John Charcol Mortgages www.charcol.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
John Charcol Mortgages www.charcol.co.uk
★★★☆☆
2.8
44.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
John Charcol Mortgages www.charcol.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for John Charcol Mortgages www.charcol.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Bad Service June-Sept 2017”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 06/11/2017

I was already a client but my assigned John Charcol representative took 10 days to return my initial calls. It took 15 weeks just to swap to a new interest rate deal on a buy to let mortgage (which JC had arranged in the first place, so already had all the details). I had to constantly chase to get information and make things happen, and call backs often did not happen as promised. I lost £1,050 because the new deal was not in place when my old one expired. JC blamed everyone apart from themselves and retained a fee of £1,453. I sensed afterwards they were used to handling complaints and rejecting them - as with mine. My view is there must be better brokers to try.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Arranged my remortgage swiftly and helped me save money!”

★★★★★

written by JamesJee83 on 19/10/2017

Great service from the team in particular the person who was our broker. Kept us in the loop and explained the options fully. Would definitely recommend them A+ / Five star service!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rubbish. Got us to spend money then stopped returning...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by wpGreer104 on 10/02/2016

We had an initial call with John Charcol several weeks ago, during which they told us we needed to complete a credit check (£10 each) and that they would follow up with a call in a few days. They never followed up the call, and have never responded to repeated emails and attempts to contact them. They don't have the results of our credit check as I haven't been asked to send them on, so it's nothing to do with "failing" any checks, just terrible customer service. So, we're £20 out of pocket and no nearer to getting our mortgage. Thanks John Charcol!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Exceptional service”

★★★★★

written by on 21/12/2015

I had exceptional service from the company. Organised a very tricky mortgage that other brokers would not even consider attempting. Guidance was brilliant. From start to finish the most professional work I have ever experienced. Fees are expected for this type of assistance. Regular almost daily contact with staff, always able to update. Discussed every step with me in detail offering sound advice

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Angelo313 on 14/12/2015

I chose John Charcol as they charge for their services and as a result I expected a premium service from them. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. It took two weeks from requesting a call to make an application before I was able to get an appointment, and everything after that took so long to do. The advisor was to find out information about what documents we were to produce, and in the time it took for him to find out this relatively simple information my wife an I travelled from abroad to the UK, viewed 9 properties, had an offer accepted on one and had a full mortgage application submitted with London and County Mortgage Brokers, who I would thoroughly recommend for their speed and professionalism ,and what's more their service is completely free. I have today received an offer of mortgage as a result of their efforts. I would never recommend John Charcol to anyone in the future. Why pay a large amount of money for a sub-standard service when you can get the premium service for nothing?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Slow, need chasing and send Wonga like threatening letters”

★★☆☆☆

written by top_trader on 19/06/2015

I used John Charcol for two mortgages between late 2014 and early 2015 I can't say i'd recommend them as you could do a faster job yourself going direct or using another broker most of whom are free whereas John Charcol charge a fee on top of the sizeable commission they already get from the mortgage provider. They were slow throughout the process, lost photocopies of documents and had to be chased by me numerous times throughout giving me little faith everything was in hand. Then when the mortgages completed and I took a couple of weeks paying the invoice I received threatening letters through the post threatening court action if i did not pay up immediately. Very cheeky given the delays in them actually getting the mortgages accepted! if the service was free i'd suggest it could be of use, but not worth paying for on top!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Frustrating....”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Joneskn446 on 29/09/2014

It took more than 6 weeks to get the mortgage offer, and we nearly lost the house because of that. I expected the mortgage advisor to ADVICE me during the process, but it seems he knew as much as I did. The guy we dealt with was rather inefficient and didn't seem to care about customer service. He would not respond to emails, voicemails, phone calls, etc... Would not tell us when he was going on leave.... We lost nearly 2 weeks at the beginning of the process because his instructions were not clear and we as a consequence didn't provide the right supporting documents. We got asked the same questions over and over again, and there didn't seem to be a pilot on board, especially in terms of chasing the lender. We escalated the issue to his manager but he didnt bother even acknowledging our emails. One of the most frustrating experience ever... Buying a house is made difficult by this sort of advisors...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“unbelievably inefficient ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by McCormackjc1951 on 10/07/2014

Dreadfully lengthy experience with John charcol. The guy was very polite, never remembered my name, couldn't spell it either! It took nearly three months for them to arrange the mortgage. The advisor had to keep changing options because his advice was wrong to start with, he almost never called back when we were required to do something, forms were duplicated and it just became a totally frustrating experience. Would never go back to them. Not in a million years.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bimblehead's Comment

Written on: 25/07/2014

Having had a similar experience with John Charcol - including having to give them years of bank accounts - I decided not to bother with brokers at all. Contrary to how they advertise, I found they can actually make getting a mortgage more difficult. In the last two months I have done two mortgages directly with a lender myself (am an investor) and both have gone through much faster and more easily than dealing with John Charcol. Inspired by my experience my first time buyer son also went directly to a lender (since MMR regulations came in) and also received his full mortgage offer. Again much easier speaking to the lender directly than some middle man. And that's what broker's are. It is also straightforward to find your own deal - google what you want (google brings up every deal on the internet) and then check the lender's requirements to ensure you and your property fit. By the way we got brilliant deals and in fact banks' best deals are sometimes reserved for those who go directly to them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Semintimus's Comment

Written on: 17/07/2015

actually you will get much better service going through a good and I qualify this good broker. What Bimblehead conveniently forgets is the broker is point of communication between parties which greatly assists transactions and also provides far more advice than a lender does. The banks are my best referrers as when people find they have to wait weeks for a telephone appointment, the valuation takes six weeks to happen and delayed offers, they soon realise why lenders prefer using brokers.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Total lack of Customer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by holmy on 12/05/2014

I tried on 2 occasions last week to get advice by filling in the 'ask the expert' section of their website - no reply. On Friday I contacted then via. e-mail and arranged a call back for today between 11 a.m. and 12 noon - no contact. I contacted Customer Services today and gave them my number and asked for a call back, I received a reply saying someone would contact me - no contact. I don't think anyone will be surprised to hear that I am taking my business elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Most inefficient company ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MelanieReview on 09/09/2013

Our mortage broker was terrible to work with. He provided inaccurate and unreliable statements made so many errors. I am deeply regretting my decision to process my mortgage through this broker as it has been nothing but a headache. If I hadn't already paid the valuation fees I would definitely be switching switching. The most frustrating company I have ever had to deal with!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Superb Mortgage Advice”

★★★★★

written by JohnnyHolland on 13/05/2013

i was a little sceptical about using a 'broker' to arrange a mortgage for my wife and i but i have to say that john charcol has been great to deal with. their professional advisor took us carefully though the process and the company really seems to be committed to getting the the best deal for its clients. a small fee to pay for this advice but well worth in my opinion. i would recommend john charcol to anyone wishing to secure a good deal and who wants to be comfortable with what mortgage and what advice they are getting. great and will definitely use them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Can't thank them enough”

★★★★★

written by on 30/08/2012

If it wasn't for John Charcol (recommended to me) I wouldn't be in the flat I eventually bought. Our advisor was helpful, knowledgeable, impartial and dedicated. I didn't get the horrible sales pitch and ignorance (and lack of maths!) that I got when I tried THAT other rival of theirs. I could always get hold of our advisor and he saw us through the process and answered any niggly questions from our first time buyer brains from the beginning until completion.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I must admit to being one of the few people who had...”

★★★★★

written by on 24/02/2011

I must admit to being one of the few people who had never heard of them before. I ended up at www.charcol.co.uk from a search and then spoke to an adviser. They arranged my mortgage when lots of lenders had turned me down. I would pay their fee every time and recommend them to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“They gave first-rate service when I re-mortgaged and...”

★★★★★

written by on 28/01/2011

They gave first-rate service when I re-mortgaged and they found a dream rate that I had never seen anywhere in my own searches. Well worth the fee since I've saved hundreds since and will go on saving.

There were some negative aspects - it did take quite a bit of time to close the deal but that's probably par for the course anyway

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Keep your wits about you Like any transaction do your...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 09/11/2010

Keep your wits about you Like any transaction do your homework We found the printout information they had at hand to be the key Working with the adviser on his desk it was easy to see who offered the best deal

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Service from Chracol was average. they wanted to...”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 18/06/2010

Service from Chracol was average. they wanted to charge a fee of £450, of which £150 was paid on application. I refused and said I would go elsewhere so they drop the whole fee. Just be hard faced and dont give in so you can save money. There fee is flexiable - they will try it on.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by sheelahharrison on 2nd July 2015 Report this content
I already own a house which is mortgaged for 250k and has 160k left to pay can I use the equity to buy another house? It is worth 750-850K.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview