Sweeney Todd Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
73% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sweeney Todd - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sweeney Todd

Sweeney Todd
Sweeney Todd
Sweeney Todd
Sweeney Todd

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“musical”

written by Den-6 on 27/10/2021

Its one of my favorite musical movies. Mostly i don't like musical but its pretty nice.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Horror Movie”

written by ShawnHector on 19/04/2019

The movie is not for everyone. The movie was surprisingly good and also horror movie

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Horror ”

written by Callum64 on 17/01/2016

Sweeney Todd great horror film.That night i can't sleep i was so worried.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“ruined what could of been a amazing horror there...”

written by tommyboy97 on 08/11/2011

ruined what could of been a amazing horror there wasent a single scary scene , why ? a musical just ruined the movie all together the singing isent bad but as for the songs, well there very poor i was very much looking forward to watching it little did i know it was a musical , tim burton you should stick to making animation.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Is this a horror? ”

written by emmamalakian on 29/04/2010

Is this a horror?

Anyway,
-Plot-
Depp (sweeney) comes back to find his wife and child only to find his wife is dead and his child is living with the man who got him taken away (judge).
Sweeney takes revenge on the judge aiming to slit his throat when the judge comes for a haircut/shave. Many things keep sweeney and the judge apart and the judge doesnt know sweeney is back.

Sweeney kills many people while his friend MRS lovett puts the dead people in meat pies.

I wont give anything more away.

-Good points-
Great music.
Great actors.
Great plot.
Great director.

Worth a watch.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great film, great music and wonderfully done. ”

written by emmamalakian on 14/09/2009

Great film, great music and wonderfully done.
The gray streets of london really capture the story and the ending will leave you feeling rather empty as its not the ending everyone wishes for.

Johnny Depp does a great job of capturing Sweeney Todd's mental state and physical image.

Great film from a great director and with a wonderful cast.

Really is a must watch!
A film you can watch again and again and will find yourself singing along to.

One of my fave films.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Benjamin Barker was falsely sent to prison in...”

written by The quality of mercy is not strained on 09/06/2008

Benjamin Barker was falsely sent to prison in Australia. Fifteen years later, he escapes and returns to London after donning a new name: Sweeney Todd. He goes to Mrs. Lovett's house, where he once lived as her tenant, expecting to find his wife, Lucy, and child still living there. To his disappointment, Mrs. Lovett tells him that Lucy poisoned herself and his daughter is under the care of Judge Turpin. However, Mrs. Lovett kept his razors hidden for him all those years. With the razors, he intends to kill Judge Turpin for falsely sending him to prison and causing the suicide attempt of his wife. Until then, he intends to practice on "less worthy throats..."

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Sweeney Todd its beautiful and addictive ive watched...”

written by on 25/04/2008

Sweeney Todd its beautiful and addictive ive watched this dvd over 5 times already! This movie is the best i've ever watched johnny depp is enticing and you can feel the emotions of the character he portrays

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Tim Burton could have made a classic with Sweeney Todd...”

written by martyn king on 05/03/2008

Tim Burton could have made a classic with Sweeney Todd but all the writing feels rushed and second rate.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Angeleyez377's Response to martyn king's Review

Written on: 02/04/2008

I disagree with this review because...you managed to extract good points from the film..therefore surely this does not deserve 0/10.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“This was a real twisted take on a horror film, based...”

written by emza2511 on 21/02/2008

This was a real twisted take on a horror film, based on a true story it follows the tale of Sweeney Todd after being banished to Australia he returns to London to seek his vengeance with the help of Mrs Lovett who owns the pie shop ,he seeks his revenge on London by killing patrons to the barber shop and Mrs Lovett bakes them nicely in a pie.

This is a rather graphic film which is made lighter by the musical aspect of it, if your a johnny Depp fan its a must see as you get to sample his musical talent and also it plays hosts to cast of familiar faces, great film,!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“It was pretty bad. There isn't much plot to killing...”

written by on 18/02/2008

It was pretty bad. There isn't much plot to killing people in a chair but it managed to make it fairly meaningless. The music is dreadful and the blood bath sickening.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Looks great a real goth-Burton feel to the movie great...”

written by Andy Cook on 05/02/2008

Looks great a real goth-Burton feel to the movie great characters from Borat, Barry and Haas, even the old pirate fella is in good voice. P.S. If you don`t like blood look away now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Quality Of Mercy Is Not Strained's Response to Andy Cook's Review

Written on: 01/06/2008

Is cleavage all you care about? Just so you know, there is more to movies than just how much cleavage an actress shows off to the audience.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Put it this way... When the film started I was not...”

written by on 05/02/2008

Put it this way... When the film started I was not looking forward to watching it, mainly because of the singing. But even though i do not think musical and horror mix, I thought Sweeney Todd was sooo good and quite scary too. Its also a bit of a romantic, I nearly cried at one point. Definately recommend people to watch this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ I have never been blown away as much as i was with...”

written by angeleyez377 on 30/01/2008

I have never been blown away as much as i was with this film. I had the preconceptions of it being good but never imagined how brilliant it would truely be.
The eerie atmosphere is initially set up from the dark scenery that surrounds Sweeny Todd's entrance into London. Burton's ability to encapsulate the character's personality through the creation of appearance is truly amazing.
The songs are fantastic and really capture the mood and emotions of the characters as well as bringing a more light-hearted tone to the film. I never realised how fantastic Johnny Depps voice is, and his performance in this film really has allowed me to appreciate him more as an actor as his talents are truly phenominal. I cannot think of anyone more perfect for the role of mrs Lovett than Helena Bonham Carter. Her performance is Oscar worthy, and the sexual desires felt towards Mr Todd were subtle yet very distinctive.
Although it pains me to say being as big a fan of Alan Rickman as i am, i have to say that his character of the judge was very simliar to that of Professor Snape in Harry Potter. Aside from this minor thought, his performance is still as good as you'd expect.
Overall i was thoroughly impressed by Burton's creation, i would definitely recommend it to anyone. Although the thought of the gore may be off-putting for some, the way Burton has done it allows these death scenes to produce the element of comedy. If my mum who hates gore and horror films of any kind can come out of the cinema in amazement at the films brilliance, then it leaves much hope to impress anyone else. A true masterpiece.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I was really disappointed when i went to the cinema's...”

written by on 27/01/2008

I was really disappointed when i went to the cinema's with my dad and step mum. I love horror films but i wouldnt class this as a horror. It was more like a musical. I hate musicals. Especially horror mixed with musical. It doesnt go together at all. The main problem i have is that the film wasnt advertised as a musical. The posters and adverts cut out the singing. So it was very misleading. I wouldnt recommend this film to anyone.
Dont waste your money!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Quality Of Mercy Is Not Strained's Comment

Written on: 22/06/2008

Dear Guest.: I'm sorry that you think the film was falsely advertised. However, you didn't look at all of the advertising. During one of the commercial breaks of a movie I was watching on television in December, I saw an advertisement for this movie that made it clear that it was a musical and, therefore, made me want to see it because I am a musical freak. Plus I got a whole bunch of pop-up ads while surfing the 'net that had some singing in them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview