Moneygram Money Transfer Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
6% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Speed of service

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Moneygram Money Transfer - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Moneygram Money Transfer

Moneygram Money Transfer

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“bad service”

Written on: 04/10/2018 by Ortega286 (1 review written)

I tried using your service for the 1st time yesterday and I will never go thru that awful experience again. I took $2000 out of my bank account went to Walmart gave them cash, money was sent.My receiver was not able to pick up the money, It came back as an error and said I was trying to do fraud.I gave you cash from my Bank in order to help one of my children in another state. I will never recommend or use your service ever.Even the Manager at Walmart called to clear it up. thank you Walmart for giving moneygram a piece of your mind.they said they have this problem with your company several times a week. very UNSATISFIED !!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unprofessional Company”

Written on: 05/08/2018 by 257Lindsay (1 review written)

I have used Money gram for several years. Sent to the same person for years. MoneyGram has NEVER had one issue or complaint about it. Nor have I until today. Today I get an error message. And it says to call. I did, talking to a wall would have been as helpful. Said they were no longer comfortable with my business. And my account was terminated. I asked the only question that matters, why. Why would they be happy to take my money all these years for the SAME transactions and than today stop? Not for thousands of dollars. Not even hundreds. I was sending 50 US dollars. And that or 100 is what I have sent for years. They can see that. They have both of our banking information. Neither of us EVER had an issue. No charge of fraud. And my request for an explanation was met with I need to find another service. I am off Sundays. I am going to comment on EVERY review board and the BBB about it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Delay releasing money to recipient after cashing...”

Written on: 26/06/2018

Walmart assured me that MoneyGram was taken at all Walmarts in Canada - untrue. MoneyGram outlet at Drug Mart in Chilliwack BC cashed 1 transfer and refused to cash the 2nd, insisting on e-transfer to bank acct. Such a transfer caused 4-5 business day delay. Now asserting it is under review. MoneyGram's help desk, in Hondurus no less, asserted that it was under review. So, I called the Drug Mart to adk what the issue was. Got certain amt of runaround but staff finally asserted that the money had been transferred to Bank Account. But checking with my friend who had checked with her bank revealed no transfer yet. As of 2 hours ago. 7 days and transaction still not done. I think MoneyGram is fraudulently delaying transactions to hold on to cash. Why? They can lend money at high interest rates, for overnight or one day loans. So they keep cash, make money and eventually pay up. This rating system needs to have a 1/2 star or maybr 1/4 star rating option. Never again. Definitely sticking with Western Union. Question I have is why is Walmart doing business with this bunch. Kickbacks maybe?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Kept my money!!”

Written on: 23/05/2018 by Lopez58 (1 review written)

Sent money to a friend in need. MoneyGram put a hold on the transaction and wouldn’t not allow my friend to pick up the money. When I went into the office I sent the transaction from to cancel and get my money back I was told I couldn’t get the money because it was under review. I was asked a lot of questions over the phone by a MoneyGram representative I answered all of them and a week later I still can’t pick up my money!! Is this even legal? It’s my money!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude staff and delay payments”

Written on: 15/04/2018 by TarynHood (1 review written)

If you want to receive a terrible service - use moneygram Jamaica. You’re better off flying to Jamaica to avoid the ignorant staff who are extremely oppressive!!’ It’s extremely sad to see. Customer service is still not the agenda. Better off sending the money with pigeons.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“a lot of problem just adding a middle name”

Written on: 19/11/2017 by 462Driscoll (1 review written)

I call MoneyGram try to add the receiver middle name so she can pick up the money and only way I can do that is go to the location and have the person to call them of course they close and now she can't pick up the money that she needs right now. I will never use them again is so crazy that you have to go to the store and the store is closed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The WORST!”

Written on: 05/10/2017 by Johnnyt272 (1 review written)

Very diffecult to deal with ask too many questions that are not relevant to the transaction. After 15 minutes of scrutiney from a different country they tell me sorry we are not going to do the transaction!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst People I have ever delt with”

Written on: 10/04/2017 by Sooner93 (1 review written)

I sent money with money gram and my buddy ended not needing the money so I called and canceled the transaction. Their policy states that I would be refunded between 3-10 days. I have been waiting for three weeks and have not received any money back. I call everyday and get the same answer it should be there tomorrow. Then when tomorrow comes it with be tomorrow again. I can't seem to talk to anyone who really speaks English. This is the worst experience I have ever have and as of today I still haven't received my money. I will never use their service again. I would cautions anyone from putting their faith and finances in their hands.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“like everybody else got all my info use them only once...”

Written on: 05/04/2017 by GregoryPatterson78 (1 review written)

like everybody else got all my info use them only once online and then block the account. there are doing fraud with our personal informations. that is why they need ssn birthday etc. there are a bunch of people running in the same problem. when i ask them why i can't use my acc on line they say that they dont have an answer. unbelievable. when u send money inside a location they don't ask for ssn birthday etc. please somebody got to do somethig about it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“A complete waste of time and effort”

Written on: 11/03/2017 by Marissaa430 (1 review written)

I urgently needed to send money to my son in China. I completed the transaction and received an email confirmation that the money had reached its destination. Not so!! I phoned them to ask why my son could not access his money and was told that the transaction had been cancelled due to their security team "not being comfortable with it", whatever that means. This is the first time I have used Moneygram and it will be the last.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst company ever”

Written on: 03/03/2017 by Raymond188 (1 review written)

I have never used this service prior to today. I called, asked how long it would take for the recipient to get the money. I was told ten minutes. It cost me almost $100 to send the money. I called the recipient to say it had been sent. It was crucial to get the money there right away. I explained to the person I dealt with on my end, who I was sending it to and why. Gave ID, names addresses, etc. 45 minutes later it was still not available to this person. I called the office, which by the way is of course, in the Philippines. Unfortunately, I have to deal with any company who's call centre is in the Philippines and been pleased with the service. I again had to answer the series of questions then was told the money was available to the recipient. WRONG. They lied (big surprise there). I called again, and had to go thru the same song and dance. I have zero tolerance for incompetence or stupidity. I made the person stay on the phone until I got confirmation from the recipient that the money had finally been received (in hand)... 2 HOURS later. Both of us had better things to do. So, when I finally had more time, I called to complain. I told the person that answered the phone I wanted to speak to a manager that understood and spoke fluent English. I was tsf'd to a person claiming to be a supervisor. This person had all kinds of background noises going on (people talking, etc). I asked if he had an office..."yes we have a corporate office" Huh? What part of "Office" did you hear "corporate" from? I knew it wasn't going to go well. It didn't, I was done very quickly with that stupidity (English.... I pressed 1 for English.... so put me thru to someone that speaks/understand fluent English, WTH). I hung up called back told the agent I wanted to be put thru to someone in the US or Canada. She tsf'd me, the person answered and hung up. I called back. Repeated what I wanted. Was told "I can help you"... Did you miss what I said? If you want to help me, then listen to my request. Simple right? Not for them. Finally I got this person to tsf me.... but where did she transfer me? Nicaragua! What? This person did nothing but run her mouth off, lie and and make her self sound incredibly stupid. Not to mention she was utterly incapable of answering answering a question. Had I had a wee bit more time to research this option, I would NEVER have used them. I will never use them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STICK WITH WESTERN UNION...”

Written on: 22/07/2016 by Augustusc326 (1 review written)

Will never use again!!!! Transaction was delayed causing missed bus AND train!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST COMPANY EVER”

Written on: 28/12/2015 by qoSullivan114 (1 review written)

They don't even deserve one star. WORST COMPANY EVER! They let a fraudulent person take funds without a reference number. Talked to customer service and didn't help resolve the issue at all. Worst customer service ever and unsecure company. WARNING don't use them ever to send money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Moneygram Stole Christmas ”

Written on: 23/12/2015 by UnhappyMoneygram (1 review written)

Sent four transactions to Africa on Dec 19. Only one went through. Called Moneygram and was passed from person to person without the problem being solved. Moneygram then said problem was with their system and can only be solved on Jan 06 2016. Therefore three families relaying on that money will no have no food thanks to Moneygram. AM USING WESTERN UNION FROM NOW ON.!!!! Moneygram is a disgraceful and unsympathetic company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They are horrible”

Written on: 13/12/2015 by Carrgn1972 (1 review written)

They ask more questions than the Department of Defense just to send money, after over 15 questions they tell you "your identity could not be verified" WHAT? And they do not tell you what question you got wrong...they are stupid, will NEVER try to use their services again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Thugs and idiots”

Written on: 29/11/2015 by tombinga (1 review written)

Never did like Moneygram but their rates were cheaper, I got what I paid for. First, you must always deal with some one over the phone, unless you use internet -- but the limits there are hassles and deterrents. Sent recent transfer overseas, the recipient went to pick it up. Even though his name matched and he had the reference number and amount -- Moneygram's agent accused him of cheating, detained him under security guards most of the day, took his identification documents. Reason -- I had left off the middle name! When I got the international phone call about the problem, I called Moneygram's 1-800 # and was told to go to agent -- which means I go to store and talk to them on phone there. They couldn't add the middle name on the phone. Went to an agent, and talked to Moneygram on the PHONE from there, and was told that this could have been done on the phone at home! It is not worth the hassle to save $2. I am going back to Western Union.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST EXPERIENCE EVER”

Written on: 22/11/2015 by AngryMom86 (1 review written)

These people are ridiculous, not only did they hold my money (a large amount) for 3 days denying a refund but the Money Gram agents ( 5 of the 8 that I spoke with) were extremely rude, I was even told to shut up and listen at one point. Me and my children were forced to sleep in a car, stranded in a city where it is 20 degrees outside for 2 days while waiting for our money. No empathy, horrible customer service, very unorganized. I give them -7 stars.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Transfer of funds”

Written on: 01/11/2015 by DaniaCarson (1 review written)

This is my second time using this service and both times I have had issues. I don't usually write reviews but this service is horrible. I do not recommend using this service if you have an alternative option your best bet is to use another service. HORRIBLE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“SLOW TRANSFER- NOT TRUE TO THEIR STATEMENT 24 hours...”

Written on: 29/10/2015 by concernedconsumer2015 (1 review written)

I transfered money to my mother in the Philippines and on the agent's store it has a note there "transfer will be received within 24hours". I transfered the money since Saturday, 24 October but until now its already 29th October the money is still not credited on my mother's bank account. This is very disappointing especially that my family need the money immediately for a very urgent purpose. Not just for shopping or leisure. I called the customer service 2 times already and both of them promise that the money will be available the next day yet it wasnt. I send an email to the customer service and this is their reply: We are sorry for the delay in responding to your request. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience Funds are deposited into receiver's bank account same day (if sent out during business days, before 11am Manila time) or next business day Funds are available immediately after funds are deposited. Best regards, Transaction Due Diligence Analyst I Isn't this a very inconsistent process. What a shame holding my money for a very urgent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful online service”

Written on: 22/09/2015 by cxMoran210 (1 review written)

Declined my transaction even though I provided all the information they needed. DO NOT WASTE TIME. Calling customer service is also NO HELP

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview