MCE Car & Motorcycle Insurance Reviews - www.mceinsurance.com

★★★★☆
4.1 / 5
81% of users recommend this
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for MCE Car & Motorcycle Insurance www.mceinsurance.com

MCE Car & Motorcycle Insurance www.mceinsurance.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“TimeI would like the complaint to be continued and i...”

written by Fatroose1969 on 28/02/2022

TimeI would like the complaint to be continued and i would like to appeal your decision. The payment due date was the 26th Feb. So in layman's terms i have until at least the close of office hours to pay the instalment. Which i tried to do. So the payment would not be missed. Your terms say "the payment could be taken between 0600 and 0800 on the due day, but may on occasion be taken later that day" Ok so what your saying is, its ok for MCE to take the payment at any time on the due date when it suits them. But its not ok for the customer to pay at any time on the due date. And every other company who i have had dealings with. If the first payment is declined. They will then attempt to take the payment later on that day. Due to the fact some people may not get paid until noon etc. But MCE dont do that do they. You are happy to re apply for the payment on another day once the £30 admin charge has been applied. So it proves you have the ability to re apply for the payment. In my opinion the whole thing stinks. Its not about the £30 admin fee. Its about the fact its designed to trick and catch out your customers. My wages were in my bank at 0900 that day. I offered to pay the monthly instalment on the due day. But MCE refused to accept the payment without adding the £30 admin fee. I will make it my goal to leave as many reviews on as many review sites. Highlighting this scheme MCE are running so that other potential customers are fully aware of this before they sign up with MCE It just highlights the poor customer service and shows that MCE see customers as cash cows to try and screw as much money as they can out of. At the end of the day the payment date was 26th Feb. I offered to pay the instalment on the 26th Feb. MCE would not take the payment unless i paid the admin fee. Your terms in basic English say it is ok for MCE to decide what time they take the payment, but the customer has no choice" Like it or lump it the computer says NO as the old saying goes and screw the customer. Iam just grateful and pray to God i never ever have the misfortune to have to make a claim on my insurance. Because i didnt dot the (i)in my name, would probably invalidate the insurance.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete bunch of no helpers”

written by luWalsh238 on 18/08/2021

Not only do they make life very difficult when your bike is stolen. They told the ombudsman that I did not have a problem reporting the theft to them as their phones were down due to a systems upgrade which they then passed on as informing all on the website. I had to prove that and luckily I had a copy of a conversation with their helpdesk that admitted there were problems. No claims could be made to them even though they continued to write new policies in this period. All I can say is avoid these people at all costs.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BE AWARE OF THIS COMPANY !!!!!”

written by skittlepunk1 on 09/08/2021

People I have put many honest negative reviews based on my experience with MCE on this site, they are being removed, as will yours and be replaced by a fake good review from MCE themselves. Bottom line is dont use this company, they will get you on board, then they will take your money and fleece you good style. You will not see any of your money back when things go wrong, and they will!! the first time you have to try and talk to their call centre staff. Please be warned. Go to another company, MCE are disgusting.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Not so cheap in the long term”

written by Mrmad69 on 19/10/2020

Just waited 40 mins on landline no to change my bike.......1000cc bike swap to a 750......£88 annual to £206 .......cb1000r 88. Honda 750 scooter.......good price initially to get you then wallop! Won't be renewing next year......

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I had the misfortune of using MCE last year.... They...”

written by pauldleigh on 15/06/2020

I had the misfortune of using MCE last year.... They always show up cheapest on price comparison websites but there is so much negative stuff online about them that that I'm amazed they are still allowed to trade. I rang them asking about fees for change of address on my sons insurance (which i pay for) because he was thinking about living with his mother in the new year (this was Sept) MCE told me he would have to ring when he moved so i left it... A month later my son got a letter saying his insurance had been cancelled because he didn't tell them me had moved ( he hadn't) they refunded £190 out of £875 policy that had run for just 2 months claiming their T&C's say they can keep 80% of cancelled policies. He explained he hadn't moved and asked the policy be reinstated... they said this was impossible and he would need to pay again for a new policy even though it was their fault. We did get a full refund in the end after reporting to the ombudsman and making a fuss on social media but apparently they do this a lot as well as bait and switch where they'll contact you saying there is an error in the info provided and you have to pay X amount more making the policy more expensive than competitors who you didn't choose.. Another thing is texting/emailing you asking you to ring them, but it's a premium rate number and people have reported £50 bills for the call MCE need shutting down

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Profesional reliable truted”

written by peterobinson on 20/11/2019

I was hit by an un-insured driver on my motorbike. They did £750 damage to my bike. The legal firm was able to get the full amount for me without me loosing my no claims bonus. Which I thought was pretty awesome. Many thanks.It took a year and a half but worth the wait.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Could not believe the that i made 2 short phone calls...”

written by unhappybikerwife on 16/08/2019

Could not believe the that i made 2 short phone calls to MCE and £5 phone charge had gone in a few minutes. What rate do they charge?? Certainly will not be ringing them again! Only rang to confirm a quote i got on line with 200xs make sure all was ok. Got cut off so had to ring back to be told rate had gone up to 575xs Wasnt happy at all as price was still the same but xs dearer. 

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worse service ever!”

written by Brooklyns287 on 12/04/2019

I have been a customer of this company for several years, not had a problem - until I made a claim. This year my policy cost tripled - because I work in 2 shops 3 miles apart I am required to have business cover for commuting for both my motorbikes. So, I'm away at work. An old dear manages to reverse into my other bike - on a private car park outside my home. Knocks it over. Once insurance details are passed on, I contact MCE. Their IT crashes during the call. I'm promised a callback, doesn't happen. Contact them 3 times via their web mail service asking for the email address to send pics of the damage & other matters. No reply. In the meantime, the other parties company contact me asking if I want them to handle my claim. Am beginning to think this might be a better option - at least they could be bothered to get in touch with me!

Joanna12345's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2019

In a non fault claim that would be normal practice and you would need extended use class 1 insurance as you have 2 workplaces.

This is the same in any insurance business.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great customer service”

written by Jonnygsxr1000 on 15/01/2019

Got a great quote online for bike insurance but there was a problem when I tried to purchase the policy I phoned up and within minutes the lady I spoke to sorted it out and I was insured Really good service Thanks

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“great service”

written by jacobbedgood on 20/12/2018

Charlene Nash was friendly yet professional, helpful and knowledgeable. What more can a customer ask for?

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Where is my money ? ”

written by PhillipMJones on 16/11/2018

Where is my money you owe me please? Your customer wrote my car off, myself or my insurance company cannot get the money off you, my car cannot be released from the salvage yard, stopping even further payment.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“Insurance Claim”

written by Holbrookhb263 on 24/10/2018

Just spoke to a man from your claims team regarding my motorbike insurance claim. He explained everything very clearly, he continually provided updates and went above what I expected from an insurance company. The money was paid in a very timely manner. Good company and great staff. Highly recommend.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“absolutely brilliant”

written by Mehediuk on 23/10/2018

Just spoke to a brilliant gentleman on customer service regarding my motorbike insurance policy and notification. He went above and beyond what I expected and I cannot thank him enough. It was to do with a problem but it was no problem to him .he just dealt with it and very time efficiently it was shorted . Many thanks to the person I dealt with. wish all customer service staff in this world were like him.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“stolen motorcycle ”

written by ceilinghanger on 16/10/2018

Having your motorbike stolen is a stressful situation.but the team at mce were excellent..especially the person I dealt with who handled my claim,from start to finish,and was always on hand to help me when I needed it...thanks again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Slow start, happy now”

written by Biker120 on 16/10/2018

MCE motorbike accident claim. The accident I had involved running into the back of my mate while pulling away from a junction. The speed was minimal but we both ended up on the floor. My bike was damaged to the point that it was loosing oil so not ride able. Being a member the AA were summoned and I got the bike and myself relayed home. So far so good. Now to call MCE and tell them about my sorry tale. Oh dear the claim line is experiencing difficulties, can you call later. Many days passed before I was able to give my details to the claims department. System problem apparently. Not very good. However moving forward. I was contacted by a very straight forward and understanding member of the MCE 'first party claims' department, namely employee number 4878. He understood that not every one has an accident on a frequent basis, and that I did not automatically know what to do. He explained each step carefully and kept me informed with regular up-dates by mail or phone, and patiently answered the numpty questions I frequently asked. At no time was I left in the dark with regard to what MCE would do. With some sadness my bike was judged a total loss. MCE gave me the options regarding financial compensation and once I had considered and made my choice payment was authorised quickly. For me the valuation was very fair. Thank you again 4878 for being a great bloke. I do hope that I don't have to make a claim in the future but if I did I hope you will be on my case. The only issue that I have is my mate, also insured with MCE is not having the same service and result. Still waiting for authorisation for his repairs after 8 weeks.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Spanish accident ”

written by Lliriabiker on 28/09/2018

I had an accident in the remote Spanish mountains,my wife had to deal with MCE as I was in hospital.she delt with a guy who recovered my bike back to the UK and told her not to worry until I was well and back home.we emailed all the documents when home and were kept informed about the claim at all times.l was given a total loss valuation which was very fair and included my cost of the bike recovery. I will call MCE for insurance when I buy my next bike 

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Exceeded my Expectation”

written by on 22/08/2018

Having not made an insurance claim since the dinosaurs where roaming my expectation was for a long, laboursome and difficult process. However I have been pleasantly surprised. (Though I do have a couple of niggles). Lets start with the good. The process all in all took 4 weeks from inception to settlement. I expected longer. The communication post initial claim has been good from operative 4789 at MCE. I have not had to chase at any stage and the information requested has been clear. Email and phone both efficient and the valuation and offer was fair and well explained. Payment was advised would take up to 10 working days and I received in 5, thankyou. There are a couple of niggles, one is minor and the other may help improve your service. The minor niggle is the request for paperwork was repeated on a couple of occasions, but I think this was due to a crossover of operative at MCE. The other niggle was the initial claim process. Having had the unfortunate and annoying accident I contacted MCE to see what I needed to do to arrange for the recovery of my bike, which was unrideable. Bearing in mind I had just had the accident 10 minutes earlier and was fairly bumped and bruised I believe you have your process the wrong way around. Upon making the call I was told I needed to process the warranty claim. This took some time and I did explain I had literally just fallen of my bike. After we completed the telephone claim I was then transferred to MCE's recovery dept. who then proceeded to ask me the same questions. This annoyed me slightly as all I wanted to do was get the bike recovered and get home to nurse my wounds. Upon finishing with MCE's recovery dept. I was then transferred to the third party recovery company to arrange the bike pick up. This whole process from accident to pick up took 2.75 hours?? Fortunately it was a summers evening both light and dry. I cannot recall once being asked of my welfare, did I need medical assistance or how I would get home. I had to ask what assistance MCE gave to get me the 50 miles I needed to go to get home. Which was a lift to the nearest bus or train station (fair enough). Could I suggest you somehow turn this around so the bike collection is on route whilst the claim is being processed. This would save me standing on the side of a gradually getting darker country road in the middle of nowhere for to long. However I was appreciative of the service and in general very pleased with everything done by MCE.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“MCE ”

written by James3983 on 20/08/2018

My step father was killed in a motorcycle accident and I had to make the claim on his behalf, turns out not an easy thing to sort. But the person I dealt with was superb, he really went the extra mile and in doing so made such a huge difference to me and my family. He was always quick to reply and helpful even when things didn’t go right (all the documents sent off got lost in the post), he was a star. He is a credit to this company. The only real let down for MCE was the call handlers when you first get through. They were unwilling to put you through to your claims handler and appeared to not understand English at all. One of them laughed down the phone to me when I explained I didn’t have all the policy holders details because he was dead. They came close to ruining my entire experience with the company. Overall though a very good experience thanks to the person I dealt with.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Swift settlement”

written by on 13/08/2018

MCE made my claim painless (apart from the broken arm!). Only criticism, and I can understand why you do it, is the preset call back days/times. This can prove difficult if you have work commitments. Otherwise all good! Thanks

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Claim handler saves the day”

written by blackbird888 on 06/08/2018

I had to make a claim on my motorcycle insurance following an accident a month or so ago. I've never had to make a claim before and was not feeling great due to the fact that my bike was totalled and I was a little bruised. Everything was moving along and then things became frustrating once my bike had been deemed to be a total loss.I was keen to get back on the road and needed the situation resolved so that I could move forward and get a new bike etc. I was calling constantly and getting nowhere, at one point I felt I was being laughed at by a lady in customer service, then all of a sudden my claim handler switched. Thank goodness for this, it was a breath of fresh air and he was swiftly on the case getting things moving again. He made every effort to help and was really understanding and professional, a credit to the company. I can't thank him enough and he has restored my faith so much so that I have since insured my new bike with MCE again. They say a company is only as good as those who represent it, there couldn't be a better example of this here. Thank you, I'm a happy biker again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by cuki on 4th January 2017 Report this content
Can you tell me please how it is that I got 8 years no claims bonus in UK on a suzuki hayabussa. I then had to work in Cairo for 2 years and 3 months and had no accidents or claims and on returning to UK am told that my 8 years of impeccable riding I no longer have 8 years no claims bonus and have to start from zero. It appears rather one sided that it takes me 8 years of premiums and excellent riding yet they can remove said ncb after only 2 years?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content Laverdabru1116 Written on: 05/01/2017
The only suggestion I can make is try shopping around, see if another company will accept your NCB. The industry seems to make up its own rules, & change them frequently. Despite not having a claim for 20 odd years, I was recently informed I could only use my NCB on one bike - so I pay more to insure my 125 Honda scooter than my (group 17) Ninja ZX-9R! Mad.
Report this content am4862 Written on: 05/01/2017
Sadly this is commonly the case. Many companies will only accept up to 2 years of not riding, although there is no actual regulation as far as I'm aware. Each company tends to set their own rules. Part of this is the difficulty of proving that, if you did ride outside of the UK on a local policy, you had no accidents etc while abroad. Many insurers won't go to the expense of setting up any checking for anything outside the UK. The only thing I can suggest is to shop around as some insurers will accept a break of up to 3 years.
Report this content drwaste Written on: 05/01/2017
Hi Unfortunately this is true most companies only allow you to keep your NCB for 2 years after closing your insurance/lapses. I think Zurich Insurance allows up to 5 years . I have been through this and it sucks. Best bet in future is to insure a smaller cheaper bike when away to keep policy going and swap it over when you come back to the bigger bike. There is NO way around this unfortunately - sorry pal !!
Report this content Chriscbf Written on: 05/01/2017
Sadly that's how MCE insurance works....I had had some time off from riding bikes and was told that when I bought a bike again and wanted insurance, if it had been two years or over since I rode a bike than my 'no claims' wouldn't have been allowed. Some insurers might allow up to three years....Others as little as 12 months. Do a bit of ringing around.....
Report this content lakeofshadows Written on: 05/01/2017
Sorry to hear that. As others have suggested, shop around and hopefully you'll find an insurer who'll accept a 3 year break. I'm aware of some motorcyclists who buy and insure small capacity scrap bikes in order to avoid this very thing happening. Good luck with your search.
Report this content Suze Written on: 05/01/2017
Unfortunately that little caveat is not exclusive to MCE. The majority of insurers do this. Some only allow 1 year instead of 2. I was told several years ago that it would have been better to carry on the insurance even though I didn't have the vehicle anymore. You can no longer do this as they will try to claim against your insurance if the new owner has an accident even though you no longer own it as your policy was 'first in line'. You can try and ring around as there maybe 1 or 2 that will accept a long insurance gap but on the whole the rule of thumb is 2 years. Knowledge: previous experience
Report this content bigbikerrob Written on: 06/01/2017
This has been the rule/law for more than the 30 years I've been riding and driving. In all those years I have had times of non riding but I insured a cheap bike to continue my NCB even though I didn't ride it. Some insurers will recognise your NCB but they are very rare. Sadly that's the way it is.
Report this content benaslak Written on: 09/01/2017
I think you have to start from the standpoint that all insurance companies (in my experience) are out to make as much money as possible, in as short a possible time, with no regard for the well-being or financial stability of their customers. Once you realize that, then you can understand that they will not treat your circumstances individually. They will stick to the small print in their policy document which always works in their favour. This is not helpful to you but it is fact. I have applied to the Financial Services Ombudsman on several issues over the years and the insurance companies decisions have always been upheld against me. No hope I am afraid!
See All Answers
Asked by slalomskiboy on 17th May 2016 Report this content
I just purchased insurance for my motorbike last week and I have not even had the documents or an email yet. When can I expect these?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content oG33MANo Written on: 17/05/2016
Hi there, Your document should have been online after around four days. You can call then or live chat to get this sorted. I have the same problem I took a bike off my policy and added one but when I check my documents it still says I have my old bike. Good luck I hope you get sorted hope this helps.
Report this content kemar Written on: 17/05/2016
This is your best answer BY:2014Milliedog Written on: 10/05/2016 You should have received an email with an "opencustomerporthole" link click on this, enter your username and password and your documents will be there for you to read or print as required. Give them a ring if you have no email and they will sort it for you. Their people on the phone are very good and very very helpful. Hope this helps!
Report this content lakeofshadows Written on: 18/05/2016
Hi, as stated by another respondent, it can take a number of days before you receive your documents. These will be electronic unless you specifically requested physical documents. You will receive an email telling you how to access the documents, and you can then print them off yourself if you so wish. It might be worth checking your junk mail folder in case the email has ended up there in error. No need to worry though, you're covered from the time and date specified when you the initial application and sent payment.
See All Answers
Asked by fazerboy on 8th May 2016 Report this content
Hello all can you help me, I renewed my motorbike insurance on the 01/05/2016 but not got a policy, how do I know i'm insured?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content kemar Written on: 09/05/2016
askmid.com is how you check. You should have an online account with them as they dont send documents anymore so all your documents is online, check your emails for any info about your online account.
Report this content fazerboy Written on: 09/05/2016
hi kemar i have checked my emails but nothing & i can't get into my online account, thanks for replying.
Report this content orangehulk71 Written on: 09/05/2016
Hi, they no longer send out email attachments. You should have received an email directing you to their customer portal where you have to register and then you can view/print/save your documents. You might be able to access it from their website
Report this content rogeragusta Written on: 09/05/2016
I would suggest that you give them a ring to make sure
Report this content fazerboy Written on: 10/05/2016
hi and thanks for the replys, but not even an email from them so i think id better ring them.
Report this content 2014Milliedog Written on: 10/05/2016
You should have received an email with an "opencustomerporthole" link click on this, enter your username and password and your documents will be there for you to read or print as required. Give them a ring if you have no email and they will sort it for you. Their people on the phone are very good and very very helpful. I started my Insurance with them on the same day as you and have my policy and other related documents electronically. Hope this helps!
Report this content fazerboy Written on: 10/05/2016
hello all thanks for replys, i finaly got policy in an email i did a live chat 15 minutes later he sent an email with my documents, and again thanks for your help.
See All Answers
Asked by ALZ1445 on 5th May 2016 Report this content
Why don't you provide a renewal quote when a policy is expiring? When renewing a policy why is it necessary to provide full details when you already have them on record?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content mocox Written on: 06/05/2016
I agree with your statement I think this should ensure a new policy I'm going to your details over again is a little bit stupid but I think it's all the same money
Report this content Suze Written on: 06/05/2016
I always wondered why. I think it's because the quote can change so its not really valid anymore as they tell you your renewal is due 2 weeks before. I've known a quote to change from one day to the next. As for providing full details again, well I guess that so they can double check what you said in the first place and also to give you an opportunity to tell them of any changes/mods etc. FYI I don't work for MCE or their subsidiaries or carry out any insurance work. I have just had a lot of experience getting insurance for various cars & bikes over the years.
Report this content Laverdabru1116 Written on: 07/05/2016
Really don't know. Used to be, when you stayed with a company, you'd end up getting a decent discount every year. Now it seems you have to swop around to get the best deal. Last year a company (I'll leave you to guess which one!) wrote & invited me to 'phone for the best quote' when my renewal was due. I did, & got a very high quote.I pointed out I had been on a comparison site, & the very same company had offered me a much better deal. 'Oh, we can't compete with our on line deals'. WTF?
Report this content 2014Milliedog Written on: 07/05/2016
I have asked this question before. Not with this Ins Company but with others I was told that my personal details could have changed ie points on licence, medical issues etc etc. I was really pleased with MCE when taking my policy out this year so I will consider it a small price to pay if I have to give all details again next year. Providing they are as competitive of course.
See All Answers
Asked by garydavies221 on 29th March 2016 Report this content
When will I receive my insurance documents in the post as I took out my policy on the 27/02? Many thanks.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content keithgravylewis Written on: 01/04/2016
I've been with them for 2 years. When I started they sent them via email attachments and again when I renewed. If you want paper form give them a ring.
Report this content Suze Written on: 01/04/2016
Hi, they no longer send out email attachments. You should have received an email directing you to their customer portal where you have to register and then you can view/print/save your documents. You might be able to access it from their website (check help pages). If you haven't received it or can't find it then I would suggest contacting them and asking them to re-send it if they wont send docs as an attachment. I've been with MCE for years and only once received paper docs.
Report this content orangehulk71 Written on: 01/04/2016
They send them via email when you start you policy......simply go to mce site and log in and you can dowload all your paperwork.I feel they do this as makes it easier now if out and about you got your details to hand.hope this helps
Report this content Rheged Written on: 04/04/2016
You won't get them by post unless you specifically asked for a hardcopy. They prefer to use email, so check your inbox and junk/spam folders just in case.
See All Answers
Asked by AndiMarsh on 6th January 2016 Report this content
I've gone with MCE insurance because of the deals that were in it! I'm just wondering how long it will take for my cover note and insurance documents to come through to my email? It's been about 24 hours so far? The woman did say it could take upto 48hours. When did you guys receive yours? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content Stewy Written on: 06/01/2016
Received mine virtually immediately
Report this content Laverdabru1116 Written on: 06/01/2016
My last renewal in December came thru within a few minutes - have you checked your spam folder?
Report this content rogeragusta Written on: 06/01/2016
give them a ring and usually they sort it very quickly
See All Answers
Asked by ismet on 10th November 2015 Report this content
Can anyone tell me how I can find out where I paid for scooter insurance?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content keithgravylewis Written on: 01/04/2016
Check your bank for and look at the name when they take the money out. If that doesn't help cancel any automatic payment when the company calls ask them who they are. (May incurr late payment charges and late payments marks on credit file).
Asked by amarbenali on 3rd September 2015 Report this content
I am driving a scooter with full comprehensive cover. I went to work and got my bike stolen and now MCE won't pay off. They are saying I am not insured because I need a commuting cover.  Can anyone help me?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content samh4023 Written on: 04/09/2015
Doesn't matter of the insurance is fully comprehensive if you did not choose commuting as part of the use of the scooter then they won't pay out. When you choose it says , social domestic pleasure only, social domestic pleasure and commuting or business use, business use covers all the above, check your policy details and see if it covers you for commuting to work. If not they will not pay out.
Report this content Rheged Written on: 04/09/2015
It's not so much down to the level of cover (in your case, comprehensive); rather it's more due to the usage that is specified in your policy. *Most* policy usage clauses allow for leisure use and commuting to a single place of work. This is fine, so long as you only work at one address - emphasis on address; If the firm you work for has two or more offices on different sites, you would not be covered. Likewise if your work involves delivery/courier work, this would also not be covered. I have this same issue with my own policy, in that because I'm self-employed and have my own office and have to travel to my clients, I need business usage cover. I have to admit, I am surprised they have not covered you for commuting by default. If you want further assistance I'd suggest taking your policy to a solicitor for advice.
Report this content ColinHodgson Written on: 04/09/2015
Most policies are for SDP (Social Domestic & Pleasure) - if you intended to commute you would need a business policy (mine used to cost an extra £24... Your certificate of insurance will probably have the same advisory paragraph as mine - 'Use for social, domestic and pleasure purposes. EXCLUDES journeys between home and normal place of business, use for hire or reward or for commercial travelling, racing, competitions, rallies or trials (other than road safety rallies or treasure hunts), use on any motor sport circuit including the Nurburgring or use for any purpose in connection with the motor trade.' If it has, you do not have a claim - if it doesn't (nor do any of your other documents) then consult a lawyer.
See All Answers
Asked by stuartwalker68 on 10th June 2015 Report this content
If I was fully comprehensive and had an accident, and I was injured. would they pay me for injuries, even if it was my fault?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Stewy Written on: 10/06/2015
You need to check the wording of your own specific policy Mine shows only a £1000 compensation for personal injury; I can't see any link to fault so presumably this is irrelevant
Report this content BigEdMCE Written on: 19/06/2015
Hey, Thanks for your question. A normal insurance policy won’t tend to give you any cover you for this, but every MCE Bike policy will give you £1000 of Personal Injury as standard. It covers you in a fault or non-fault accident, whatever level of cover you have. Also, for an extra £50, you can upgrade this to cover you for up to £5000. Just give us a call, and we’ll happily upgrade it for you. Ride safe!
Asked by phil501 on 20th May 2015 Report this content
My bike has been written off (not my fault). Does anyone know how much will it cost to put another bike on? Thank you.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content rendition Written on: 20/05/2015
It will depend on why it has been written off. Did it get stolen? Is it parked on a road overnight? Hit by a car? The cost will be twofold: - You will need to pay the excess - They will pay the lower of the bike value and the value you insured it for. So for instance, if your bike is worth £2000 but you insured it for £1500 then you will only get 1500. - Additionally, they will only pay the actual value of your bike (not a new one). So if you had a new bike that's a year old you will get less than the new value. Basically if you get to within £1,000 of the value of a replacement, you're doing well.
Report this content phil501 Written on: 10/06/2015
Hi thanks i was stopped at a give way and a car hit me from behind
Report this content BigEdMCE Written on: 19/06/2015
Hi  – top question. If you are going to exactly the same vehicle, chances are it will just be £67.00. This is made up from a change charge from the insurance company, and an admin fee. Now obviously if your Honda Cub has been written off, and you replace it with a brand new Blade, you’ll need to pay a bit more. At the same time, if you downgrade to something a little older and less expensive, you may even get a return in premium. Whatever you’re doing, just give the guys in our customer services team a buzz, and they’ll make the whole process as easy and painless as possible!
See All Answers
Asked by Rogkay on 27th February 2015 Report this content
I have 9 years no claims with MCE but am changing insurers this year. How can I get proof of my no claims? I have sent them 4 emails without reply.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (13)
Report this content Trishna Written on: 02/03/2015
Why are you changing insurers? MCE should be able to give you a better deal no matter what your new quote is. Regarding getting in contact with them, just give them a call on their customer service number - press the last option. Good Luck!
Report this content woodspoiler Written on: 02/03/2015
i think i called them and asked them to email me. i do know that i took out the new insurance and had 14 days to send proof of nab and that mce wouldn't issue a proof until the insurance had ended and thats when i called them
Report this content walfordsam Written on: 02/03/2015
Best thing to do is give them a ring. When it gives you the options, try and find the one that says that you want to cancel, or stop your insurance. Thats the fastest way to get to talk to someone, they should then be able to email you proof on NCD if not, they will refer you to another team, and usually transfer you. Definitely making the right choice though.
Report this content Rogkay Written on: 02/03/2015
Thanks for the replies guys, looks like I will have to wait until the policy runs out on the 13th March. You would think that they would have the courtesy to reply to emails and explain though. Thanks again, Rog
Report this content DonLunn Written on: 02/03/2015
I have been with MCE for four years.I have never had a problem when I have spoken to them on the phone.Bear in mind the volume of emails that they must recieve,some unfortunately will slip through the net.I'm not making excuses for them,but it happens on my own emails.Just Phone them.They have to provide you with proof of NCB.Also your insurance renewal letter will give proof.
Report this content Rogkay Written on: 02/03/2015
Hi Don, They are the only company that I have dealt with that doesn't put proof of your no claims on the renewal notice. If thy did I would not have a problem.
Report this content Jvpsuk Written on: 02/03/2015
As I understand it, they are legally obliged to provide written proof of NCB and I agree with the answers below - ring, don't rely on someone responding to an email. Anytime I have changed in the past I emailed my new insurer a copy of my old insurers renewal notice(after you have agreed a price for new cover) which usually states NCB on it. I'm also sure that it is possible for your new insurer to contact the old company asking for proof.
Report this content ImpPoacher Written on: 03/03/2015
Within my renewal notice there was a page containing my no claims. Which could be used as proof with an alternative insurer.
Report this content Rogkay Written on: 03/03/2015
Hi Trishna, The main reason that I am changing is because they don't supply proof of no claims with the renewal. This is why I renewed with them last year knowing it would be a hassle, and this is why they do it. Also they sent me a renewal for £171, if I go on their web site and get a quote as a new customer its £135. If you google them there are loads of complaints from bikers about shocking customer service, so I'm determined to make the break this year. I have found a better policy (less excess) with Kwik fit for £115 and can get the same breakdown cover for £18. They are all very helpful when you are buying.
Report this content koolgoatie Written on: 03/03/2015
The info / proof should be on your insurance schedule or on your renewal letter i.e. quote details
Report this content BigEdMCE Written on: 19/06/2015
You can email us, or call the customer service team  Sad to hear you are leaving us – I’m sure you’ll be back soon!
Report this content Rogkay Written on: 22/06/2015
Hi, I have no complaints about the cover or the price, just the fact that you do not provide proof of no claims with the renewal quote. Your ruling is that you will not give proof of NCB until the old policy runs out, this can make it awkward when the new insurer insists on receiving the proof within a certain number of days. Also why is the renewal £40 more than signing up as a new customer, is it allowed to insure as a new customer each year? All the best
Report this content samh4023 Written on: 04/09/2015
Phone them and demand your proof
See All Answers
Asked by pholden93 on 7th July 2014 Report this content
How much will it cost me to change my bike insurance to another?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content Lanem Written on: 08/07/2014
We hadn't had a motorbike for a few years, so we were bascially starting from scratch. But ring MCE and get a quote, they were very helpful to us. Lane
Report this content djdykied Written on: 08/07/2014
To another providet you mean? Normally there is a fee for most amendments or changes of around 25. Some companies will allow you to add this to your yearly bill others will ask for it up front. Hope this helps
Report this content woodspoiler Written on: 08/07/2014
do you mean another bike
Report this content Jvpsuk Written on: 02/03/2015
Wait until renewal, cost is nothing.
Report this content BigEdMCE Written on: 19/06/2015
If there isn’t a change in the old and new vehicle, then usually £67.00. This is made up from a change charge from the insurance company, and an admin fee. You can also have up to five bikes on the same policy with MCE – so you have don’t think you have to get rid of one!
See All Answers
overview