Orchard Cottage Riding Stables, Surrey Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
83% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Orchard Cottage Riding Stables, Surrey - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Orchard Cottage Riding Stables, Surrey

Orchard Cottage Riding Stables, Surrey

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Made me feel very useless”

Written on: 04/08/2016 by xuFry271 (1 review written)

I rang and explained that I wanted to take up riding again after 15 years away and was recommended a novice class before a hack. I was excited to attend but was made to feel very small. Everyone else was taking exams and I was told I was in totally the wrong class. Yet this is the one the stables themselves recommended. I was looking forward to this so much and the stables have ruined my return to horse riding with their rudeness and unfriendly attitude. I would not recommend to anyone. Very unpleasant place. Don't go if you want a friendly welcome and don't listen to the advice given on the phone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A superb first experience”

Written on: 27/07/2016

My five year old grandson, had his first riding lesson at Orchard Cottage today. We couldn't have asked for better. The facilities, equipment and horses were top notch, but it was the staff who made this such an excellent first experience. From the warm welcome in the office, to the girl who fitted him with his helmet and body protector to the outstanding instructor (clear, concise, never patronising) and the girl who led his pony (helpful, thoughtful, but allowing him independence too), all were superb. I've ridden for 50 years in many countries and at a wide range of establishments. This stables ranks at the top. Thank you so much, all of you,1 for making this such a positive experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent friendly Staff and beautiful horses...”

Written on: 29/09/2015 by JoslynHarris (1 review written)

I have recently restarted riding after a long break and have found this stable to be fantastic and thoroughly enjoy going there each week for a lesson. My daughter (7) also rides here and we have been treated very well by all staff and just found it a very positive & enjoyable experience. The stables have a warm welcoming atmosphere and the horses are execptionally well cared for and have lovely temperaments. Noone is at all standoffish and all staff give a lot of encouragement and support . I would recommend Orchard Cottage to anyone of any age who wants to ride.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Pure Heaven”

Written on: 13/06/2015 by RobOfLowerKingswood (1 review written)

I have been attending Orchard Cottage since March 2015 and have simply fallen in love with the place.It is a real oasis,a sanctuary from the rest of the world.I have had some riding lessons and they have also allowed to help out on a Sunday morning too.Being 49,male and not having a lot of equine knowledge i felt highly conspicuous but everyone made me feel welcome and at ease.The staff are very friendly and welcoming and highly professional and it is easy to see that high standards of horse care are maintained.The yard has a very happy, positive vibe to it, not at all pretentious, just keen to ensure everyone gains the best possible experience from their visit.I have become deeply envious of the people who work there...they are a great team.All in all a peace of equine heaven.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“fantastic”

Written on: 04/08/2014 by Reecevc87 (1 review written)

I have been riding at this yard for over 10 yr every second Sunday for a hack or lesson and I love it... The horses are well cared for and very well trained the staff are friendly and happy to help and it's just overall a happy pleasant experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“so good”

Written on: 22/04/2014 by Carternm367 (1 review written)

I have ridden since I was 9, then breaks cause of kids, then orchard cottage! They really know their stuff great horses, great staff alison is the best riding instructor ever and all staff are fab! X

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“It's an alright yard”

Written on: 23/12/2013

I changed stables and started at orchard cottage when I was 10 years old. I was walk trot and learning to jump. I think that orchard cottage is great for children and people that are starting out. The good points is that people are very friendly there and they are very good at flatwork and teaching to do natural aids. However, they make a bg deal out of jumping, enrich makes some riders that wernt very confident before very nervous. It has great horses but if u want to do lots of high show jumps then this is not the place for you. Also there is a good cross country course but it is not used very much anymore. The horses can jump well if pushed but they are not pushed in the lessons. Overall, it is a good yard but not for people that want to jump high or for someone trying to re build their confidence in jumping. Also the prices are very high. Especially the privates as they are only half an hour.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Orchard cottage rules!!!!”

Written on: 28/10/2013

Hi , I have been riding for 5 years and I love it . I have been to orchard cottage for all of the years. I heard about that some other riding schools are terrible BUT this is the best . My lesson is every Sunday at 3:30pm and finishes at 4:15pm. I do halt , walk, trot, canter , jump and hack out . I have the best teacher ever. The pony's are amazing and the best. The staff are always smiling and greeting you a lot . I love it . This year I have just started helping out at the stables and it so much fun . I help with the lesson at 2:00 pm and I help out with the horses. I prices Is a lot but it is deffently worth it !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“BEST EVER”

Written on: 28/07/2013 by Efstathios (1 review written)

I have ridden at different riding establishments throughout my life and can honestly say that Orchard Cottage beats the lot. I have been riding here for approx. 3 years now and cannot fault it in any way. The staff are very friendly and attentive and I always feel really safe out on a hack which, of course, is the ultimate priority. The horses are in immaculate condition too. My only reservation is the unfortunate need to increase the price of rides which is such a shame as it now stops me from attending as much as I would like. Babs

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Simply the best!”

Written on: 16/06/2013

I feel that I should review Orchard Cottage, as I think it very unfair for anyone visiting this site for information on the stables to be met with "Stay Away!" as the opening review. I have been riding there for 3 years and have never encountered the apparent difficulties and problems stated by the aforementioned reviewer. Quite the contrary, the Staff are pastoral with the youngsters, helping them to build confidence and at all times are polite and caring. The horses are incredibly well looked after, and their well-being is paramount to the running of the yard. Recently I rode out and noticed that one of my stirrup leathers was getting a bit thin - which, if left, could snap. I quietly mentioned it to one of the Staff when I returned from the ride. When I rode the same horse again not long after I noticed a brand new leather in place. Although I have been riding there 3 years, I have been involved with horses all my life - (I'm over 50!) and owned 2 horses for many years. You could say I've been around the (stable) block! I feel I'm more than qualified to say this is a brilliant yard in all respects. People come from all over London to ride here and when asked they say "because its the best yard with the nicest horses/staff" I rest my case!! Please ignore the bad review, its totally unjustified and not representative of this yard - I should know, I've been to some bad ones in my time. I will also add that my family have owned several racehorses over the years - I've visited the yards where they were kept and none of them come close to Orchard Cottage. Its the best by a country mile.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away”

Written on: 24/05/2013

I recently took my daughter to Orchard Cottage for a riding lesson. I found the staff to be rude and snooty with a 'we know best attitude' they wouldn't listen to anything asked for, for example a small pony for my small daughter so that her legs would come off the saddle flaps. A lesson that wasn't a lead rein lesson as she had been riding for a year already. Also, a lesson that wasn't just walking and trotting. To finish it off we were over charged and I had to ask for money back. I was then called by them and said that it probably wasn't a good idea to come back again and then she proceeded to hang up. Stay away from these rude people if you have any knowledge of horses.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pigsarecute's Comment

Written on: 15/02/2014

Well there is one thing for sure they know more than you. I know a girl much smaller than me and she has riden the same horses I have ridden. Orchard cottage is actually really good. It is not fair the comment you gave them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Wonderful staff and horses”

Written on: 09/03/2013 by Julp68 (1 review written)

I started riding recently for the first time. The staff are friendly and the horses are well cared for. It's has a lively feel about it . The lessons are very good and well taught. I would recommend to anyone!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Orchard cottage is amazing. I've only been riding for...”

Written on: 25/01/2011

Orchard cottage is amazing. I've only been riding for about a year and I'm already doing jumping and cantering! My mum (my mum doesn't want me to say her age lol) and me (13) have enjoyed the lessons, even though she just watches! The teachers are really nice, like Mel (she's anamzing. Go Mel!) and the horses are so sweet. Go ORCS!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fab riding school which both myself (38 years) and my...”

Written on: 17/01/2011

Fab riding school which both myself (38 years) and my daughter (10 years) love. We have used a few riding schools in our time but nothing in our area can ompare.

The teachers are attentive, reassuring and explain. The 1 on 1 lessons are the best but it does cost a lot of money!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It's hard to find a good, BHS approved riding school...”

Written on: 17/02/2010

It's hard to find a good, BHS approved riding school and I think Orchard Cottage is the best in the area with well-schooled horses and ponies, good qualified instructors and a serious approach. Horses are well-kept, happy and content. Nice peaceful atmosphere in the yard. Big indoor school with mirrors and classes for grown ups and children at all levels. Would definitely recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I think it is a really nice school and if I earnt a...”

Written on: 17/08/2008

I think it is a really nice school and if I earnt a bit more money then it would be a nice place to ride.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I used to ride here when I was about 11-12 and loved...”

Written on: 24/07/2008 by suzannab23 (1 review written)

I used to ride here when I was about 11-12 and loved it. It isn't the cheapest going but it is a really good quality establishment where the horses are very well cared for and the instructors are great. Love it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Unlike many of the riding schools ive been to before...”

Written on: 01/03/2008

Unlike many of the riding schools ive been to before the instructors actually seem to speak to each other after each lesson and disscus how each person in the ride did. everytime ive called up to book a lesson or am waiting for my lesson to start im always asked by an instructor about my progress and im always amazed that they know exactly all my little bad habits and concerns - even if they dont teach me! its definitely a number one for personalised service as the instuctors really care. A very friendly yard with lovely horses with genuine kind nature - its really helped build my confidence, i love going to Orchard Cottage Riding Stables

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview