with this machine,or it will not work properly . After getting my aerial sorted I am now well pleased with its exellent picture quality and lots of features and functions incuding a large memory for recording without a disk. It is realy good value when compared to more expensive machines.All in all I am very pleased with it. If you do get one them then do make sure you have a good aerial .A couple of hours spent reading the instructions until you understand it, is time well spent .I think most problems are caused by people not doing just that.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Nice looking machine , interface ok , instructions ok,...”

Written on: 20/01/2008 by jcbbcm (1 review written)

Nice looking machine , interface ok , instructions ok, expensive. Gave up a twin tuner pvr on hindsight would have kept it or bought a Dvd recorder with tuner.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“As a dvd/hd recorder this machine is not fit for...”

Written on: 12/11/2007 by gregoryash (2 reviews written)

As a dvd/hd recorder this machine is not fit for purpose.Many retailers have had these machines returned because they are so bad.If you only want it for its dvd playing and playback of divx files from a usb pen drive or external hard drive,its acceptable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have now played with the Samsung DVD-SH855M for a...”

Written on: 01/11/2007 by 30michael (6 reviews written)

I have now played with the Samsung DVD-SH855M for a very short period in under a week and now seem to understand basically everything I need to know about recording and playing DVDs, very easy to use.
Using the EPG guide for recording I can say I have had no problems what-so-ever, each page refreshes very quickly with no problems. Using the recording function to DVD and playing it back I had no problems but would say you must use the correct DVD -R/RW otherwise you will not be able to finalizing your DVD for other DVD players to play. The TV turner upscale to 1080i onto your LCD TV and picture quality is second to none. There is a wide range of recording formats to use for recording. Tip for best play back use XP for recording to hard drive. I have no regrets what-so-ever in buying this product and would recommend this to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview