Digital Spy Reviews - www.digitalspy.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
16% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease Of Navigation

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Digital Spy www.digitalspy.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Digital Spy www.digitalspy.co.uk

Digital Spy www.digitalspy.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Such a shame the forum is modded by a far left elite”

Written on: 27/11/2021 by Gentry442 (1 review written)

Virtually all the main contributors have been banned for really minor things like expressing a non-left wing opinion. If you don't have far left opinions the moderators (with power gone to their heads) just perma-ban. It's for such minor things like just posting an opinion they don't agree with. I'm pleased to see their site has nosedived in the website rankings and will no doubt by long forgotten in years to come. Something really great was lost because of a hyper left-wing community management team.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Once a great forum but the admin killed it ”

Written on: 01/05/2020 by McFarlandju353 (1 review written)

Unless you have the same views as the admin ( as far left as it's possible to be) then don't bother joining. It's full of so-called woke people shutting others down. I have always considered myself a leftie, live and let live and I might not agree with what you say but I will fight for your right to say it, kind of leftie But I'm considered rightwing on digitalspy these days, how crazy is that. those in favour are allowed to even make death threats to politicians, women and anyone else they don't like and nothing is done, but say anything against the far left and you are banned, even agreeing with a post like that is enough to get a ban Who the hell are these admin? there are also so many bugs that never get fixed its not worth my time anymore

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 11 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The forums are quickly turning into a 'woke' hell-hole.”

Written on: 08/03/2020 by GlibletOSullivan (1 review written)

I was a regular contributor to the Digital Spy forums for five reasonably happy years until this week. Politics Forum aside (it's always been a cesspit whatever your persuasion), the DS forums were once a nice enough place with friendly posters. I had made many virtual friends there over the years. Now, all that has changed. While it was always a tricky place to navigate 'socio-politically', a draconian veil of censorship has been slowly descending on the forums over the last six months or so. Now, even the most mild-mannered contributors are having to second, third and fourth guess their every thought and turn of phrase. Extremist 'woke' trolls are now patrolling these forums on a mission to bait, and the moderators are allowing them to run riot. I say all of the above, and the following, as a self-professed 'disgruntled liberal'. Thanks to the current set of moderators capitulating to the daring new breed of violently self-righteous 'woke' warriors (who will merrily and mercilessly derail any established thread they please until they get their way), the DS forums are fast descending into a po-faced paradise for the professionally-outraged. The 'woke' extremist does not actually care about any of the issues they claim to promote - they care only about their own ability to influence a 'zeitgeist'. It's a form of psychopathic narcissism. They will pounce upon even the mildest of PC 'infractions' and openly bait, insult and provoke other users into heated argument. Even those who debate with them reasonably will still be 'punished' by the moderators at Digital Spy. Arbitrary doling-out of lifetime bans for the most minor of 'transgressions', with no warning or communication of any kind, or appeal allowed. The fly-by-night woke extremist, meanwhile, is allowed to continue their merry game in a new thread even though 'no baiting' is one of DS' Ten Commandments. The actual site itself, meanwhile, has never been much to write home about - theor articles are very epitome of cut 'n' paste hackery. Four Stars for the community. As for the moderation... if only I could award minus points, they would go 'all the way down to 11'.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 25 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Cesspool of extremists”

Written on: 17/07/2019

Ok I joined DS just over ten years this year, when I first joined it was a great fun place and discussions were very pro active. And all replies were positive and pleasant But over the last few years the tone and attitudes have become very aggressive. There is a clique of online trolls and abusive posters who see out every day to stamp on any question or statement they don't agree with. The moderators are also amongst this lot, After I received a warning for giving my view about a tv programme which went against the views of the majority clique So I was banned recently again for giving my personal view so if one gets band really you have banned yourself.. So if you don't fit in with the other extreme right wingers esp in the politics thread which is lethal you won't last long you will be banned So I have been expelled because I never fitted in but hey life is short time to move on sod the lot of them . There must be other forums out there who treat people better Finally imo I would not recommend joining unless you are a troll and a extremist and a good bully

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kizzie's Comment

Written on: 01/05/2020

Far right? its about as left as its possable to be.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Raisasharpe's Comment

Written on: 17/12/2020

extreme left wingers?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 15 2
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Gotten so much worse.”

Written on: 12/06/2019 by 90Jamison (1 review written)

Posted at this forum for over ten years. Had it's ups and down but the past few years have seen it become a clique ridden vipers nest. Certain political/ideological topics are policed by SJW's waiting to bait, troll and report. Bannings are partisan and arbitrary.Go there if you like arguing with strident obnoxious loud mouths and virtue signallers, look elsewhere for actual intelligent discussion.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 13 0
★★★☆☆

“Site could be great but it is let down by terrible modding”

Written on: 29/05/2019 by Pip21 (2 reviews written)

This could be a great site - with penty of opportunity to discuss non entertainment topics including a useful advice section. But it is spoiled by 'un-evenhanded' and inconsistent modding. It seem that people left of centre can post pages of bile, insulting anyone of a particular view, but dare to challenge the insults and you'll get a ban! Don't even dare to argue pro Brexit, you'll get called all sorts but nothing will happen to the posters. On the contrary, it's you who will get a rap over the knuckles if you rise to the bait.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 12 0
★★★☆☆

“OK Discussions, But Too Many Trolls”

Written on: 04/05/2019 by kelvine (2 reviews written)

It's a decent site but the mods can be a bit difficult, and there are a lot of trolls you have to deal with.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Banned after 17 years.”

Written on: 13/08/2018 by Caylee133 (1 review written)

So my life on Digital Spy came to a close this past weekend, banned without warning. Only ever had a couple of really minor one day bans and they were years ago. Been on the forums of Digital Spy since November 2001 and had 43,554 posts. I got locked out of my account for good and not even told why, until I asked. Shouldn't they have told me first? I was told I could no longer refer to others in the politics area as 'remoaners' and that I'd used the term excessively and for nothing more than this I was terminated instantly. So the site wants to curb my right to reasonable, non threatening free speech hard fought for by previous generations. I'm in the UK, not communist China so what is going on? I just don't understand anymore. Users ganging up on others seems rife at the moment. Never once reported another member in all my time but get the feeling someone just hated me and chose all the tricks in the book to see me off and out the place, but to be banned after 17 years for a non threatening, non offensive, political word like remoaner is sickening. I'm not making it up, it really was just that in the explanation. Upset, but I'll live.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Monkeybiscuits's Comment

Written on: 02/11/2018

Being a "remoaner" myself, I don't see that even remotely as a bannable offence. I have too recently been banned after 12 years on. Simply for disagreeing with some of the more extreme politically correct opinions. There is no doubt I had people after me for disagreeing with them, but the mods were quick to drop the hammer.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 27 1
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely poor moderation and some truly awful posters”

Written on: 13/08/2018 by ahmedfoley (1 review written)

The digitalspy forums have always been a strange place where normal people have to carefully navigate the trolls, weirdos, bedroom dwellers, gay mafia and other miscreants who infest the place. The moderators were always quick to dole out bans and suspensions, often for little more than a jokey comment or a bit of banter, all under the banner of "disrespect". More recently, there seemed to be a change of policy, for the worse. Now, the moderators wade in and ban posters based on their own personal sociopolitical views. If they disagree with you, you're history. Anybody who queries a current news article for example, particularly if it is gay related, is likely to be labelled as "condoning or promoting homophobia" or such like. That's right, you are promoting hate if you question the validity of an (often biased) news article. Absolute and utter nonsense. Probably the worst, bitchiest, most snide and precious leftard type users in all of forum-land, enabled by idiot moderators of exactly the same ilk.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 17 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely heavy handed and biased moderation”

Written on: 11/08/2018 by KevinSpivey (1 review written)

I was recently permabanned from DS for simply giving an opinion on racism which was not in accord with the moderation team's personal view of racism. Their rules state you can express disagreement, but this is manifestly not the case. In fact the community guidelines don't reflect the actuality of moderation. So if you adhere to them, you can still be permabanned, seemingly dependent on the personal political viewpoint of the mod concerned. So many old established members with many thousands of posts have been permabanned this year (2018)so far, that it comes across as an attempt to create a forum with a strong left wing bias, albeit containing rules which no longer hold any relevance to actual moderation. There is also no appeal system. Most worthwhile organisations would have an appeal system so their case could be looked at by a fresh pair of eyes.Impartially, perhaps. In fact the moderation is suffocating, and if you are used to speaking your mind, as we do in a democracy, then this isn't the place for you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 16 0
★☆☆☆☆

“rubbish and banned for nothing”

Written on: 25/06/2018 by IvanOlson405 (1 review written)

I wouldn't recommend the site its infested with trolls and they seem to get away with murder. I do often think the mods have their own profiles on there posting, also seems there is a lot of 'cliques' that are favourites. I was banned the other day for supposedly being racist for asking if Alan Sugar Tweet was intended as racist or just a silly joke that backfired. Of course the mods branded me as playing down racism and condoning it when actually all I did was question a tweet! they deleted a few pages from the thread and after a while I was perma banned. Before I was banned I messaged someone else in the thread who agreed with me and even he said how pathetic I was treated. I had been on DS for around 10 years first one got banned again for pettiness, others I forgot my logins to and my final one as you see was banned because the mods think Im racist. If your going to sign up to it I'd say avoid General Discussion oh and the BBC Breakfast thread on TV Shows UK sub forum, theres around 5 members who constantly hate on the women presenters looks and when challenged start crying to the mods that you are bullying them. Honestly dont bother! its pants! its also so incredibly easy to get round their rules, they threaten to report your IP address to your ISP but thats just a threat to stop you from rejoining. I rejoined as I said a few times years ago as IP addresses change and I went 6 years undetected so their not exactly on the ball. So to sum up.... 1/10 forums spoilt by trolls and hitler type mods.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 17 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I sighed when I saw an actual named user of the...”

Written on: 21/07/2017 by ChampionDan (1 review written)

I sighed when I saw an actual named user of the Digital Spy Forums on a previous post here from CaleGrace. That feminazi leaves a great deal to be desired. She's constantly getting guys, never women, kicked off the forums either temporary or permanent. Even saw her brag about some of them. I know of at least three permanent bans at her hands. Some good ones have been lost down to her crazy antics. I question her own authenticity. Digital Spy has an increasing number of idiots trolling their site.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 10 0
★★☆☆☆

“Decent enough site but trolls ruin it”

Written on: 03/12/2016 by Fowlerpj424 (1 review written)

I'd agree with the reviewer CaleGrace. I've seen first hand how this particular user operates, and manipulates opinion along with a host of other obnoxious characters obviously connected to the user in order to further their own narcissistic self-promotion and sense of moral superiority. Frequent baiting occurs to targeted users, with a direct intention to get the person who rises to the bait banned or to wear them down. If challenged on their behaviour, I've witnessed on the forum (at it's worst) deviancy being implied on the targeted user. Moderators might delete offending posts but seem either unable or unwilling to take any action against repeat offenders and if alerted give out either standard cut & paste fobbing off, patronising replies or excuses. As a result, the trolls run rings round them. Not all bad & quite fun to contribute, but just hope you don't get targeted as you're largely on your own unless another user chimes in with some support. Liberal use of their Ignore List needed to avoid. Choice between 2 & 3 stars but plumped for 2 as Moderators REALLY need to get a grip of the seemingly untouchable idiots.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★★★☆☆

“Tedious Trolls”

Written on: 26/11/2016 by CaleGrace (1 review written)

Digital Spy is a great site for music and politics lovers especially. Most are friendly and very knowledgeable. The old TOTP music discussions are a joy to indulge. However there is a serious troll issue. Even on a great thread they exist. People get targeted by sad individuals for zero reason. A user named LittleGirlOf7 proves to be a serious pain in the backside to many on DS who she targets. The baiting just has to be read to be believed at times. The restraint some of those forum members have seems superhuman. I cannot believe people get away with it like the forum troll I mentioned. It only takes one of these idiots to derail discussion for hours or days even. No matter who you are, how good you are, well behaved and articulate, reasonable and amicable to others, you WILL attract an almost insane troll who will attach to you, watching every last word, waiting to attack such as LittleGirlOf7 does to a group of certain members on the DS forums.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★★☆☆☆

“General consideration for users.”

Written on: 23/10/2016 by ccRowe77 (1 review written)

Issue bans without considering why certain things occur. Don't tackle online bullying. Keep on letting the same posters get away with bullying behaviour.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 12 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Abusive”

Written on: 08/10/2016 by TipTop3 (1 review written)

Digital spy appears to have administrators who join in discussions, and then abuse, rile, goad, insult and even stalk and troll people's reasonable views that they don't agree with. They are like fascists, heavy handed thugs. Steer clear of that site if you want a reasonable discussion on the I net. Reasonable views, and reasonable people get bullied off threads by the so called administrators, whose behaviour borders on criminal. If a poster responds to the threats and stands up for themselves, they get banned, while the administrator who started the online argument stays on the site. Digital spy should be taken down in the public interest. The site is also full of adverts, and can slow your computer down considerably.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 12 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Abuse and trolling”

Written on: 21/02/2016 by Cruz324 (1 review written)

So called moderators allow posters to be abused and trolled, and when a poster responds, the poster is banned. Moderators appear to regularly bait, rile and goad any user whose views they don't agree with. The site appears to be run by heavy handed fascists. Avoid at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Moderation Madness”

Written on: 01/11/2015 by Heimiswil (1 review written)

If i could have given Digital Spy zero rating i would. As it is you have to give one star but that = "Terrible" which is an understatement. The moderation is unbelievably heavy handed with fm's being banned for the most pathetic reasons. Once you hit a 2 week ban, the next is a 'perma ban'. Very easy as DS is full of SJW's and keyboard warriors only to ready to single out any poster daring to express a differing opinion and they will bait like fury in an attempt to get you banned. Threads to avoid entirely are any LGBT gay threads which is minefield territory. DS moderation is 'gay friendly' so anyone expressing a view not in compliance with the 'gay lobby' will soon get hounded off by the clique, or banned. Once banned there is absolutely zero chance of appealing against your 'sentence'. When DS send you the ban email, a link is included "In order to continue correspondence of this message please visit the following URL:" which is a complete joke. Don't even bother wasting time trying to contact because DS Forum "Support" don't even have the common courtesy to respond back to you. The moderation is the worst i have ever come across on ANY forum and just how they got to become a moderator beggars belief. I imagine they all have brown noses and tongues. The one time they will communicate is on a permanent ban where they openly threaten to file an abuse report with your isp should you violate their t&c's by attempting to access their site. That alone should be enough to tell anyone DS moderation is run by lunatics from the local asylum! It really is Totalitarianism gone mad! Digital Spy is fast self destructing now due to its heavy handed over zealous moderation. It was once quite a good forum to use, but those days are long gone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 10 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The nadir of internet forums”

Written on: 16/02/2015 by flibble69 (1 review written)

This forum is full of inveterate little snivellers who go blubbing to the moderators at every opportunity, and the moderators, being the Stasi wannabees that they are, are only to happy to indulge them. I got banned for pointing out to one of the more notorious peons that they were being inconsistent. The fact that I provided two quotes from said peon that proved they were being inconsistent and didn't say anything even remotely insulting to them was neither here nor there. As said peon posts on the forum all day long I guess they value the amount of advertising revenue he/she/it generates. Whatever. My recommendation is that regardless of what you want to talk about, there will be a better forum somewhere for you, you just need to find it. And when you do, Digital Spy will make you appreciate its existence even more.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 9 0
★★★☆☆

“Signup via Facebook”

Written on: 02/02/2015 by McLain30 (1 review written)

Not sure how long it's been going for, but you can sign up to DS forum with a Facebook account as well as through their own site. I did it, got banned, and tried again but to avail. I changed IP address but still quite puzzled as to how they've latched on to things. The change in IP address is not from a proxy server; it's from the actual broadband supplier. I know DS has the tools to see if a new sign up's using a proxy but can't see why they won't let someone sign up using a non-proxy server. Anyone know how to bypass all that ? Thanks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jol44's Comment

Written on: 16/02/2015

Yeah, you can bypass it by using a proper form that isn't moderated by the Stazi.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Spotify95's Comment

Written on: 05/03/2015

exactly. the DS forums are a waste of internet space and should be closed down. 15 accounts later I'm still banned and they haven't released my original account. The mods are cretins!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 2 Comments
overview