Volkswagen Corrado VR6 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.8 / 5
97% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Volkswagen Corrado VR6 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Volkswagen Corrado VR6

Volkswagen Corrado VR6
Volkswagen Corrado VR6
Volkswagen Corrado VR6
Volkswagen Corrado VR6
Volkswagen Corrado VR6

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Volkswagen Corrado VR6 - Looking dated but still the...”

Written on: 18/01/2005 by Skee (2 reviews written)

Volkswagen Corrado VR6 - Looking dated but still the daddy of the V6 pack, where did Audi, Alfa et al get inspired for there 3.2 v6's? the Corrado!! Sounds great, goes well, admittedly is a tad heavy on fuel unless you drive it softly, but you can't!! LUUURVE the sound of the engine, and if you buy a car like this you dont care about the fuel, you wont be a lentil eating sandal wearer who thinks of environmental issues anyway, just buy one, you'l' love it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ive had my Volkswagen Corrado VR6 for 2 years now, ive...”

Written on: 08/04/2004 by CorradoVR6T (1 review written)

Ive had my Volkswagen Corrado VR6 for 2 years now, ive always been a lover of this great looking car since the day I saw a sweet VR6 storm punch it up my road, I turned round and thought ive never heard anything sound so sweet and I had to get one.
I had a Renualt 19 16v with Hill power stage before, and I thought that was pokey, but it seems pretty slow now, the Corrado is something else the power delivery is so smooth all the way through.
0-60 6.2 secs (Evo magazine)
190bhp 180lb/ft

With a few mods and forced induction this car car be made into a formiddable road car.
The VR6 engine is pretty bulletproof, bill schimmels FWD VR6 turbo jetta runs 640+ whp and mid 9's in the 1/4 mile.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sharpshooter0220's Response to CorradoVR6T's Review

Written on: 27/05/2007

Have you seen the Dahlback racing Golf?
<br/>
<br/>Its a Audi RS5 engine tweaked to 1000BHP
<br/>
<br/>But thats a bit extreme I find you review very helpful
<br/>
<br/>I have always loved Volkswagens and my mind may of shifted from a MK1 to a Corrado VR6 now

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“In 1995 I debated whether to get a Corrado for too...”

Written on: 22/07/2010

In 1995 I debated whether to get a Corrado for too long. All Storms sold out very quickly but I managed to buy a new 'standard' VR6 in March 1996. Never regretted it - but it hasn't been cheap to maintain now that car has covered 140,000 miles. Engine still pulls really well - Mobil 1 oil always used from new. A great all-round drive despite front-end being a bit heavy. Kept car standard as this will be desirable IF one day it gets sold. That will be a sad day indeed. Well worth sticking to Shell V-power fuel and also VW 101 000 035AH spark plugs which are now down to half previous price. Long-term problem is ABS pump which is currently £1,920 incl. VAT from VAG. Don't let this put you off though. Take time to find a good 'un.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have owned the corrado vr6 from day one and it now...”

Written on: 28/11/2009

I have owned the corrado vr6 from day one and it now has 260 000km on it still pulls hard reliabilty is outstanding and feels like it has less km.Only 100 000 were built a true sports car.Corrados slc vr6 were the best ones to own.Peformance, sound,looks are hard to beat you need to spend alot today to get this kind of car performance.The corrado vr6 is the best sports car volkswagen ever made.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fast, sporty, a dream drive. Certainly not for the...”

Written on: 21/11/2008 by pepperuk (1 review written)

Fast, sporty, a dream drive. Certainly not for the faint hearted. Reliable and ever driveable.
I have had my wee beastie for a couple of months now and love her to bits...
So much fun and a fantastic drive, hate driving other cars as I miss the power and fun of my Corrado.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Corrado is definitely a classic car to own, to buy...”

Written on: 18/11/2008

The Corrado is definitely a classic car to own, to buy a decent one that has not been thrashed or seriously messed around with is somewhat hard to do.
If you own a decent one and can afford to keep it then I think within in time they will be come a major classic.
They say that the Corrado are few and far between, I find this hard to believe, okay so they are not roaming around in droves but hey, on no less then four occasions in one day I had flashing lights and waves from other Corrado drivers...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Get one before its too l8, lifestyle choice,makes you...”

Written on: 01/10/2008 by billzeebub (1 review written)

Get one before its too l8, lifestyle choice,makes you feel warm inside when stuck in traffic with all those boring modern overpriced motors

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A great car - as Richard Hammond put it on Top Gear,...”

Written on: 18/12/2007

A great car - as Richard Hammond put it on Top Gear, where he was lauding the Corrado as a modern classic, "the best front-wheel drive car ever made".

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“The Volkswagen Corrado is a low down sporty car with...”

Written on: 01/02/2006 by EXCITE (3 reviews written)

The Volkswagen Corrado is a low down sporty car with great looks and nice bucket style seats with pretty good handling. Mine was a 1.8 16v and had seen a hard life. It had over-heating problem, head gasket problem, brake problems you name it I had the problem. I'm not saying they are all like mine was but be careful who has been driving it before.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Scotty216's Response to EXCITE's Review

Written on: 04/08/2006

you should have got a vr6 mate they are fantastic mines done 152,000 and still goes like a dream.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I bought my black pearlescent Volkswagen Corrado VR6,...”

Written on: 28/07/2005 by corradovr6man (1 review written)

I bought my black pearlescent Volkswagen Corrado VR6, new in March 1996 (N-reg). I intended to keep it for 5 years, but I still own it! That's how good the VR6 has been!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“This is my second Volkswagen Corrado VR6. I started...”

Written on: 09/07/2005 by ejs2nd (1 review written)

This is my second Volkswagen Corrado VR6. I started off with an 85 Scirocco. Absolutely loved the car. Drove it till I blew a rod. My mechanic had a 1990 Corrado G60 for sale. Test drove it and thought "Wow! this car feels even better than the Scirocco. "Took care of that car and was planning to keep it for a while. I had just replaced the heater-core ($1,700.00) when my mechanic called and told me he had a near mint 1993 VR 6 with 122,000 mi. on it.

Again, I test drove the 1993, and fell in love with the car again. I sold my 1990 and bought the VR 6. This one I'm keeping for as long as I can unless I find an even later model VR 6 in Silver. This car handles like a dream. The engine's so smooth, you can barely tell it's running at a stop-light.

When I bought the car, it had some minor stuff wrong with it (alarm wire broke and ICU moter needed cleaning). I just fixed it, and the car runs like new. It's the perfect car!

I'm not a materialistic person, but I feel like my Corrado's a part of my family. Yes, the car needs to be maintained. It's 12 yrs. old! Yes, parts can be expensive, but my service expenses are reasonable ($700-1800/yr.,depending on what needs to replaced) All of this is inconsequential when I feel how well this car drives when I spend the money to take care of it. It's worth every penny, and it's certainly cheaper than buying a new car.

I feel in total control behind the wheel. Every time I drive the car, it's a fun, satisfying experience. Fahr Vergnuegen!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This Volkswagen Corrado VR6 is my fisrt car. I was...”

Written on: 08/05/2005 by screw bird (1 review written)

This Volkswagen Corrado VR6 is my fisrt car. I was actually regretting getting the Corrado I got because of the previouse owners horrible relationship with the car. Duct tape, and electrical tape are all over, and connections are loose, and not pluged. However, when I drive it all the problems are so far away that I am more than thrilled I bought this car. She's more to me than that. She is my sancutary and my confidant. I love the way she sounds, and handles. I love it when all the other boys in their Honda Civics, and Mitsubishi Eclipses drop their jaws when "Jane" rolls up. No way will I ever not own at least one Corrado. I get a really cocky felling knowing that I can dust virtually all the other cars on the road. If any one is looking into buying a Corrado, go for it with Gung-Ho.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Just bought a Volkswagen Corrado VR6 and drove my...”

Written on: 12/09/2004 by samm (4 reviews written)

Just bought a Volkswagen Corrado VR6 and drove my first 50 miles which has definitley confirmed that I am happy with the car. I have wanted this car since I was a teenager because of it's looks alone and was not disappointed with the performance. This car is deceptive in that it is faster than it feels which is a sure good sign.
Having owned a lightly modified 205 1.9 for 3 years I'm sure the handling is better (as well as the performance but I suppose that is obvious) I have also driven most of the hot hatches- golf mk2 16v, uk mr2, crx, r5gtt and of course it trounces them but then is a step up all round. It turns in sharp, precisley and smoothley and has an incredibly smooth and fantastic engine.
The car is particularly good in 2nd and above gears. I put it in 5th gear at 50 and it takes you up to 100mph effortlessley.
I immediatley recognised the appreciation other drivers give you. I was still trying to locate the headlights when the sunlight was fading and turned on the fogs for a second when I was in the fast lane doing about 70, there was a car far away- about 250 yards or so and he pulled over to the middle lane despite this, thinking that I wanted him to get out of the way!
The car has covered 133k which is about average for the year but it still feels so tight and new, far better than when I bought my 205 which was mint and only had 69k!
The woman I bought it off who had it for 4 years was almost in tears when I left as she had to get a company car and I thought calm down love it is only a car but now I understand why she was so sad to see it go.
I very nearly bought a late spec Nissan 200 touring which in a way makes better sense to buy as it has a better spec and is newer with less miles. Maybe I was thinking with my heart, not my head but I know sitting in the Corrado is a better place to be all round. Add to that the fact that it will hold it's value brilliantly it is also a good decision.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Matt Teall's Response to samm's Review

Written on: 13/11/2004

Very useful info, cheers.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“The Volkswagen Corrado VR6 is an amazing sports car! ...”

Written on: 29/07/2004 by G60 Dude (1 review written)

The Volkswagen Corrado VR6 is an amazing sports car! It's my first car, and I've only had it for 4 months, but so far I'm so excited about it. I can't wait to modify it (she's mostly stock) I've had to replace the heater core :( and the CV boots. Other than that though, I am impressed! Why doesn't VW make another one like it??? I love the speed-activated spoiler and the looks I'm going to get (I haven't driven it all that much). The quality of it is excellent and way ahead of its time. My recommendation: Get a low mileage G60 or VR6 that has all records and is maintained by a meticulous person.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I purchased my Volkswagen Corrado VR6 storm november...”

Written on: 21/07/2004 by mandyn6vrs (1 review written)

I purchased my Volkswagen Corrado VR6 storm november 2003,
The moment I drove it before I exchanged the money, I was in love.
I love to drive it but I dont want the miles to go up!
It has just done 100k!!!!
i have had to change the radiator and passenger window and window motor. These are the only things that have had to do (and tyres).
I would recommend a corrado vr6 to anybody!!!!!
Classic, cool, collectable!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought my first Volkswagen Corrado VR6 Sports Car in...”

Written on: 11/07/2004 by adamfarrow (1 review written)

I bought my first Volkswagen Corrado VR6 Sports Car in 2001 and it has been the best car I have ever owned due to the comfort levels and performance. It brings a smile to my face every time I see it. It's also one of those cars you can't help but look back at once you've parked it up. It's suprisingly economical and I average around 30mpg. I had to move to the USA last year due to my job changing and I hunted around for about a month looking at other cars eventually deciding on a Toyota Celica GT. However, I backed out at the last minute as I was not happy that it wasn't anywhere near as good as the Corrado I had left at home. A couple of weeks later I was fortunate to find another Corrado (250 miles away)! Same year ('93) but different colour. I bought it in May 2003 and have never regretted buying it instead of the Toyota. It has been fantastic. I have to leave USA in October and I was intending to export it back home........my wife had other thoughts (more logical). She doesn't think I need two ! In the cold light of day I must agree with her, but when I look at her (the car) I just don't want to part with her ! On both of my cars the ignition switch has had to be changed and also the sunroof has been problematical (same fault). Tilts but won't go down again on one side. These are both small niggles and don't deter from the fun of the vehicle overall.

In summary anyone who wants to own a classic european sports coupe and enjoy it without being hassled by reliability and unusability. Remember the Corrado can take 4 (2 in comfort - 2 in relative comfort) and a decent amount of luggage. Find one now and hang on to it....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bradfordman's Response to adamfarrow's Review

Written on: 15/09/2004

Interested in Adams comments as I'm currently beginning a search for a decent VR6 [or SRC as they are called in the US]
<br>I live in Texas 6 months of the year and will be returning there from England shortly.
<br>I looked at several VR6's when I was last there and found that they really were pretty sad - either thrashed or poorly maintained [or both]
<br>If Adam should read this he may like to contact me, I may be interested in his one - I understand his [and his wife's] feelings!
<br>He can contact me at [email protected]
<br>Graham

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Though speed isn't everything, there aren't many cars...”

Written on: 27/05/2004 by adona (1 review written)

Though speed isn't everything, there aren't many cars that will out perform the Volkswagen Corrado VR6.

I feel the Corrado VR6 is already a classic!

It's lines and shape, give it an awesome presence on the road, and if left unattended attracts an enormous amount of attention. If often have to educate the unknowing that the Corrado is not a reshaped Golf, and Karmman and not VW built it"

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought my VW Corrado VR6 in December 2003 just after...”

Written on: 28/03/2004 by Jez R (1 review written)

I bought my VW Corrado VR6 in December 2003 just after Top Gear featured it. I had been on the hunt for one for about 4 months previous to this and was panicking about the prices going through the roof! Full VAG service history, 41K on the clock and one previous owner. The R.A.C. did a full check and found.... a split in the rear wiper blade! The deal was done and another VW added to the stable. Poor old Scirocco.
It was a pig to get insured as no paperwork was supplied for the immobiliser. Be prepared to fish around for a good deal. About a month ago there was a small leak from a couple of seals in the coolant system which have now been fixed. Only just put some more oil in at 45K. Using Shell Optimax and getting 30 - 33 mph depending on how I drive. Just about to fit a Pilot Green to see how that goes.
Overall, this is the second best car I've driven, but the best I've owned. The smiles per mile are off the scale.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I own a 60k mile 94 VW Corrado VR6 with a/con and...”

Written on: 16/02/2004 by petsar68 (1 review written)

I own a 60k mile 94 VW Corrado VR6 with a/con and leather.I,ve had a Golf VR6 and a Clio Williams but this far out performs both. A few snags with the smell of petrol coming into the cabin and a fuel leak all over my drive. Fairly practical for myself, wife and two kids considering its a coupe.Interior build quality not up to MK2 Golf standard and the zip went on the arm rest. Door handles are weak and cracked fogs a regular occurance.
I am now on the look out for a Storm but it has to be in Green.
If you fancy a Corrado VR6 get one you wont regret it as long as its got full VWSH.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Samm's Response to petsar68's Review

Written on: 19/04/2004

I am considering buying a Corrado VR6 and have seen the 'atorm' version- do you know what the difference is??

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bridggar's Response to petsar68's Review

Written on: 18/06/2004

Intereesting that you mention the petrol smell. I have a golf VR6 which smells of petrol on a cold start, presumably the choke causes it to run too rich. How did you get your problem resolved???

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“I just bought a 92 vr6 corrado, I live in the usa and...”

Written on: 31/12/2003 by jason1482 (1 review written)

I just bought a 92 vr6 corrado, I live in the usa and and it is by far the best car I have ever owned. Its a SLC with 100,000 miles and still running very strong. When I bought the car I was told it had some performance parts but little to my surprise it was a beast. ill start with quaiffe differential, garret chip, nuspeed strut bars, nuspeed intake, 260 cams, tech tonichs cat back exaust, nuspeed springs, bilstein struts,momo steering wheel, momo knob, momo pedels, short throw kit, bbs rims, and I think thats it. all for 6,500 U.S> dollars I think thats a deal... I just ordered 268 cams, and a stage2 supercharger with a front mount

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview