Yamaha 2.5 HP Four Stroke Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
38% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Yamaha 2.5 HP Four Stroke - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Yamaha 2.5 HP Four Stroke

Yamaha 2.5 HP Four Stroke
Yamaha 2.5 HP Four Stroke
Yamaha 2.5 HP Four Stroke
Yamaha 2.5 HP Four Stroke

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Know the pros and cons before buying”

Written on: 29/09/2021 by Express238 (1 review written)

Bought the newer 2015 version this summer used. Also have the 4 HP purchased new in 2002. The 4 HP has a lot more power to push our 27’ ULDB race boat over 5 knots easy. While the 2.5 HP works just well enough up to 5 knots maximum. The 2.5 HP is very fuel efficient at 4.5 knots. The 2.5 HP has an extremely fine pilot jet that clogs easily. A partial clog will make a smooth idle at low RPMs difficult to achieve. All summer the motor started first pull - but required a higher than optimum RPM. Just brought home for storage, the motor stalled while being flushed. Problem was a fully clogged pilot jet. The ride home must have stirred up some debris in the float bowl. Used a very fine wire to push the clog out - as carb cleaner alone was insufficient. Once all the various carb jets have been fully cleaned, the motor now runs like a champ. Oil change was easy. Leg oil change was easy. Carb took a few hours to liberate, clean, reassemble, and water tank test. Repainted small paint chips, waxed painted surfaces, and conditioned plastic. 100% worth the time and effort - as the motor looks and runs like new. Was probably the reason why the previous owner sold this motor. Inconsistent low idle. Now fixed. We will use the 2.5 HP all the time moving forward as it is a 20” vs our 4 HP 15”. The 15” short shaft is however perfect on our inflatable. Know the pros and cons and how to fix them - and you should be good. If you need a reverse gear and a bit more power - get the 4 HP. If not the 2.5 may be all you will ever need.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★☆☆

“This is my sixth Yamaha. Good luck with your choice...”

Written on: 26/11/2020 by Greer103 (1 review written)

This is my sixth Yamaha. Good luck with your choice and a fantastic fishing experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 5
★★★☆☆

“Carb jets too small”

Written on: 09/05/2019 by Fallguy1000 (1 review written)

Well, the title says it all. The big trouble with this engine is the jets are thin like a human hair. And if anything gets in them; they won't run right. That includes varnished fuel. You can imagine my surprise when the motor would not start the second spring of use. And I was low on gas on my main tank! And I ran all the fuel out in the fall! The solution is to only use pristine fuel, high octane is good, non-ethylene is best, then never dry run the engine. Keep fuel in it and always make sure to run the engine every 6 months, 4 preferred.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 9 1
★★☆☆☆

“A frustrating experience ”

Written on: 18/05/2018 by Paxtonr159 (1 review written)

Mine was bought new three years ago to power an Avon inflatable used as a tender and has never given confidence. It has been prone to cut out at awkward moments despite having been service and some care taken over the fuelling. This year we are trying Aspen to see if this helps with fuel stability. In overall terms it’s been a frustration.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 1
★★☆☆☆

“Water in gas a huge problem with Yamaha 2.5 hp four stroke”

Written on: 27/08/2016 by xyMurdock463 (1 review written)

I have had this motor for three years. If you leave the vent on the gas tank open, water WILL get into the gas. When that happens it may run, but at low speed and only with the choke wide open. The only way to resolve this is to drain the gas tank, and put in water free fuel, then try to run it long enough to purge the water from the carburetor. This can take from five minutes to an hour. It is amazing that this motor does not have an accessible carburetor drain screw. Ir is also amazing that the gas tank allows water to get in if you leave the vent open. Yes, I know I should be smart enough to close the vent, but it is very east to forget this. I have had small motors for many years for my dinghy, and never had this problem with any other brand, including Mercury and Tohatsu, basically the same motor.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“peice of junk, bad carburator, bad foot that leaks”

Written on: 14/09/2015 by Warrenx392 (1 review written)

I have this engine, bought new, still under warranty. The foot had to be replaced because is was leaking and it burned the clutch. Never worked properly. When you close the choke it stops. if you leave it open the revolution goes up then down then up.... I was told that it was the fuel but it was discarded after checking the fuel. The last potential reason or excuse is that the carburator is broken or dirty and this after less than 10 hours in 2 years of operation. If I would have known this I would never have bought this piecs of junk (and I am polite). I was told that a small screw is defective at the bottom of the motor foot so the clutch was repalced under warranty, for the rest I am waiting to see how much it will cost to "clean" the carburator.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not that happy.”

Written on: 02/02/2015 by CaydenBentley159 (1 review written)

The engine can't be relied on at all. Not easy to get going and stalls easily even when warm. I have had it from new and it gives my no confidence at all. I have had it serviced and use clean fresh fuel all of the time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
★★★★☆

“Happy with performance”

Written on: 26/02/2014

Has been a good performing engine. Does well on a 10ft porta-bote although a slightly bigger HP engine would give better performance with two people in the boat. But I prefer less weight and can't expect 4HP performance from a 2.5. I've seen cheaper engines but you get more plastic with them and this model seems to be rugged. I have had no starting issues with this engine. Like any small engine, always run out the carb gas as much as possible. About one quart fills the tank and chances are you will need to refill if you are out all day. Metal prop and water pump/water flow appears rugged. Engine oil level indicator should probably be a dip stick and not the window which can be mysterious when first encountered (filling the oil to the upper edge of the opening is way too much) But once you see how the correct level looks,however, it works.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Spend as much fixing the carbs as the original outlay”

Written on: 24/07/2013 by Bag_E_Puss (1 review written)

The Yam worked brilliantly from brand new and while we were on old petrol/gas formulations (without bio-component). Hovever since fuel now has bio-component in it, despite all my efforts to drain fuel out of the carbs before storing it, and using stabilisers, the Yam fails to start 75% of the time, until I clean out and rebuild the carbs. That in itself is tricky because five or six carb items are held together with two bolts, and I've lost parts overboard. Horrible to service. I can send to a dealer for a service, leave it for 6 weeks and I have the same problem. Time and time again. I thought of buying new carbs, but this will only stall (!) the problem for 6 months, at 50% of the cost of the engine. Any bio-component in the fuel left for any length of time - a matter of weeks - will kill this engine. I have often thought of just heaving it over the side, but I like to think I am environmentally responsible, and my conscience has stopped me from doing it. The Yam is awful, but dealers must like it because it keeps coming back again and again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Finechtyfred's Response to Bag_E_Puss's Review

Written on: 05/03/2014

had same problems for 2 years - local dealer fitted inline fuel filter 18 months ago and not had a problem since - just stared it up 3rd pull after overwintering with fuel left in.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent Little Engine”

Written on: 01/05/2013 by Mainah1965 (1 review written)

I have a 2004 2.5, which I use for trolling on my square stern Discovery. This engine has never failed to start on the first pull. I practice regular maintenance on it, put it away properly for the winter, and have had 0 problems. The efficiency is astounding as you can run most of the day on a tank of gas (less than a quart). It is very quiet, burns clean and idles perfectly. The only negative is the weight but it's a 4 stroke, not a 2 stroke, so that's the penalty.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible engine 2.5 yamaha four stroke”

Written on: 11/03/2013

Carb problems, carb problemsd carb problems. Unreliable poor starter when it starts at all. Under one year old useless warranty dealer always looking for easy out to escape warranty claims. canopy does not fit and springs off engine. I have had 4 yamaha engines the two strokes were great the four strokes are junk and best avoided.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“2004 Model Still Running in 2012”

Written on: 23/10/2012

Bought the 2.5 in Sept, 2003. Have put many hours on it running up and down the Ocklwaha River (Florida) in a 15'4" Gheenoe. We can get 8 mph in still water. Very stingy on gasoline consumption. Overall it is a good motor, but I still wouild rather have an old two-stroke 3 hp Evenrude or Johnson. Many users report rough idle. Mine runs rough at idle (usrges) Choke speeds up rpms, but does not stop the surges. At high speeds surge not noticeable. Rough at idle when brnd new. Still has bad rough idle after having carb rebuilt three times over the psst 9 nine . I believe the rough idle to be design flaw that cannot be overcome by the best mechanics. Again, all users report rough idle. "Sight buble" is a poor way to check crankcase oil level.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Service & help from yamaha out 8 times run once.NEED HELP>”

Written on: 10/09/2011 by markbarker (1 review written)

Carb.rebuilt once carb.replaced 2 times Towed off lake 2 times paddled off twice did not start 3 times. Called yamaha customer service no reply called again no help. called boss of customer service 3 times no reply.That was last year.this year would not start took it back PAID 96.00 put the motor in back of truck drove 8 miles stoped at Tims for coffee a pint of oil on floor and all over Golf bag. Dealer offers to buy motor back for $500.00 I wish I had My 1982 merc.4 HP back it run.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to markbarker's Review

Written on: 21/09/2011

Great engine which I have used often for the past 7 years. The engine is very sensitive to dirty fuel. The first year I had the engine I was ready trash it until I carefully cleaned the fuel tank and filter. Since then, I have made sure the fuel I put in the tank is free of water and dirt, it has been very reliable for my inflatable tender.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“These outboards are not capable of sustaining a...”

Written on: 26/09/2010 by 223ss (1 review written)

These outboards are not capable of sustaining a consistent idle speed when trolling. They go from a correct idle speed, to really quick and then suddenly drop revs so dramatically that they stall! They run OK at speed but are pretty noisy. Fuel economy is not much better than a 2 stroke. Had I known this outboard would not idle consistently I would not have purchased it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★☆☆

“For a four stroke the fuel efficiency is poor and...”

Written on: 13/11/2008

For a four stroke the fuel efficiency is poor and motor is loud with the Yamaha 2.5 HP four stroke outboard engine. There should be a better oil level indicator. Starts easy.
Instruction labels for operation and storage well marked.
Gas shut off and tank valve work well.
Low fumes and emissions.
Low vibration.
This engine is quite heavy and noisy as its a real gas guzzler

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Overall this is a great engine, no vapors, strong for...”

Written on: 25/04/2008 by Mulderick (1 review written)

Overall this is a great engine, no vapors, strong for its size and very light weight. I was considering other engines but this engine fell right in the middle with its price point. It is replacing a 2 hp Honda.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview