Steeple Bay Holiday Park, Southminster Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
26% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Steeple Bay Holiday Park, Southminster - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Dump”

Written on: 30/03/2018 by Caseyn284 (1 review written)

Complete dump Parties all night, mainly staff that live on site Smell of cannabis everywhere Quads being driven mad all over park by kids Don’t go here… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Enertainment”

Written on: 23/07/2017 by Donnawarner (1 review written)

Him and his team are absolutelty fantastic well enjoyed the entertainment ate dinner and it was lovely would recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst place ever”

Written on: 26/03/2015

Rang booking line -4 night break + pet + early checkin + linen. On arrival at 15:15 expected early checkin (from 2pm)- break booked but nothing else. Told would have to pay extra £15 and cleaners "would go and clean caravan" I said I would wait for normal checkin at 16:00! 1st caravan disgusting - wallpaper hanging off in lounge, skirtings and worktop trim missing and trim round sink hanging off. Complained and moved. Booked 2 days half board. As a chef the 1st night meal was quite clearly a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by Astonvill1 (1 review written)

We arrived at steeple bay holiday park on day 1 of a 5 night stay ,drove through the statics looking for reception first impressions were positive.found reception checked in and was told that they don't allocate pitches ,we were to find one ourselves,asked where they was and was told we would now have to turn around as we had passed them ,not an easy thing to do when cars are parked everywhere.managed to turn around and found that there were 2 pitches left ,2 of the worst pitches I have ever… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 05/08/2014 by MansbridgeNicole (1 review written)

i can't begin to tell you the disappointment we have had with this holiday park. This was to be a special trip for three mothers and three son's who have just left school at the age of 16. We researched your parks and this looked one of the best on the net but how wrong was that !!! Firstly the caravan we had which i admit was a bronze was positioned between 2 owners and opposite the refuge bins !!lovely i called reception as soon as we arrived to ask to be moved but i was informed that there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“place awful”

Written on: 17/07/2014 by StevenCoyle124 (1 review written)

We arrived at the park on Monday 7th July intending to stay 7 nights. Sole purpose to trace my Mothers footsteps where she was born and brought up. We are both pensioners so it was on our 'bucket' list. We booked dogs allowed vans, we where situated by the camping and touring place. the bedding we ordered was clean, that is the only plus. The van stunk of cigarette smoke, the lounge carpet and seating area smelled of dog, and was covered in white hairs. As the office was closed on arrival, I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Lovely break”

Written on: 20/05/2014 by MJV83 (1 review written)

Just returned home from a long weekend break at steeple bay and can not wait to book our return visit. I went with my partner and my friend and we had a lovely time. The caravan was nice, it was clean and had everything we needed including clean linen waiting for us when we arrived. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We didn't have kids with us but the park was busy with children who all looked like they were having a fab time with plenty to keep them busy including a heated outdoor pool… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Only good thing about steeple Bay was Leaving”

Written on: 09/04/2013 by loopypoo (1 review written)

This site is a disgrace and should be closed down. It should not be allowed to rent out caravans to the public and not to people with kids. The caravan we rented was dangerous. The light fell on my son, you could get your fingers behind the light switch where a hole had been punched in the wall. The electricity tripped and you had to have a mud bath before entering the caravan. I feel sorry for the owners of the caravans that have no choice but to stay there. Good thing was at least they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Buyer beware”

Written on: 09/03/2013

We bought a static caravan at Steeple Bay, big mistake!, There were fights in the clubhouse, drug dealers, police raids on site and caravans set on fire. We chose to ignore these problems as we had bought the van and tried to make the most of it as we would lose a lot of money . Unfortunately however after two years, my wife became very ill and we were unable to use it, so we decided to sell the van. This is when you realise what sharks these people are, they make used car dealers seem nice!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“SEE THE SEALS”

Written on: 04/08/2012 by oceanswell (1 review written)

We stayed in the water edge lodge, views and sun sets were brilliant. Wild life in abundance water birds all types . We spent hours watching seals,,from the comfort of our veranda they seemed to be same spot on the far bank everyday. Ask as they are very easy to miss . A very relaxed break .When tide comes in the seals leave to feed on the flat fish in Blackwater Estuary, Tip - then is the time to visit the Heybridge Basin - when tides in, - and sit and watch boats coming and going… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I very regrettably bought a caravan here and barely...”

Written on: 10/07/2012 by Graham190 (1 review written)

I very regrettably bought a caravan here and barely used it because i found the way the site is run to be appalling........staff promise to phone back but don't bother.........on a regular basis there was cars with loud exhausts flying about in the early hours.........some guy flying about on a quad bike with 2 kids hanging on to it.........rules are few and far between......some can have wooden decking/walkways down,others are told they can't..........no gazebos/rotating washing lines… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't bother staying here”

Written on: 17/04/2012

Tiny touring pitch for electric hook up. Huge field for non electric. Why don't they supply more electric pitches on the field? Two inadequate showers - both seen better days. Totally unsuitable for children. Toilet facilities need badly updating - cleanliness poor. Washing up facilities not bad if you can get the door open - you need to kick it open and shut. Looks like all they are interested in selling their statics and getting the rent. Glad only stayed overnight… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very dissapointed..Miserable staff.”

Written on: 02/09/2011 by lucas1971 (1 review written)

On arrival at steeple bay caravan park we couldnt believe how remote this site was.On entry to our silver caravan half of the seating was broken(repaired half wat through our stay)The same night we went to the onsite clubhouse where we were greated by riot vans and bouncers,A caravan had been set alight and reports of drug abuse,JUST WHAT YOU WANT when you save up all year and have two children who from then on were petrified!!!! Worst site i have ever stayed on and park holidays could not be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Nowhere Near As Bad As The Reviews”

Written on: 19/07/2011

Having read reviews online I was seriously worried about what we would find when we arrived and actually contemplated cancelling the holiday. I'm really glad I didn't The driveway is very long but that does create a sense of isolation and calm away from the rest of the world. The first impression of the park - clean but not brand new. Admittedly the caravans aren't all brand new and some look a little worse for wear but generally on the whole it looks like a typical caravan park. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“just came back from staying on the touring site. All i...”

Written on: 02/05/2011

just came back from staying on the touring site. All i can say is if your thinking of going DON'T, facilities are really bad if you go into arcade wipe you feet on the way out, rubbish everywhere, and the stink!!!!!
Drain where we were to get our fresh drinking water from was bloked for two days and when they did come to clear it thick black stuff came out of drain, ( nice )nothing signposted, so noone knows where waste water etc has to go, no lights outside toilets to see in the dark and yobs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't ever go here its a dump!! The only thing that...”

Written on: 23/04/2011

Don't ever go here its a dump!! The only thing that made it any good was that we had amazing weather! Good luck with even finding it first in the middle of no where and down an ever ending road with more bumps than I have ever experianced!! Its not a holiday park its a residential park full of rough people who r not welcoming!! The bit of water they have is a creek! We left early as it was so bad! Just don't waste your time on the place, wish we hadn't!!! U have been warned!!! Also thw water… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“we recently stayed at steeple bay,we had our two small...”

Written on: 05/02/2011

we recently stayed at steeple bay,we had our two small children with us, the park is a must for kids but the park had very little for them what was there looked like it was there for years very disapointing , the childrens entertainment wasnt much,this needs improving,its not clean in the toilets were dirty, no loo roll,the shop is not big enough to cater for all the people, its a race to buy what you need.found our stay not very nice,i would say the site is scruffy all them tourers a turn off… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“we arrived at steeple bay on 30th of august we lasted...”

Written on: 03/09/2010

we arrived at steeple bay on 30th of august we lasted 20 minutes it was so bad it was scruffy, dirty no beach that you could walk to, we felt cut off from everywhere, no indoor pool just a cold outdoor pool, the people were not welcomeing at all, there was the tiniest arcade ever, i could honestly say we all felt depressed within 15 minutes. this resulted to us haveing to be transferred to another park which was an hour and half away, and forced me to down grade my caravan from a gold plus to a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“May 15th spent a week at Steeple Bay asked at booking...”

Written on: 23/05/2010 by gummy1944 (1 review written)

May 15th spent a week at Steeple Bay asked at booking to be near amenities told would be fine arrived and put at other end of park. Then downgraded without compensation given to be close to amenities as i am disabled and cannot walk very far,apart from saturday and sunday entertainment zero were there a whole week and couldnt get any milk at all none in shop only managed to get bread twice it seems the shop only fills up ready for regulars arriving at weekend. DUCKS SWIMMING IN THE POOL not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“We had a 'Sun' newspaper holiday at Steeple Bay...”

Written on: 19/04/2010

We had a 'Sun' newspaper holiday at Steeple Bay holiday Park over Easter this year.

The park was lovely and a lot nicer than some of the reviews said.

The road up to it was a bit scary and more signs would have been good. The shop could do with a wider choice and no milk which is a staple really.

Checking in was good.

The 'club' was nice enough. Could have done with some information in the checking-in-pack about what entertainment was happening in the club. My daughter who's 1 yr… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview