Halfords Reviews - halfords.com

Click here if this is your business
Halfords Reviews - halfords.com
★★☆☆☆
1.7
17.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords Reviews - halfords.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords Reviews - halfords.com

Latest Reviews

“STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Marshall51a on 18/02/2024

STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS !! STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS !!! My van failed its MOT on a leaking shock absorber. No front sidelights when ignition was on . Changed the faulty shock with a brand new one professionally fitted . Was told there was nothing wrong with the sidelights by my mechanic. So went for a retest , the MOT tester called me into the garage . Told me he was going to fail again as front sidelights still not working . When he switched to sidelights with ignition on I noticed the DRL's lights came on instead . Tried to explain my 2017 caddy had always been the same . At which point his manager stepped in the garage and had a right go at me for being in there , when it was his Tester that called me in . So I lost my cool , took my van and left . After this I lost out on three days wages until I could hire a van at £350 . When I had time I went to see a citygate VW technician. He explained the sidelight are 5w and only work when ignition is off . They are just parking lights in essence. That the DRL lights are 21w so take over from the front sidelights when ignition is on as they are brighter . So my van was failed for no reason . Have tried to complain . Knowone has ever bothered to get back to me . So I lost out on around £1000 cash . Still have to gey my van MOT on Monday elsewhere . DO NOT USE THESE ILL-INFORMED MOT TESTERS THEY HAVE NO CLUE AS TO WHAT THEY ARE DOING !!! While I was at their garage another customer a lady was having similar problems . Her vehicle failed , so she had the work done by another garage . Then they failed her on something else on her retest . Date of experience: 31 January 2024

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Paint”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tuckerbw354 on 14/02/2024

I bought paint dedicated to my car, it was the third can. However, it was a bad mixture with too little pigment content. I sprayed over half a can to make sure the color was incorrect, but the Halford store did not exchange it for a new correct one because they said I had sprayed too much. I proved on the spot that the color was incorrect and the content I delivered was nearly 30% of the can. Customer service stated otherwise and did not let me spray out the entire contents to prove it. I do not recommend purchasing paints dedicated to cars, unless they allow you to test on a white card to confirm that the mixture is correct. A huge waste of time and shame for Halford, hence the negative review.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Halfords Autocentre Bearsden”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Douglas261 on 06/02/2024

Pre booked and paid for an MOT on 5/2/24. Arrived at the time to be told no MOT’s as the internet was down. I was asked to leave my number to re arrange for later in the day as this was the only day I could take the car before the MOT expired. I was then phoned a few minutes later and told a piece of equipment was broken so no MOTs at all that day. No empathy or compassion for my situation. I phoned Halfords customer service and was offered another Autocentre much further away, out of desperation I accepted and was told I’d receive a phone call back to confirm. I was never called back and so didn’t get an MOT. I emailed the customer resolution team about this experience and so far I’ve received no reply! I conclude from my experience that Halfords don’t care about their customers or resolving their problems. They’ve lost me as a customer, they don’t deserve my money. I’d advise anyone else to avoid Halfords to save yourself the stress and hassle I experienced.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Don't order Tyres online , they take your money”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jimosullivan on 05/02/2024

I don't normally leave reviews but feel the need. 26th Jan I order 4 tyres for my X5. I was emailed a few days latter via email to be told they only had 2 of the tyres I wanted. I replied to the email with no reply from Halfords. Phone them to get a South African call centre and was told they didn't have the Tyres. The order was cancelled on The 29th January in the morning. Thant afternoon they then took £345 for tyres they didn't have on a cancelled order. I have raised a case with Paypal and today I used a phone number given to me front a Halford Garage to complain only to get the same person in South Africa I spoke to on the 29th Jan.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolute joke”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ste20061 on 30/01/2024

I purchased a car battery with a 5 years warranty but failed well within the warranty period so I took it back to the Walsall shop as thats where It was purchased from only to be told that they would not honour the warranty he refused point blank to tell me the reason even is battery tester said that the battery was faulty and needs to be replaced they then tried to tell there was a problem with the car but being a mechanic I have done every test possible all pointing to a faulty battery the customer service is an absolute disgrace I have shopped with Halfords for a long time but will not be going back as they will do anything not to work they stand around talking avoiding customers THEY ONLY EMPLY CHILDREN WHO DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT VEHICLES AND THE AND THE PRODUCTS THEY ARE SELLING ABSOLUTE DISGRACE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Halfords Milton Keynes Auto Centre”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Adriel181 on 23/01/2024

I am having Halfords Premium Motoring membership, therefore, booked MOT, interim service and front 2 tyres replacement over 60 days in advance with the advice Halfords store staff at Milton Keynes. When I arrived to the auto centre, informed service can't be done due to hybrid engineer not available. Also, the tires can't be replaced because no indication in Halfords auto centre system. I have raised few questions to staff who deal on my case. 1. I understand, hybrid engineer not available which is why service can't be carried out. This should be informed me before I arrive to the auto centre. No response from the staff member. 2. I booked MOT, Service and Tyres replacement appointment from Halfords store in Milton Keynes, could you please call and find why tyres replacement request not showing in auto centre system. The response received from auto centre staff, it is not my job to contact the store what went wrong. 3. Without an hybrid engineer how you will carry out MOT. Also, front 2 tyres are expected to be replaced. If not replaced, automatically the MOT will be failed. The response received from auto centre staff, you're rude not interested to continue further conversation. No respect to customer and zero life time retention value. Halfords Premium Motoring Membership is a sham. I am going to report my experience over to FCA

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Terrible service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 21/01/2024

Reading/ tilehurst garage Went to this garage to have 2 tyres replaced and the tracking done. It took 3 days to get my car back and they didn’t even get the tracking done. So dropped the car off on a Tuesday morning at 7.45 got a call about lunchtime saying i needed 2 new tyres and it was too late to get them delivered today so would have to wait until tomorrow.now I’m self employed I don’t get paid for days off. The next day I waited for a update until lunchtime and phoned them apparently they couldn’t get the locking wheel nut undone and they have to get someone in to do this as they can’t do it and it won’t be until the next day another day off I’m fuming by now. The next day waited for an update and phoned them again about lunchtime and told there just finished another job and I’m next so should be done in a couple of hours I waited nothing so after 3 hours I walked down there which is 2 miles away and it still wasn’t ready. I waited for at least half an hour finally i was told they had done the tyres but haven’t done the tracking. The reason the car was in the garage was the tyres were completely bold on the outside because the tracking was out. Now I’m really angry after a lot of shouting they booked me in for the Saturday at 12.30 and are going to do it for free. So take the car home in the dark and drive the 45 miles to work the next day in the dark by the time I get there it’s light I have a look at the wheels and there’s a nut missing from each tyre I could not believe that they didn’t replace the nuts or even tell me. Go down there Saturday and they say that they can’t do it as the ramp isn’t free if you leave it with them they will try and get it done but no guarantee. That was the last straw phoned there complaints department and waiting for them to get back to me but I’m not holding my breath. I am a returning customer and I have been very happy with the service I received before but this time has been the worst experience I’ve ever had. Absolutely shocking. My wife’s car was in a different garage and she mentioned my experience to them and he said they were getting a lot of Halfords customers in after they had bad experiences. That pretty much sums it up Here’s my case number from customer service 22195898 spoke to them a couple of days ago. Said there get back to me, still waiting! Update Had communication with customer service via emails and eventually got the car booked in at a different Halfords garage in Reading had a appointment made by customer service for 11.30 turn up and are told they could not do but might have time if I leave the car. I told customer service l can’t leave the car. Another complete balls up this time customer service. Date of experience: 13 January 2024

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful attitude and refused appointment ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Massey420 on 13/01/2024

Appointment was at 8.30am for mot and service. Paid in full previously. Arrived 7 minutes late due to road closure and they refused to take the car. Have used garage for years but never again. Awful, and staff attitudes were terrible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Halfords autocenter fit at home don't bbuy any tyres...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Pankaj12345 on 09/01/2024

i got. new tyer from halford on 19th nov 2023 and was using. in week 1 day for only asda shopping on 23 dec 2023the tyre got flat when i was driving on M25. I call breakdown cover guy to chnage sparewheel. I did call Halfords later. they sent person and he check the tyre. telling tyre from internally distroyed i ask. to replace he. didn't. they can't there is. no warrany from halfords it. is from manufecture. so they can't replace. they are. selling defective tyre stll. they can't. replace it.now they are. tellin. they will send to the. manufecture and if. they say manufecture issue. then only will refund. don't buy from them they are. not. treating well cutomer defective tyre not used in 1 month. and still. theuy can't replace. it it was not expensive near £90 still. they can't. replace.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“terrible service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ninoelene on 28/12/2023

Took the car for servicing paid over £800 asked them to repair whatever needs to be done , car still makes awful noise Also, asked to do MOT after they will repair everything They said MOT failed, asked me to pay about over £100 to repair it but said not sure if thats what is wrong Basically wanted to get as much money as possible from me , took the car to the other garage next day and it passed MOT will never take my car there again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Wellingborough branch ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AdaO'Leary on 26/11/2023

Awfull manager and experience. Very poor do not buy car battery and expect the. To honer the warranty they do not its their discretion. Battery wouldn't start van had van checked halfords garage and was told by mechanic it is the battery.took to store to be told battery is OK. They are a joke better off going orbit or kwickfit

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“poor customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by vakteesh on 25/10/2023

I went to the Enfield branch for some parts for a bike and some help, also with a view to buying a bike in the next two weeks. The assistant seemed to not want to talk to me. He avoided engaging with me properly by giving curt and unhelpful responses, waving vaguely in the direction of some products while walking away. I needed advice and help and the assistant did not offer any proper customer service. Then he gave me a sarcastic 'have a nice day' from twenty yards away as I was leaving, having bought nothing. I will not be buying anything from Halfords.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“£15 MOT retest ???”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Pete33550 on 11/10/2023

So, front lower ball joint dust covers deteriorated and failed MOT. The dust covers cost £6.40. As Halfords wanted to replace half the car at a cost of £900, I did it myself at a leisurely pace in less than 2 hours. Then the £15 retest ! The retest booking was for 12.40 hrs; very precise and I thought that was a dedicated appointment. On the day, pressed for time, I enquired if I could be fitted in earlier. I was told that all retests are based on “drop off and leave it with us” but as only one tester was working then there were no guarantees. I may have formed the wrong impression but it seems to me that not only do Halfords come up with the most expensive repair solutions for MOT work they also have little interest in accommodating £15 MOT retests for those who wisely chose not to rely on their services for such repairs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“AVOID At All Costs”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kalamazookid on 11/10/2023

AVOID at all costs. My appointment was at 0830. Due to London traffic I arrived 6mins late. I then waited a couple of minutes to be seen, at which point I said, "Hi sorry I'm a little late, I have an MOT booked for 0830". The manager said, "Not anymore you don't. You've missed your slot." I questioned this, highlighting the new set of roadworks on Gunnersbury lane, and I was only 9mins late (at this point). He said if I had been 5minutes late that would have been okay, but 10minutes late he has to reschedule. I mentioned that I had been waiting for a couple of minutes and that my MOT was expiring today. He didn't care. The next appointment would be a week later. I will NEVER use Halfords again and strongly advise others to avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Truly terrible”

★☆☆☆☆

written by VickiMc on 09/10/2023

Truly terrible Not worth one star. Awful place, no customer service, I asked for advice, didn't get it, just a shrug, as the bored Halfords person was keen to move on to next customers. Ended up wasting my money on something I couldn't use. Unable to even contact Halfords to discuss, no reply to emails... such a shame, as a cyclist (& motorist) I have always shopped there, will have to find somewhere else in future.(DUMFRIES STORE) Not only this, they REMOVED my review from their website, rather than address the problems.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Halfords know I am autistic and have mental health...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JScotchford on 26/09/2023

Halfords know I am autistic and have mental health struggles on top due to trauma, hence the reason a bicycle was so critical to my well being. However for more than one year they have left my complaints unresolved and it is still dragging on to this day. I first complained officially on 21 June 2022, it is now 25 September 2023 and still not resolved. I purchased a bicycle from them and the moment I got it there was a weird clicking noise. I then kept having problems but their mechanical staff further messed it up with botched repairs 3 more times. The manager of my now closed local store Dagenham Merrilands was terrible and declined to put it right, in which I asked for a refund. I was then fobbed off repeatedly by their complaints team that a regional manager would be in touch. This went on all last year into this year. I had to scrap that bike in the end as it was unusable, I had to plod along for months upon months with that faulty bike . I have been tricked of money and use of bike and have no bike now. To do this to a healthy customer is bad enough but to do it to an autistic person with health problems who cannot drive and relied on a bike for mental relief is truly cruel. What the hell is wrong with this company? I offered proof of everything including my disability, health problems and trauma events. I have called customer services, tried online chat, sent numerous emails but still nothing. The customer services team pass internally to complaints but even they apparently cannot contact them direct other than internal message. The complaints team then fob off that regional manager will contact me, heard it more than a dozen times. Disgusting company, you know who I am so do not bother with standard response to this that you are disappointed with my experience and to contact customer services as I have done this repeatedly. It is an unaccountable loop that openly discriminates against disabled and vulnerable people. Maybe they think we cannot fight back that is why they try their luck? I gave them a chance for a long time to put this right before this review, should have done it last year.  Case reference 16942048 —————————————————— UPDATE 1: Ffion on Halfords Head Office review I left on Google claims I had contact ‘last few days’. I did my upteenth call a week ago, was told I would get a call back ‘within 24 hours’. Never happened. After few days I tried online chat, apparently they could do nothing. So I called customer services yet again, heard same rubbish I have for well over a year. Then get email, I respond, nothing since. Then we get Ffion wheeled out on reviews page to save face and appear concerned and that things are in motion. Ffion as a face of this robbing, disability discriminating company, why are you not in direct contact with the most senior people? —————————————————— UPDATE 2: I have been offered a £30 voucher for a loss of hundreds of pounds, complaining since June 2022 and for contempt and dismissal of me as a disabled person! What planet are this company on? Utter disgrace. This needs to be put right or next stage will be 24 hour a day protest outside their UK head office and broadcast across all social media platforms. This is not just about me now but how they are clearly robbing and treating disabled people. I will have to become a voice for their disabled victims. Hopefully they will not under estimate me as I defeated a major public authority for the same. Up to you Halfords…..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“JOKE OF A COMPANY”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tasha_x0x on 15/09/2023

DO NOT use this company i left my car with halford to be repaired after they damaged the vehicle. I have been trying to contact them for month to get this sorted and I have now just received a letter to say my car has been impounded as they have left it down a random road. I left my vehicle in their possession. This is an absolute joke. Halford are possible the worse company ever!!. STAY AWAY

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Take payment for non-existent services”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 14/09/2023

I booked and paid for an MOT test three months in advance. Today when I turned up at the service centre they told me they'd tried to call me this morning to let me know they no longer do MOTs. The centre is a former National Tyres taken over by Halfords and they haven't done MOTs for months. This left me with an MOT expiring tomorrow and the next available test nearby isn't until next week. Their customer service centre took two hours to call me back and only offered a refund of the discounted price I'd paid with no compensation for loss of use of my vehicle or the costs of taxis and transport until I can get an MOT. Pay cheap, pay twice. Never again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Shocking awful no respect unbelievably BAD ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by McQueen189 on 13/09/2023

Just awful treatment, shockingly bad no respect for customers, absolutely disgusting service receptionist hasn't a Notion regarding her "job" , would Not recommend you as a company ever . Pathetic excuse for a company

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Installed a dashcam and caused a leak”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Shocked21 on 12/09/2023

I took my car to Halfords in Penarth Road Cardiff in May 2021 to have a dash cam fitted.I know it's almost 2 and a half years ago now but the car was recently MOTd and serviced and I was advised of water ingression in the boot area.It now appears whoever installed the rear dash cam pierced a rubber boot to thread wiring through it and this has now caused a leak which has only just been discovered.It is going to cost over £750 plus VAT just for the new part without labour charges to fit it.My local garage could not believe it when I told them it was Halfords who had fitted the dashcam;they thought I had done it myself and botched the job.Unfortunately I do not have the receipt after all this time but will speak to Trading Standards to see if Halfords can be held responsible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Minxy129 on 10th March 2016 Report this content
Hi, I have a Peugeot 207 on a 10 plate, I noticed my coolant level is slightly below the minimum, what type do I need? Have I done any damage driving it like this? I noticed the temp gauge isn't rising... eek? Is this the reason?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Linda73 on 6th January 2016 Report this content
I have Halfords roof bars on my Citroen Xsara Picasso which I need to remove as I don't use them. The car came with the roof bars already attached. Are there instructions anywhere to show me what to do? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Amritkaurk on 7th December 2015 Report this content
On the Apollo Childrens fire chief bike, how to u fit the 9v battery inside the speaker? What is the purpose of the small black rectangular piece of plastic inside it? It seems to be taking up a lot of space and I cannot close the megaphone after fitting the battery.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by dsmackay on 15th July 2015 Report this content
I am looking to get a major service done on my BMW 325i M Sport. Halfords Autocentre have quoted around the £300 mark. Is Halfords Autocentre reliable enough to complete this sufficiently for such a low price?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content GFUNK20 Written on: 15/07/2015
I used them a couple of times at the Loughborough branch I found that they did not complete everything on the service checklist and witnessed them driving my car like racers, also many comments of poor service on many review sites personally I wouldn't trust them.
Report this content deeprespect Written on: 15/07/2015
Yeah I try to stay away from big chains... I can however recommend gilbertsforbmws. Although I haven't had a service done from him but have had other stuff fixed by him and he's great.
Report this content shass Written on: 15/07/2015
I have had a couple of dealings with Halfords. The latest being an air conditioning service and recharge. I would state that It was completely unsatisfactory. Work that was stated would be carried out was not. They ignored the time slot given. They said they would call me on my mobile number given when it was completed. They 'forgot'. The air conditioning worked for four hours. I took it back and they quoted a small fortune to strip and repair. My local garage has now got it working fine. Halfords are rubbish. Read some of the dodgy service reviews here.
Report this content Audiallroad Written on: 15/07/2015
Do not take any car to halfrauds in my experience they are incompetant useless and dishonest.  I wouldn't trust this outfit to push my car let alone lift the bonnet. Steer clear my friend steer well clear.
Report this content jobesss Written on: 15/07/2015
Don't go to the big fish. You will end up paying more. They charge a ridiculous labour charge. I have done a repair in my corsa. They have changed (hope so) the driver side front suspension mount (or bush) and it cost me £200!!! And also replaced with a faulty front wiper for £20. i don't believe their service checklist and quality assurance check. Never ever go to halfords . Do it in a local garage. They are always very very cheaper and friendly.
Report this content NannyJojo Written on: 15/07/2015
I would say absolutely not!! If they can mess up a fiat panda which meant not having the vehicle for 2 months then I'd avoid at all costs! They are appalling and have a reputation for shoddy workmanship!
Report this content dcleach070667 Written on: 15/07/2015
HI there, Don't touch them with a barge pole.I took my Audi 2.0 fsi in for a major service, having never had problems. When I collected The car I drove up The road and the oil light immediately came on.Took it back, they said it is not our fault etc,these things happen,they agreed to have a look again. cut a long story short they said they had replaced a bonnet catch,oil sensors, etc,no joy.They said I would need a new oil pump (devastated is an under-statement). They had my car for 4 days.By this stage I had serious doubts about them ,and took my Audi to my local dealership for a second opinion.Bearing in mind they had also told me I needed new brake discs,pads,tyres.I asked Audi to do a full health check on my car for ?65.00.They told me my car was in excellent mechanical condition,breaks discs,pads,we're all in good condition over 8 millimeters on all pads,only 2 tyres would need changing for my next Mot (3 millimeters). They told me there was nothing wrong with my oil pump, a fuse had been removed from my fuse box.Audi replaced this fuse free of charge.You draw your own conclusions where this fuse went. fuming I went back demanding to know why a fuse had gone missing. Apparently they can become dislodged, very convenient, the oil pump with labour Halfords quoted me £1,200.They also charged me for gassing a leaking air conditioning system, I asked why they would gas a leaking system given the strict laws governing CFCs being released in to the atmosphere, no explanation, basically I had paid for nothing with no proof they had gassed it.I forgot to ask Audi to check it,being so concerned about the oil pump and potential bill. In my opinion they saw
Report this content dsmackay Written on: 16/07/2015
Thanks All. I think I've heard enough to warrant not using them. Heard nothing but bad reviews. Come to think of it, I remember (albeit that it was a halfords shop) them struggling to change a lightbulb last time. Think I'll steer clear.
See All Answers
Asked by pepsicat on 23rd June 2015 Report this content
Does anybody know what the weight of the womens Carrera crossfire 2 2014 model, 20 inch frame is? I can't seem to find it in the specifications on the website. Thanks!

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Jezza9 on 1st February 2015 Report this content
If my car fails its MOT on minor things like bulbs etc, will Halfords fix them there and then and do a re test some day? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content michelle562569 Written on: 02/02/2015
Halfords are renowned for failing cars on a lot of stuff that shouldn't fail especially brakes. They do this so you get your car fixed with them. My son had his car mot'd with them and basically condemned the car. Some of the stuff they failed it on we knew were ok so we paid for another mot at a local garage and the only thing wrong was a new tyre. The work halfords failed on they quoted £1600 for the repairs. So although halfords offer half price mots it isn't worth it as they will fail it n stuff that shouldn't fail. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. We reported them to trading standards and they have had loads of complaints about the same thing.
Report this content Jazzfizzcat Written on: 02/02/2015
Yes, they are Good on the minor things, like bulbs etc, however, be very cautious on anything else my experience of their recommendations is the work on the other items was shoddy, expensive and a waste of time, my suggestion would be go somewhere else..
Report this content oowmygawd Written on: 02/02/2015
I had a similar problem at my local Halfords, My vehicle needed a new indicator bulb, they consulted me as I was waiting in reception, fixed the problem at cost of part and I came away with an MOT. However, I cannot speak for other Halfords branches.
Report this content Mailsajid2000 Written on: 02/02/2015
MOT and Service for £139 is just a bait. They normally do MOT first and then service. This gives them enough opportunity to fail you and mint money out of you. They will fail you for silly reasons which is not even a problem at first place. But the bottom line is, once you are in then you will NOT have any escape route. Better to avoid Halfords.
Report this content britishconsumer Written on: 02/02/2015
You didnt say who failed your car in the first place. If it was Halfords, then if you allow them to correct the points of failures, then obviously they would pass your car eventually. If it was another test station that failed your car, than personally I would have the same test station to correct the points of failures.
Report this content Photomic Written on: 03/02/2015
I have a Citroen C8 which had blown headlight bulb. Went to Halfords to get it changed. "Oh yes we can do it for you". The guy started working on the car. 45 mins later, after he had joined by three other Halfords "engineers", they gave up. At least they did not charge for the greasy bulb. I drove to the main dealer. Their service guy said "clock me when I do it". Two minutes and 37 seconds later the bulb was fixed. This took place in 2013, I doubt that anything has changed since.
See All Answers
Asked by jamie123perry on 15th February 2014 Report this content
How much does it cost to put air in my air forks on my mountain bike? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content brakenoodle Written on: 17/02/2014
I can't speak for other bike shops or mechanics but I suggest you do it yourself because it is so simple. A standard tube pump will not do the job so you will need an air fork pump with a low loss valve head/adapter and pressure gauge. This type of pump can be had for under £20 and is always useful for topping up your forks or playing with the pressures to get them right for your weight and rising style. For the price of getting shop to do it, you can buy your own pump. Enjoy!
Report this content luckynegi Written on: 23/12/2014
I can't speak for other bike shops or mechanics but I suggest you do it yourself because it is so simple. A standard tube pump will not do the
overview