Salter Royd Equestrian Centre, West Yorkshire Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4 / 5
77% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Salter Royd Equestrian Centre, West Yorkshire - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Salter RUDE”

Written on: 01/05/2022 by Gloverct357 (1 review written)

Our daughter has been riding at salteroyd since January and has really enjoyed her time there. She’s also helped out on a few occasions mugging out and leading horses (voluntary) which she’s also enjoyed… that was until today. After picking our daughter up i was welcomed with tears, she was told by the owner that it would be better for her to stick to riding school and not help out anymore due to her ‘attitude” and questioned if she was naughty at school and did she get told off often!! (This is to an 11 year old) My husband called to get an understanding of what had actually gone on, as any parent would, only to be met with ‘attitude’ from said person throwing in a few chosen French words for good measure. (Classy) When questioning her attitude my hubby was told to kindly copulate elsewhere!! So, if you want your son / daughter to enjoy horse riding, please think twice about Salterude!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude”

Written on: 29/08/2021 by JorgeTobin69 (1 review written)

Rude and extremely arrogant staff very disappointed with the service & attitude, would not recommend to anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 2
★★★★★

“Yard”

Written on: 04/09/2016 by MayaAndrews62 (1 review written)

Salter royd by far is the best livery yard around Wilsden , The owners are they for you if you need they help, or if you prefer to be left alone that's fine. They his ample turn out in summer, turn out in winter off course is limited to one field, but at least your horse can stretch his or her legs. They his summer BQ also various horse shows each month, they is a large in door arena, and in summer 120 acres to ride over, every one is friendly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Best Riding School Ever!”

Written on: 09/02/2015 by xoxxoxxoxx (1 review written)

i have been riding there for 8 years now and with out a dout it been the best 8 years of my life. The workers are fab and everyone is really nice and always have a smile on there face. Ive gone from one horse to the next and ive learnt how to ride at my own paste. I ride every week and now even started to have jumping lessons. The horses are nicley looked after and are cleaned out all the time. Everyone from starting to ride ,to knowing every thing is sure to have a great time. The hacks are amazing around the fields and in the school your sure to have a fun time.Your not pushed into anything you dont want to do. I also go up and help alot and have made so many friends I would recommend to anyone who would want to learn how to ride. This is the best riding school in West Yorkshire!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Salter royed is the best!!!”

Written on: 09/02/2015 by Horsesarethebest (1 review written)

Right, where do I start. I have been riding a salter royed for eight years now and have had such an amazing time there. So I started there when I was four and had a half an hour lesson (£9) there I learnt to stop, walk,trot and steer the pony. Once I got a bit bigger and older I started riding for one hour (£15) and I kept trying as hard as I could and eventually learnt to canter. From then on I have learnt to jump as well. In the holidays there is a couse which is all ages from four and up. It's twenty-five pounds a day and you learn to care for your horse and also ride for two one hour sessions. Also you can go from Monday to Friday for one hundred pounds too. Overall salter royed is a good riding school and caters for all abilities!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“GREAT FUN......”

Written on: 17/12/2014 by sarahxxx123 (1 review written)

we do our riding lesson's in the big riding school now for the winter month's it's a lot harder indoor's than out..... but we are learning better our riding instructor has a keen eye and won't let us put a foot wrong she'a a GEM we realy respect her it's great fun we realy enjoy coming tuesday's i ride ginny she's lovvv'llll'yyyyyyy thankyou to everyone................

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“:: FANTASTIC PLACE :::”

Written on: 18/08/2014

just started going to salter royd equestrian centre with my daughter i ride saxon and come a long way..... it's very well organised we feel very safe with the qualified instructors who run around the fields with us nothing it to much.... we felt welcome from day one thankyou to all the girls the stables are perfectly clean or tidy and all the horses are immaculate highly recommended x

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Good Riding school for both begginers and experienced...”

Written on: 24/04/2014 by Noonan1971 (1 review written)

Salter Royd is a good riding school and livery yard. The prices start at £9 for a half-hour group lesson and £15 for a group hour lesson. There are two rides, one with a fully qualified instructor and one with the owner for the more advanced riders. The rides take place in an indoor school during the winter and for the advanced riders on the roads. Then during the summer the rides hack out around the land, again with the two separate rides. The rides are available throughout the year every day of the week with jumping lessons and private lessons available. Its perfect for a relaxed hack if your more experienced or if your a beginner and want to learn how to ride (helpers will also lead the rider).With a wide range of horses from large to small, fast to slow. You will be put on the appropriate horse for your experience and size so anyone is welcome. Including people with disabilities. Overall I think it is a good riding school for anyone who wants to come along and join!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I love going to the stables ”

Written on: 28/12/2012 by MaddieD (1 review written)

I have been riding at salter royed since I was 7 and have been helping there since I was 8 . I think it's a great place to go if your interested in horses. The instructors are great . There are two different rides one with Jackie and one with Vicky . Jackies ride is for the less experienced riders ,in the summer Jackie takes her ride on a hack round the fields at a slower pace than Vickys ride in the winter Jackie brings her ride into the in door areana . Vickys ride is for advanced riders in the summer the ride does the same as Jackie but goes through more fields and goes at a faster pace in the winter Vicky takes her ride on a quiet hack on the roads . The horses are great and well cared for my favourite is BURTY he's amazing !!! Every week I look forward to going . Overall I think it's a great place to be !!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“i love salter royd!!!”

Written on: 21/10/2012

hi, i have been at salter royd for atleast 3 years now, and have been riding for 8 years in january. the horses are verry well looked after and is a horse for all ages and abilities and even what you like to do on them (eg jumping, schooling, hacking,ect). you can go on hacks with vicky (the owner and an instructor) or jackie (an instructor for the less confident or less experianced horse riders). i love the livery facilitys as i have kept my horse there for three years as i said earlyer. there is three large arenas free for liverys to use, many large luxurius stables for your horse or pony, feed and/or tack rooms, paddocks to ride in in summer spring and the nice days in autumn. allso, turnout in all the fields in spring summer and autumn but in winter a couple of fialds for the liverys to share. the liverys thre are all verry welcoming and willing to talk to each other, be sociable and be your friend and there are about three children with horses there ( me being one of them). in concluesion, salter royd has educated me so much about horses since going there, i think it will for you aswell. thank you

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I love it there the horses are safe And well looked...”

Written on: 06/09/2012

I've been going to salter royd since I was 4 the horses are well looked after and very safe. There are 2 lessons vickys ride wich is for experienced like my self and jackies ride wich is for begginers. I ride lots of different horses like lottie,Chloe,simbad and Garbo sadly Garbo has gone but hopefully she will come back. I help out at the stables so I know what it's like and trust me it is a great place .. The hacks are amazing ! There is the indoor school for when it's wet and loads of fields to hack threw when it's good weather. If its wet vickys ride ride on the quiet country roads but if it's sunny you go out on a hack. I just want to say a big thank you to vicky,Sam,jackie and all of the worker at salter royd :) 1 hour ride £13 Half hour ride £8

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I love the stables”

Written on: 06/05/2012

I love the stables and everything about them. They have lessons suited to any riding level, whether you are a beginner or expert. I would reccommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing time riding horses and if you like in the holidays you can go to a summer camp where you can groom, wash and take care of the horses. They have different horses suited to different age groups. There is lots of space to the horses and you will have a great time. The sessions are affordable and well worth the money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I am 13 years old and have been riding since i was a...”

Written on: 19/05/2011

I am 13 years old and have been riding since i was a young child i help out and the pony's are in very good condition they are well fed as they are turned out and often they put hay in the fields too also they have automatic water feeders there tack is left(but not over night)on but the girth is loosened and he reins are twisted to stop the horse getting its legs tangled and its great value to ride i usually ride Saxon or Chloe I have owned ponies so i no what to look for if there is something wrong the staff are very nice and have a high knolege of horses

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I think salture royed is a good place if you ride for...”

Written on: 28/04/2011

I think salture royed is a good place if you ride for fun and just like doing the three steps (walk trot and canter) I wouldent recomend it i recomend air view the stables I go to great compertion and the teachers support you the horses are well groomed and talented I have come on a long way and entering dressage next year and only been going to air view 6 weeks and know at a high level the stables clean my friend been going to salture royd since she was 4 and now is 11 and dosent know much about horses and can only walk and trot and dosent now what she holds on two (reins)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Amberpia's Comment

Written on: 12/04/2013

at the end of the day you get what you put in... and your knowledge of salter royd is pretty basic really as if you knew it properly you would know you can have private lessons in dressage and jumping...enough said.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“My child has been riding at Salter Royd now for nearly...”

Written on: 03/04/2011

My child has been riding at Salter Royd now for nearly a year, the trainer is very good with her and very patient, she is not made to do any thing she doesn't want to do and all the steps have been at her own pace, i find all the staff young and older very nice and helpful, the riders are matched perfectly to the pony, my son is now riding there too, in my opinion all the horses are in good condition and well cared for. I would recommend this riding school, especially for beginners.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ Went to Salter Royd with my children to get back...”

Written on: 30/03/2011

Went to Salter Royd with my children to get back into riding after a gap. I had ridden as a child and bought my own horse later in life which I had until having children at which point I gave up due to lack of time. I was so thrilled to be able to get back in the saddle however what a disaster - the yard was dirty, untidy with kids running round getting people on horses. Lesson was boring and the horses needed a good groom. Dont think my kids would learn that much there.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★☆☆

“I'm 19 and I have only been to this centre a few times...”

Written on: 22/02/2011

I'm 19 and I have only been to this centre a few times but I have to say I really enjoyed every ride I had.
The hacks are great value for money, you travel far and the horses absolutely love the trails.

My only concern about this place is the fact that their horses are really dirty. Beautiful creatures but really do need a good bath and groom. It wasn't pleasant plucking lumps of dry mud out of my horse's mane as we were trotting along.

Overall, a great place to learn to ride, or even just take a pleasurable hack around the village and fields.
Fun times.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“i am 11 years old and i ride at salter royd i have...”

Written on: 16/12/2010

i am 11 years old and i ride at salter royd i have bean riding there for nearly 3 years and i absolutley love it its the best one i have ever bean to! i ride a buetiful pony called lottie and she looks after me and loves it there just as much as me! when ever i go for a lesson i aleays stay for afew hours after so i can help out it is amazing! all the horses there are kind.the owners would never make you go on a horse they don't think you are ready for. i think anyone who wants to be a good rider should go there!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I rode at salter royd for a couple of years and when i...”

Written on: 05/12/2010

I rode at salter royd for a couple of years and when i first started, because i didnt no much about horses, i thought it was a really great plece. how wrong i was. i went regularly for lessons and thought they were very cheap, probably because all we did was walk, trot or canter round in circles all the time. my instructor, jakie, was always shouting at me and expected me to do everything right first time. she was particularly cruel young children because she knew she could shout at them unlike adults. the horses worked non stop all day and were just left in thier stables with all their tack on, a really serious hazzard. i felt unhappy with what i was being tought. thier main principle was if the horse is not doing what you want it to do, give it a slap behind! i then went on a riding holiday to a place called Truewell Hall Farm in Oakworth, they tought me how to be in harmony with your horseand that most mistakes are entirely your own. when i went back i found out that the owner of salter royd, Vicky Walker, had sold my favorite horse to the butcher!!!!!! that was it for me, i left. I wouldn't recommend that place to anyone. I had a horrible experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★★★★★

“I have been to many different stables and livery yards...”

Written on: 11/11/2010

I have been to many different stables and livery yards and I have to say without doubt, this is the best yard I have ever been to. From the point of view of staff, facilities, the welfare of the horses and the people who are now there!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview