The Dragonfly, Tredegar Park, Newport Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.9 / 5
47% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Dragonfly, Tredegar Park, Newport - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Close to the Holiday Inn Express Newport”

Written on: 24/02/2015 by wattene (1 review written)

I visited the pub/restaurant on 18th Feb 2015 with six family friend and enjoyed a good meal with timely service. I was a tad apprehensive about using the Dragonfly as previous reviews had not shown it in a favourable light, and I wanted to rectify that situation. We were there on a Wednesday, which if you are a fan of pies, is the night to go, but you also get the regular menu which will cater for most tastes. If I am down in Newport again, then I will definitely use the Dragonfly again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Misrepresentation of menu choice ”

Written on: 07/12/2013 by Lormul (1 review written)

Although I had previously eaten here, after today's experience, I will not be returning to this restaurant or recommending it to anyone. I just wanted a nice simple lunch. I ordered a grilled chicken breast with sage and onion stuffing served on toasted ciabatta. However, I received dried out shrivelled strips on Turkey in a baguette roll that looked like it had been sat under a heated light until all traces of moisture was gone. Before the waitress even left the table I told her I wasn't happy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“RUBBISH!!!”

Written on: 03/03/2012

FOOD WAS LOVELY REALLY COULDNT FAULT THE HARD WORK THE CHEFS HAD PUT IN WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO SEE THE REST OF YOUR STAFF WORKING AS HARD THE FRONT OF HOUSE STAFF SPEND FAR TOO MUCHTIME STANDING AROUND TALKING TO EACH OTHER! NOT VERY PROFESSIONAL AT AL! THE CHEFS LOOKED PHYISICALY OVER WORKED AND LIKE THEY COULD HAVE DONE WITH EITHER LONGER BREAKS OR MORE BREAKS BECAUSE WHILST THEY ARE WORKING VERY HARD TO GET FOOD OUT TO CUSTOMERS YOUR WAITRESSES ARE STANDING AROUND TALKING TO EACH OTHER… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Dull and unimaginative food with some of the smallest...”

Written on: 09/05/2011

Dull and unimaginative food with some of the smallest portions I've ever seen served in a genuine 'fake old' style of interior.

On the plus side Staff were pleasant and helpful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My partner and her twins (18th birthday yesterday) eat...”

Written on: 12/04/2011 by redrum1 (1 review written)

My partner and her twins (18th birthday yesterday) eat there last night. Apart from waiting 40 minutes for the starters they had to wait a further 45 mins for the main course. My partners son had a 'tiny' steak which was supposely 9 oz it wasnt aparently 4 oz (my partner enjoys stakes twice week so she does know, she had a 'grrk' chicken which was solid and cold. The waitress tried to tell her that it was the pine nuts which were hard and not the chicken, my partner (a fully qualified chef)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Because the snow my partner and I decided not venture...”

Written on: 03/01/2011

Because the snow my partner and I decided not venture to far from newport and popped into the dragonfly tredegar for the first time and the last.My partner had the chargrill chicken dish that was literally charcoal, so overcooked. I had a rump steak and lobster tail, the steak was cooked to my liking but luke warm and unseasoned, along with luke warm chips and peas like little bullets, biggest disappointed was the extremly overcooked lobster tail. Dragonfly do yourself a favour get some proper… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We were staying at the Holiday Inn next door to The...”

Written on: 20/12/2010

We were staying at the Holiday Inn next door to The Dragonfly for the craft festival earlier this month and visited the pub twice. On both occasions we very impressed with the service and the quality of food. We visit many restaurants/ hotels on our jaunts around the country and felt compelled to write this review. The staff were outstanding and made us all from the craft festival very welcome. The food was great with generous helpings and reasonably priced. We loved the place and will be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This is one of the only pubs in walking distance from...”

Written on: 12/12/2010

This is one of the only pubs in walking distance from my house. Food is terrible. Cheap - frozen food heated up to fill a hole. I do not have a problem eating this sort of food - if I know what I am getting... It's when they try to dress it up as something better that it is.

Other complaints are the dirty wine glasses and tables - every time I go in.

I visit on the odd occasion hoping things have improved - no luck.

On the plus side - there is a great bar/restaurant opened opposite... so… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“We've visited a few times and have usually had an...”

Written on: 31/08/2010

We've visited a few times and have usually had an excellent meal - in particular the Sunday lunch. Its a pretty pub in a quiet location and have recommended the place to many people. The bar ordering system is a bit annoying (people are lining up to order food, pay for food and order drinks all at the same time which doesn't really work when you want another lemonade and your food's already on the table). It can get quite busy and the service is a bit slow but because the food's normally so… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“We went on a very busy Sunday on an off chance. ”

Written on: 04/08/2010

We went on a very busy Sunday on an off chance.
Because it was so busy it took a while for our food to arrive, but I thought this was to be expected. The food was good & the staff friendly and helpful, despite being rushed off their feet.
Even my very fussy father in law was happy!
Would come again, perhaps midweek, to see what it's like when it's quieter… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Was very upset to find a huge bug in my salad, made me...”

Written on: 27/05/2010

Was very upset to find a huge bug in my salad, made me sick all day.
will never eat there again, looking at other reviews this is not the first time.

Service Poor, had a refund but was still charged for drink… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Visited the Dragonfly for the first time on 1st...”

Written on: 15/01/2010

Visited the Dragonfly for the first time on 1st January 2010, we had to wait a long time for somebody to come and serve us even though they were not busy, when somebody finally arrived the service from then on was good. The food was very nice, well presented and tasty, will definately be visiting again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“fantastic meal, beatiful food and best service...”

Written on: 30/10/2009

fantastic meal, beatiful food and best service newport........ thas wat i have to say! we go a few times a month and its always great.
its just been refurbed also.......... quite classy!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“My wife had steak and I had gammon, after a few...”

Written on: 11/10/2009

My wife had steak and I had gammon, after a few minutes my wife found a caterpillar in with her veg. Put us both of our meals, no refund, only a complimentary coffee for my wife only and no appologies from management. Will never go there agaimn… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Visited on a Saturday lunchtime and ordered 'toad in...”

Written on: 15/08/2009

Visited on a Saturday lunchtime and ordered 'toad in the hole' and a fillet of steak (very rare). The food took about 45 mins to arrive. When it finally arrived the toad in the hole was not a light batter as advertised in the menu, but like a brick. Very disappointed. My husbands 'very rare' steak arrived as a medium steak.When the waitress asked if the meals were ok, we said no. she asked if we would order something else, but as we had already wasted 45 mins we decided against it. No… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Totally unorganised. Cannot book in advance. Turn up...”

Written on: 09/08/2009

Totally unorganised. Cannot book in advance. Turn up to get a table- no one to greet customers. So you try to find your own table (with number on it). Try to get a drink at the bar and then told to join a queue...with others who are ordering food and paying their bills - then watch people stand at the bar and get served. Outrageous lack of customer care and management skills...no passion...just a job for the staff. Saw Managers constantly serving food to tables rather than manage.
Food is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Just returned from The Dragonfly for a Mothers Day...”

Written on: 22/03/2009 by eating (1 review written)

Just returned from The Dragonfly for a Mothers Day meal. Service was excellent and food was brought to our table quite speedily considering the day and occasion. Food was plentiful and absolutely beautifully cooked. No hesitation whatsoever to recommend to anyone. Did read one or two of the existing reviews and was completely satisfied with what we found, which was contrary to one or two reviews. First class in all aspects. No hesitation in recommending for quality, quantity, service and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Dragonfly, Tredegar Park, Newport, has a lovely...”

Written on: 11/03/2009

The Dragonfly, Tredegar Park, Newport, has a lovely atmosphere, great staff. The best cosmopolitan atmosphere newport has. Visit reguarly food + staff great. If its busy you may have to wait for your food a short while......my advise order some garlic bread first it comes quick and have a little nibble to be had while you wait for yor culinary delights… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“1. visit regular, and always happy ”

Written on: 26/01/2009 by jill f (1 review written)

1. visit regular, and always happy
2. great menu and always have daily specials which is great if you visit regular as we do
3. very welcoming staff nothing to much trouble
4. beautiful decor
5. great value

we just wish we lived within walking distance so it could be our local.
there are a few sketchy reviews on here, guys if i were you i would give it another go as your missing out, this really is a great pub… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“At The Dragonfly, the tables did not appear to be...”

Written on: 02/11/2008 by Maopin (1 review written)

At The Dragonfly, the tables did not appear to be cleaned up after each customer. The food (sunday roast) was no where near as good as it smelt. It looked like it had all come out of a freezer. The girl serving us said she was going off to get some sauces and never returned until we'd finished to ask if we wanted anything else. The staff did not seem very pleasant to us and we will not be going back there again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview