Baxi Potterton Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.1 / 5
10% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Baxi Potterton - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Not reliable”

Written on: 11/12/2021 by LL7382 (1 review written)

We have had to replace our Potterton boiler after 6 years - several costly faults, and appalling customer service, along the way. I believe we spent over 15 hours on hold over a week and there was no resolution from Potterton. We were forced to have a Potterton as we moved into a new build- watch out for this and request a different manufacturer from our developer if you can. For your sanity and hair colour, steer clear of Pottertons!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking customer service”

Written on: 12/10/2021 by Aliviae333 (1 review written)

Hours spent on the phone trying to get through to customer service after experiences boiler issues. Only to get unhelpful advice.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“terrible after sales service”

Written on: 29/01/2020 by moelygaer (8 reviews written)

out potterton titanium boiler developed a fault with the diverter valve ( it leaked internally causing an electrical fault) 5 years and two weeks after purchase and installation. We had it serviced every year to keep the warranty (5years) in force. They were not interested it was ywo weeks out of warranty. It shows what they care about customer service. AVOID

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“good boilers”

Written on: 02/11/2019 by Bernardh355 (1 review written)

had five years now no problems at all

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★★★★★

“Great boilers ”

Written on: 26/05/2018 by MacKayaj322 (1 review written)

Great boilers and great back up for installers with thier next day call out. I find I only fit Baxi now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Patterson rubbish”

Written on: 30/03/2018 by Patterson280 (1 review written)

Got Potterton promax HE 28 plus installed four years ago. Since then we have had two divertor valves fitted.... two actuator motors....one pcb board fitted.all at our cost. my wife and I are in our seventies...and cannot afford these kind of costs...but neither can we afford not to pay up as we would be sitting in our home freezing....like we recently had to...as we had to wait five days for an affordable refurbished PCB board coming from England...as boiler kept showing E168 and would not fire up....this error code is not even in your manual !....this model should not be sold to Joe public as its one piece of crap...we have spent quite a bit of our savings on repairs to a four year old boiler...our old boiler was 28 years and never a murmur from it..but then again it wasn't a Potterton... we were tricked into changing it...to old, to noisy, no parts available etc etc...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Over 40 minutes waiting for technical support”

Written on: 26/11/2017 by 6Collins (1 review written)

...and still no answer. For reference Worcester answer the phone within 10 seconds.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“BAXI Potterton HE Plus”

Written on: 15/02/2016 by ants1965 (1 review written)

what a complete waste of money, bought this boiler from British Gas and they were absolutely superb but the boiler is rubbish. Plumber is struggling to get replacement parts as the diverter valve has started leaking and BAXI insist that you have to buy the whole unit rather than just the piece required. Just forked out £160.00 on something that should only cost a couple of quid plus labour to replace. " PLEASE DON'T BUY THIS BOILER "

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Heat exchange failure”

Written on: 29/03/2015 by 402Ward (1 review written)

we had a baxi potterton fitted by British. Gas and covered by home are. After less than a year the heat exchange unit leaked. British gas visited and called the manufacturers to replace it- they did this after 2 visits, but BG engineers had to come back to take the air out of the system. We have since had several visits from BG and the manufacturer and the heater still makes a loud noise and cuts out. I've just wasted another days holiday for the Baxi engineer not to turn up Reading on line I see it's possibly a fault with the manufacturer .... So if you ask British Gas to fit a new boiler - probably best to get any other make than Baxi. If you pay a company to fit your boiler and to maintain the system I would be a little more forceful than Iave been about recognising their responsibility

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I bought a flat in a block where all flats have...”

Written on: 11/10/2013

I bought a flat in a block where all flats have Potterton Powermax HE boilers and I took out a service insurance with Potterton recently. They tell me I need the flue junction changed plus I booked a boiler service, as offered in the service contract. I made an appointment. I wasted 5 hours waiting the first time – no show. The second appointment, the engineer came and took one look at the new flue inspection hatches and left, saying they were too small. According to Gas Safe Register and Health and Safety Executive (gov site) there is no legal requirement on size. Mine are around 200mm x 150mm but the Potterton service engineer said my correctly fitted hatches had to be 300mm x 300mm. I suspect he was simply trying to get out of doing the job. I would never buy a Potterton boiler again, had I the choice, as the backup service is so poor, never mind the cost of waiting for half hours at a time to get through on the phone at 10p per minute. Sad for British industry.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy from this company!!!”

Written on: 19/08/2013

I have a Potterton Powermax HE. They fitted them in every house on our development and everyone I've spoken to has had problems. The boilers are just out of warranty so we're having to foot the bill. I spent £150 in January this year because it was losing pressure, and now (August) there's a problem with it igniting. Rang 4 plumbers, all of which said they refuse to touch them and one advised to get another boiler as they are useless. What really infuriates me is that because no plumbers will touch this mediocre product I'm forced to do a 12 month plan through Potterton to get it fixed....so I'm now PAYING Potterton to fix the useless product they supplied in the first place. Oh and there customer service is pathetic. Stay well clear!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy a potterton promax 15/2 he plus... ”

Written on: 12/05/2013 by MrWJC (1 review written)

We had a Potterton Promax 15/2 HE Plus installed in 2007. It has been out of order more than it has been working. 26 visits on and we have had it with Potterton products! We are having a Worcester Bosch 18ri fitted, quite a few of my friends and family have them and haven't had any problems... by the way you get a 7 year guarantee. Shows that the company has faith in their product. Lastly I now I can't name names, but don't seal with a Gas company from Featherstone near Wolverhampton, the engineer! has a name like an item you would find on a full English breakfast!.. If you use this company and get his name you will understand. He fitted the boiler and when we rang 2-weeks later, he said he only fits them and doesn't know how to repair them!! Well Potterton and Mr B, I hope you go out of business!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stevcraw's Response to MrWJC's Review

Written on: 20/11/2020

BG put ours in same mod 14 years old now hardly no probs with ours and works well , touch wood ,,potterton 15/2 he plus

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Baxi System 100 HE Plus, boiler tripping out without code”

Written on: 27/04/2013

Hi guys. I was working today on a Baxi System 100 HE Plus. Boiler fires up and working fine till reaches the set temperature, goes off, cooling off period, fires up again and burner goes off and on, off and on every 3-4 seconds without lock out or any error flashing lights. I have cleaned the ignition probes, replaced the temperature sensor, both overheat stats, checked the wires ok. At the end i have taken off the boiler outlet flue elbow and realised the inner flue seal/O-Ring had been burned out, vanished,causing products off combustion geting back to the fan, sucking in back to the burner causing lack of the air and makeing boiler cutting off and fireing up again and so on without lock out or errors flashing lights. Simple as replaced all flue seals and boiler working fine, smooth and quiet. Co/Co2 ratio 0.0008, perfect. Problem sorted without replacing PCB or Gas Valve or Fan,originaly adviced from Baxi to replace them. God Luck

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay well clear”

Written on: 21/04/2013 by Ongussy (3 reviews written)

Have had Baxi 133 HE plus for seven years and have lost count of times it has failed. Like other reviewers I've had the mis fire problem which was eventually traced to faulty ignition lead. Have had three new heat exchangers, new pcb, new pre heat board etc. etc. It really isn't fit for purpose and I've lost count of the time I've taken off work waiting for Heat team technicians to attend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Baxi - Awful boilers and useless aftersales”

Written on: 16/04/2013 by gerry192 (3 reviews written)

We had a Baxi Duotec installed sept 2012...... by April 2013 it had broken down 3 times. This is a totally unreliable product. We were taken in by the 5 year guarantee and the promise of good aftercare, both sadly lacking. Baxi take 4 days to send out an engineer, again appalling service when you consider this leaves people with no heating or hot water There is nothing to recommend this product based on our experience. It has never worked for longer than 8 weeks without breaking down!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BAXI Aftersale service”

Written on: 25/03/2013

BAXI aftersale service - absolute joke! -6C outside and they cancelled my anointment twice already!! First, because the engineer 'get stuck' with another job, today due to 'family emergency'. Rubbish, rubbish, rubbish! Highly recommended NOT!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BAXI 133 HE - A VERY- EXPENSIVE MISTAKE”

Written on: 14/03/2013

British Gas fitted this boiler in 2004, it started to go wrong 2005 and has been breaking down ever since. I have had over 20 call outs from the Homecare team. I wrote to Baxi but as the Homecare hadn't reported this they had no record. When I asked why this hadn't been done Homecare said they only do this if they can't fix it at all. I now find my monthly payments have gone up over the years becuase of the poor history of the boiler they fitted. Had I known this I would have complained after year one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BAXI 133HE - MADE MY LIFE HELL !”

Written on: 04/03/2013 by JLongdin (1 review written)

I had a 130 originally and kicked up such a fuss to the MD of Baxi after having so many problems that he agreed to change it for a new 133HE free of charge. This was done and I can honestly say that over the last 8 years I have not had ONE full month without some type of issue with this one either. It's an absolute nightmare of a machine. I'm nearly on the payroll at British Gas Homecare they've been out so many times to it and apparently it's the boiler which costs them the most out of all the boilers they support. I've lost countless hours of work waiting for engineers and had countless days with no heating or hot water. Finally got to the end of my tether with it and decided to bin it for a Worcester or Vaillant - can't wait to see the back of it. Don't touch Baxi with a barge pole.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Baxi Potterton HE Plus 24/2”

Written on: 01/03/2013 by Mickster (1 review written)

Quite possibly the worst boiler you can buy. I have had this boiler for nearly 7 years and for the first couple of years the boiler was fine and obviously during the warranty period nothing went wrong then it started to have problems firing up and started making a banging noise each time it mis-fired. I have had it regularly serviced each year and yet the problems started to get worse over time. Then it started to make a very loud vibration that lasts 15-20 secs, and occurs every couple of minutes when the boiler is on, that could be heard throughout the house and even through the wall to my neighbours house. I was told that I needed a new Heat Exchanger to solve that problem and that it could cost me up to £500 to replace -why? You spend over £1800 to get it and various works and after 2 years you need a new exchanger? I have friends who have boilers from the 80's and they run like an S-Class, what did I buy a Lada? After using their own Heat-Team to maintain it I changed to various other maintenance companies and was told later that I required a Power Flush to clean out my system and it was dirty but I resisted as I was informed this is a money-making scheme by British Gas and does not solve the problem. I have changed the Zone Valve boxes (£200 ), electrodes, seals, new magnaclean £95. Can't remember how much I have wasted on it. I have regularly had a maintenance guy come out to tell me that there is nothing else they can do and that I have an " intermittent fault!" Which can't be diagnosed because it fires up when they are there yet I only get Luke-warm water 3 days in a week and very cold water most days. Some winters I have the maintenance people come out 8-10 times and they say there is no problem / it can't be sorted mate! I am sick to death and would rather get the Veissman F-222 after reading many good reviews then spend another £500 throwing bad money after bad! I used to have a Peugeot and its problem after problem, I now have an Audi and am very very happy - stick with German Engineering!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Baxi Combi 133 HE Plus - absolute nightmare”

Written on: 17/01/2013

We had a Baxi Combi 133 HE Plus fitted just over 4 years ago by a Corgi Registered Plumber (ex British Gas employee). We have had nothing but trouble with it. It was 4 weeks out of Guarantee when we were getting loud banging noises when it fired up. Had to have burner replaced costing nearly £300 incl labour. Sent old burner off to Baxi but got no joy from them. After a few months the banging started again. Several visits from plumber did not fix the problem. Joined British Gas scheme and have now had to have the burner replaced again. Still getting banging noise, which is very loud and the neighbours are complaining. Have had B Gas back again last week, he checked it again and said see how it goes. It is still happening and is quite scary at night when all is quiet. Surely this must be a design fault. We have the heating on timer and just leave it to get on with it, so how can it be something we are doing? I am thinking of getting on to Trading Standards as I think the Boiler is not fit for purpose.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview