Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.9 / 5
71% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair

Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair
Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair
Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair
Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair
Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair
Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair
Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Breakes gone within a month”

Written on: 29/06/2011

Bought the pushchair in mid Feb, but by mid March the breakes were getting stuck on and off. In April the breakes went completely. Can't return as the shop where bought the item went bust. Now use the pushchair but don't put the breakes on. Started looking at other pushchairs and will definitely not spare money on the next pushchair...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 27/07/2011

I bought the Vigour 3+ last June 2010 and have loved it ever since. I had the carry cot attachment and our 13 month old still loves it. It is excellent in all respects and we are considering buying a different pushchair only because we now fly frequently and I need a smaller, single-hand fold chair for travel only.

To the writer of the review above, your particular pushchair is defective and should be returned to the manufacturer who ought to replace it. This is not representative of my chair which is very sturdy indeed. We use it off-road all the time.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Fantastic whilst it was usable! Build quality, ease of...”

Written on: 19/02/2011

Fantastic whilst it was usable! Build quality, ease of use and functionality are very good, hence the 4 star rating. I have only rated the Britax B-Smart 3 one star for value, as you cannot use it as a pushchair after 9-10 months, as the straps are too short and there is no more adjustment! The B-Smart is meant to be designed to cope with kids up to 15kg, but my son is 10kg and 10 months old. Britax offer an adjustable clip on harness as a 'workaround' and are working on a more permanent solution. This for us was not acceptable for the money we paid and have since had a full refund. BE AWARE!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We bought the B-Smart 3 wheeler back in April and have...”

Written on: 10/12/2010

We bought the B-Smart 3 wheeler back in April and have had non stop problems. The steering is awful and the whole chassis is flimsy. You can not steer it one handed and the brake sticks. It is a very inferior version to their previous pushchair the Vigour 3+. More recently we have found that the straps do not adjust and my 7 month old son can barely fit in it. Britax have given us a harness which is a less than ideal solution. They say it is suitable for up to the age of 4. More like 7 months and that's at a push!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I bought the B Smart 3 from Toys R Us in October 2010...”

Written on: 11/10/2010

I bought the B Smart 3 from Toys R Us in October 2010 for £150 when it was a special offer. I quite like the pushchair but I am very pleased that I did not pay any more for it. It is my 6th pushchair so I know about them! I bought it because my son is just 3 months, but too old for his pram (M&P Pliko P3, excellent all rounder) but too young to be in a normal pushchair facing away from the parent.

I bought it after much research because it was the cheapest reasonable quality pushchair that enabled me to have my baby facing me and lying flat, and have a buggyboard for my toddler.

Pros - at the time of purchase it was the cheapest pushchair that enabled you to have the baby facing the parent. The hood is great, very generous. It folds and unfolds very easily. The car seat and carrycot fit and switch very easily.

Cons - it feels very flimsy and I am not sure that it will stand the test of time. I would not get the 3 wheeler but would go for the 4 wheels as it will tip over very easily. It is a nightmare on buses, but as I rarely take them (walk everywhere) it is not too much of an issue with me. It is also very awkward to store and handle once folded. The frame broke within a day of having bought it and Toys R Us replaced it. Now it has a bit of a squeak and veers a bit to the right. The straps are absolute rubbish and very small.

I have an excellent Concord Fusion that we still use for my daughter who is just 3. I expect I will use the Britax for a year, then switch to the Concord. So I think it will be an in-between pushchair.

If you want more use out of it, definitely buy something better like the Oyster. For £150 it is acceptable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A major warning against Britax Vigour 3+ I did...”

Written on: 01/10/2010

A major warning against Britax Vigour 3+ I did extensive research into prams and it sounded perfect because it was a three wheeler which faced forwards and backwards and has the moveable handle great if you or your partner are tall. It assembles easily and seemed great until I started using it. When the front wheel is unlocked it is dangerous because it tips as you are trying to go up and down kerbs and even if there are dips in the pavement. My 10 month old was in the pram yesterday and I pushed the pram over a dip in the pavement, the wheel went into the dip and the pram tipped forwards completely and fell on its side, thank goodness my baby was OK because the hood protected his head but he got a horrible fright and it could have been really nasty. I caught the weight of the pram on my shin as it fell and have a huge bruise. I have seen other reviews where people say tipping is a problem, so be warned! The problem is that when the front wheel is locked it is difficult to steer because it only wants to go in one direction and it is heavy and awkward to keep shifting the back wheels to alter the direction. I don't ever want to use this pram again, I don't want to sell it on to anyone and Britax are not being particularly helpful so I have potentially lost out financially too.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 26/05/2011

Technically speaking, that's called operator error.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy the Britax B smart, it has been designed...”

Written on: 30/09/2010

Do not buy the Britax B smart, it has been designed differently to the vigour which is great.

We have just bought this and used it for 1 day, we realised that they have changed the design of the straps that hold the child in the seat, instead of a 5 point fully adjustable harness, it now has a harness that barely adjusts, this will not strap in a 3 year old comfortable, and to top it off the straps are fixed, so you can not unclip the shoulder bits to just use the 3 point waist section with the bumper bar with a growing child.

My child is 18 months, and a small 18 months, we put her winter coat on today and the buggy snuggle we have, buggy snuggles are thin so not your average thick winter cosy toes, well the straps only just did up, and that was with my squeezing a crying child into them, I have contacted britax as i live 5 mins from the factory, I intend on taking it in tomorrow morning to prove to them how bad it is !!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Barnabies's Comment

Written on: 02/11/2010

Did you manage to get a resolution? I have this same issue with the straps... my daughter is only 6months old and she only just fits in it with the Britax Cosytoes!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“doea anyone know how to attach the carseat to tne...”

Written on: 22/08/2010 by sarahg2010 (1 review written)

doea anyone know how to attach the carseat to tne vigour 3 pushchair as we dont have a clue! we bought it secondhand.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Good points - light, easy to push, easy to fold,...”

Written on: 07/08/2010

Good points - light, easy to push, easy to fold, robust on rough terrain when front wheel locked. Easy to remove seat clicks in and out. very good reclining adjustment - easy to do and can recline to whatever position you want. Easily adjusted to suit height of pusher.

Bad points - when wheel not locked often trips on paving stones. I have almost turned pushchair over on a couple of occassions. Need to remove everything from basket in order to fold. Rain cover is terrible - difficult to put on and very bulky.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“The Britax Vigour 3 looks to be a great price but,...”

Written on: 07/07/2010

The Britax Vigour 3 looks to be a great price but, having had one for a year now, I can't say that the quality is brilliant. Within 6 months the opening and closing mechanism had seazed up and now the foot rest has broken. It looks like it's made of plyboard which has now begun to rot away from the frame. Also, the safety bar doesn't stop my little boy from hooking his legs over the top, which doesn't seem very safe to me! Looking back, I wish I'd paid a bit more for something that would last longer, especially as I wanted to use if for my second child. If you want a cheap pushchair for a relatively short amount of time, this looks good and is a good price. But, in my experience, you can't expect anything more from it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Soozisoomk2's Comment

Written on: 18/07/2010

I found this review very helpful because we had a similar problem and got the buggy replaced. The new buggy had a completely different foot design. Now, a year later, exactly the same thing has happened at the head of the seat. Unfortunately we are now out of warrenty. I absolutely love this buggy and am really disappointed that this has happened. Sorry I can't recommend it but once could be bad luck, twice is a design fault.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“This pushchair is really easy to use, lightweight and...”

Written on: 17/05/2010

This pushchair is really easy to use, lightweight and looks good. I loved that you can have it forward facing or facing the parent, now my son is older I have him forward facing and he loves it. I also have the carrycot which I used for the first 4 months and the baby safe babyseat which he has recently outgrown. I Have now bought the next stage Britax carseat and the Nexus pushchair to keep in the boot of the car for trips out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We received the Britax B-Smart a month ago and...”

Written on: 24/03/2010

We received the Britax B-Smart a month ago and absolutely love it! Our son is nearly 6 months old and we previously had the Mamas & Papas Pliko - disaster! We researched a new pushchair extensively as we did not want to make another expensive mistake. The B-Smart was so easy to assemble and is very user friendly. Our son loves it & I love that it lies flat, has two other recline settings as well as being forward & rear facing. Its so practical and not at all as heavy as other three wheelers or as expensive.

I would definately recommend this pushchair and only wish it was available when our son was born!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bought the Vigour+ 3 plus the SHR car seat to make it...”

Written on: 11/03/2010 by amylou82 (1 review written)

Bought the Vigour+ 3 plus the SHR car seat to make it a travel system last year... Although a big outlay of £350 it did come as complete travel system inc rain covers and foot muff and a changing bag, and it will see baby from newborn right through til grown out of pram. Major selling point for me was that the pram can be used rear or forward facing although carseat can only be rear facing however this is no problem for me. I have found it to be absolutely brilliant. It is so easy to push/steer. Very sturdy, great over rough ground and must be comfortable ride as even over the roughest ground my little boy stays fast asleep. All straps easily adjustable. Good sized basket underneath, the pram is very easily adjustable all over, from the recline positions which I think there are about 6 inc lay flat. And the foot end of the pram can be adjusted too. It is east to collapse and the rear wheels can easily be removed if necessary when storing or transporting. I really cannot rave about this pram enough I love it the only thing I can think of that is a slight negative is that it is quite wide however it has never caused me a problem.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Without a doubt a good decision - have now been using...”

Written on: 02/03/2010

Without a doubt a good decision - have now been using the Britax Vigour 3+ for 4 months and it has been absolutely brilliant.
We did extensive research into different prams and pushchairs before our daughter arrived including WHICH reviews and testing loads in shops. In the end we chose the Britax and haven't regretted it at all.
Key plus points - v easy to fold / unfold (no fiddly bits), baby can either face you (great when they're tiny) or face away, v easy to plug the carseat in to make it a travel system, very manouvrable and easy to push, wheels are sturdy and good off-road as they're nice and big (they're also foam filled not pneumatic so no danger of punctures like other makes), good size basket at bottom, and handle easy to change height - useful as my hubby is about 7 inches taller than me.
Also bought the carrycot, which has been a godsend in the first few weeks as so easy to push / rock the baby to sleep in it during the day! Keep recommending the Britax Vigour 3 to all my friends - it's just been brilliant. Only downside is that doesn't come in many colours, but have the black and its very smart.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Just got the Britax B Smart 3 delivered. It is the...”

Written on: 18/02/2010 by Jatt29 (1 review written)

Just got the Britax B Smart 3 delivered. It is the 2010 version, previously known as Vigour 3. I was expecting this to be delivered around mid March but to my surprise I received it a couple of days ago.

I ordered the option in "Venetian" (red). It is so simple to set up, the wheels are easy to put on and take off. I would highly recommend going into a store and trying out the pram in person.

The colour is more or less the same as the previous version but the design is slightly different. The alloys on the wheels are slightly curvy.

The other only difference is the handle bars. The vigour could extend by a few cm if you pulled the handle up. With the 2010 version the actual handle rotates to different levels. That is probably the main difference.

It is lightweight and easy to manoeuvre. I have also bought the Car Seat SHR and carrycot but yet to use them so I can't comment. The pram, car seat,base and carrycot cost around £525 so it is quite expensive.

However I would highly recommend this pram.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Britax Vigour 3 is the best all round pushchair I have...”

Written on: 05/02/2010

Britax Vigour 3 is the best all round pushchair I have ever used. I have used it for 2 children over the past 2 years and have used the carrycot, carseat and lie flat buggy. Baby can face you which is pefect when they are small. It's great, light, east to steer, easy to maintain and clean, compact, comfy for babies and toddlers. Lovely roomy shopping basket, lovely accessories and cosy toes. I love it love, cant think of any negatives at all. My childminder loves it so much she wants to buy it from me when I have finished with it! If you buy one pram buy this one it does it all. I have also owned a Silver Cross Stroller (ok but hard to push) a cosatto stroller (shocking) and a Phil and Teds (did the job for 2 babies but is nowhere near the quality of the Britax). Every time I have gone back to my Britax, superb design and quality.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“The Britax Vigour 3 is a fantastic product. I bought...”

Written on: 04/02/2010

The Britax Vigour 3 is a fantastic product. I bought this pushchair for my third baby, along with the SHR carseat, and I think it is excellent value for money - you could easily pay £200+ more of icandy, bugaboo etc.

I recently shut the chassis in my boot lid and broke a bit off, I took it back to the outlet, they gave me a buggy to use in the meantime (Quinny - rubbish)and got it back from Britax as good as new within a week - great customer service.

Its lightweight, easy to put up and down, a doddle to steer and the fabric is hardwearing. I would highly recommend this product to all new mum's and dad's looking for a travel system.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic pushchair. So easy to use. I bought this...”

Written on: 04/01/2010

Fantastic pushchair. So easy to use. I bought this in the January Sales when my son was 4 months old, after struggling with an awful Silver Cross pram and car seat. The Vigour is as good as the Quinny but not as expensive. Easy to fold and unfold, fits easily into the car, takes seconds to lift out and attach car seat to chassis if you invest in an Isofix. this proceedure took me a good 5 minutes with the Silver Cross. Also, look out for the great carry cot that can be used in the back seat of your car. I haven't bought one yet, but intend to get one if I have another baby.
What I love about this is my son can sit up and look around when we are in the shops and when he falls asleep, I can recline the buggy and let him have a good snooze!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“After testing virtual every pushchair/pram on the...”

Written on: 13/12/2009 by warby79 (2 reviews written)

After testing virtual every pushchair/pram on the market this is the one that ticked all the boxes.
I struggled to put down other more expensive rivals (icandy, quinny) or get the car seats off etc. I could put this down and up first time.
There are no fiddly adaptors to put on/off for car seat (I have the Baby safe plus SHR so simple).
All attachments are easy to put on/take off. It steers like a dream and can turn one handed on spot (Handy for getting out of tight spaces).
The handle is great for shorter people or tallies (husband 6'3). The common theme I found with rivals is that the handles are round - sort of flat shaped, which I found uncomfy, this handle is round and comfy to push.
Large hood which protects baby from sun
Fits in boot of my Golf WITHOUT removing any wheels.
Wheels won't get punctures (seen others with quinnys pumping them up!)
Large pushchair seat which faces either way and has unlimited recline options which is easy to do (unlike others I tested)
The frame I don't find heavy again compared to rivals
Front wheel lock if necessary.
The only negative I found (which is why not 5 stars)
The 2009 model with complete lie flat does not have a very padded seat, which did not bother me as I purchased the carrycot. Now I have a fleecy seat cover, but am sure can't be very comfortable for newborns (unlike pramettes).
Raincover is impossible to get back into cover (both for carrycot or pushchair) and does not fold up small so takes up all room in basket.
Frame marks quite eaily and the way it is opened and closed means it will scuff the front on the floor.
Colour options are boring
None of these points would put me off purchasing it again. Having tried friends pushchairs since purchasing, it always reminds me what a good buy it was. I am surpirsed that more places doen't stock it (ie John Lewis) but I suppose it doesn't have a designer tag with it! (Unlike the bugaboos/Icandy I always hear them trying to push people towards and I reckon aren't 3 times better - where are there alway so many on ebay and why have they never won any awards!)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“We bought the Britax Vigour 3 in black the week it...”

Written on: 11/09/2009

We bought the Britax Vigour 3 in black the week it arrived in our local store in November 2006 and used it for the first six months after our daughter arrived before we switched to an umbrella fold buggy. We've now got it back out for our second arrival and it still looks good as new.

Despite daily use for the first six months and tyres show almost no wear and the same goes for the fabric, it's really hard wearing, only the frame is a little scuffed.

Good points, can easily fit a car seat or a cary cot when they're little, and the carrycot is more than big enough for thme to sleep in comfortably. Buggy attachment can face either way so great as they grow older. Love the hidden pockets in the buggy and the carrycot, ideal for keys, a phone or spare dummies/hankies.

Handles really well 'off road', we're had it on muddy grass, a sandy beach, going round forest walks with our dogs and it's been totally fine.

The one handed buggy recline was one of the things that sold it for us. Whereas with the buzz it was quite akward and you need two hands, with the vigour you can recline it while you're walking, ideal if you're trying to be sly and convince a little one to have a nap.

Really easy to push/steer, my toddler has been playing with it using her dollies and can handle it easily, the handle also raises and lowers really easily, perfect when you need a pram that can be pushed by a 4ft10 gran and a 6ft5 grampa!

Bad points would be that I think if you're planning on using it for a toddler it's too small, my two year old daughter is too big for it, but luckily is walking and we found umbrella fold buggies easier when she got bigger. Other bad point, it doesn't fold down very small, it took up the whole boot in our astra. But if you take off the buggy part and the wheels it does go smaller, just seems like a big hassle. Bumping down kerbs the front wheel also tends to get stuck quite a lot, but it just takes some practise to learn how to work it properly, either than or lock it. It gets worse as the wee one gets heavier so I wouldn't use it for a toddler.

Overall it's a fantastic pram I'd recommend to anyone, but only if you're not hoping this will last you till your child is four!! Very easy to change attachments, especially clipping and unclipping the car seat. Oh and a really good sized shopping basket with two handy pockets, ideal for spare nappies or I use it for hats and gloves.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“My son loves this Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair. I bought...”

Written on: 25/08/2009 by becca88 (1 review written)

My son loves this Britax Vigour 3 Pushchair. I bought it in a sale at 100 pound but would ave easily paid 300+ for it, this pram is stylish, comfortable easy to push, easy to steer with one hand and faces both ways and it never fails to get him to sleep :) The only bad points are - not good for public transport and my son is 2 and it's not gonna last much longer which is a shame.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview