Ecotricity www.ecotricity.co.uk Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
52% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ecotricity www.ecotricity.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Ecotricity www.ecotricity.co.uk

Ecotricity www.ecotricity.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Written on: 28/07/2022 by Wileyok201 (1 review written)

GAS SUPPLY: In February I was notified by email that I requested to switch my gas service to another company. I immediately called Ecotricity and told them that this was not the case. During this time I found out that someone else near me who had the same street address but a different post code had used my post code. The only reason I found out was because all of a sudden I was getting this persons gas bill for the other company. Long story short, I received an email yesterday stating that they had resolved the issue and I owed them almost 500 pounds. Your telling me that since March 1st I have used that much gas which would be a 62 percent increase since last year, no way!! Yes, I was paying my electric bill during this time. I am going to pay my gas bill, but after 31 August they will NO LONGER get my MONEY!! This company has the WORST customer service and they will NOT help you and expect for you to figure out why this happened. Take my advice and AVOID this company and there HIGH rates!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“As a landlord we have been with virtually all the...”

Written on: 14/04/2019 by BloomsburyLettings (1 review written)

As a landlord we have been with virtually all the suppliers over the years. As a result we know the ins and outs. The most reliable is Ecotricity. We now automatically put all new properties on Ecotricity gas and electricity. They are by far the most honest energy provider I have dealt with which saves us time and trouble. They also have no bigboss skimming profits off the top and they are the most green and sustainable company which gets more and more important every day now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Totally AWFUL”

Written on: 08/04/2019 by AvaDaniels (1 review written)

Totally AWFUL customer service. Totally AWFUL tarriffs. Many better green energy suppliers out there - don't bother with these guys and their clueless representatives and administration. We moved into a property that was supplied by Ecotricity. They took 3 months to send us a bill, and when it arrived it was astronomical. We have since had uncountable phone calls, nearly always with a new rep every time, and 2 months on they have still failed to put us on the most economical tarriff - no-one is taking responsibilty for our case and we can't swtich suppliers till it's sorted. We call them every other day as despite our case being 'critical priority', no-one ever calls us except the payments dept!!! I'm appalled at the fact no-one there seems to know why we're on such an awful rate and why it took them so long to send us the first bill. Horrendous.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“A breath of fresh air...”

Written on: 28/01/2017 by daveinbrum (7 reviews written)

Having suffered generally appalling service from some of the 'big' providers (British Gas and npower, I'm looking at you), Ecotricity make a welcome change. Instead of automated phone menus or confusing web forms, you can phone them and speak to a real person or send them an email, and you generally get a fast and helpful response. Their strong environmental credentials and reasonable prices are a bonus. I would urge anyone with a big-name supplier to consider moving, and if you do, you could do a lot worse than Ecotricity.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful company they send bills to elderly people who...”

Written on: 26/01/2017 by beAtkinson15 (1 review written)

Awful company they send bills to elderly people who don't have their electricity from them. When you phone the company- which took 12 minutes to get an answer you are spoken to like you are a fool and they don't listen. It's amazing how they contradict themselves throughout the conservation. Do not use them and definitely do not use them for elderly or vulnerable people who can't speak up for themselves

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadfull customer service!”

Written on: 06/08/2016 by VALENTINE85 (1 review written)

Threatening emails and letters when you owe £5 in areas but wont refund you the credit your in on other months. Spoke to a supervisor who also agreed that the letters emails and texts that customers receive are not customer friendly, but with feedback given was just ignored. I would not recommend this company to anyone they are the worst company I have ever been with. If your looking for a good company for gas and electric and want to be treated with the respect you deserve as a customer stay clear of ECOTRICITY. THEY ALSO DECIDE HOW MUCH YOU SHOULD PAY MONTHLY ON THE PREVIOUS YEAR RATINGS SO IF YOU HAVE JUST MOVED IN, GOOD LUCK GETTING A GOOD DEAL. DISGUSTING SERVICE FROM SO CALL SUPERVISORS FEEL SORRY FOR THE CALL CENTRE STAFF AS THE3R JOB MUST BE FULL OF UPSET AND MISTREATED CUSTOMERS.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Ignoring us completely”

Written on: 21/10/2015 by MelissaOwen316 (1 review written)

I work for a Housing Association and we had new tenants move into homes supplied by ecotricity in April 2015. Despite sending an email with meter readings, then an email with the name of the tenants, then another email with meter readings and names of the tenants, and then again, then a letter, then documents proving properties handed over from contractor to us; all sent over a 3 months period, we are still being sent the bills for the electricity. Please get your act together and send the bills to the tenants!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“great service”

Written on: 24/08/2014 by O'Reilly484 (1 review written)

I switched to ecotricity from British gas, there customer service has been great with calls being answered immediately. I also used their twitter support who where friendly and efficient. I can't complain about anything to do with ecotricity but do which they had some services the bigger companies have such as being able to top up pay as you go metres from home. There prices I found to also be the cheapest around making them a great company to use and worth switching to.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“stay away”

Written on: 02/07/2014 by JacquelineWilkinson (1 review written)

the worst company ever. i just move in to new flat and ask tchem to send me a new gas card. it tooks them over two weeks to send a new one. they took me off the gas for this time. every second day i give them another call and card alwas been on the way. most of the time they were suprissed they supply gas to my property. Rubish. stay away. you have to spell every single word to them if you speak to o fast they can put details to computer

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Realms of fantasy or Ecotricity estimated bills”

Written on: 17/06/2014 by Robles155 (1 review written)

Ecotricity's billing system is apparently hard-wired to estimate your usage based on prior consumption at your property. So bad luck if you're a single person living in a property last occupied by a large family who stayed home all day, or you're just making the effort to use less electricity for the sake of the planet or your wallet; Ecotricity will just keep billing you the same. That's likely to be at least twice what you owe but probably a bit on top of that for good measure. So not so environmentally or consumer friendly after all...If you complain, they'll offer you a regular monthly payment - of twice your monthly consumption. Or ask you to read your own meter and send them the details every time so that they can withdraw their massively inflated bill and issue you (at the third time of asking) with one that actually has some relation to reality. After all, why would an electricity supply company actually bother to get your meter read when they can just issue a fantasy bill instead? Little short of scandalous. AVOID.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Best customer service!”

Written on: 25/04/2014 by McCormack487 (1 review written)

Having been an ecotrocity customer for a few years and had nothing but amazing service, I recently moved house and expected to have a hassle to change back supply to ecotrocity at my new property. However the people at ecotrocity were all so helpful and informative and made the whole process pain free! Such a uniquely wonderful company. And now cheaper than other suppliers too!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic customer service”

Written on: 22/04/2014 by fortonbear (1 review written)

I initially thought my switch was going to be a disappointment - there was a delay in dealing with my query. However, the response came back apologising for the delay, advising how busy they were with all the new customers joining them & that not only had they introduced a temporary out of hours service for their prepayament customers, they were shortly hoping to offer longer opening hours to all of their customers, to ensure quicker response times & availability outside of usual office hours, for those of us who work. Can't wait & thank you.:)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Customer service.....what customrr service?”

Written on: 23/02/2014 by Sammy1605 (1 review written)

I had everything sorted for a switch. I followed all the instructions I was given and for some reason ended up with no electric supply. Ok just a simple case of giving them a call right? Wrong! They obviously only deem emergency's to happen Monday to Friday 9 till 5. Had no emergency number or contact details and could do nothing. Happened in the morning too so a long sunday with no power, no use cooker to feed my child. No supply to my boiler to keep us warm. Food in fridge and freezer ruined (which has cost more than my saving by switching) would not recommend and will be switching back as soon as I am able.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“changed from scottish power”

Written on: 11/01/2014 by s..temp (1 review written)

I can only say that there customer service is non existent at weekends because I am on a key meter I have to top up with a key unfortunately when I first topped up my key I forgot to register key first I topped up put in meter and it didn't work I had no electric with a toddler there was nothing I could do I rang Scottish power and they was incredibly helpful I managed to top up again with them I wish they had a number to phone at weekends

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“in the dark ages re a modern customers expectations ”

Written on: 05/12/2013 by hostelgirl (8 reviews written)

I switched to this provider, Ecotricity electricity and Gasfrom Atlantic earlier this year and so far have not had a great experience. I swapped because i wanted a more environmentally friendly choice and customer service where you are not constantly sales pitched services at every opportunity. Yes it has been an eco friendly choice and the prices are not dissimilar to what i was paying before. I have been greatly disappointed with the customer service side of things though. The first main difference is that you do not have access to an online account so you either have to phone or use emails.To someone who is used to this convenience, it seems in the dark ages not to have one. I tried to phone once with the number it gives as an alternative to the 0845 and after afew rings it disconnected so i had to use it anyway! I have been with them nearly a year now and swapped for my electric and gas at the same time but it is only this quarter they have managed to sync my bills even though i swapped at the same time! On one occasion an email took over 2 weeks to be resolved and had to be passed to a "customer service champion" (who did resolve it). The latest disappointment for me was when having overpaid this week, i asked for some of this to be refunded to me and i was told it would take 10 days. With other companies i have been with (Atlantic, Npower etc, even BT for phones) this has only ever taken 3 - 5 working days so why so long with this company? When i switched to Ecotricity, i was torn between them and Good Energy but now i am wondering whether they would have been a better bet. I do not think i will be with them that much longer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Just switched, impressed so far”

Written on: 04/12/2013

Just switched to ecotricity after deciding to switch suppliers. Not the cheapest out there, but no more expensive than previous supplier. I am all in favour of green energy, and can't fault their customer service and helpfulness. very pleasant to speak to a person over the phone instead of an auotmated machine or foreign call centre. Will be with them forever now, but should hopefully cut my bills when I get solar panels next year :-)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Green, great service and cheaper than major supliers”

Written on: 11/11/2013 by Dorota80 (1 review written)

I've been using ecotricity's energy for a number of years and recently switched to their green gas as well. I am really happy with their service, price and simple tarif descriptions. I would defintely recommend them to a friend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“bill”

Written on: 14/03/2013

Paid by phone and when bank statement arrived on a friday the money had been taken out twice on the same day. Had to wait till monday before I could phone and complain. Good job I wasnt overdrawn!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very happy with the service”

Written on: 28/04/2012 by revvie (2 reviews written)

I switched to Ecotricity two years ago as I liked the concept of supporting new renewable energy directly with a company that is taking action. Their customer service has been excellent, no issues with billing and the switch went smoothly from my previous supplier. I am happy to recommend Ecotricity as they are reasonably priced and you can actually talk to someone easily if you do have an issue.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ethical company with great customer service”

Written on: 16/07/2011 by Tree23 (1 review written)

They don't offer the cheapest tarrif available, but they invest their profits back into developing new sources of renewable energy and increase the proportion of their energy supplied renewable sources year on year. They send you annual progress reports, so you can see where your money has been spent. Their customer service seems to be pretty good as well. They recently wrote to me to inform me they were reducing my bills, because I'd built up credit on my account. All in all, I feel good about where my money is going!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview