Big Wok, Nottingham Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
60% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Big Wok, Nottingham - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“This place is now called "PeachyKeens". I went here...”

written by reviewer1108 on 21/09/2016

This place is now called "PeachyKeens". I went here last month as I haven't visited since it has been re-branded. It was very modern but it is already becoming shabby; there were rips on the seats & drink spills on the walls. The toilets were horrible too. I walked in & I could see holes in the ceiling & cubicle doors hanging from the hinges. I turned round & walked straight out, I felt very unsafe. As for the food, it was very average. I don't expect 5* standards at an all-you-can eat but I think that it could be improved a little. One thing I really liked though was that you can order your own naan bread & they make it right in front of you. There was a large selection of desserts too. Overall, this place is okay. With a little work I think this place could be lovely.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Slow Service”

written by ManCity_1981 on 25/04/2013

Waited for 25 minutes for a bloody glass of water. How can service take that long? unless the people behind the bar have learning difficulties? Terrible Terrible Customer service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“As Big Wok has closed down, I shall be writing a...”

written by TheEpicReviewer101 on 03/01/2011

As Big Wok has closed down, I shall be writing a review on Peachykeens. Peachykeens has generally average food. The pizza there is nice. However, the service is shocking. I asked for drinks and half an hour later my drinks weren't there. However, there are some positives. Unfortunately, there are more negatives. The restaraunt has a good choice of food, if you like eating what I think tastes like other meat. There was a rumour spread around about Big Wok having cats and dogs in there freezers, and I think Peachykeens also has cats and dogs in the freezers. For instance, I have had many pork meatballs in my time, they all taste the same. Except the Peachykeens pork meatballs. This is what I would judge as cat meat or dog meat. They have a lot of food, but most of it is disgusting. The pasta, pizza, and chicken & sweetcorn soup were the only things worth paying £12 for.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“When i read some reviews about Big Wok and cold food...”

written by cybershot on 15/10/2008

When i read some reviews about Big Wok and cold food and bad attitudes, i don't believe it they have always been courteous towards us and others to what i see, and if some did not fill the plates right up it would not go cold it is a busy place and they work hard to to keep it going and for those who think no I'm not going due to others giving bad feedback please take my word go and try for your self you will not be disappointed thank you big wok.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Have been to The Big Wok many times, also to the 1 in...”

written by Cherylemma on 12/04/2008

Have been to The Big Wok many times, also to the 1 in Birmingham, I love it here & my kids love it here.....mainly for the chocolate fountain! Have all the dishes I like, my son goes up 5 or 6 times, he has the rice, chips & prawn crackers! My daughter does the same, but she has the rice, sweetcorn & prawn crackers. The pork & mushroom is to die for, delicious. Would recommend it 100%. The only thing that lets it down is that the food gets cold very quickly, so we tend to but little portion sizes on instead of loading up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“good value eat as much as you can manage, as long as...”

written by giggs74 on 03/02/2008

good value eat as much as you can manage, as long as you dont take the mick and leave plate full of food, you could be charged for it. the service is brilliant they watch you like a hawk no sooner have you finished your plate is cleared away. the food itself is reguarlly monitered, so everything you have is going to be a good temprature. i reccomend it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I was there on the night that a man was asked to see...”

written by breezeeann on 09/11/2007

I was there on the night that a man was asked to see his receipt and as I know that it the thing that they do could not work out why he was so put off by this it is a policy that they do this and thing that he may have had a bit of a chip on his shoulder.Age is never the reason they ask to see the receipt all ages are asked and there is always a smile

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“We were put off by the bad reviews posted here (and...”

written by caliban on 08/09/2007

We were put off by the bad reviews posted here (and also posted on at least three other sites), but I thought that's just one person's view and experience, and so here's another (well I speak on behalf of the seven of us)...

The main things are that, for it's type, the Big Wok restaurant in Nottingham is good value for money. I'd recommend it to others, and I'd go back - what more can you say?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“It is definitely worth a visit to Big Wok Chinese...”

written by torlouise on 25/08/2007

It is definitely worth a visit to Big Wok Chinese restaurant in Nottingham, especially at lunch time when it's only £5.00 per head (excluding drinks).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My partner and I went here for a meal after work,...”

written by blue14 on 12/06/2007

My partner and I went here for a meal after work, Thursday 7 June 2007. I was not impressed with the food that I had, and I normally love Chinese, Japanese and Thai food. Just last week, I paid my second visit in as many weeks to Sushi Hiroba, near Holborn Tube station in London; perhaps the management of Big Wok could take a lesson or two from them in how to run a restaurant.

I had the following at Big Wok: banana fritters, made from very sweet over-ripe banana (they weren't meant as a desert as they were with the main course buffet); tofu in mango sauce, again, the mango sauce was so sweet they could have served it as a desert; potato tepanyaki, which actually managed to be quite nice; satay sauce, which again wasn't bad; seaweed, not very authentic & too salty, but ok; something called "Burmese Potato", which was so tasteless I left most of it; and as a last resort, I got some sweet chilli sauce, which I usually love, with some prawn crackers, but the chilli sauce was so vile I left that as well. In short, out of 7 main food items and sauces that I had, 4 were so bad that I left most of it on my plate.

OK, I wasn't expecting high cuisine from an oriental buffet restaurant, but for £9.99 per person, excluding drinks (which, again is not very different to what I paid at Sushi Hiroba, for two main courses with very generous helpings, excluding drinks), I was expecting better than I got, especially compared to at least two other oriental buffet restaurants I've eaten at.

I also wasn't very impressed when I was browsing the menu, and came across wording to the effect that the management reserved the right to demand payment up front (but like lots of British towns, Nottingham does have problems on Friday and Saturday nights with young people drinking too much) and a statement that if food was "wasted", the management reserved the right to charge double!!

However, I would have simply dismissed it as a just not desperately great place, except just as we were leaving, the receptionist on the door asked to see our receipt. Now had it been latish on a Friday or Saturday, I might have seen why this might be necessary, but this was a Thursday evening at 7:45, and mostly the customers were well presented, and all sober, well behaved people ranging in age from 30s to 50s. After we produced our receipt, I told the receptionist, "I shan't be coming here again" , to which she replied, "we get plenty of people here, so we don't care!" and when I responded that I'd ensure I wrote an online review of the place, she shut the door in our faces. I was blunt with the woman about her establishment, but I did not use bad language, nor did I make any personal comments or make any threats, other than stating my perfectly legitimate right to complain.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview