Monaghan, Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Monaghan, Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
★★☆☆☆
1.7
20.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Monaghan, Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Monaghan, Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Not worth the money. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Lisadee27 on 02/09/2023

Wouldn't even consider going back. This hotel is dirty and dated. There were dead flies in various places. Spa changing rooms where filthy. Found a hair in my breakfast the only offer by way of compensation was am up grade on my next visit. I won't be back again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst hotel stay ever!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 29/07/2016

We booked a short break to relax for 3 days. We asked for a room suitable for someone with a disability & a view at time of booking. We arrived & the receptionist said they upgraded us to the better room 804. So we went up the ramp and to the lift the room was on the fourth floor. A couple said to us they had arrived the day before and the lift was not working They had to carry a pram, bags and children to the forth floor. So the room was very nice and had a nice view. So as we went down for dinner the lift was not working so a member of staff had to come up to top floor and reset the lift. So this happened every time we wanted to go up or down the lift. So we requested another room & they explained we could change the next-day. They give us a choice but could not see inside these two rooms as they were in use. We said room 201 as it used another lift that was 23 years old but working. That's when it went from bad to a nightmare. This room had a view of slates and large extractor fans which constantly buzzed. The room was so hot we had to open the window but this made the buzzing from the kitchen extractor fans unbearable and the smell of cooking food come into our room.Staff were friendly and very apologetic but this did not resolve the problems. Sadly a break required for personal reasons became a disaster. We ended up going to the near by Four seasons Hotel for evening dinner and to sit and relax. Please Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa understand money for breaks is hard earned i don't want excuses for Lifts and Buzzing noise from kitchen extractor fans just fix them. Sorry i have had to write a review on these problem's but a four star hotel should be above this standard. They seem to only offer words for the poor stays people have had no trying to help resolve the problem's with customers. Ah well back to the Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel & Spa were service & rooms are outstanding.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“went to the spa in the hillgrove today - we were late...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 27/03/2010

went to the spa in the hillgrove today - we were late (15mins due to roadworks on the way) the girls at spa looked at us as if we'd committed a sin! we explained why we were unavoidably late and they just said that time would be taken out of our treatments. so we ended up with 2 treatments but told we had to pay for the 3 we had originally booked!! by this stage we had our treatments -which were rushed so we were not relaxed and we just paid to get out of there never to return -would definatly not advise this spa to anyone

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Myself and sister spent 3 nights at The Hillgrove in...”

★★★★★

written by AnnieM on 27/12/2007

Myself and sister spent 3 nights at The Hillgrove in October 2007 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The price was excellent as was the food and service. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Rooms lovely and we found the hotel and services top class. Hope to be back in 2008. Spa and leisure facilities plus staff also first class.
Congratulations to all - thoroughly enjoyable time spent at The Hillgrove Hotel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“As it was a special occasion we had booked a suite...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by matilda2 on 27/07/2007

As it was a special occasion we had booked a suite with jacuzzi, four poster bed etc. and were really looking forward to the weekend break at the Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa. I rang the hotel on the Friday morning to confirm arrangements and it was confirmed we were in a suite. However when we arrived to check in that night we were informed that they had double booked the rooms and we were going to be staying in a normal room. I said I had checked earlier and was told everything was OK. They said they had no details for me, now bear in mind they had received my credit card details, payment in full and completion of a booking form so this was nonsense. At this stage it was late evening and it was too late for us to go elsewhere and they knew that. The next morning they left bathrobes, slippers and two small bottles of water thinking that would pacify us, this was no good. They gave us discount off the room, but still maintained it was not their fault. The food was not great in the hotel so we didn't spend much time in it to be honest. All in all it ruined the birthday treat and I would not return to this hotel. Found staff incompetent and not helpful or remorseful in any way. I had written to the hotel and emailed them, but still have not even received an acknowledgment never mind an apology!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview