Persimmon Homes Reviews - www.persimmonhomes.com

★★☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
11% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Persimmon Homes www.persimmonhomes.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Persimmon Homes www.persimmonhomes.com

Persimmon Homes www.persimmonhomes.com
Persimmon Homes www.persimmonhomes.com
Persimmon Homes www.persimmonhomes.com
Persimmon Homes www.persimmonhomes.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute garbage quality., no craftsmanship, inspections.”

written by Hankster on 06/11/2022

Electrics a nightmare and dangerous, loose connections, two zone thermostats wired up wrong, downstairs controls upstairs and vice versa, should you be messing with electric and gas? Still waiting for it to be sorted.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy East Midlands, esp Greetwell Fields Lincoln”

written by Darienq303 on 21/09/2022

They have lied every step of the way. My neighbours and I paid extra for a “private cul de sac” and were told there would be a park etc. None of this has been built. They are starting phase 2 right next to our houses and haven’t informed us about it at all. They haven’t fulfilled their original plot promises. There is a public footpath running down the bottom of our “private cul de sac” they outright lied about and have continued to try and worm their way out of it. They completely ignore emails and phone calls just hoping you go away. The East Midlands head office is just as ignorant and also lie about promises. Don’t do it.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“King Edwin Park, Harrogate ”

written by PTordoff on 29/05/2021

Warning !! We missed our deadline to exchange contracts by 2 days in April 2021 Persimmon refused an extension and have also refused to refund the money we paid for the reservation fee and the money we paid in good faith for our finishing touches. The Group’s underlying profit before tax for 2020 was £863m and with a cash balance of £1,234m I'm sure our contribution of approximately £2500 will help ensure 2021 will be just as successful Please avoid if you can

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“1 star because I have to put something!”

written by Airwolff on 06/08/2020

Permission homes are THE worst company I have ever come across. They have a blatant disregard for anything other than Money. If this excuse for a company were an individual they would go to prison.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware of the Part Exchange pitfall”

written by Zariaj111 on 10/07/2020

If you are Part Exchanging with Persimmons Homes one piece of advice I would give you is to demand that Persimmons carry out the Homebuyers Survey simultaneously with the Estate agents valuations before you pay any Reservation fee or sign the part exchange contact. If you read our experience as below all will come clear: My wife and I signed up to a home buyers part exchange scheme with Persimmon Homes in September 2019. The agreement was for us to exchange our house for an agreed sum and buy a house from Persimmons for an agreed sum. We had valuations carried out by local estate agents as the first steps and were given a Buyer’s Exchange of Contracts Checklist to work through. We began by applying for a mortgage with their recommended mortgage brokers, instructed their recommend conveyancing solicitors and paid a £300 commitment fee, arranged and paid for gas and electricity reports. All was going well until we had The Home Buyers Survey carried out in November. After the surveyor carried out the survey, he informed me that there were some minor issues but wouldn’t go into specifics. I phoned Persimmon several times after the survey and emailed the sales office to get the results from it. 2 weeks past and we assumed that the Survey had passed then in mid November I received a phone call from Persimmons to say that issues had been found and they wanted 2 further surveys; Wood and Timber and Structural Survey. Both surveys found embellished issues with the house and subsequently Persimmon homes would not honour the part exchange. Section 2 of the part exchange contact we signed stipulated that if defects were found on the house we were selling we would be given the option to rectify these at our own costs, which we agreed to do but Persimmons were not interested when we approached them about this. We were eventually refunded £250 from the £500 reservation fee in February 2020 after many phone calls, however we believe that we should have been refunded the remaining £250 as we had the reservation cancelled on us by Persimmons opposed to us changing our minds and cancelling on our own free will. We also paid for the optional extra of an outside tap on the new build that cost us £95 and the £600 we paid to Ison Harrison Solicitors for the conveyancing. All in all Persimmons have left us £945 out of pocket. We requested a full refund for all our costs incurred as the reasons for Persimmons cancelling were beyond our control but Persimmons refused saying they had the right to pull out and are not under any obligation to refund us. Basically, Persimmons has acted like an unscrupulous private seller in doing this. We were out of pocket for simply following the instructions given to us Buyer’s Exchange of Contracts Checklist and we did everything in the order the form that was given to us when we signed the contract. The whole process of the part exchange caused us a great deal of stress and anxiety. It wasn’t as it was sold to us in the showroom as an easy stress-free process I the showroom. In fact it was nightmare from start to finish and we were given lots of misleading information. In our opinion If the house, we were selling was going to be potentially such an issue for Persimmons they should have had the survey carried out at the same time as the estate agents valuation to save us from this hassle and wasting our money and not so far into the process as per my opening paragraph. Anyone part exchanging needs to consider potential issues you may have along the way as from our experience you will be offered no support. They even wanted us to pay for the 2 additional surveys out of our own pocket but we refused. If Persimmons can find an excuse to pull out they will do. For example if not the survey it could be the electrical report etc. The part exchange contract is not worth the paper it is written on as the final section states that Persimmons have the right cancel or withdraw from the scheme at anytime. There is no law that can compel Persimmons to refund you your money if they decide to pull out as home buying and selling are not covered by general consumer law and Persimmons take full advantage of the lack of protection. If for example you book a holiday and the holiday firm cancels then you quite rightly expect a full refund and the travel firm is breaching consumer law if it refuses. Home buyers from large multinational house builders should be offered this same protection. If after reading this you still decide you want to part exchange with them ask the person in the showroom what will happen if things go wrong and use my experience as a hypothetical example. Ask them if you will get your fees back, ask them if they will carry out the Homebuyers survey as the first step rather than towards the end and if not why not? 

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★☆☆☆☆

“numerous faults, many leaks”

written by ascotbob on 15/07/2019

Absolutely abysmal after sale contact, refusal to acknowledge responsibility for shoddy standards

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“bad service bad build”

written by Roninc58 on 07/02/2019

brought from Guilden park harlow terrible staff very unhelpful change of staff all the time I am not sure if they know what they are doing on date of exchange completion getting keys went in and was told to check over for faults (there should not have been faults) new house they should be checking for that shoddy workmanship the sales office could not answer any questions when asked about the house paid extra to upgrade kitchen I wish I had told them not to fit one as if that is what is called upgraded I would not like to see the ones fitted that were not upgraded brought carpet package but asked not to fit just supply the lounge as I paid for it but they fitted the rest of the house and did not supply the lounge so paid but did not get damaged windows damaged tiles paint on tiles I could go on and on I would recommend looking to purchase elsewhere if I was buying a new house again

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Pull out if its not too late”

written by Madalynn127 on 01/02/2019

I urge anyone who has put down a reservation deposit to pull out now. I didn't listen, I thought it can't be that bad. I did my research and met several people on the earlier phase who had no problems, they were happy with their homes. Now it appears that they were reluctant to say otherwise. On this development, or cult as I'd prefer to call it, it's very much "keep your mouth shout, pretend you're happy, write a five star review and we will fix your snags". Sales team (lady) is the most two-faced person I've ever met. Prepared to make her self look good and pass blame onto her colleagues, she's got no clue about data protection and gives out far too much information about other residents Build and finishing quality = absolutely appalling, my new house looks like it had previously been lived in by squatters. Damage to windows, doors, driveway, kitchen, flooring, paintwork, woodwork, carpets, plumbing.......... the list is endless. Head office have so far been ok with acknowledging the shoddy work, but the trades they send round to fix/repair/make good are clearly unskilled or just don't care enough to do a good job. Now I'm faced with having to do a lot of work myself and pay other people to get it looking to a decent standard. I cannot have them keep coming in and making things worse. You cannot blob gloss paint over badly glossed wood and expect a good finish, nor can you hide the mistakes with 4 inches of mastic. Communication between customer care, site management and maintenance staff is non existent. I've had people turn up to do jobs that are on other houses' snagging list, and I'm sure the jobs which haven't been done at my house have probably been carried out on someone else's house. The constant change in management positions on site leaves me having to chase and explain things over and over again. It's making me ill. I can't concentrate on anything else and every day that someone is in my house to "fix" something I dread going home, not that I can even call it home. If I could turn back the clock - I certainly wouldn't have bought with Persimmon. For those of you reading this who have exchanged, good luck and I sincerely hope you have a better experience. If you've paid thousands on upgrades, you might be well looked after, it certainly makes a different on this development - the more you paid in extras, the more attention is paid to finishing your house at a decent standard. Although I will add, no fancy granite worktop and glossy cupboard doors will improve the quality of the kitchen carcasses (they are terrible).

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Pathetic build quality”

written by Deons257 on 23/01/2019

Absolutely appalling build quality I think they use the cheapest materials and labour. Check out mynewhomeblog.com Looks like some irate resident is spilling out the beans

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Seaton sands Hartlepool The worst experience we have...”

written by Norrisbj365 on 19/11/2018

Seaton sands Hartlepool The worst experience we have ever had , we been in 3 months from day one no hand over then they lost the keys , we done the 7 day and 28 day snag list ,still waiting nothing been done , just endless false promises by the site manager and then a phone call from the customer manager saying the site manager is rubbish don't go through him but still as of now he also done nothing , they are all back stabbers blaming each other and promising jobs then not doing, only advise I would say is don't listen to a word they say and make sure the jobs are done before moving in

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Bishopsgate Persimmon Homes”

written by DariusTempleton on 10/11/2018

Bought at Bishopsgate i was informed by the sales advisor 2 weeks for an up date about the water she said speak to your solicitor also spoken her yesterday now she is saying that my collegue should have updated you about that passing the blame on to some one else i asked are still moving by the date we where given she replied by couple of more weeks soory its out of my hand speak to your solicitors

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“no water or dates to mive in”

written by prashant4569 on 30/10/2018

i went to buy a house and enquired and spkoke a lady yes you can reserve but cant give you a date to move in due to water i have been trying get answers its always the same i have herd that 2 more people pulled out because of same issue my i spoke to my friend who had bought at mallory he said yes dont buy there ......................

David4747's Response to prashant4569's Review

Written on: 10/11/2018

Hi my friends bought at Bishopsgate i was there is afternoon seen one the contractors even they cant believe that the water is not safe to drink why would you move people in????????????????

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“ignorant customer services. Endless punctures from site”

written by mikeyranson on 29/10/2018

Once they have sold their product and they have your money, they will totally ignore you. Their customer services are non existant. Swept under the carpet and forgotten about. Once again, dad is on hand to help. My daughters bought a house from them against my advise as they had appalling reviews for their building quality and customer services as well as warranty issues. The internal build was poor. coming from a non building trade but construction industry myself, i picked up loads of poor install and quality finished issues. After some nine months, this is still ongoing. My daughters and other residents have continued to have punctures caused by nails and screws. Persimmon has denied that the nails and screws belong to them. There is nobody else on site building except persimmon. Do all nails and screws have persimmon punched onto them to identify who the owner is? No. each of my daughters have had punctures and each have had to have new a new tyre on their cars. The reidents are all having the same issue. Nothing but complete ignorance from persimmon and they fail to deal with it. Take advice and do not buy a persimmon home. Some will be delighted with what they have but looking at reviews across the media, the percentage of bad reviews totally suffocate the good reviews. Customer service and warranty sucks with persimmon.. Have communicated with live chat, email and phone. Emails get answered the first time round. Live chat, they just dont read what is in front of them and ignore your request for contact names and numbers. Phone, they just past the message on. and follow up phone call in return.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM”

written by brettwallis on 17/09/2018

DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM. Terrible customer service, shoddy build quality, and bad value for money. It appears that as soon as they have taken your money they move on to the next development and forget you exist. 3 years later we are still trying to get issues sorted which were raised with them in the first 2 months. If I could rate them less than 1 star I would.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst company to buy your first home from!!!!”

written by on 22/08/2018

Worst company to buy your 1st home from!!!! Rushed me to move in probably wasn’t even finished!! Walls are not even straight Front door damaged Carpet damaged Wrong underlay for carpet Kitchen doors missing Oven wasn’t even screwed in The electrical box isn’t labelled up so don’t know what’s for what! Damaged patio doors Ceiling is wonky Door hinges all damaged Wasn’t given a tour Didn’t know where my water shut off was

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unscrupulous company!”

written by Martinhylee on 15/06/2018

In March this year I visited the Sales office at Hollybank, Wombwell to enquire on the part exchange scheme offered by Persimmon Homes. Following the satisfactory mortgage check on my financial status and visits by 3 estate agents arranged by Persimmon Homes to my property, I was informed by Persimmon Homes in a letter on 5 April 2018 that Persimmon Homes agreed to purchase my property I entered into the part-exchange scheme in good faith, based on my understanding that Persimmon Homes would honour its agreement, in return I agreed to: - Pay £400 to G M Wilson for the purchase of the new property and sale of my existing property - agreed to let the estate agent arranged by Persimmon Homes to market my property and accept viewings - Arrange for the Energy performance certificate, gas and electric safety certificate to be provided to Persimmon Homes, the total cost of providing the certificates was £375 including remedial work required by Persimmon Homes In addition, I made the following payments to Persimmon Homes: 28 March £500 reservation fees 24 April £644 deposit for the upgrade of the new property A total of £1144 I have kept my part of the agreement as stated above, in the hope that once the new house is ready, Persimmon Homes would also honour their agreement to complete the transaction. Indeed Persimmon Homes had found a buyer for my house as soon as my property went on the market. The lady who was to buy my property visited my property twice and informed me that her daughter lives across the road from my property. On 31 May I received an email via G M Wilson requesting the washing machine to be removed from my property on completion, also a phone call from the sales office on 10 June 2018 informing that the completion date would be 29 June 2018, led me to believe that everything was in order. The next morning 11 June 2018 I received an email from the G M Wilson that Persimmon Homes would no longer proceed with the part exchange deal, this came to me as a shock. The reason I quote: ''As the resale purchaser has withdrawn due to the un-adopted road and we think it likely that the same issue will arise with any further purchaser on a resale then my client feels that this is too much risk for us to proceed.'' The email was indeed impersonal, she offers absolutely no apologies for the trouble and financial commitment I have already put into this deal. Also I cannot accept the above statement as the reason for Persimmon Home's withdrawal from the part exchange deal for the following reasons: a) I had already informed Persimmon Homes in a questionnaire as well as in writing (via G M Wilson) in early April that the road outside my existing property belonged to Britannia Homes, following the bankruptcy of Britannia Homes, the council took over the running of the road. If this was an issue to Persimmon Homes, they should have stopped the part exchange deal then, and I would not have paid £644 and £375 stated above. b) As mentioned above, the purchaser of my property has a daughter who lives across the road, if the unadopted road is an issue, it would also be an issue to her. c) Many properties have been bought and sold in my estate in the last many years, and in fact 2 properties have been sold in February and March this year, this proves that the unadopted road highlighted had not been an issue to the potential buyers of properties in my estate I feel disgusted at how Persimmon Home have treated me, just two weeks before completion they pull out of the part exchange deal and left me high and dry, after I have made substantial finacial commitment to the deal. The £400 payment to the solicitor and £375 for the certificate are simply money wasted, money that I have spent for nothing. Persimmon Homes does not treat their customers fairly, I believe that they have no regards for the financial commitment made by their customers. I have been totally committed to the deal but Persimmon Homes broke up the agreement. It is an injustice that Persimmon Homes is allowed to pull out of the deal and keep the money I paid to Persimmon Homes. I don't see why I should suffered financially through no fault of my own, but as a result of the decision made by Persimmon Homes to walk away from the deal. I have lost £2000 (including £500 reservation fee and £644 a deposit for the upgrade of the new house). It is disgusting that I paid Persimmon Homes £644 for the upgrade of their house that I will not live in!! I am totally disgusted by how I have been treated by Persimmon Homes. It is an unscrupulous company, I would advise everyone not to deal with them at all, they dont care about their reputation, treat their customers like dirt!

Paulm123456's Response to Martinhylee's Review

Written on: 17/01/2021

Did you buy the upgrades on a credit card and if you did, did you consider a Section 75 claim to get a refund from the card provider?

Reply to this comment

Paulm123456's Response to Martinhylee's Review

Written on: 17/01/2021

Did you buy the upgrades on a credit card and if you did, did you consider a Section 75 claim to get a refund from the card provider?

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst company ive ever dealt with”

written by jaykhaliq on 08/06/2018

By far the worst company i have ever dealt with in my life. I have worked in sales and customer service for years and never experienced this level of rudeness or incompetence. This company preys on young first time buyers desperate to move and promises a lot of things that cant be delivered in reality. In my case we were railroaded into signing an agreement to complete within a month to receive free carpets, 5% deposit and 1200 to pay out the end of our current tenancy. We then found out that the property was always being sold at a 5% discount with carpets included and the 1200 was not legally possible due to the help to buy scheme. That aside, when i called up to complain i was eventually called back by sales manager who i have recently found out has a reputation for her terrible and aggresive customer service tacticts. She proceeded to call my entire family liars, told me if i didnt agree to complete within 3 weeks they would remove the carpets and deposit on offer. When told her i felt i had been misold to she then told me to F off before hanging up the phone on me. After recovering from the shock of this appauling approach to a customer expressing disatisfaction, i passed this information onto my girlfriend, who proceeded to call head office to log a complaint. She eventually receieved a callback from a woman ( best friend apparantly of the sales manager) who advised my girlfriend that we were liars, and bow they had serious doubts about selling a hoise to us as they felt we were untrustworthy. She argued with my girlfriend for over 15 minutes telling her she knew the sales manager personally and refused to believe our concerns around how we were dealt. It became clear that this woman is cut from the same cloth as the sales manager and after speaking to others who have worked/still work for persimmon their motto is "you have to be tough with customers". This appauling experience made us withdraw our offer on the property to begin our search again. AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. SALES MANAGER IS A DISGRACE TO THE INDUSTRY AND SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED!!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“would have gave 0 stars”

written by SkylarBateman on 05/06/2018

Where to start?? Once they have your money its "ha ha..see you later chump." Quality of build is so poor, materials are weak and cheap. Staff always change so no continuity in contact. HNBC are scared of them and run away when you ask for their help. Finish around the new estate is so bad I refuse to let my kids play in the area. Honestly we have no pavements. Ever seen an estate with no pavements?? Last but not least...they are poor at everything. STAY AWAY. or if your stupid enough to jump in, like me, then prepare to fight for everything that they promised you when you bought the house. If it's in writing, don't bother, would be as well be written in Martian on Grease Proof Paper cause they don't care.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“!!!!Please read before you buy!!!!”

written by 1947Webb on 01/06/2018

If you are thinking about buying a house with Persimmone Homes then DONT. We were going to part ex our house so we got the house valued and we’re made an offer of £125k. Further to this Persimmone said they would pay the stamp duty (usual sales pitch and a complete and utter lie). We were sent an email and the offer had changed from 125k to 100k!!! We were absolutely shocked, after spending time and effort to go see the people at their office, they just reduced the offer, said they won’t pay the stamp duty and they had no recolection of an offer being made at £125k. All we were fed was stories on top of stories nothing gets done until the sales director signs it off. If you come across the sales manger) don’t believe a word she says. Just go on google and research persimmon review before you proceed. We got out luckily don’t get sucked in by them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hope they now have new roofing contractors”

written by EverettAnderson300 on 20/04/2018

Having lived in my Persimmons home for nearly 13 years was very disappointed to have to employ roofing contractors to replace the filler between the roof tiles aand the bricks on my apex wall as it all fell out. Not surprising really as the found newspaper and cement bags stuffed in the gap under the filler. Now a big lump of lead flashing has fallen off the false chimney onto the footpath at the side of my house. So lucky nobody was walking by at the time.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by chris2201 on 28th May 2018 Report this content
Has anyone purchased a Persimmon home on the new estate in Barnsley on Huddersfield Road?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content PersimmonSUCKS Written on: 30/05/2018
No. But they have very very bad after sales customer service . I bought a home from them about 4 years ago. Delivered with missing cupboard doors and broken window . They never fixed to date after hounding them and escalating to management. My neighbours had similar experiences .
Asked by Kirsty2491 on 15th January 2018 Report this content
If the layout on the plan has a garage, can you get it changed into a room before the build?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by normanbready on 29th December 2017 Report this content
Are the houses on Kingsbury meadows free hold and what is the service charge for?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Leah1 on 15th April 2017 Report this content
Has anybody had any experience with problems with kitchen vinyl? We purchased a persimmon home in December 2015. Overall we were very happy with the property however the kitchen vinyl had ripples in and as time goes by it is getting worse. Persimmon sent the company who fitted it out and they took photos and came back and said we had moved heavy furniture over the floor which caused the ripples and bubbles. We informed them that the only furniture on the floor was a dining table and chairs and if this was the problem then it is not fit for purpose as surely kitchen vinyl should stand up to a kitchen table being placed on top of it without causing these problems. Plus some of the bubbles are not near the table. We have complained a number of times and they just keep saying it is out fault and they won't do anything. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced problems like this and what was the outcome?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Johnmay111 Written on: 18/04/2017
when soft flooring is laid, when it warms it will spread slightly, if the fitters stuck the edges and not the midlle that will mean you can do nothing about the bubbles except lift it and possibly trim one side and relay. As I used to be carpet fitter and also contract flooring in my younger days, I know that with vinyl and soft flooring in general, you either loose lay it, or stick it all over. Further more they are suggesting that you have dragged heavy furniture across it, this is blatantly false, simply because the surface although hard wearing it is very easy to damage, and dragging furniture acrross will will certainly damage it.
Report this content gooner3333 Written on: 27/11/2017
if the flooring was laid prior to you moving in, this is where your problem has started. We had the same problem and on investigation the screed that was laid on the floor base should have at least 4 weeks to dry out before any flooring is laid on top of it if like ours it was laid only days after the screed had been done then as moisture rises your floor will bubble
Asked by Witchy01 on 21st March 2017 Report this content
We are wanting to purchase a Persimmon home in Compton only it is leasehold. Is the lease easy to buy, has anyone had any experience with this?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content nishwick Written on: 21/03/2017
Why is a house being sold as leasehold? I'd be concerned by that. I found out recently that leasehold owners in our estate are paying for their parking spaces. You will have instructed lawyers to do searches and land registry - so use them. In theory, you can but a leasehold, but I would ask your lawyer to check you can do that and the costs - Persimmon do not have to sell it.
Report this content Johnmay111 Written on: 21/03/2017
There is no good reason to buy a lease for a home, unless it is a flat, whereby the title owner can manage things like joint repairs. Buying a house on lease is worthless, you are just paying a large amount of money to rent, because it will never be yours.
Asked by Xyzz on 4th February 2017 Report this content
Can you build a garage on a Persimmon property?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content nishwick Written on: 07/02/2017
Ask the sales rep. They probably won't have the correct foundations laid in. Persimmon do the bare minimum - be aware, out estate is two years old and still not finished, even though every house is occupied and has been for over 12 months. If you want a garage, get them to lay power cables and flooring during the build - it will be trouble afterwards.
Report this content Johnmay111 Written on: 07/02/2017
You would have to ask persimmon to disclose in writing before you purchase ideally, whether they put a clause in the contract to stop you doing this. Once you have their answer you can then check with the local planning office and ask them if any local restrictions have been placed. Other than those normal building regs will apply. If the garage is going to be more than 15 feet from the house then it is classed as an outbuilding and that means you would have very little reason not to build.
Asked by steve123x on 6th December 2016 Report this content
We have just visited the sales manager at our reserved house in Colne about the Finishing Touches we would like. When we said that we would like a smaller kitchen cabinet so as to accommodate an American style frige/freezer, as the gap is 750mm and we need 900mm she said that it was impossible as they were not bespoke house builders! Why are they so inflexible? 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content nishwick Written on: 14/12/2016
We wanted a cabinet that was not part of their spec. We got hold of the kitchen supplier. We found the kitchen unit we wanted and got the builder to install this. They were very reluctant, initially saying it didn't exist, wouldn't fit etc, but we saw this fitted in a show home in a different county. Persimmon operate by region, each region has different rules. They also wanted to charge us for doors we did not want them to install, I refused to pay for something they HAD NOT done. They can do anything IF they really want. We also had our house flipped. They wanted to charge for new plans - I suggested they turn them upside down - et voila. We also marked the position for the lights on the ceilings, and where the light switches go. Be specific. Out neighbours didn't so they now have lights in strange non central places in their celings. They can do alomost anything, they just don't want to. We will never buying form these lazy fools again. My previous house was made by BLOOR, they were so good and when I sold it the estate agents were cooing over the builder and said it would get a premium - they don't build here anymore. Good luck.
Asked by nighthawk27 on 23rd September 2016 Report this content
What are the ground and first floors made of? Is there any steel work frame or steel supporting structurally the timber walls and keeping together the studs? What about the outside brick wall? Type and quality? Insulation - type & quality? Softwood timber quality and where is produced? Lifespan.... Where can I find the construction type specs for the development? Can we ask the builder? 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by lizzie357 on 8th June 2016 Report this content
Has anyone had any issues with the Queensgate site in Farnborough? My partner and I are due to move into a property in August/September time. We have had contact regularly with the sales administrator on site who is very helpful and keeps us updated with the build etc. My main concern looking at these reviews is the finish. We have paid for quite a few extras and are very excited to move in, now I have doubts and I am getting worried.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content Misty22 Written on: 14/06/2016
Join "unhappy new home buyers" on Facebook & post your question. If anyone has purchased from that site they will let you know the issues to look out for. Good luck. Cozy you're probably going to need it.
Report this content richarda618 Written on: 18/06/2016
The finish on our property in Worcester is dreadful. We will never buy Persimmon again. Ask the neighbours on site
Report this content nighthawk27 Written on: 23/09/2016
Duffryn the boulevards
See All Answers
Asked by nish1013 on 4th April 2016 Report this content
I'm about to secure a flat built by them in Hampshire. Is this a bad idea?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content richarda618 Written on: 05/04/2016
The build quality is definately suspect, particularly if the build is timber framed. Basic internally, paint very powdery and not wipeable. Be careful.
Report this content dmboddison Written on: 05/04/2016
not at all, you will get a few teething issues as with any new house or flat, I cant tell you how good there dedicated team will be but going on experience I have had with them it is second to none. they will go above and beyond to rectify any issues. a little trick is if you do need any remedial work make the lads a cuppa and a sarnie always keeps them happy :)
Report this content Guest0713 Written on: 05/04/2016
I can't speak for your area, but from personal experience if you have an issue with the property be prepared to chase and chase then wait and chase some more. I've found the smaller jobs get done, the larger (expensive) ones like patio doors for example are left and dragged out. I truly hope you don't have these problems and wish you all the luck and happiness in your new home if you go ahead with it. Just be prepared for the possibility of fighting long and hard for the quality you're 'sold' at deposit stage. All the best
Report this content Johnmay111 Written on: 05/04/2016
Do not finalise under any circumstances, My daughter is still having issues that are really quite serious almost a year after she moved in! If you complete with anything more than minor snags then you are simply asking for trouble. From wiring cut too short, holes put in the ceilings to join them and not made good afterwards, to Kitchen units left unfinished, garden left exposed and dangerous drops (building site) cost my daughter thousands of her own money as she has young children and could not wait. This kind of thing is exactly what you will leave yourself open to, if you complete purchase with Persimmon. Hold them to the contract and do not complete and move in until it is how a new house and external land should be, or at least to contracted status.
Report this content Honeywell Written on: 29/04/2016
We have had huge major issues. Customer service is pathetic to say the least. Resilient bars installed in ceilings, ongoing constant leaks with plumbing, garden a swamp, boiler keeps breaking, I can only describe the experience we've had with them as a nightmare!!!!!We are in Scotland, hope it's better in Hampshire, time will tell.
Report this content richarda618 Written on: 19/06/2016
Second to none either belongs on Jackanory. Or is from a Persimmon employee.
See All Answers
Asked by littlemissg7 on 17th December 2015 Report this content
Has anyone bought a Persimmon House from the Templar Heights Newton Mearns properties? Please give me advice/share your experience?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Lisawhiting on 25th November 2015 Report this content
Can I put a conservatory porch on the front of my house? Also can I run a dog grooming business from my house? Thank you

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Johnmay111 Written on: 22/12/2015
Putting a porch on the front of your house should not be a problem, a the size of a conservatory is regulated by your local authority and will take into consideration any outbuildings or other extensions added after initial build. Your local window supplier would send a surveyor to measure just make sure they are FENSA registered. so you are covered financially if they get it wrong. Running a business from your home is common practice today, but keep in mind if your business creates a nuisance to local residents then the council may take action You should seek advice from an accountant on this as when you come to sell the tax office will take a proportion of rooms used for your business, as capital gains tax. Building a shed large enough with a few home comforts might alleviate any tax liability if you take shed when you sell house. As I said speak to your accountant for confirmation. Hope this helps
Asked by Chattychick on 28th August 2015 Report this content
Has anyone bought a Persimmon Home at Newlands Park Dearham? Just about to sign a contract but after reading all the reviews getting very worried!

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content alistairbb Written on: 01/09/2015
We were due buy on a development in Newcastle. When initially signing we were promised a block paved drive and a couple of other features. When we checked property a few months later, none o requests had been done and driveway was Tarmac. When we complained we were just told that was how it has been done and would not be changed. We asked for time to think and were told of we did not sign by following evening they would keep deposit and we would lose house. We pulled out of purchase and ended up saving money moving elsewhere. I know 2 people living on estate and comments are that Persimmon are very nice until contracts exchanged and then it's a nigh are to get snagging fixed. The way their attitude changed with us when we challenged their promises was disgraceful, I would never buy one of their homes.
Asked by CarolineHG on 21st April 2015 Report this content
Has anyone bought a new Persimmon home, buy it leasehold and then purchase the freehold at a later date? Thanks.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content richarda618 Written on: 25/04/2015
Houses in this day and age from Persimmon shouldnt be leasehold. The only properties that could be are flats. It depends whether Persimmon still hold the leade, or they have passed it on to a property management company. A lot of Persimmon developments now have a property management company set up that buyers must subscribe to, to cover grounds maintenance and drains etc. That isnt leasehold however. Id contactbyour conveyancing solicitor and get them to check.
Report this content CarolineHG Written on: 27/04/2015
Thanks - it definitely is being sold as leasehold - as are all their new builds now. They say it is so they can maintain control over the developments until they are completed (we are buying one of the first to be finished on our site). Not happy about it, but we can buy the freehold from them in a couple of years when the site is finished. I would just love to hear from anyone who has already done this process with them.
Report this content Johnmay111 Written on: 22/12/2015
If you look at the feedback they have got on this site, that might change your mind. As he said lease hold fits into its own little niche for simple reasons. Costs of maintenance for the whole structure. example is every one shares the same roof, water, gas and electricity for each home and communal areas. There is no reason at all why a house should be lease hold and certainly not with a company which has shown a complete lack of care and professionalism in the way Persimmon homes have. I do believe if a group of residents are unhappy with a maintenance supplier, they have a right to get their own, I would check this with a conveyancing solicitor first though, as I am not qualified for say that is definitely the case.
See All Answers
Asked by scottie1234 on 9th September 2014 Report this content
Can anyone tell me what paint has been used in a Persimmon home? I can't find it anywhere and I am wanting to decorate with the same colour. 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by ozzybobby on 27th August 2014 Report this content
Got our house on the market for sale via Persimmons home change/part exchange scheme. We had a lot of interest in our house, and 2 notes of interest via buyers lawyers. I was told it was part exchange, then told Persimmons do the home change for 12 weeks. If enough interest in our property, however if it still has not sold then Persimmons would purchase our property? Has anybody experienced this process and did it work out or not? We do not have a mortgage on the property we are selling, so are in a good position.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by John35 on 5th August 2014 Report this content
I own a house which is two years old. Since the day I moved in I noticed cracks in the external rendering which have slowly been added to with other cracks over the last two years (internal and external). It looks like the company will not fix as they say it’s the rendering company issues and when the rendering company viewed the cracks they have said they would not fix.  This part of the building is over the drive way and is classed as the pen. We did have the building company come out to replace some of the flooring in this section of the house as the floor was lower than the rest of the house and you could feel it underfoot. I think the cracks are related to the building moving or settling as was the floor. I am at a dead end now as the two years are up and I have contacted the NHBC but so far no reply. Does anyone have any tips or help to address this issue?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content Tivobox Written on: 06/08/2014
I also have cracks in my render and also found that the render was put on far too thinly But the cracks have not got wider. I lost patience with persimmons as they seem at first only wishing bodge jobs so I called The NHBC to look at the issue and they agreed with my finding and charge persimmons to put the defects right. However this is still not completed. Things I found out so far on my journey. Did you inform Persimmons before the 2 year warranty with them was up. If you did and you have some proof of this then Until the issue is resolved then they are still liable. Don’t get fobbed off with them saying it’s down to the contractor, you bought the house from Persimmons and not the contractor and they should not be passing the responsibility to a third party. If not then the NHBC should Take up the case after the 2 years is up and send a surveyor to look at your property As they will only deal with structural issues and not snags, and this sounds structural. The only downside is there appears to be an unwritten excess in so much if the repairs Amount to less than I believe the figure is £1400 then they do not pay for the work. I have an email trail that goes back to almost when I moved in which includes all Responses from Persimmons a report from NHBC. I have attempted to escalate my problems which where more than render and cracks To director level and above with very limited success, it appears that directors and the Chairman could not careless now they have your money. Keep after the NHBC,this is what they are paid to do.
Report this content CarolynU Written on: 09/08/2014
Unfortunately Persimmons are shocking. They will do everything to get out of addressing any issues which result from their very poor standards of building, which they are consistently getting away with. Involving the NHBC is really your first point of contact if the company are doing nothing, but you really have to be persistent, and patient! They are very slow, and my case has been going on for 2 years. There is also a minimum claim value, so whatever is wrong must exceed the minimum amount for the NHBC to agree to have it fixed. Good luck! Persimmons make me very cross.
Report this content Johnmay111 Written on: 22/12/2015
They do not usually do anything for the 1st 6 months to allow for the property to settle, no point repairing a crack then it appears again. House builders now come under the NHBC (national house builders association) so if they have simply flatly refused to put issues right then you can call the NHBC. They will point you in the right direction for getting it resolved.
See All Answers
Asked by Tivobox on 3rd April 2014 Report this content
We have been in our property since Oct 2012,We have had several problems, the worse being drip trays missing from the cavity walls allowing rain water to enter the building, cracks in render, badly fitted windows, the kitchen fitted damaged twice, wrong carpet fitted. They have attempted to bodge every repair so far, this has taken up around 3 weeks of my leave and the saga still continues with out no doubt further time off. Has anyone been able to claim any sort of compensation for they stress and time taken?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content jujo01 Written on: 04/04/2014
We moved into our Charles Church (Persimmon) home in Dec 12. We have also had numerous problems. The only answer is to keep at them, and escalate it up the chain if no joy. You could also involve NHBC - I was going to at one point, due to the time the snags were taking to resolve (still 2 outstanding!). Stick to your guns, don't let them fob you off with weak explanations as to why they won't fix issues.
Report this content niknaks14 Written on: 04/04/2014
I am just about to make lines of enquiries as to taking them to court. Your scenario sounds very similar to mine. I will let you know over next couple months or so if I can take them to court and if ou could do same, maybe together we fight them for all the hassle, stress, ill health, and loss of earning they've caused.
Report this content Plank13 Written on: 04/04/2014
You'll be lucky to compo unless you can substantive a loss; ie. lost on income. Goto NHBC. You could try the MD, but he'll probably some empty platitudinous response.
Report this content Andrew6666 Written on: 07/04/2014
I am sorry for all the problems that you have suffered, it would appear that the majority of us Persimmon buyers are left in the same boat. Whilst I cannot answer your question directly I did ask if we could have a refund or an amount compensated due to the (additionally paid) door handles in the house continuously breaking and needing to be replaced. The customer service representative (head customer service person) just stated that the item would continuously be replaced if it could be replaced - no refund or compensation would be given. I realise that this isnt to the same specs as your query Tivobox, but the guy was adamant that nothing would be paid out to us no matter what the problem. Neighbours of ours have had the boiler replaced 3 times (Persimmon have blamed the bolier company - Glowworm) when Glowworm looked at the boilers taken away there is nothing wrong with them and it is the plumbing that is the issue. The Persimmon plumbing contractor then tried to blame my neighbour for 'messing' with the piework?!?!?!?!?!? No compensation or refund was given to them either and he had put a few days off work so the plumber could get into the house. I hope that you do get some sort of compensation as it would appear your problems are mounting. Good luck.
Report this content Tivobox Written on: 07/04/2014
Thanks for all your reponses so far,sad we have to communicate under these share circumstances. I lost it a bit on Friday as after numorous mails, I have had to call in the NHBC however they can not visit until the middle of May, so i call their next up the chain in their office in Surry. Needless to say he was in a meeting, Arnt they always. I spoke with his PA who assured me that the local MD would call me today. I have asked for a site meeting as the issues I have are not rocket science and do not need a so called independant expert. I am still waiting for the call. It just seems to me there is a lack of care and any issues that need a fix thier first thought is can we bodge it cheaply and quick.
See All Answers
Asked by Steven73 on 2nd March 2014 Report this content
This is about the £500 that Persimmon hold back from our old property. me and my wife part exchanged through Persimmon homes, we had to have a gas safety certificate done and an electrical part p test done, the electric people came from a firm called l.m.e move who Persimmon use and told us they wanted £540 to update our electrical system. I rang Persimmon up and told them I wasn't going to pay all that money and the sale was off, so they said they would pay for the work to be done witch they did, so the electricians came and did some work and left us with some lights that did not work so I called them back to fix the problem that they caused. The electrical people didn't come back until we had moved out of our old house, which we thought is iffy and now Persimmon are telling us that our old house has had to have a total rewire and will not give us the money back. Our old house is only 30 years old and we've never had so much as a blown light bulb. we think they are lying. Is there anything we can do? 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Plank13 Written on: 04/04/2014
Persimmon provided an electrician to carry out electrical works. These then led to further issues and your electrics to be condemned. In the first instance you want an electrical hard wiring survey carried out by your own competent electrician to substantiate Persimmons claim. Frankly I was amazed when we got our £500 from Persimmon. Based on what i had heard, i had written it off.
Report this content Johnmay111 Written on: 05/04/2016
Any electrical work done on your property must be certified by a competent registered electrician, they have to certificate the work they do by law. That is the proof you need as they worked on the property, if the electrics were unsafe they would have to condemn it and disconnect from mains. Failure to do this is not only incompetent it is also criminal negligence. Trading standards may be your best point of call with this if Persimmon continue to deny liability for work they contracted out.
overview