Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID Harlow Autocentre”

Written on: 15/11/2019

AVOID Harlow Halfords Autocentre. Harlow Halfords Autocentre. I took my car to this garage to replace my brake discs and pads. They then contacted me to say the wishbone arms needed replacing (£243.88) I refused this as needed the car ASAP to get it back to another garage for it's MOT retest. A few days later I booked my car into a local garage to get the wishbone arms replaced and after dropping the car off they called and said the wishbone arms were fine and didn't need replacing at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not only dangerous but with very poor service too!”

Written on: 10/11/2019 by 92Trev (2 reviews written)

Autocenter Sutton: Rubbish,They damaged my car said `tuff that's your problem!!` you can`t prove we did that!! I Never use they again!! I recommend save your hard earned money and go elsewhere for better quality and service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of time, effort and money”

Written on: 02/07/2019 by Brooke326 (1 review written)

Expect the absolute minimum effort to meet a customers requirements, to be professional or to deliver what their in store ads promise. 'Experts' in stores provide inaccurate/conflicting information. Halfords staff often don't return your calls when you leave a message should you have queries. You could literally walk in with money to burn on their overpriced goods, Halfords will supply infinitesimal opportunity or enthusiasm for you to make any substantial purchase. Stick to very basic… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away from Halfords Auto Centre Harrow!”

Written on: 08/06/2019 by Roselynt271 (1 review written)

I booked an online major service for my Mercedes ML320 with Halfords Auto Centres after finding a website with you saying that it was a viable alternative to the Mercedes dealerships. I dropped my car off this morning at 8.30 (08/0619) and was told the service would take about 4 hours. I also asked the person who I met (turns out this was the manager) if it would be possible for them to fit a replacement indicator for my wing mirror which I had already purchased from Mercedes, I was told that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“shocking”

Written on: 20/04/2019 by leslieleech (1 review written)

Took out a service plan @ Halford's (Blackburn branch) I am going to cancel it when the bank is open. After being told I need a number to use my plan I took my plan with me when I went to pick it up (as they tried to charge me again) and was told again I need a number, eventually they agreed I had a plan. I drove my car home and noticed the external temperature reading was stuck at 36 degrees and a few weeks later lots of alarms on the dash board came up, so I took the car back and after… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Pretty poor customer service”

Written on: 15/03/2019 by ShavedApe (2 reviews written)

We paid for windscreen chip repair, looks no different than before, the guy that did it couldn't even be bothered to come and see us when we collected. Left a dirty mark on the screen. You would think he would of at least cleaned up after himself. We also bought a childs car seat where it clearly shows in store free fitting and advice. I went to the counter to ask about the seat she said "which one is it because we don't have them all in stock". I said I dont know its one of the ones on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Canceling appointment a few hours before”

Written on: 08/03/2019 by Gael475 (1 review written)

Warwick centre is terrible. The person I dealt with is rude and cancelling appointments hours before the booking. Had MOT booked but he just cancel it few hours before. Also had a booking for tire change but when I went there they couldn't do balancing as scheduled, had to cancel again. I will never use Warwick Halfords… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish attitude Halfords crewe”

Written on: 21/12/2018 by Katess (1 review written)

Ordered a bike to be picked up today, arrived to pick the bike up (which was supposedly assembled) it turned up in bits in a box. I asked why it was in a box, they said I'd ordered it that way which I 100% didnt. I double checked when ordering it would be assembled.. Manager wasn't any help at all & said bike could be assembled but after Christmas, the point of getting the bike was for an Xmas present… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid ”

Written on: 29/08/2018 by JimK2018 (1 review written)

After buying an old car I put it in for a Halfords "Major Service" 2 days later smoke billowed out of the car. The breakdown guy told me there was no way my car had been serviced and when I took to the local garage he confirmed. He replaced clearly old sparkplugs, worn rubber pipes and the fan belt. He gave me a comprehensive list of things missed including an oil and radiator leak, disconnected turbo and more disturbingly a missing bolt from the power steering. The oil was also filthy. Even… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bike knowledge”

Written on: 02/02/2018 by Tmac599 (1 review written)

I visited my local Halfords in Enfield as I was interested in a road bike. My budget is £1000 and I was looking at the Boardman range . I asked for some help in understand more details of the specifications. The manager had no idea on what was on the bike and asked a younger member of staff for his advice. He too had no idea !!! What a shambles how can you sell bikes for a £1000 and not have a clue of the frame size, gears, brakes ,tyres etc . Shocking really !!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Servicing Service”

Written on: 06/01/2018 by Gisselle204 (1 review written)

Leeds York Road Halfords. I used them for the first time today, dropped the car off at 08:30 as requested. No one rang me to let me know my car was ready. When I rang at 17:00, I was told they had been too busy to ring me. My car had in fact been ready since 13:00 hrs. I could have done something useful instead of sitting around waiting for a non-existent call. When I checked the service log book, the mileage had been written as 28,000, next service due 29,000. My mileage was in fact 23,849. If… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I Paid £700 for a full service & cam belt change but...”

Written on: 21/12/2017 by RubenScott320 (1 review written)

I Paid £700 for a full service & cam belt change but they could/would not give me a detailed check-list of what was done. They said "we don't do em no more". Rang head office who seemed sympathetic, but that was weeks ago and outcome nill. How can I know what needs doing ? So now I must get a proper garage to do it properly. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely Poor !”

Written on: 12/12/2017

Avoid Halfords Auto Centre Dover at all costs ! Will promise you the world when you book your car in for repair. We had an engine management light showing. After plugging it in their diagnostics machine, they advised us to take our car to the main dealer as they did not want to continue with finding and fixing the problem. They could not give a specific answer what the problem was and said it could be the oil pump. The car was taken to our nearest main dealer who diagnosed the problem which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“6 words describe the work done for £690.”

Written on: 18/11/2017 by TrentSimmons1985 (1 review written)

Booked my car in a for a full service and a full cam belt & water pump replacement plus all the ancillaries at Folkestone in Kent. I expected a full check list of what was done and a written warranty. All I got was a receipt for the hard earned money. When I phoned and asked for a breakdown - I was told we don't do em no more. Customer service confirmed this and said my complaint would be passed on - no reply, statement of work done - nothing - still waiting. I don't know yet if the work was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst garage ever”

Written on: 14/11/2017 by Xxxxx11111 (1 review written)

Took my car to halfords north bridge doncaster for mot, after about hour was told it had failed, steering rack gator split, it would be £179.00. I thought that I had no choices when it came to mot so booked for following Friday, repair and retest. When I got home I googled price of gator and found it was £8.70, so rang a garage I had used few years before and asked how much to fit new gator, they said £53.00 and I had them mot it, so total was £93. I rang halfords and told them, he sounded… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NOT A CLUE ”

Written on: 08/11/2017 by Mickoco (1 review written)

Unbelievably bad.when I arrived a couple were having an argument with the LAD behind the counter ( not a good start )Our Car wouldn't start so spark plugs replaced.still wouldn't start .suspected fuel contaminated? ,daughter adamant right fuel was put in ,Halford staff confident it would rectify the problem so fuel system was cleaned total price £360.collected the car it wouldn't START !.Then told no petrol in it .Petrol put in still wouldn't start.Demanded a refund .Two other customers in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“battery fault”

Written on: 27/10/2017 by NeveahMcKinnon102 (1 review written)

after driving 300 miles to devon i stayed at a hotel where i didnt need the car for 2 days when i tried to start the car the battery was flat and i had to buy another one on returning home i took the battery back to halfords chrystal peaks sheffied and explained the battery would not hold it charge ,18 month left on warranty the battery was tested and i was told it was ok it just wanted chargeing for 24 hours ,i explained even when charged it went flat after 2 days .iwas then told nothing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor quality service”

Written on: 28/09/2017 by rippedoffbeware (1 review written)

Concerning Darlington, Woodland Road Halfords for MOT. Always keep you waiting for no discernible reason before completing paperwork. Told failed MOT and needed brake work, cost of £750 (apparently reduced).Collected car and had only failed on headlight aim (which they could have rectified). As the brakes were a red flag I had them replaced at a cost of £320. Returned car for re-MOT. Kept waiting again as man on reception apparently busy elsewhere. Told by one of mechanics they were too busy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shambolic service”

Written on: 15/09/2017 by juliet.mercer (1 review written)

I went to Halfords Blackpool store to buy a car radio. I asked for advice on the radios on display and was told they were all very much the same. No mention was made that I could have a DAB radio fitted in my car which is what I would have chosen had I known. I booked in for the radio to be fitted. The fitter confirmed my in car phone was still working. On discovering that my phone wasn't working since the radio was fitted I telephoned Halfords and asked if I needed to book in again for it to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Car problem free, took for an not, wouldn't start...”

Written on: 12/09/2017 by ArmaniLindsey495 (1 review written)

Took it local for mot , have no problem starting it , went to drive it away and it wouldn't start, I mentioned that it can't be the battery as I had a new one 8months ago, they said it was the starter motor, and now I have to pay £170. Am I right to be suspicious? In any other industry you wouldn't be blamed for thinking you were being taken in. one guy said the brushes in the starter motor don't work when the car is hot...its stone cold now and still ain't going anywhere. The staff were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview