Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
17% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“A fantastic meal and wonderful service, not cheap but...”

written by on 11/02/2011

A fantastic meal and wonderful service, not cheap but you get what you pay for.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My wife booked Sat Bains as a surprise birthday dinner...”

written by peterthegas on 09/11/2010

My wife booked Sat Bains as a surprise birthday dinner for me. On trying to book, she was told that they could not accept a booking for two, but could take one for four. She reluctantly agreed and two friends were rounded up to join us. There were only a few tables occupied that evening, so I could see no possible reason (apart from avarice) for the restriction on our booking. The food is good, but very expensive. The wine is even pricier, but what most struck me was the rather offhand welcome and patronising service. I do not need every ingredient of each dish explained to me by the waiter; I can always ask if uncertain.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Be very careful when you book into this restaurant,...”

written by on 31/10/2010

Be very careful when you book into this restaurant, read the small print on the cancellation policy as there is a £360 fee.

On the day we were due to go to Sat Bains my five year old son fell over and split his head open. He required stitches and the doctors advised close observation for 24 hours. I naturally called Sat Bains that afternoon and requested that my table reservation was moved to another day. They informed us that there would be a £360 cancellation fee. Despite explaining the situation they were very unsympathetic and inflexible. Unbelievably when they managed to rebook half our table allocation they still wanted to charge us the full cancellation fee. We would have hoped that a restaurant that prides itself on it's level of personal service would be more understanding of the situation. You never know when you might have to cancel last minute due to unforeseen circumstances.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“not too bad”

written by owen56 on 28/10/2009

not too bad

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The location of the restaurant sat bains is not...”

written by on 23/07/2009

The location of the restaurant sat bains is not particularly inspiring; near an industrial estate, a motorway flyover and directly beneath two huge electricity pylons. All that was missing was the stereo-typical burnt-out car on the roadside.

We arrived to what looked like a 1970's bungalow with a few extensions and a gravel drive (no cladding though). The black VW Golf parked up outside
We parked up and entered. Mmm. Knowone around. When someone eventually appeared , we were made to feel that we were an inconvenience. we were told to sign in. We were told to be at our table for 7:30pm (our original booking). We were led to our room, just about 10 yards along the corridor. The Charles 2. Pleasant room, mock English tudor/period French. The TV didn't work well. The stand-alone bath had huge cobwebs at its base and the shower curtain was cheap and badly planned. The bed was very uncomfortable; two average mattresses on top of each other to create a traditional high four-poster effect. It didn't work. After spending circa £550 for an overnight stay (£175 for the room) I'm sure they could invest in some quality furnishings.

We asked whether it was possible to delay our sitting slightly (just around 20minutes as we had a long drive and wanted to relax a little). Her answer? A straight no! When asked why she simply said that "you must be joking" that was followed by a profanity. Charming.

Even though we were now on a strict deadline, we found a little time to walk out into the tiny courtyard. It is plain to see experience at Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons) that they have attempted to duplicate this style; and failed.

We made our way to the bar (at 7:25pm). We sat and ordered some drinks. The restaurant manager appeared to make a point of checking her watch and informed us that our table was booked at 7:30pm. Warm service! I don't think so.

We chose the ten course tasting menu with suggested wines. When we asked the sommelier to explain a few of the courses versus wine choices we were simply given the impression that that we were being naive to even think that we could question their choices.

There were frustrated looks when we made our table selection rather than the one we were led to (one that we were, told to sit at).

The food. The food was generally good; the "9 hour tomato, 6 herbs, 1 Manni olive oil" was very good, a perfect blend; although the pork belly was 90% fat and the cheese course was very poor. Three of the wines were badly chosen in our opinion (and I can speak with authority as a qualified member of wset). My opinions; an attempt to spark up a little conversation and aloow the uptight staff to chill a little; were dismissed by the restaurant manager.

The customer experience was poor.

The following morning improved, far more relaxed; but perhaps that was due to the fact that they only had four out of five covers for breakfast!!

Then came check out. Over-priced. £540 much better spent elsewhere. £15 charged for ice! thats a first; we have never experience that!! (we had a bottle of champagne in our room). We put it down to experience.

The coverted Michelin star is awarded for exceptional service and food. They will struggle if they continue in this vein. look at the other reviews!! Poor service and cold welcomes are mentioned on many occasions. One to avoid. We will.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Beware if you are the person booking this restaurant....”

written by PJamieson on 24/06/2008

Beware if you are the person booking this restaurant. It cost me and my husband £430, because our 2 friends could not make the meal, because of illness.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview