AVForums Reviews - www.avforums.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
22% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease Of Navigation

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AVForums www.avforums.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for AVForums www.avforums.com

AVForums www.avforums.com
AVForums www.avforums.com
AVForums www.avforums.com
AVForums www.avforums.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Scalpers and ads encouraged over community”

written by Reddeviluk on 03/02/2021

I have been a user of these forums for over a decade and have bought and sold literally thousands of pounds worth of items hight and sold 410 positive feedback, 0 negative. In fact I was a moderator there briefly many years ago. I've just had a run in with a moderator "Apsilon" who approached me as is posted a comment about sometime with 0 feedback selling a Playstation 5 for hundreds of pounds over the RRP, this has started to happen on a daily basis recently. My "Disparaging remarks" (by simply stating it wasn't a fair price) has just been rewarded by me receiving a trading ban. Sadly, I'm afraid to say, standards have slipped, what was once a friendly place for like-minded people to help each other out, trade fairly and look after each other has now become more cut throat than eBay, sadly, just less honest about it. As you'll see from other reviews here, the moderators moderate in the same way that an SS Solder does, to quote "Apsilon" "So deal with it, bite your tongue and move on" followed by "if you don't like it, move on, because as I said, if you continue, you will be banned" So loyal users are put to one side in preference to one hit wonder scalpers, but as "Apsilon" says "I’m simply following the directive set out by the owner and a moral compass doesn’t come into it." Disappointing response, disappointing forums run by disappointing people.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“15 years at AVS as paying member”

written by Jeffersont205 on 25/06/2020

I was a member of AVS forums for 15 years. I tried to have simple civil discourse on topics but what you find is that vendors with financial interests dominate the forums and they will relentlessly attack you if you post anything negative about their product. Recently I suffered racist attacks and simple post about comparing 2 technologies. how does a talk about projectors get responded to by attacking someone with actual links to videos that you are a dumb chimp? I was greeted with posts linking to youtube videos about dumb chimps and multiple racists posts about how dumb chimps are which in the environment right now is strait up racist. The mods clearly favor their vendors and keep this environment. Its pretty terrible. This is not a site for real talk about av. If they dont have financial interest, they are fan-boys and will group attack you. Avoid this place, find a better source of info.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Average resource.”

written by Snowqd417 on 08/04/2020

AV forums has some very knowledgeable individuals who can be a useful resource. Unfortunately the experience is often marred by a small handful of their moderators. The ads very much undermine the experience as well. Avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“SKIM IT”

written by NathenLeach173 on 22/10/2016

Fairly good resource for Av equipment. Though very unwelcoming forums, appears to be playground for clique established users who are fully supported by active moderators.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I have been a member of both AVForums and Talk...”

written by on 31/03/2013

I have been a member of both AVForums and Talk Photography for several years. Both have their merits but Talk Photography scores much higher if you wish to buy or sell anything. To buy or sell on AVForum you simply need to register which makes it open to abuse by scammers. Talk Photography on the other hand will not let you access their classified section until you have been a member 30 days and made 60 posts. This qualifying period is likely to be too much effort for scammers and likely to dissuade anyone wanting to scam you. Having bought and sold on both you are also more likely to get a sensible deal on Talk Photography. Too many people on AVF seem to expect you to give them your gear at stupidly low prices or offer their kit at ridiculously high sums. Often the same member is guilty of both. Both suffer from a few members who seem to think they are experts on every item of camera gear ever made and liberally strew their pontifications across all threads. The other problem with both web sites are the petty little moderators where the power has gone to their heads. As the quote goes "give a little man a little power!" However if you seek advice and guidance both sites have plenty of knowledgable members who will help.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor moderators”

written by on 17/03/2013

I was a member of the AVForums for 7 years with trader feedback of about 500 @ 100%. So could not have been doing wrong by other members. Problem I found it was one rule for a member and a totally different set for a Moderator :-( many times I caught moderators out for profiteering and withdrawing from agreed deals which would normally result in a ban for a member but not moderators. Giving them one star is one star to many and I would not recommend them while moderators like UrbanT and many others are still operating the site.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wassa's Comment

Written on: 17/03/2013

I linked the Admin to this review to get a reply of "well done anything else"
Just as I expected run by a bunch of IDIOTS

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Smellydischarge's Comment

Written on: 18/03/2013

You sir, are talking out of your preverbial, and I challenge thee to prove it, as unless you can, you will ultimately come across as just another internet toley, and this "review" shall be but a shining example of why full lobotomisation should be provided at birth, for those of a stature such as yours.

Good day to you, sir, I must away!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware. AVforums.com exist so that their partners are...”

written by on 04/03/2011

Beware. AVforums.com exist so that their partners are their to push their products rather than a truly independent website recommending the best value products. Moderators will ban you if you recommend any products other than their own.

There are some good advice given but do do your research properly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Glenc's Comment

Written on: 26/05/2011

I'm surprised to read this and this is not my experience of the site.

I've been using it for years and I've found it an excellent source of info

My only critisism, if I had one, is that it is full of real tech-heads so sometimes the advice goes right over my head.

That said, these guys know their stuff and there's often someone on-hand to 'translate' to mere mortals like myself, so for me its a top notch site that I use very regularly.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I first came across AVforums when I was wanting to buy...”

written by MrJiffles on 29/12/2010

I first came across AVforums when I was wanting to buy a new plasma flatscreen TV and started looking around for reviews of the best and newest TVs around.

I found the reviews extremely useful, and also found it great that you could ask a question and actually get great feedback from people who've had great experience.

One of the only things I'd say is that the forum is very active and there is a huge amount of views and reviews to trawl through, so you might not necessarily find the thing you were looking for - however, then again you could just ask the community and get your answer that way.

Other than that I'd say that AVForums is a great site and definitely one to consider if you're looking for TV / audio reviews.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“I used AVForums extensively whilst researching a new...”

written by Taylott on 28/05/2010

I used AVForums extensively whilst researching a new TV I was considering buying. It's a fantastic source of expert information made up of a forum dedicated to discussing electronic products.
If you are looking for somewhere to help aid a buying decision, then this is one place you will want to visit.

The thing I mainly like is that it is full of people who really know what they are talking about and there will always be someone who can provide you with useful information. Whether you want a simple answer or recommendation or if you want an in-depth tech-spec run down, you will most likely be able to find it.

I would highly recommend having a look at this site if you are ever out of ideas on what to do to solve your electronic problem. I wanted to advice on how to setup my new home entertainment system, and managed to get all the help I needed, and more! Free to join as well.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mrjiffles's Response to Taylott's Review

Written on: 29/12/2010

I found this review very helpful because it's really informative - thanks Taylott!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview