The Gate of India, Tynemouth Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.5
59.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Gate of India, Tynemouth - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“takeaway order mix up”

★★☆☆☆

written by bigalfromshields on 21/12/2014

Ordered a takeaway.When I got it home I discovered that they'd given me some coconut based curry instead of a Balti(how can any competent chef get these two dishes mixed up??!!)Also I had paid for a chicken tikka MAIN and ended up with a STARTER size(if it WASN'T then it must be a child's portion!).Finally the king prawn curry was very bland.If it hadn't have been late at night I would have drove back down and gave them the food back! My first visit to The Gate of India...and my LAST!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“£26 for something I would not feed my dog”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 04/09/2013

I eat Indian a lot and read reviews on this place and all where good Well I know what a good Indian tastes like and this place was no where near. Boiled chicke breast in a curry sauce. Where has the skill of the chief gone. And to be charged nearly £5 for 2 popadoms and dip. We had a folk full each and could not eat the rest. However the naan bread was nice

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Never again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by dmoocha on 21/02/2013

I visited tonight after not being there for over a year never in my life would we go again the manager is the rudest man I have ever met me and my partner ordered are meal he had loads chicken bones in it he would never complain so I know it must have been bad my partner told him as nicesly as he could the manager started shouting at us in front of all customers I have never in mylife been spoke to like that I don't know how he can get away with it even his staff looked frightend of him We will never be going back and I will be telling my family not to

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“fantastic food”

★★★★★

written by jackiesewell on 11/08/2011

I have been going to this restaurant for over 20 years, it is a very busy popular place, and people who visit regularly know that you may have to wait, and its worth the wait.....the food is fantastic and we have tried virtually everything on the menu....the staff are friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere is lovely. people who book tables for large parties and then dont have the decency to arrive on time, dont deserve to eat there....as there are plenty of people who will be willing to fill the tables....and if I were the manager and had taken large bookings and they weren't there on time on a saturday night....i too would give their table away too....hes a business man and a nice one at that. i hate people who vist a restaurant once and then write a terrible review, just because they were treatment was that good because they didnt have the decency to be there on time....the manager has a good right to be angry. keep doing a great job as always....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“DO NOT BE LATE - BEWARE!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by paularidley on 20/06/2011

After booking a table for my boyfriend and family, we arrived at the restaurant 10-15 minutes late. The 'Manager' had tried to call me and when I arrived I apologised profusely and he rudely told me in a very loud voice (in front of other waiting guests)....that "I should not book on a Saturday night if I was going to be late" and "that he had customers waiting." Again I apologised and explained it was difficult due to the large group and he repeated his rude comments. Taking into consideration the other 15 people in the group and the fact that this was a Saturday night at 9.45 pm it would have been difficult to eat elsewhere, we stayed. We waited 45 minutes for a drink and it was obvious that the 'Manager' had instructed his waiters to do this to pay us back?! Not to disrupt the evening any further, I waited until after the event and a formal letter has already been sent to the relevant personnel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Shocking service - inedible Dansak”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 20/06/2011

We booked a table for 16 people on a Saturday evening. We were 15 minutes late and apologised but the staff were extremely rude. They were so rude that had it not been a Saturday night we would have walked out and gone elsewhere. The service at the table was also rude & poor. The onion bhaji starter I had was nice but the Dansak I had was inedible. I like spicy food but this was acidic & soured my stomach such that I couldn't eat anything else. My partners saag was ok but my mum-in-law's korma had a strange kick to it. My sis-in-law asked fit a goodie bag for some leftovers & when she opened it up it wasn't her food! Altogether a massive disappointment and all 16 of us won't be going back!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Won't be back”

★★★☆☆

written by jillhansen on 20/06/2011

Visited the Gate of India for the first time in years on Saturday. On arrival the manager was so rude that we almost left and the waiters were also quite dismissive of us, didn't get any drinks until they'd taken food orders, totally unco-operative. Food was average, won't be back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We ate there early on Saturday evening. The food was...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 24/04/2011

We ate there early on Saturday evening. The food was good but the lime cordial we were served was obviously watered down and the floor / tables were littered with crumbs / food debris. The floor looked like it hadn't been swept for some time. This was a bit off-putting as eating out is such a luxury these days why go somewhere where the place is a mess.

Resident of North Tyneside.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ordered from set menu but thay wouldnt change a nan...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 11/03/2011

ordered from set menu but thay wouldnt change a nan for a starter even tho the nan was cheaper, no manners, had to pay for poppodoms, had to ask for complimentary glass of wine, food portions were disgraceful, tried to charge us for another table drinks and when we complained we got told what ever and if we dont like it dont come back.....well we wont

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Our family eat out once a month as a treat. My...”

★★★★★

written by on 02/03/2011

Our family eat out once a month as a treat. My husband, myself & daughter always go to The gate of India for our Indian meals. We have been going to The gate for about 6 years & have never had a meal that has been less than excellent. The staff are friendly, attentitive & polite & have always been helpful. When our daughter was younger my husband & I would order 2 starters/2 mains etc & the staff always made sure the little one did not feel left out & ensured she had a plate & generally the curry she wanted in front of her......Last time we went to go to the gate it was shut for refurbishment, as we had travelled a distance for the meal we decided to pop into nearby Whitley bay for a meal, we ended up having an Indians & although the food was acceptable & what some people would class as good, it did not hit the mark of the quality of food from the gate. I have taken hardened curry lovers here for a meal & now this is the only restaurant they will visit. We are going tonight & cant wait to see the new decor & get our lovely Balti with lots of fresh corriander on top........Our daughter is now 13 & we generally order 6 poppadoms with pickles, 3 starters, 2 currys, 1 rice 1 nan & 3 chappatis. 2 coffee's & at least 3 drinks, it works out at just over £10 a head. You can get specials but we generally order what we want & it only cost about £2 more per head. My Fav place to eat EVER...........

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Myself and my family have been eating at Gate of India...”

★★★★★

written by on 26/02/2011

Myself and my family have been eating at Gate of India in Tynemouth for at least 25 years and I cannot praise the restaurant enough. The food is second to none and the staff are friendly and helpful - its a pleasure from entering the restaurant to leaving.

Well done Gate of India !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I think its the best resturant iv ever been to. And...”

★★★★★

written by on 23/02/2011

I think its the best resturant iv ever been to. And now its even better because the new referbishment. I would reccomend to everybody to go there and try for themseves!!!!
They definetly have the best service and the most delucios food with great staff. Dont know why its not world famous!

Fahad :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We have been going here for a number of years now and...”

★★★★★

written by on 29/11/2009

We have been going here for a number of years now and have not been disappointed once with the service or the food.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“i would recommend The Gate of India restaurant to...”

★★★★★

written by S Richardson on 09/03/2009

i would recommend The Gate of India restaurant to anyone who enjoys Indian food or wants to try it for the first time. The food is freshly prepared and you can taste the subtle flavours of the dishes.
I have eaten at this restaurant for 25 years on an average of twice a month and the food has yet to disappoint.
the restaurant will also adapt dishes to suit, for example tone down or increase the hotness of a dish.
The staff welcome children and as a family we have enjoyed many meals there together.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Extremely pleasant staff at The Gate of India with...”

★★★★★

written by on 14/07/2008

Extremely pleasant staff at The Gate of India with very friendly waiters.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The restaurant is located in the heart of Tynemouth so...”

★★★★★

written by Chunky Monkey on 11/03/2008

The restaurant is located in the heart of Tynemouth so after the meal its always nice to have a drink in the new bars on the street and then to take a walk along the beach.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I just love The Gate of India in Tynemouth. The food...”

★★★★★

written by radleyaa on 25/06/2007

I just love The Gate of India in Tynemouth. The food has always been perfect for me, and we have always had quick service, even when they have been busy. What more can I say?

My hubby and I always get a different dish so we can share. It is a lovely place to go when celebrating a birthday etc., and then you have all the pubs next to it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview