Roko Health Clubs Reviews - www.roko.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
21% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Roko Health Clubs www.roko.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“ROKO CHISWICK TO AVOID!”

Written on: 31/08/2020 by Mariaactress (1 review written)

Disrespect for the basic principles of health and safety. Poor management. Some of the staff is very rude, the manager is incompetent.It is overly priced for what is on offer. The pool water is often unclean and fumes from the kitchen, next to the pool, make the smell of fried food unbearable at times, the lanes are too narrow and become dangerous when crowded. It was very clear to me that profit came before any preoccupation for the well being and safety of their members. Very sad indeed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cancellation difficult even with serious illness”

Written on: 19/12/2019 by Gymnurse (1 review written)

I developed illness which prevented me from attending gym. I suspended membership for 6 months with the hope of improvement. Unfortunately I deteriorated and after 6 months and cancelled my Direct Debit, because I could not use the facilities. I attended the gym with evidence of appointments. The membership manager was on leave, but 2 Reception ladies viewed my appointments and said they'd pass on the details to the manager on his return. After 2 weeks I received a letter from him asking for my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unfriendly and rude club”

Written on: 25/01/2019

I popped in the club to get coffee and was watching my kids sport in the park and paid for coffee £2.80 and come out and wanted to use the toilet after it the rude manager didn't let me to use the toilet and was saying the toilet is not for public but the coffee shop which is allocated inside the club is for public and asked why you didn put the sign for public coffe shop and not use the toilet he was just saying his rules but as a customer which you charge with the coffe shop they can not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“Will not let you leave.”

Written on: 08/11/2018 by Chris777999 (1 review written)

I go to the Chiswick Gym in West London. Decent enough place but getting a marriage divorce would be easier and quicker. In this day and age, having to give 3 months notice only when your membership is about to end is a joke. I have found a gym within walking distance of my house but Roko have me tied in for another year even if I don't want to go. They must be vert desperate to keep people even if their personal circumstances change. Why force people to stay Roko??… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST GYM”

Written on: 01/11/2018 by Hollandjp344 (1 review written)

Roko Portsmouth is probably the worst gym I’ve ever joined. They told me it was going to be a contract for a year as I’m a student and don’t live in Portsmouth. They’ve been taking money for the past 2 years now. I called them to say I’m not even in the country can I cancel it via email. The person I spoke to on the phone was so rude, probably shouldn’t even be working there, said I can’t do that as it has to be a letter with my signature. This is ridiculous as I’m not even in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Nottingham Roko - Love it!!”

Written on: 22/08/2018 by English166 (1 review written)

The gym is lovely, light bright and spacious with plenty of choice of machines and free weights to use. Staff on reception and in the cafe are always pleasant and helpful, and the gym staff are amazing. If you feel out of your comfort zone in a gym then these guys will help you feel at home. I had never done any group fitness classes before starting at Roko, but in my 1-to-1 appointment my trainer recommended the body-pump class (les Mills) and it was amazing! Recently refurbished changing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent ”

Written on: 26/02/2018 by bsMarsh424 (1 review written)

5 years after leaving Roko by cancelling with their team, they're still claiming not to have received the cancellation! Now they've passed my details to a debt collector! Guess what you aint getting a penny… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Portsmouth Roko- Avoid”

Written on: 09/02/2018 by Zane282 (1 review written)

Terrible value for money, there are plenty of other gyms which are better and you are not tied into a year long contract. 3 months notice must be given before leaving. Two months after cancelling my contract a payment was taken from my account, staff were terrible!! Very unhelpful and rude. In the end had to ask to speak to the manager and he was just as unhelpful, it took 2 months to receive a refund and this was refunded by a cheque! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Gillingham Roko”

Written on: 19/01/2018 by Ballardcc322 (1 review written)

Avoid at all cost, other gyms offering a more competitive rate, and no contracts. Receptionist are rude and unhelpful. Membership is very expensive , had a 12 month contract, but had to pay a additional 4 months due to some sort of cut of date. shop around for better deals!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Staff are rude and gym is falling apart ”

Written on: 13/09/2017 by Gibsonyt29 (1 review written)

I lost my card to renew it coast five pounds ,when I asked a member of the staff they was so rude to me but at the same time I recorded it on my phone , the manager is more instrested in the five pounds than what the staff said and me , I have given them 3 months notice but I can not use the gym unless I pay 5 pounds for a new card , I have spoken to people in the gym who have said the staff are up there on ?????even some people who take there kids to swimming say the women on the desk are so… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Chiswick - outdated and overpriced”

Written on: 15/08/2017 by amDean278 (1 review written)

Very small pool and facilities in general. The cafe's coffee tasted awful. For the price of a visit it is not worth it. The attached spa is also bad iro customer service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★☆☆

“Needs improvement ”

Written on: 30/08/2016 by Javon472 (1 review written)

Negatives: car park is gravel, should be Tarmac as it is bumpy driving through and if it's wet will splash onto your car. Maintenance is pretty bad, not clean enough and showers are clearly not cleaned every day, with the same lump of hair in there two days in a row. The water dispenser isn't very cold in the gym, not helpful during a sweaty work out. A gym charging this much should have the scales which tell you your fat and muscle percentage There should be more mats for floor exercises… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Treat your members better!”

Written on: 25/04/2016 by Noel380 (1 review written)

I've been a member of many gyms and Roko is the worst. For literally years the Chiswick branch had issues with air conditioning aka no air conditioning. Worse in my opinion is the equipment entertainment systems. I need entertainment to do my cross trainer and treadmill torture. For years there were problems with broadband meaning TV and radio buffering. Now the headphone sockets don't work: hear in one ear if you're lucky. Come on guys, we're paying for a service you're simply not delivering… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“First impressions count..it didn't for me :(”

Written on: 21/02/2016 by Leilaniz1959 (1 review written)

As I walked in, there was a woman behind the reception desk doing her hair with her combs on the counter!!! Has the health club turned into a hairdresser's now? There was another man and woman at reception both oblivious.. The club could do with more cleaning. Some hand cream in the toilets would be good too. They had clean towels which was good, the health drinks which are freshly made were great too. One of the gym instructors was amazing, he had so much energy and encouraging. I would go… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“THINK!!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”

Written on: 15/02/2016 by mk1443 (1 review written)

My kid has taken the swimming lessons in Roko , No customer care , bad managment, taking ages to fix things. I am leaving and I want my money back... they are not bothered the hygiene of their pool is appalling and I wouldn't recommend to anyone, all you see is their staff having nice time in the coffee shop… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mk1443's Response to mk1443's Review

Written on: 15/02/2016

this is in regards to Nottingham branch

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Written on: 26/01/2016 by Carohuc (1 review written)

Cold staff, unable to empathize. Also they call themselves a "Club" but they are just a gym with a swimming pool. Don't waste your money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great club great staff, best in area by far”

Written on: 02/01/2016 by White448 (1 review written)

Staff good, facilities best in area Cost is value for money Classes best instructors Good coffee… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“No Customer care at all..”

Written on: 29/11/2015 by 68Lucas (1 review written)

My kid has taken the swimming lessons in Roko , recently the teacher has left so Roko cancealed the lessons for more than a month still not be able to find another teacher . As their member somehow I never got any notice when they cancealed the lesson nither any calls to tell me what they plaining to do.I made many phone calls but always not be able to get to talk to the manager and she never bother to call back . Agreed with other reviews. No customer care , bad managment, taking ages to fix… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Roko Chiswick”

Written on: 14/11/2015

I have been a member for several years. Considtent problem of poor management and lack of customer care/focus. Slow to repair broken equipment despite numerous requests and incapable of replacing faulty items even after maybe 7 or 8 requests from members and by their own staff Generally nice premises and location but poor on customer care and management and maintenance… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Lack of concern for customers”

Written on: 21/09/2015 by LotusFlower (1 review written)

I joined Roko Portsmouth 11 years ago because it was located in a convenient situation for me and family members. I had a joint membership and paid £95 PCM. I stayed because I had a good social group of friends. But this club has dire customer relations. The staff do not care at all about individuals or holistic classes. I tried quietly and politely for 11 years to get a decent environment for yoga classes. We were bombarded by extremely loud music and instructors with microphones in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview