Garmin nuvi 250 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
44% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Clarity of Instructions

  • Map Accuracy

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Garmin nuvi 250 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Garmin nuvi 250

Garmin nuvi 250
Garmin nuvi 250
Garmin nuvi 250
Garmin nuvi 250

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible, terrible product”

written by Jimed1210 on 09/08/2015

I've never bought a worse piece of technology than this. Everything about it is poor. If you can get over the poor menus and inputs and can wait sometimes 15 mins to find a satellite then you probably won't get over the fact that it can simply be wrong. From poor route choices to country lanes instead of A roads and twice it has just taken me to the wrong place when I'd entered the correct postcode. I can't trust it so now use google maps which is far superior in route choices, usability and traffic accuracy. There are some positive reviews and clearly it does sometimes work - but the sometimes is the key. You often won't know until it's too late. Avoid this product!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Can't find satellite.”

written by Peter283 on 21/10/2011

If it can find a satellite it is fairly good-I have been directed right to the hotel door in France. However on many occassions it cannot locate satellite and yesterday we were approaching our destination before it acquired a satellite.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I have had this one for two years and have had...”

written by on 21/04/2011

I have had this one for two years and have had problems with freezing and not being able to find satellites.Then one day recently it froze completely and now does not work.I have downloaded updates 3 times and it still does not work.I have been on the Garmin website which I find almost as confusing as the
nuvi.I am from UK and there does not seem to be any help with repairing only in the states.I have sent 4 emails and have never had a reply.It's now in the bin.What a waste of space and I will never buy a Garmin again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“cannot understand the negative comments.I have a nuvi...”

written by on 11/10/2010

cannot understand the negative comments.I have a nuvi 250 which gives instructions which are almost too quick in succession in city conditions. It gives the local speed limit, my speed and a fairly accurate and regularly updated ETA.I adjust the map scale to suit the the type of motoring I am doing My only criticism is it sometimes takes you off a motorway ,usually to avoid traffic when it would probably be less stressful sitting in the traffic. Have just travelled 2000 miles around France with only a few hitches. Compare this with trying to find rural out of the way places by map.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Agree with other posts here, the garmin doesn't...”

written by on 25/09/2010

Agree with other posts here, the garmin doesn't differentiate between any other road apart from motorways and will regularly take you 'off road' to cut a corner (irrespective of fastest or shortest mode settings) which proved very frustrating sround cornwall (lanes with grass growing in the middle and hedges huging each wing mirror either side)
Also takes an absolute age to locate satelites.

generally easy to operate and clear instructions when co-operating on decent roads

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Garmin Nuvi 255 ”

written by on 28/06/2010

Garmin Nuvi 255
Garbage. After a day in Alton Towers, I needed satnav to help me get back on to the M1 towards Leeds. My Garmin took me in the complete wrong direction, down an un-made road (and I mean un-made). Grass in the middle of the road, broken cattle grids and wildlife I'd never seen before. There was nowhere and no room to turn around so I just had to follow the satnav's advice. After about 20 minutes we ended up being surrounded by huge rockfaces and a sign telling us that we were now in the 'High Peaks'. In total in took me approximately 40 miles out of my way; added an hour on to our journey, and wasted a shed load of fuel. One other problem with this device is that it does not tell you (on the display screen), how many miles you have to go to reach your destination, so when it does get you lost, you are well and truly screwed.
Also, it does suffer from the following:
Freezes in the middle of a journey.
Tells you that you are driving at 28mph, when you are actually stood still at the traffic lights.
Tells you it's reached its destination when you are actually still a few miles away.
Top Tip: Buy a Tom Tom or print out the directions from the AA or google maps websites instead.
Dolly, Leeds

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I have had this for about two years and it kept...”

written by on 17/06/2010

I have had this for about two years and it kept telling me to update the maps. To be honest I had noticed that things like roundabouts etc were missing on certain journeys. So I steeled myself and sat down at the computer to update. What a palaver...so complicated...and at the end a bill of over £150 to update. So have chucked in the bin and bought a new TomTom which is much easier and only cost about £20 to update. BIG TIP! Find out how much the updating costs before you buy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“An outstanding piece of kit. I used this in February...”

written by prudent buyer on 27/04/2010

An outstanding piece of kit. I used this in February to drive to the French Alps and the unit never missed a beat. It picked up on all the motorway slip roads in France, and all the instructions were clear, had good prior notice and never once left me wondering which way it meant for us to go. I would have no hesitation in recommending this little beauty.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I thought for £180 quid I would get a better product...”

written by on 16/11/2009

I thought for £180 quid I would get a better product than my previous Navman. I was wrong. My old Navman was £99. and very good. I would not recommend this nuvi sat nav as it often sends you ona wild goose chase, has painfully tedious menus, entering destinations for example is tiresome. The voices are poorly programmed with speech impediments and poor pronounciaion. All in all rather poor and to be avoided as there are some really good systems out there for the same money or less. Avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My Garmin nuvi 250 is always loosing sat signal my...”

written by on 29/09/2009

My Garmin nuvi 250 is always loosing sat signal my other GPS a Mio very rarely ever looses signal I would never ever buy another Garmin product for the one i have is a piece of rubbish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The Garmin Nuvi 250W has been the biggest waste of...”

written by on 21/09/2009

The Garmin Nuvi 250W has been the biggest waste of £170 I think I have ever spent. It has been literally worse than useless, unable to locate signals for sometimes several hours and then losing the signal with the familiar and depressing "lost satellite signal". It's not possible to give a product any stars whatsoever if it won't do what it was purchased for - to navigate. My wife bought a TomTom and it is superb, locating satellite signals within seconds even when indoors, whereas the Garmin almost always gets to the "unable to locate satellite signal" before it finds anything. If, as is so often the case, you need to switch on your satnav whilst in the middle of a journey then the Garmin is useless due to it's inability to locate a signal.
I tried to return the unit to the place of purchase (Halfords) and was told there was nothing wrong with it and that it was normal to take a while to locate a signal. They phoned Garmin who advised that it simply needed updating, even though it was fully up-to-date with the latest software version from Garmin's own website. Appalling service from both Halfords and Garmin.
Garmin should be forced to place a huge disclaimer on the front of the box, stating "This product may take several hours to locate a satellite signal and should only be purchased if you do not intend to use it as a satnav unit".
From now on nothing but a TomTom will be considered.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Really easy to use, gives you plenty of time before a...”

written by on 28/08/2009

Really easy to use, gives you plenty of time before a junction, this is much better than the tom tom i had before which broke after a short time, would definitely buy a Garmin again, my husband has just brought the 255 model with EU

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“The sad thing is the garmin nuvi is a great looking...”

written by telsreviews on 04/08/2009

The sad thing is the garmin nuvi is a great looking little unit. I like the size, the weight, it was easy to use and looked great on the windscreen. Unfortunately the mapping, among many other things, was horrendous!
- the map routing left me with serious doubts. I drove on roads that I'm not even sure were fit for cars. I now see where all the stupid 'I nearly drove off a cliff in the dead of night' stories come from.
- the verbal instructions weren't timely enough (either too late or too early). It would also tell me to turn left/right at natural bends in the same road - very confusing!
- the layout of the on-screen map (in 3d mode) wasn't acurate at showing the road layout ahead. If there was a sharp bend ahead the map barely showed any curvature.
- the estimated time of arrival was seriously incorrect and just updated all the time. What appeared to be a 45 minute journey could end up nearly two hours! I never trusted it and had to assess the journey myself by miles.
- if it needed to recalculate a route it would send me around-the-houses instead of just telling me to turn around where possible.
I've realised I could just keep going but what I'm really trying to say is AVOID, AVOID, AVOID and get a TomTom ONE with IQ routes. It's fantastic! I have every confidence it's ability to get me absolutely anywhere. It's everything the Nuvi should be.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The Garmin nuvi is the worst piece of electrical kit I...”

written by on 22/07/2009

The Garmin nuvi is the worst piece of electrical kit I have ever had. Work gave me this one which it why it is still intact today, I would have driven over it a long time ago if I had brought it.

It can't find a thing, I have been though 3 chargers, the options are terrible, it tells you to stay on the motorway at every junction as if you were 6 years old.

In short, DO NOT BUY THIS SAT NAV!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The Garmin nuvi 250 is very easy to use and has good...”

written by charlie028 on 14/07/2009

The Garmin nuvi 250 is very easy to use and has good battery life.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I got a Garmin nuvi 250 to replace a Tomtom. Very...”

written by steveop on 10/06/2009

I got a Garmin nuvi 250 to replace a Tomtom. Very disapointed. It has taken me across country a few times avoiding motorways, can't get it to use motorways first. Nearly missed a flight 2 days ago as it decided to take me trough lots of little villages in Holland and Germany, instead of taking the motorway. Please try and imagine the stress in the car with the family at 4 in the morning.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“need to update the Garmin nuvi 250 for caravaning as...”

written by on 30/05/2009

need to update the Garmin nuvi 250 for caravaning as end up down roads when towing

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“If there were an option to put in minus number in the...”

written by silemin on 11/05/2009

If there were an option to put in minus number in the review I would! There is a function on the Garmin nuvi 250 to take you the fastest and shortest route, more often than not you'll be on single track roads getting stuck behind tractors or on dirt tracks getting stuck behind sheep. Both have happend to me. I was at Birkenhead ferry terminal and thought, how long would it take me to get to Stranraer ferry terminal. The sat nav said go on the ferry to belfast then on the ferry to Stranraer. It will make you pull your hair out!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“in general Garmin nuvi 250 is 'okay' - it might be my...”

written by lucy martin on 12/04/2009

in general Garmin nuvi 250 is 'okay' - it might be my luck to need particular places that aren't accurate. it can go wonky in mid-stream, where I know where I am going but suddenly 'recalculation' occurs. I regularly plug it into my PC and supposedly it needs no updates but i beg to differ

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Places of interest very easily downloaded. Wish it...”

written by on 29/03/2009

Places of interest very easily downloaded. Wish it could go straight into postcode search rather than having to select a country first. Having UK instead of England, Wales and Scotland. I found the Garmin nuvi 250 pretty easy to use, user friendly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview