Nissan X-Trail 2.2Di Sport Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.5 / 5
63% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Nissan X-Trail 2.2Di Sport - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Nissan X-Trail 2.2Di Sport

Nissan X-Trail 2.2Di Sport
Nissan X-Trail 2.2Di Sport

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Bad build quality”

written by Dalrympleat298 on 11/06/2015

Ignition barrel collapsed ,turbo blown ,radios rubbish ,electric Windows on automatic are clunky,tailgate is bending around chrome handle due to its weight

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great Motor!”

written by Roger1315 on 25/05/2013

Was a little apprehensive about buying a car with 120000 miles on the clock. I have now had the motor 8 months and the mileage has climbed to 127000. Very economical car, never let me down and a great tow car for my 20' caravan. The car is 10 years old but the engine sounds like a new one! I have bought and sold nearly 40 cars in my driving life and never had one longer than 3 years but I love this motor and hope to have it many years!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“great car a must”

written by daz750 on 22/02/2013

I got my x trail sport love it only 2 things back wheel archers seem to rust up to solve this use underseal it is a common fault mine is a 52 plate now done 105.000 miles just change fluids every 6k part from that no probs plus put reverse sensors on it for mrs

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Cutting Out Problem”

written by on 07/02/2012

I bought the car privately last year with 83,000 miles on the clock. The test drive was very good but cut out when we finished the drive. I thought it was because of low fuel. Filled it up got home but cutout on tick over and bad starting. My son who is ex Nissan mechanic said it was the camshaft sensor as he had replaced a lot of these because of the same problem. Put new one in and it did not correct the problem, so went on line and saw the next thing was mega bucks to fix. So we decided to have a closer look at the camshaft sensor, and what we did was to replace the bolt and add washers to suit, why, you ask, the original bolt proved to be a fraction to long. This meant the sensor could move around and occasionally did not sent correct signal. Starting is better, no cutting out on tick over under 1,000 revs and best of all no rattling on acceleration when cold. Simply the bolt at fault, left my son gobsmacked, thinking of all the units he replaced.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“solid dependable work horse High mileage but recent issues”

written by andydrat on 28/06/2011

This is an honest dependable work horse, From new it has averaged around 40mpg under mixed driving. I have used it on road, off road ( tracks, rivers, across fields and through deep snow and hard packed ice) It has now got 146,000 miles (yes thats right) and according to the local Nissan agent the highest mileage they have seen. Problems have been limited to Accelerator pedal (fly by wire therefore very expensive part - I complained to Nissan about the

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“done my home work b4 got this xtrail read nissian...”

written by on 12/04/2011

done my home work b4 got this xtrail read nissian reliable 4* out of 5 in most magazines.what rubbish dont get one this thing is never out the garage now the fuel pump gone got a quote £1700.in 11 month i have spent over a £1000 to keep it going no money left for pump.it cost me £7k add £1k to keep it on road plus £1700 for pump due mot hate to think you looking at £10k worth £5k.this is with full service history.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have been very happy with my X-trail apart from the...”

written by on 27/01/2011

I have been very happy with my X-trail apart from the problem i have had with the breaks I have had both front and rear brake problems and an now on my 3rd set of new rear discs & pads.

I have never had a car before with this problem.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I searched high and low for the perfect 4x4 for me,...”

written by on 07/11/2010

I searched high and low for the perfect 4x4 for me, something that was economical, not too big, but could pull a small horse trailer and cope with my very bumpy track and muddy fields.

All was well until yesterday morning when I got in the car to find the oil light on. I immediately filled up and the light went off. However, the engine seemed very restricted, with no pull or drive up hills and through the changes of the gears.

I got a neighbour to look at it last night (mechanic and car salesman) and he thinks its a blocked cat, not sure whats caused it but it doesn't look good. We seem to think that possibly the same issue had happened with the old owner but as he was also a mechanic, possibly he had cleared it out and thats why it had run so well until now.

So its going in for diagnostics on Monday, and we will go from there, it will probably end up at auction and I will be back to driving my dads R reg 306 until I can save up enough money to buy another 4x4.

I'm very disappointed, apart from this it is a lovely car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“2.2di bought 1 year ago rattle on acceloration .back...”

written by on 01/11/2010

2.2di bought 1 year ago rattle on acceloration .back to garage found fault to be injectors they replaced free of charge ok now but not much power below 2250 rpm which makes towing caravan hard work and drinks diesel but still like it. leather interior fab. comfey as you would expect.nice lookingand ok to drive swapped x type jag .no regrets .would liked to know about lack of power before buying and also fuel economy having said that i would not swap it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“We have had our 54 plate X trail only a few months and...”

written by on 22/07/2010

We have had our 54 plate X trail only a few months and it seems to need something on a monthly basis: Air Conditioning Fault (apparently comon with 54 plates), intercooler has burst £533+vat + fitting, fuel and oil filters have been replaced only a couple of thousand miles after the last service and MOT and were completely choked, can;t blame the windscreen chip on the car. Fuel efficiency so far has been well below what reviews led us to believe and the black smoke coming out of the exhaust is embarrassing - hopefully the inter cooler will sort this problem together with the poor acceleration response. It's a very low mileage car to be experiencing such problems already. Our previous car, A Toyota RAV 4 had done 120K+ miles with few repair needs, this has done only 55K and seems to like the garage for a holiday!
The layout of the vehicle is great, a good basic interior perfect for a family living on a farm and it is very versatile.
All in all, love driving the X Trail when it's on the road but reliability and running costs are proving a sore point.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Doug99's Comment

Written on: 07/08/2010

The X-trail does seem prone to problems. I have a 53 Sport X which had done 56K miles when the timing chain snapped completely wrecking the engine. I have just paid £3600 to have the engine removed, rebuilt and reinstalled.
<br/>My initial reaction was to ditch the car but as it would have been worth only scrap value I have paid out and hope it will last for many years.
<br/>However it has to be said that 56K is nothing for a diesel engine (or even petrol) and I doubt whether I would ever buy a Nissan again
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“ ”

written by galbrac on 01/02/2010


Bought this when I retired, since then it has had one intercooler, 4 turbos and 3 fuel boost sensors replaced. I currently have a problem with the battery discharing over night. It has never gone more than 6 months without a problem.

As I am retired I cannot afford to replace it, getting close to the point where I cannot afford to run it either.

I contacted Nissan to bring their attention to my plight, all they were interested in was whether or not I would buy another Nissan, after replying no I have not heard from them again.

It is a pity about the reliability problems as I like the design, and the layout of the vehicle suit my needs ie. I tow a caravan and have a dog. My neighbour bought a Honda 4x4 the same time as I purchased the Nissan and he has not had one problem with his car, he also tows a caravan. If I win the lottery guess what car I will be buying..............

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Mine's a 2007 Aventura. A very nice compact 4 wheel...”

written by Fidd on 30/11/2009

Mine's a 2007 Aventura. A very nice compact 4 wheel drive, being the Aventura it has all the kit like sat-nav, heated leather etc. all for a sensible price as well. Bought a petrol one as I strongly dislike the Renault Diesel engines, they have far too many major problems which makes them not worth buying especially once out of warranty - check on Google if you are unsure. The petrol gives really good economy if driven properly as well, which some people might find surprising. Good reliabilty, good kit, fine to drive and reliable too, cannot think of anything much to dislike about the X-Trail !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“The Cold Start Engine Clatter is Back again on Our...”

written by splutter on 30/05/2009

The Cold Start Engine Clatter is Back again on Our Nissan X-Trail 2.2Di Sport but this time Nissan Have agreed that there is a problem and are going to replace 3 more injectors , That's the 3 that were not replaced last year...................SO IF YOU HAVE THE SAME CLATTER TAKE IT BACK AND INSIST ON NEW INJECTORS.>>>>>> I THINK WE ARE WINNING!!
Nissan will issue you with a Customer Service Bulletin, read it hand it back amd insist on new injectors.
i have it on good authority that Nissan know there is a problem but are trying to keep it quiet as it will save them a fortune on new injectors.. If they were up front they would recall the lot!

The denso injectors that Nissan use are crap and when cold tend to stick open, probably helped by the fact that the diesel we buy today has hardly any sulphur in it...This sticking open slightly causes over fueling. Nissan won't admit it as at £460 a piece as they now are they dont want to be replacing injectors on every noisy Xtrail, so they have taken the tack that just tell everyone that it's just a noisey engine, basically it's Diesel Knock Noise. I have a customer Service Bulletin in front of me right now and they give a load of bull re.requirements for lower and lower emissions. I have never read such crap, how can the noise during combustion have changed since the car was new and especially since the vehicle has not been back into the garage to have the pump settings altered, so nothing has changed except that the injectors are sticking open slightly and overfueling! that is the truth Mr NISSAN>>>> and you have replaced one injector in my Xtrail last year when it was 9 months old and you are about to change the other 3 as the OLD Injector Noise has come back to haunt me... Well it Haunted the guy at Nissan fore about a week untill I told him to cut out the bull **** and get another aftershave.......He said I'm the warranty Manager and all I want is a quiet life,, My reply was you'll get a quiet life when you stop messing about and authorise 3 more injectors for my car......I went in every day!! ....and 3 days later they have now ordered 3 more new injectors so if any of you have the same noise it's injectors and don't take all that crap about diesel engines being noisey, we know they are noisey but we also know that the injectors are at fault............................................. ..............................

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Daz750's Response to 463694_splutter's Review

Written on: 22/02/2013

had cold start clatter put slick 50 in 19,99 clatter gone car now done 105.000 no clatter top car great this winter just change fluid every 6k

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Bought a new Nissan X Trail Sport Artix 2.0 TDI 173...”

written by Beacon on 08/04/2009

Bought a new Nissan X Trail Sport Artix 2.0 TDI 173 bhp with Safari roof lights, Chrome side steps, reversing camera, blue tooth, Satnav, keyless entry and all the trimmings , £7000 off retail price, a great deal. Pity about the chronic dealership, wont go there again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“My Nissan X-Trail is a 2004 2.2dci model. Engine was...”

written by davethedog2000 on 29/10/2008

My Nissan X-Trail is a 2004 2.2dci model. Engine was missing a beat and not allowing me to accelerate past 2500rpm earlier this year and after much messing about by local Nissan Dealer, they replaced the fuel filter and all was fine until this week. Problem has returned with vengeance so heading off once again to have another fuel filter fitted by a local mechanic.
I have done 25k miles since the last replacement in January, never let fuel run down, always fill up at Tesco and do mainly motorway miles.
Has anybody else experienced this problem? I can't believe I am the only person suffering this and I can't believe Nissan took a full day and £200 to work out that the problem was a £16 filter!
Otherwise this is a great car that get's regularly serviced and one that I intend to keep for as long as it keeps going. Have had no other issues whatsoever and have just hit the 100k mile mark. Still looks and drives as good as new!
Great value for money and I managed to get 45mpg on a 400 mile trip with 4 adults and camping gear doing 70 all the way!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Superfridgemagnet's Response to davethedog2000's Review

Written on: 31/10/2008

I have an 05 Nissan X-trail and am a little concerned about the turbo problems most people seem to have had so I'm very interested to here yours has done over 100K without a failure. Question is what's the secret as I have only had mine for a year and the first owner had the turbo fail at 12K. Its OK so far since fingers crossed now at 33K but would be interested to know if you leave it running before switch off or any other tips.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Superfridgemagnet's Response to davethedog2000's Review

Written on: 12/11/2008

I do my own servicing and have changed fuel filters before.<br/>I had an 03 model last and changed the filter which looked daunting but was pretty straight forward. You need to remove the hoses from both sides of the filter head and unbolt the complete assembly. You can then easily unscrew the filter and replace. I have the Nissan workshop manual and drain the filter once a year as recommended. Most times its been pretty clean but when I drained the one on my transit van last month I drained out about a cup full of foul water which although had not started to effect the performance, you could easily see how it could.<br/>Apparently water gets in at some filling station tanks on a fairly common basis and grows a type of algae slim. If your unlucky to fill up when the tank is running low its not uncommon to end up with a tank of diesel mixed with water and slim which will obviously get into your filter.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Davethedog2000's Response to davethedog2000's Review

Written on: 11/11/2008

My miles are mainly motorway miles, although those miles are generally rush hour on the M25. Spot on about the oil leak as well. I have exactly that issue but it has never been an issue or mentioned as an issue.<br/><br/>I did try to replace the fuel filter myself this weekend but got nervous and gave up! Not for the faint-hearted. Got it booked in with a mate next week so will report back on performance when that is done.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Superfridgemagnet's Response to davethedog2000's Review

Written on: 05/11/2008

I notice you are covering quite a few miles per year, is your driving mostly motorway or round town? I guess yours is the 136BHP and not the 112BHP model. The intercoolers on these models tend to develop a small oil leak after a few years which does not effect performance at all, but as it is situated on top of the engine causes an oily mess all down the engine. I have discovered that quite a few people have had both there turbo's and intercooler replaced having reported the leak even though the oil leak most probably has had nothing to do with the turbo. I have discovered that a small amount of oil mist from the engine breather is finding its way into the air intake and misleading both untrained and trained Nissan mechanics into thinking the turbo is the cause. I just wonder how many people have paid to have this work done!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Davethedog2000's Response to davethedog2000's Review

Written on: 04/11/2008

Not sure if this is in the right place, but in reply to your question - No, I don't do anything special!! <br/><br/>Fuel filter problem actually turned out to be a loose union on the fuel pump which was causing a diesel leak and lack of pressure. Local mechanic (friend of mine) took the trouble to work it out and tighten the screw all for the price of a curry! Runs fine now.<br/>In all honesty, the car runs and looks as good as new. I get it serviced every 12k miles but that's it. No other problems to report at all. I guess either I am lucky or other people are unlucky but bear in mind that most people only write on sites like this when they have something to moan about and there are 1000's of seemingly healthy X-trails on the road. <br/>So best of luck with yours and I will keep my fingers crossed for mine!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 5 Comments
★★★★☆

“The Nissan X-trail is a good car, on '05 plates, no...”

written by Whittaker420 on 31/08/2008

The Nissan X-trail is a good car, on '05 plates, no problems. The interior could be better but hey. For those complaining about small whells, and low power. What do you expect from a small 4x4, ITS A DIESEL, not a Lambo!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It has got tremendous power for its class. The mounted...”

written by on 20/08/2008

It has got tremendous power for its class. The mounted headlamps in the roof rails makes it cooler looking. Good four wheel drive system. Its a good suv for its money. I think that Nissan could have fitted it with a bigger wheel to make it more cool looking and produce a better engine that has 200hp but still is cheap.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I am a professional engineer (Chartered Mechanical)...”

written by amayland on 02/03/2008

I am a professional engineer (Chartered Mechanical) and have worked in Automive Component Supply for 20 years. Even with my 'insider knowledge' I was caught out by the Nissan X-Trail. The 2007 new X-Trail has even more BHP out of a smaller diesel engine - very worrying.....my personal recommendation is forget Nissan all together, they use too many Renault parts now and that means higher variation = lower reliability. By a Honda, Toyota, Kia or a Hyundai if you want peace of mind. If you want 'cool' then a Freelander 2 but sell it before the warranty ends.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rupertmc's Response to 348691_amayland's Review

Written on: 25/12/2008

I found this review unhelpful because the author has given little understanding of the problems he has faced and the way he tried to resolve them. Being a mechanical engineer I would hope for a greater level of detail.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Alan Barcroft 's Response to 348691_amayland's Review

Written on: 09/06/2010

I found this review very helpful because...it let me the engine was renault and other parts were incressing french and was be a enginner

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Mine is an early 2003 model, ie. the lower bhp...”

written by aandaleach on 21/02/2008

Mine is an early 2003 model, ie. the lower bhp version. However it is undoubtedly more reliable than the upgrade Nissan did in the second half of 2003 to the higher bhp model judging by what I have read. Now has 82,000 on clock and still goes very well. Always serviced at correct intervals. Have to be careful not to overfill with oil; it seems to have a very shallow sump and this possibly could cause smoky exhaust? But passes emission test OK. Seems very reliable so far. But after reading so many bad reviews of more re cent models I won't buy another.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Comfortable motor. Plenty of power. Nice vehicle bit I...”

written by colin188 on 03/02/2008

Comfortable motor. Plenty of power. Nice vehicle bit I hope it does not encounter problems like other drivers have found.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by str33tian on 16th February 2014 Report this content
When I first accelerate the car pulls to right. Is this normal or a problem?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by digger67 on 31st December 2013 Report this content
2004 Nissan X Trail 2.2 DCI replacing front clarance light bulb. Suspect you have to turn the plastic bulb hoder anti-clockwise to free it. It is very tight unable to move it using finger pressure only, afraid to apply to much pressure for fear of breaking it. Anyone have any advice?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview