Summerhouse Equestrian & Training Centre, Gloucester Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
64% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Excellent training and well cared for horses”

Written on: 10/07/2021 by JusticeShoemaker253 (1 review written)

I have been riding here for over 5 years the horses are looked after extremely well and get top rate care by extremely knowledgeable staff who always put the horses and safety of clients and horses first. The teaching, training is top class on well schooled horses. I have improved in my riding and have learnt many new dressage movements which I would never have had chance to learn otherwise.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible rude arrogant and neglectful”

Written on: 07/07/2021 by Smopetting (1 review written)

We arrived to have a class in a horse that was clearly unhappy being standing on a tiny box for 20 minutes without water and hay, the trainer was unhelpful, arrogant, on her mobile the whole time, when asking to please pay attention to the class she was so angry that she cancelled the whole thing without refunding. Do not go there, they might have a big centre but doesn't mean they are qualified to take care of horses and humans.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★★★★

“Excellent facilities ”

Written on: 30/09/2015 by avb-7 (1 review written)

I have recently moved to the area and decided to try Summer House Equestrian for my lessons. I am an experienced rider but due to an accident over a year ago I have decided to learn the basics again. I have found these stables very professional. I appreciated they may place me on a steadier horse to begin with due to them not knowing my riding abilities. My teachers were fabulous, they are very experienced and knowledgable and provide advice constantly throughout the lesson. I didn't tell my first teacher about my accident but they quickly picked up on my seating position and tested me throughout the lesson (40 minutes of no stirrups). Both lessons another rider joined us in the school, which is large enough to divide up and yes as per other reviews there are jumps to one side but these did not affect my lesson. If anything it made me concentrate more and try to get more of a bend in my horse for the smaller circles. The teacher continued to give me one to one advice, they were not distracted by the other teacher or horse. I felt very safe on both horses I rode. They both tested me in different ways. I do think it would be useful to have mirrors in the other school. On both occasions I discussed with each teacher what my expectations were of the lesson. They achieved this. We also discussed what we would like to cover in my next lesson. I would recommend this riding school to others, I understand finding the right teacher is trial and error but I wouldn't hesitate to book another private lesson with them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Schoolmaster Lessons”

Written on: 30/07/2015

I had a some lessons on a schoolmaster. The instructors were good and the facilities were very nice with excellent footing in all arenas. However, during one of my lessons there were jumps in the arena and someone was taking a jumping lesson at the same time. It's hard enough trying to get used to a new horse without having the distraction of someone jumping around you, and i could not relax or focus when having this lesson. Whilst the facilities are excellent, I found the reception staff unfriendly, and i was not made to feel at home when I arrived. It was hard to get any kind of greeting (welcome), smile or just a simple hello from them. When paying £65 for a lesson, I would expect much better customer service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Stage 2 BHS Training”

Written on: 17/04/2015 by AlexEmery (1 review written)

I have spend the last 4 morning doing the Stage 2 training. It was excellent. Very informative, professional, and very good value for money. There are improvements they could make like in any business however the course and the tutors were excellent and would recommend it anyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Won't be returning.”

Written on: 14/03/2015 by Jaylahe324 (1 review written)

Had a prestige lesson at this centre last year. I booked a Dressage prestige lesson (cost £50) and expected to have a dressage lesson on a dressage schoolmaster. The costumer service was terrible the receptionist was rude to my mother the grooms seemed too scared to say hello and the instructor wasn't even looking out for us (we were running a little late as we hit a lot of traffic and had rung the centre to let them know) and was sitting down texting on her phone. Then the horse was brought out in a jumping saddle and there were a few jumps in the indoor school?! The instructor seemed to think I had booked a jumping lesson which I had clearly not so we resolved the matter and decided we would do flat work for the majority of the lesson and do a little jumping to finish. That would be fine if it actually happened which it didn't. I was blamed for the horses lack of forwardness because I hadn't brought a pair of spurs, and was told to ride in a manner of pull and kick which totally goes against how I ride. Terms like move the bit and kick him are not terms you expect to hear from a professional rider. I am a riding instructor myself so was applauded how she behaved, sitting in the corner of the school for the whole lesson and totally blanking out my family as though they were too below her and treating the poor grooms like dirt. All I can say is I will not be returning to summerhouse, I had been planning to train for my BHS stage 4 there but I will be now looking else where.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“Would recommend to all standards of riders”

Written on: 05/03/2012 by kckc (1 review written)

I started riding at summerhouse September 2011 having ridden regularly at other stables. I have found the staff to be knowledgable, approachable, friendly, encouraging and supportive. I have the opportunity to choose which horse I ride, usually following my instructor's advice, and have found that the centre offers the perfect blend between giving me a safe confidence giving mount, and setting me the challenge of more experienced, or inexperienced horses to improve my own riding ability. I feel that my riding has improved, having previously hit a plateau. I enjoy alternating between flat and jumping lessons. I feel that I am gradually working my way up through the string of horses that they have, as my riding improves, so I get to ride better horses. If I had to find a negative it would be the lack of cross country opportunities. I wish I'd moved stables years ago!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Summerhouseetc's Response to kckc's Review

Written on: 06/03/2012

Thank you for your kind and constructive comments. We are glad that you are enjoying progressing with all of the horses, we are very proud of ‘horse power’ team and feel very lucky to have such wonderful horses.

Just to make you aware that once the weathers starts to dry up, we open our 2 cross country paddocks for our clients. Just ask your instructor/reception when the weather gets better and they can sort taking you outside for a cross country lesson.

Kind regards,

Summerhouse E.C

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“above and beyond the call”

Written on: 05/03/2012

My 15 year old daughter has been training with Summerhouse for German performance medals and BHS exams since March 2011. Sara Gallop and her team go out of their way to structure a training programme to suit her scarce time availability and give her fantastic training and super horses to ride. What I like best is that they do not take a one size fits all approach to training - programmes are tailor made. Thanks for the flexibility!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Wonderful”

Written on: 24/02/2012

I have ridden at Summerhouse for many years now and I enjoy riding there immensely. The range of horses is fantastic, from confidence givers to learn on, to an excellent range of school masters. The instructors are also extremely knowledgable and friendly. There are excellent facilities with two large indoor schools, two outdoor schools, a cross country cours and an outdoor show jumping course.My riding has improved so much since I started riding there and I would definately recommend it to anyone from a complete beginner to an advanced rider.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Summerhouseetc's Comment

Written on: 05/03/2012

Thank you, we are pleased to hear your comments. At Summerhouse we are proud of our facilities and team, and we always have new events going on! Please visit our website www.summerhouseec.co.uk for more details.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I recently did an NVQ out of house through...”

Written on: 19/12/2011

I recently did an NVQ out of house through Summerhouse. I wouldnt recommend with very little support or guidence.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Summerhouseetc's Comment

Written on: 05/03/2012

I am sorry to hear that you felt you had little support and guidance when you did your NVQ. Summerhouse prides itself on it's training and has received "outstanding" from Ofsted in it's last inspection. Please feel free to contact Summerhouse (ask for Peter) to discuss this with us so we can see where we went wrong on this occassion.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I go here eall the time and it is amazing! You learn...”

Written on: 14/12/2010

I go here eall the time and it is amazing! You learn everything you need to know, the horses are great and they have a range of about 50 horses suited to all abilities! I have been to many riding centers and this is by far the best! The instructors are all well qualified and very friendly and nice. They will do there best to help you learn to ride as efficiently as possible! I STRONGLY recommend this facility.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Summerhouseetc's Comment

Written on: 05/03/2012

We are pleased to hear you enjoy our facilities, we have recently upgraded our indoor surfacing and we always have new events going on! please visit our website www.summerhouseec.co.uk

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview