The Fat Duck (Heston Blumenthal), Bray Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.5 / 5
61% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Fat Duck (Heston Blumenthal), Bray - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Fat Duck (Heston Blumenthal), Bray

The Fat Duck (Heston Blumenthal), Bray
The Fat Duck (Heston Blumenthal), Bray
The Fat Duck (Heston Blumenthal), Bray
The Fat Duck (Heston Blumenthal), Bray

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“not sure what the fuss is about”

Written on: 24/02/2015 by clairewhite909 (1 review written)

kind of agree with the last reviewer who mentioned some catering company (the kudos delivered people) who had dishes better than this place, never heard of them but get what she means in that this is all just cook by numbers nothing special kind of a place. the only thing special is that its got a telly chef owning it (not cooking in it you may notice) what I was wondering at each disappointing mouthful was where was all the wit and invention that he prides his TV preparation on? we had the beef course and it was good. but not pay for it good. disappointing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't feel sick on your 'Fat Duck' day!”

Written on: 05/05/2014 by MagiChen (1 review written)

I made a lunch reservation for two in March 2014. On the 'Fat Duck' day, my friend was very sick and she could not make it to the lunch. To honor the reservation, I had lunch alone in Fat Duck. The service and food were ok. However, just now I realized that I was charged twice. I paid 229 pounds in the restaurant, and there was another charge of 175 pounds on the credit card. I emailed the reservations manager about the wrong billing. This person said the charge was due to reduction of party. I am feeling very disappointed, as this is the most expensive meal that I ever have, and I have to pay the double price (total of 404 pounds). During the meal, restaurant staff did not offer any extra food, or offer food to take away. I had one meal only, but paid for two meals. This restaurant owe me a meal now :(

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Great Meal”

Written on: 28/10/2011 by JonathanRowley (4 reviews written)

What a magnificent small business! I was afraid that on the Saturday night it becomes congested and so unpleasant, yet it wasn't when I went, so I had the delight of being in a position to look around personally and talk pleasantly with my visitors. Your wine list was intriguing and the bar people incredibly informed and warm and friendly. I can't wait to get back there and taste more food or conduct a drinks sampling.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A one off experience”

Written on: 25/07/2011 by glenc (319 reviews written)

I took the wife to the Fat Duck for her birthday. I was slightly nervous about what I/we'd think of it as Id read reviews about people absolutely hating the food - and we all know its ridiculously expensive. I was very pleasantly surprised though I must say. Its not really like going to a restaurant for a meal, its more like going to the theatre, or maybe more accurately a street entertainers front room, and there happens to be food too. That's not to say that food isn't the main focus, of course it is. But the food has been so drastically altered from anything you've experienced before it's hard to really think of it as just food. I enjoyed the taste, appearance and theatre of each and every dish from the tasting menu (by the way - they ONLY do the tasting menu now, there's no other options) Some were utterly amazing on your taste buds some were just OK - but the combination of sound, taste, smell and sight of each dish was truly memorable. Its not the sort of place I'd imagine we'd go back to - for me its a one off experience - but it was an experience Id recommend to anyone (with savings to cover it!) Beyond the food, I was most impressed with the staff. They were knowledgeable and extremely friendly. Not the 'up their backside' types you often get in central london They'd clearly all bought into the fact that this was a dining experience and they were part of that experience. Massive thumbs up to them - I just hope they're getting a good cut of the astronomical bill (and the 12.5% service charge - which I can tell you really adds up - I think ours was about £70 for two people - that's a good service bill) If you're incredibly worried about the cost you might not enjoy the experience, but if you go and forget the cost and just sit back and let the Fat Duck do its stuff, you'll have a cracking 4 or so hours of entertainment, amusement and ultimately culinary delight.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“This 'experience' starts the moment you book the table...”

Written on: 20/09/2009 by Prodd (1 review written)

This 'experience' starts the moment you book the table and you take it home with you. It's surreal, exciting and thought provoking; a bit like going to a magic show, though more derren brown than tommy cooper. It invades all your senses and I left feeling more like I had eating the 'wrong' type of mushrooms that a 3 star michele star meal. The sommeliere was faultless with his knowledge and they're are wines to be had at resonable prices - the Italian whites in particular. There were 3 main flaws; time (the meal lasted over 5 hours, and by the elevenmillionth course I'd had enough), ingredients (not enough luxury products, I was hoping for more caviar, truffles etc than everyday products I'd cook at home), variation (after seeing 4 wacky courses they all seemed a bit the same I know it might be asking a lot, but I'd like to have seen more things than just nitro cooking etc...). One more point, whilst the Fat Duck waiters were very apt to asking me and my friends if we'd like more wine etc they seemed to forget my pregnant wife if she'd like more soft drinks. Though I cannot fault the change of menu for her. 7/10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to Prodd's Review

Written on: 15/07/2012

I thought that I was frgaul before taking this class, however it opened my eyes to whole new way of shopping. Almost immediately after taking Mrs Smith's class, I was able to get our grocery essentials for free! Yes, FREE! Before the class, I wouldn't believe someone if they told me this, but I now know it's very possible. I am even stocking up on diapers and wipes for our second daughter who isn't due till December. I don't think I will have to buy even ONE diaper for our new baby. Now that is truly amazing!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Maryjb1001's Response to Prodd's Review

Written on: 20/02/2015

I have been here twice and loved it first time. seriously down hill the second time. not sure why "celebrity chefs" feel the need to go on TV preaching about "how to do it" only to let themselves down seriously when you go there your self. by contrast my firm had a corporate just last week- some firm called Kudos Delivered turned up and laid on a spread that have foods that you wont ever find at a celeb restaurant. why can the so-called-stars go back to basics and leave the posing alone ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“ ”

Written on: 31/08/2009 by D Tollerfield (1 review written)


Fat Duck experience August 2009. Good points, the food delightful and original. The waiting staff, efficient, repetative and robotic as the same "performance" was delivered to every table in the exact same way. The wine waiter knowledgeable but forgetful as a wine order failed to appear. Other points, broken toilet seat in the gents, a dirty ring was left by plate on the table cloth and the bread started off warm but further servings became colder as the meal progressed.
Only small points I know but as the Fat Duck has three stars perhaps it is worth mentioning.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ I loved The Fat Duck, but not sure I would rush back,...”

Written on: 27/04/2009 by kingofreviews (89 reviews written)

I loved The Fat Duck, but not sure I would rush back, so not sure how I should rate it. We had the tasting menu, and tasting wine menu which meant the bill was astronomical, but coming here was always supposed to be a one-off. The food was extraordinary, but i think it's fair to say that some dishes you wouldn't want a lot of, nor would you want to eat everyday. But go with an open mind and in the anticipation of eating like you have never known it before and you won't be disappointed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

I visited The Fat Duck at the weekend.. slightly...

Written on: 14/04/2009 by kirsty88 (88 reviews written)

I visited The Fat Duck at the weekend.. slightly apprehensive after it's recent closure i have to say, but all fears were quickly laid to rest. The venue itself is a blink and you'll miss it cottage type building on Bray High Street. From the outside it looks closed, inside however is lovely, calm, and smells fantastic!

We went for the tasting menu (you have to) yes it's hugely expensive (so much so that it's best not to think about it) but it's the experience you are there for.

So followed about ten courses of genius, I agree with previous reviewers that Heston Blumenthal is the only chef i have ever seen to indulge as many senses as possible. Favourites being sounds of the sea ( a course consisting of sashimi and edible sand that you eat while listening to an ipod of beach noises), snail porridge (much much nicer than it sounds) and the famous bacon and egg ice cream. There were stunning palate cleansers and amouse bouches - the oak moss course in particular.

The staff are wonderful, knowledgable and can't do enough for you. The wine list is practically a book. The somaliers are all very helpful when guiding you through it and happy to make recommendations. The wines aren't cheap either (nothing in this restaurant is) but there are a good selection of reasonably priced ones, and indeed you get what you pay for. All the wine we tried was very nice. We decided not to go with the paired flights for the meal as we wanted to choose our own - but the people in the restaurant that had gone with this option seemed to enjoy the chosen wines.

In conclusion, yes, it's shockingly expensive, but you know that before you go. It is a wonderful meal completely different to any other dining experience. Heston Blumenthal focuses not only on taste but also on whichever other senses he can and the presentation is second to none, the attention to detail is part of what makes it so special. It's not a place to visit frequently but if you want wow factor The Fat Duck has it in spades.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We accept human creativity and ingenuity, the pushing...”

Written on: 12/04/2009 by vkempe (1 review written)

We accept human creativity and ingenuity, the pushing of boundaries, in the auditory and visual domain when enjoying music and visual arts. Heston Blumenthal is doing the same with respect to our much neglected senses of taste and smell. To me, he is a cultural innovator who shows us the richness of what our noses and palates are able to perceive and enjoy. The Fat Duck was a truly memorable and educational experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Food was interesting at The Fat Duck and sometimes...”

Written on: 22/01/2009

Food was interesting at The Fat Duck and sometimes exciting. Dining room and decor at the The Fat Duck was rather ordinary and a little crowded. First three choices of wine not in stock. Eventually drank their recommendation which was ordinary. Service of the British mock-servility style rather than the professional continental style. Everything should be tried once except morris dancing, otherwise prefer other, better, places with fewer stars.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i think that the resturant is one of the most...”

Written on: 13/01/2009

i think that the resturant is one of the most delicious places i have ever eaten. The food, the service and the even the people!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I feel that anybody who rates the Fat Duck anything...”

Written on: 29/11/2008

I feel that anybody who rates the Fat Duck anything less than a 10 has clearly not eaten there (or has no taste buds). I visited 12 months ago with my girlfriend and despite spending nearly £550 it was worth every penny.

The most amazing experience I can remember! Calm and comfortable, plenty of space, excellent waiting staff who are extremely courteous whist not being overbearing (most of whom had an excellent sense of humour). The food is out of this world and it is really more of an adventure than a meal.

His gastropub across the road (The Hinds Head) is also excellent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The waiting staff and attention to detail at The Fat...”

Written on: 10/11/2008 by ijefferies (1 review written)

The waiting staff and attention to detail at The Fat Duck were amazing.
The food apart from being top draw was fun and imaginative.
I will certainly be returning.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“I found the majority of the food was verging on...”

Written on: 15/08/2008

I found the majority of the food was verging on inedible for me - a lot of gelatinous courses. Bizarrely, the snail porridge was the highlight for me. Can imagine all the food critics saying how wonderful it is because they don't want to appear ignorant (which I clearly am!)

If you like modern art, you'll probably like the tasting menu at the fat duck. Suspect you either love it or hate it. I'm clearly a luddite, but I thought it was a ridiculous price to pay for a moderate chemistry lesson.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Just amazing. The night we went, Heston was in the...”

Written on: 19/06/2008 by swisst123 (1 review written)

Just amazing. The night we went, Heston was in the kitchen and he is a genius. Such un expected flavours and combinations, which will challenge the way you look and eat food. This is avant garde culinary theatre! Truly amazing flavours and wonderful service and presentation. And even though at first glance the menu is expensive, you actually get more than you are expecting with little 'amuse bouche' dishes thrown in to keep things interesting. Every mouthful is to be savoured. This is an evening you will talk about for months, even years to come.
Dinner at the Fat Duck is an event, not a meal out.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ground breaking I didn t eat but toured the lab and...”

Written on: 11/04/2008 by d pritchard (3 reviews written)

ground breaking I didn t eat but toured the lab and tried the petit fores which were out of this world. not everything will hit the mark for everybody but the flavour.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Average price per head is '£250”

Written on: 13/02/2008

Average price per head is '£250

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sazon's Comment

Written on: 04/02/2009

I found this review unhelpful because... There is very little about the actual restaurant and nothing that demonstrate the reviewer has actually been to the restaurant.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
Read 1 Comment
☆☆☆☆☆

“I would love to be able to write a review, but have...”

Written on: 24/01/2008

I would love to be able to write a review, but have spent 3 weeks trying to get through to them on the phone because of their policies only take reservations between 10-1 and 2-5 - always engaged and you can only book 2 months in advance! Have yet to book a table as when you do get through they have nothing available! Its great that they are always busy and that Heston's business is flying, but not great for the public who would love to appreciate his food and are not able to!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sazon's Comment

Written on: 04/02/2009

I found this review unhelpful because... How can you review something of which you have no experience? How does the ability to obtain a booking effect the quality of the food?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview