Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely Poor !”

Written on: 12/12/2017

Avoid Halfords Auto Centre Dover at all costs ! Will promise you the world when you book your car in for repair. We had an engine management light showing. After plugging it in their diagnostics machine, they advised us to take our car to the main dealer as they did not want to continue with finding and fixing the problem. They could not give a specific answer what the problem was and said it could be the oil pump. The car was taken to our nearest main dealer who diagnosed the problem which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“faulty bulb”

Written on: 06/12/2017 by Simon160109 (1 review written)

Given good advice about type of bulb for my car and then fitted by Halfords… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“4 new tyres”

Written on: 01/12/2017 by Emilioa7 (1 review written)

If you got a lot of time to spare Halfords is for you but not for me booked online for 4new Tyres thought this be quickest way to go gave me a time of 3.30 got there at 3.15 took them 1h45m to change 4tryes don't get a job at quick- fit lads your never last the pace.Used Halfords poole Ringwood road… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“6 words describe the work done for £690.”

Written on: 18/11/2017 by TrentSimmons1985 (1 review written)

Booked my car in a for a full service and a full cam belt & water pump replacement plus all the ancillaries at Folkestone in Kent. I expected a full check list of what was done and a written warranty. All I got was a receipt for the hard earned money. When I phoned and asked for a breakdown - I was told we don't do em no more. Customer service confirmed this and said my complaint would be passed on - no reply, statement of work done - nothing - still waiting. I don't know yet if the work was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst garage ever”

Written on: 14/11/2017 by Xxxxx11111 (1 review written)

Took my car to halfords north bridge doncaster for mot, after about hour was told it had failed, steering rack gator split, it would be £179.00. I thought that I had no choices when it came to mot so booked for following Friday, repair and retest. When I got home I googled price of gator and found it was £8.70, so rang a garage I had used few years before and asked how much to fit new gator, they said £53.00 and I had them mot it, so total was £93. I rang halfords and told them, he sounded… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NOT A CLUE ”

Written on: 08/11/2017 by Mickoco (1 review written)

Unbelievably bad.when I arrived a couple were having an argument with the LAD behind the counter ( not a good start )Our Car wouldn't start so spark plugs replaced.still wouldn't start .suspected fuel contaminated? ,daughter adamant right fuel was put in ,Halford staff confident it would rectify the problem so fuel system was cleaned total price £360.collected the car it wouldn't START !.Then told no petrol in it .Petrol put in still wouldn't start.Demanded a refund .Two other customers in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“battery fault”

Written on: 27/10/2017 by NeveahMcKinnon102 (1 review written)

after driving 300 miles to devon i stayed at a hotel where i didnt need the car for 2 days when i tried to start the car the battery was flat and i had to buy another one on returning home i took the battery back to halfords chrystal peaks sheffied and explained the battery would not hold it charge ,18 month left on warranty the battery was tested and i was told it was ok it just wanted chargeing for 24 hours ,i explained even when charged it went flat after 2 days .iwas then told nothing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor quality service”

Written on: 28/09/2017 by rippedoffbeware (1 review written)

Concerning Darlington, Woodland Road Halfords for MOT. Always keep you waiting for no discernible reason before completing paperwork. Told failed MOT and needed brake work, cost of £750 (apparently reduced).Collected car and had only failed on headlight aim (which they could have rectified). As the brakes were a red flag I had them replaced at a cost of £320. Returned car for re-MOT. Kept waiting again as man on reception apparently busy elsewhere. Told by one of mechanics they were too busy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shambolic service”

Written on: 15/09/2017 by juliet.mercer (1 review written)

I went to Halfords Blackpool store to buy a car radio. I asked for advice on the radios on display and was told they were all very much the same. No mention was made that I could have a DAB radio fitted in my car which is what I would have chosen had I known. I booked in for the radio to be fitted. The fitter confirmed my in car phone was still working. On discovering that my phone wasn't working since the radio was fitted I telephoned Halfords and asked if I needed to book in again for it to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Care ,Attitude , & Knowledge”

Written on: 14/09/2017 by KadinRice (1 review written)

Halfords at squires gate Blackpool handled a very complex & difficult job of having my sat nav wired in my BMW which was already wired up with the parrot system & my phone.All staff were extremely efficient & friendly. I really would have no hesitation in recommending them . They were excellent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Car problem free, took for an not, wouldn't start...”

Written on: 12/09/2017 by ArmaniLindsey495 (1 review written)

Took it local for mot , have no problem starting it , went to drive it away and it wouldn't start, I mentioned that it can't be the battery as I had a new one 8months ago, they said it was the starter motor, and now I have to pay £170. Am I right to be suspicious? In any other industry you wouldn't be blamed for thinking you were being taken in. one guy said the brushes in the starter motor don't work when the car is hot...its stone cold now and still ain't going anywhere. The staff were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful staff and work”

Written on: 10/09/2017 by Lesliet18 (1 review written)

I left a very good condition car for service, charged me 500gbp saying breaks are gone. After service break lights are not working, annoying sound from dashboard, got three appointments and on every appointment they refused to look saying the don't have staff. Still waiting for the fix… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“mot re test”

Written on: 06/09/2017 by jjWentworth290 (1 review written)

i booked mot at halfords and asked was there a charge for re test and i was told twice there is no charge so when the car fialed mot the quote for the work was close to 200 pnds i thought this exsesive for pads and discs ang head light bulb so i took the car to a nother garage and the price was 110 pnds 85pnds cheaper if you the phone to have re test and i was told there would be a charge of 17pnds 50p so beware if u dont pay theyer high prices u will be charged a re test fee the garage is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad service with two cars”

Written on: 05/09/2017 by Scrillopad123 (1 review written)

Serviced my insignia left halfords and lights flashing they did not fill the radiator had to go back. Then took the CElica in and had a bill for work that needed doing cost of 579.00 took it to another garage and all the jobs done for 238.64 they should be inspected by rogue trader on watchdog… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad car service”

Written on: 03/09/2017 by Scrillopad123 (1 review written)

Worst garage to take your car they don't even do the work you've paid for. Had a bill for work needed doing at567.00 took it to another garage had everything done for 227 00 pounds . they should be on rogue traders on watchdog… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad Mechanics”

Written on: 03/09/2017 by Searsmf1977 (1 review written)

I took my car to Halfords in Dartford for the first time to replace the drivers side brake caliper. The new caliper was fitted and I drove off thinking a great job done. It was until a week or so later I noticed the brake pedal needed pressing further down to brake. That said I took the car to an MOT station to check the brakes. When the car was lifted in to the air the MOT inspector noticed that the brake fluid cable leading to the new caliper which was fitted by Halfords of Dartford was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great value & service”

Written on: 18/08/2017 by Ayers240 (1 review written)

You can always rely on Halfords to give good and fair customer service and remain competitive. I would rather give my custom to local stores and my decision is based on how highly I rate the customer service and convenience. I like the flexibility of being able to click and collect then drop by to the store in a hour to collect. I also like the opening hours which makes shopping more convenient to me as a shift worker… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AFTER SALES SHAMBLES”

Written on: 10/08/2017 by seanw44 (1 review written)

Took my son's mountine bike back to Halfords Durham where it was purchased from for it's annual service. The bike had been used about a dozen times in 12 months due to health reasons, but still they said it needed a new chain at £ 18 and a gear clean at £15. When I rang the next day to ask if the bike was ready I was told it was and I could collect it. Sadly when I got there the bike had never been touched and I had to wait over an hour with the staff telling me to go next door (Asda)for a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“VERY EXPENSIVE, OVERPRICED!!”

Written on: 09/08/2017 by Roxy1313p (1 review written)

WE DECIDED TO USE HALFORDS TO CARRY OUT AN MOT AS THEY WERE OFFERING HALF PRICE MOT! THEY FORGOT TO MENTION THAT THEY OFFER HALF PRICE MOT BUT IF THE CAR FAILS ITS MOT THEY CHARGE ANOTHER £15 FOR A RE-MOT WHICH MAJORITY OF GARAGES DO FOR FREE IF THE VEHICLE FAILS AND YOU TAKE IT BACK FOR A RE-MOT WITHIN 10 WORKING DAYS. NOT TO MENTION WHEN WE RECIEVED THE MOT FAILURE AND ADVISIORIES HOW OVER PRICED AND EXPENSIVE IT WAS TO REPAIR. DISSAPOINTED TO FIND THEY FAILED TO NOTIFY CUSTOMERS THAT… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“required assistance to start my car”

Written on: 02/08/2017 by TFotheringham (1 review written)

Upon attending Halfords at Halbeath ,Dunfermline store for car parts,I returned to my car outside the main door to find that my car battery was requiring a boost to start the engine. I went back to the store for assistance but the salesman said the supervisor said their jump leads were too light for a 2 and a half litre car and they could not help . My wife and I waited for one and a half hours until we could get a family member to help. My wife and I are both in our 70s,and I am disabled. My… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview