BT Vision V Box Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
25% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Features

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
BT Vision V Box - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for BT Vision V Box

BT Vision V Box
BT Vision V Box
BT Vision V Box
BT Vision V Box

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“ bt total [email protected]~T cant wait to cancel”

Written on: 05/09/2014 by gosportgeaser (1 review written)

crashes and freeze constantly, what RUBBISH software cant wait to go back to Sky

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BT Vision Opinion? Cant swear in public!!”

Written on: 28/06/2014 by 488Madden (1 review written)

Total rubbish, Sinc constantly out so bad can't watch the programme , box has crashed several times. Don't want to swear in public as it makes my blood boil but this service isn't fit for purpose worse decision I ever made going to BT.Can't wait to cancel the lot in a few months feel robbed by BT paying for a load of @#i$te. On infinity but even this doesn't stop the TV freezing or crashing. Don't recommend the service.Do so at your own peril!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute rubbish”

Written on: 09/03/2014 by Sweeneyix14 (1 review written)

Dont't bother getting bt vision its an absolute nightmare. It takes forever to actually come on!! & try to change a channel at your peril because once you have managed to get to the channel you want to watch chances are the programme will have ended it takes that long... Waste your money on sky instead at least it works like something from this century!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Not all services”

Written on: 06/12/2013

There is no Bollywood,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Frankly, It's Rubbish”

Written on: 31/10/2013

After being with Sky for about a year, my father decided to switch back to BT Vision due to it being cheaper and us having Netflix as well. Oh boy, what a terrible decision he has made BT Vision is the worst possible TV service you can ask for. The layout is completely awful, looking incredibly bland and dull. You pretty much just get freeview with a few extra channels, and the On Demand service contains pretty much nothing worth watching, especially if you have a Netflix account. Say what you like about Sky being expensive, but at least you get your money's worth. I say, you're better off getting any other service than this pile of mammoth dung.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Colourwave's Comment

Written on: 18/11/2013

Completely agree, my smart TV has more functionality and HD channels (and it is not a new one)... A complete waste of money.. thankfully my 12 months is up and sky was reinstalled today.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“BT Sport has added further imcompedence to BT Vision”

Written on: 18/09/2013

As bad as it gets. Don't go there until they get their act together.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ctnelson's Comment

Written on: 28/10/2013

Stuck with a BT contract and use BT vision as little as possible. The interface is poor and hard to read, and the BT vision box keeps rebooting itself.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Raymond75's Comment

Written on: 09/11/2013

have you ever wished you could turn the clock back,Iv,e just joined B T and it,s the worst thing I have ever done

Picture is rubbish -have been charged for films I haven,t watched

spent an hour no "phone trying to change Pin No

Roll on next year so I can dump them

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“You get what you pay for in subscription TV”

Written on: 15/09/2013

I had been with Sky for around 15 years and in that time the service got better and better but the cost got higher and higher. Sky customer service was always very good but I felt that the cost was becoming prohibitive. I looked at Virgin Media and BT and concluded that BT would be by far the cheaper option. From paying nearly £80 a month for Sky, then £42 for BT line + infinity, I could receive an entire service for less than £60. That said, you can understand why the disparity in cost. Sky is all singing all dancing, BT is an invalid in comparison. There is a very limited quantity of channels, the free films seem to be all disney back catalogue from the 80's and 90's (and not the classic Disney films either)! HD has sound issues with interruptions or loss of sound throughout the programme. I not rent Netflix at £5.99 a month to supplement the service and am still pocketing savings of £60 a month. In conclusion, if you are not really into Sport or Movies and are happy to be one step up from Freeview, then BT is to be considered. If not, do not touch the service with a barge-pole!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst service ever !!!”

Written on: 27/08/2013 by Rai-Rai1010 (1 review written)

Bt vision is the worst service ever !!! Had 2 boxes so far both turn themselves off !! Both freeze ... Customer service is also rubbish !! Try and upgrade n turns your whole tv black then the box gives up n turns off making u restart upgrade !!! Bt I want my money back !! NEVER USE BT AGAIN !!! Back to sky it is !! Bt if u want to bring software and equipment out then make sure it works without any faults before asking customers to part with money !!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Recently upgraded? Bt vision”

Written on: 22/08/2013 by andycomben (1 review written)

My vision plus box has been recently upgraded. This means that when I fast forward on recorded programmes, my choice is now limited to times 2 8 15 30 etc. how quick do u have to be to catch times 8. Also you can't press the play during playback to see how far through you are and finally when the Chanel banner is displayed in a colour that is hard to read you get a huge pause icon in the middle of the screen. Just another thought where has the on screen keypad gone when searching

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute rubbish”

Written on: 20/08/2013 by Watzizname (1 review written)

I chose bt vision last year and although it was ok I mainly signed up for the fast Internet. Bt have recently updated their services and now it is totally rubbish, the menus are hard to follow and they have now begun to charge to watch programmes on catch up, if for example you want to watch last nights episode of coronation street they will charge you £1.10 for the privelidge. Absolute rip off, would not sign up with them and am in the process of changing to another provider, that's if I can get though to them to cancel, since the update I have not been able to watch a movie on box office and have tried ringing them numerous times and you just go round and round in circles listening to automated recordings. Bt very poor service, very poor customer services, absolute rubbish. No stars out of 10. I've had to give it one star otherwise it wouldn't of let me proceed. Nil stars!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not fit for purpose. > B.T are totally out of their depth.”

Written on: 03/08/2013 by JohnBuryStEdmunds (3 reviews written)

Joining BT Vision was one of the worst decisions that I have ever made. Second rate equipment, constant re-booting, non-existent customer service,no ideas on improving service quality, endless queuing, "we are very busy at the moment". Until you get so frustrated that you terminate the call, or even worse after ten minutes waiting, they cut you off, and you have to start again. I was then conned when BT lost Sky Sports and they offered me free Broadband for six months in compensation, conveniently forgetting to add that it would extend my contract. I cannot get cable, so it will be back to SKY. B.T. are totally out of their depth.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bt black humax box utter rubbish along with cust service”

Written on: 31/07/2013 by Wbird37 (1 review written)

Not worked since we took out contact, 2 engineer visits, numerous telephone calls, endless queuing on the phone, people with poor language skills. Have never come across such a poor service in my life. Eventually googled their complaints code and spoke to an advisor, then insisted on speaking to a manager - then promised a new box after more endless waiting on the phone. Only to be told there were technical problems with their system and the order could not be placed immediately! Watch this space to see if promised box arrives, if not I will be writing a letter of complaint recorded delivery with a view to complaining to the ombudsman if bt can't resolve a simple problem. Basically under the sale of goods act this box is not fit for purpose. Wouldn't bother with email - it took them 2 weeks to respond I did get a refund of £10 but this in no way whatsoever compensates for the dire service. Make a note of all communication Read the BT complaints code and follow that Final redress ombudsman And let Bt know it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Could be much improved”

Written on: 20/06/2013 by DaveCheltenham (1 review written)

The final straw was the fan noise, more than any of the other boxes I have and coming on about every 10 minutes for around 4 minutes. I am still fortunate to have acute hearing which is a disadvantage in this case with 2 boxes over 3 days; the length my contract lasted before cancellation. This is a shame as it all could be much better. The first box needed 2 factory resets before I received most of the Freeview (see later) channels and had to change the aerial configuration from that which on all the other Freeview devices around the house. I asked the BT Engineer who came with the second box on day 3 about this and a poor RF front end has been a problem. It may be obvious but as well as an IPTV receiver, it is NOT a Freeview one and has its own propriety Guide where the only option is to extend the initial end time by 5 minutes. I did not have the boxes long enough to see how well or not this worked. SD picture quality via HDMI wasn’t bad but not as good as on my Freeview Panasonic TV or Humax PVR. The 4 HD channels (851 – 854) seem to be provided via IPTV so I assume the box does not decode MPEG4. These were OK but again not as good as my Freeview Panasonic TV or Humax PVR. Picture quality on the IPTV SD channels was poor and akin to VHS. The 2 BT Sport HD test channels were much better but not up to good HD quality. SuperHD from Netflix shows what can be done in this respect. All in all for the saga, I was about 2 hours on the phone to BT being cut off 3 times and it was only Sean in customer options who saved the day and cancelled my contract. Before this, the line was I cannot cancel the contract/reject the box for a noisy fan and would only be allowed to try the YouView box version if I paid £299 so that is the end of BT Vision. On a bright BT note, I have had BT Infinity 2 installed with a good Openreach modem and BT Home Hub 4 router. I give 5 Stars for this service. Hope this helps and if anyone from BT reads this, please take note.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Yes - The BT Vision Box is that bad!”

Written on: 23/05/2013 by stevejs1 (1 review written)

I received my Vision+ Box yesterday and immediately plugged it in - setup was easy and I was quite pleased until I started using it. The menu system and EPG is so awful - all the bad things mentioned in these reviews are true - the interface must have been designed pre-Apple who showed the rest of the market that technology could be good to use. I have had Sky+ and Youview before and these are both streets ahead on usability. Next, the Video quality is bad - my TV looks excellent on its built in Freeview - brilliant on hd and great on sd - change to the Vision box and everything is slightly fuzzy, with shimmering around any fast movement. Maybe if I hadn't experience the TV's own Freeview first I would accept these quality problems - but there is no way I am going to use now it as it stands. Adjusting the TV video color and sharpness settings for the hdmi input has improved the picture a little but it's still nowhere as good as the built in tuner - and why no Freeview HD channels. After a 1 hour 15 minute phone call to BT they have agreed to swap it for a YouView box - I know the user interface on this is far-far better and I am just hoping the quality of video will also be good.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute rubbish service”

Written on: 19/05/2013

Signed up for bt vision and broadband, engineer duly arrived to install. He informed me that he had only been instructed to install bt vision and off he went, taking my personal broadband router with him. After spending the rest of the day on the I got no where, sent 4 emails to customer services and finally got a reply, another appointment was made to have vision installed, I stayed in all day and no engineer arrived, again after many emails customer services contacted me, I had had enough by now and canceled and was told I would have a full refund,instead of refunding my money they took even more !! Then a week later I had a card thru letter box saying an engineer had called to install vision but I was out !! The next I got a pre paid bag in the post, I presume to send my vision box back in although there is no letter or anything to say, I have since emailed customer services again and told them when I get my monie back I will send there box back. Stay well clear of this diabolical company and service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not join- money robbing!”

Written on: 18/05/2013

We had been with BT for just under a year when our BT box started going wrong due to a software update. After about 5hours of sitting on the phone with them attempting to help us to reboot the system it still didn't work! BT wanted to send out an engineer to assess the box but advised if they find itis a problem with the wiring we would need to pay a charge of £100 for the pleasure (from what I have read on forums the bt engineers found that it was in fact problems with wiring 99% of the time-funny that) We decided to cancel bt instead of risking getting an unnecessary £100 charge as we were moving out of the property 3weeks later, however were advised that the tv would be cancelled but we have to pay a £93 disconnection charge for the Internet as that was on a 18 month contract when we had only agreed to a 12? 2months on since we left the property we are still arguing with them, as we have received about 4 bills from them asking for money from us as 'the system' hadn't cancelled the contract when we phoned up and they are not willing to pay a refund even though we haven't been living in the property and due to something that was THEIR error! Bottom Line DO NOT go with BT, they take ridiculous amounts of money from the customer instead of admitting when something is their fault and accepting blame. Their customer service has a lot to be desired, and none of the call centres seem to be UK based therefore it was difficult to get a straight, knowledgable and honest answer out of anyone. Stick to virgin or sky if you ask me

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of time and money”

Written on: 13/05/2013

Bt vision worked well for a year but shortly after renewing my contract the catch up stopped working completely. Now it works on very occassionally preferring to freeze avery few seconds. Sometimes it stops completely and the box has to re load. After hours on the phone to Bt and an engineer being sent round I am no further forward. No one seems to attempt to understand the complaint and no one offers a solution. The last guy said it was because of the upgrading that is about to happen but should this have been going on for over a month. I have spent hours on the phone and find it difficult to hear what the call centres are saying because of poor accents and crackly lines. Surely a communications business can communicate better than this!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TOTAL RUBBISH”

Written on: 12/05/2013

I have had the latest BT vision package for 5 days. It has crashed for the last time during a series I was watching it took 10 minutes to re boot. I am cancelling the service and returning to Virgin or Sky. It would not turn on yesterday until I had removed the power lead and attempted to power up 3 times whilst holding on the phone to BT's International call centre who just follow instructions on screen. They insist on sending an engineer out not understanding that I would have to take the day off in order to wait in for them. Very disappointed with BT. I have Broadband option 3 with phone and TV It is cheaper than Virgin and Sky but I will pay extra for a more tried and trusted service (Sky) which I had for 16 years until I moved. I wish I had read reviews if I had I would not have purchased the contract.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Great Service”

Written on: 28/04/2013

Had BT Vision for some time and yes a few bugs but mostly sorted and didnt spoil the viewing! Have now upgraded to extra channels and for £15/month and can honestly say I think it is really worth it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute Obsolesent Rubbish”

Written on: 27/04/2013 by slippets (1 review written)

Owner of this rubbish box for 2 years, just getting rid to move to another provider including telephone and broadband. If the box did not freeze ( green screen ) or had to be re-booted several times a day ( 10 minute re-boot ) usually when a good program was on then there was a problem! The hardware is very slow, transition from screen to screen is a frustrating pain. Sometimes scheduled recordings just did not record. Utter Rubbish, thats what will be returned in their recyling bag!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview