Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.1 / 5
55% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric

Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric
Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric
Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric
Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric
Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“screw it !”

Written on: 14/08/2012

ok for crunching branches but as soon as anything green goes down it just jams up and has to be taken apart to declog..wonderful!just bought spare blades for the 20 year old rotary shredder..at least that only takes a few secs to declog it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Madras1234's Comment

Written on: 02/09/2012

I have used one of these for several years and although i agree it's not good with anything green, it's excellent for 'woody' material and the spiral shredder draws the branches through with no effort. But don't even think about trying to put leaves through it (unless they are still attached to the branch, in which case the seem generally to pull through ok). I've not had to dismantle mine to clear it, but if it does clog it can be a slow process to get it to take/feed a decent sized twig/small branch to un-clog its system

A bit like us, it digests better with some roughage - feed it 'junk' and it'll soon get constipated!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worked for Three Seconds”

Written on: 29/05/2012 by Sido (1 review written)

I had to deal with a severely overgrown Leylandi and Laurel hedge. I soon discovered that disposal of that waste, which I could not burn on my stove, was my biggest problem. I bought the Bosch from B&Q after seeing a similar machine gobble up half an ornamental tree on You Tube - the video seemed quite genuine, home made and convincing. The box it came in implied it could handle wood of a diameter of up to 35mm. I assembled the machine according to the instructions and plugged it in to test it. I tried a small branch of the Leylandi that was lying on the floor closest to me. The machine failed and overloaded after 3 seconds. I measured the diameter of the branch I had put in and it was 22mm. An under performance of just over one third. To add insult to injury their is no cut out reset. It does it by itself seemingly. This one reset after about 3 minutes. - I am returning it to B & Q.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Very slow to shred a load of cuttings, keeps getting...”

Written on: 17/01/2012 by paultyl (1 review written)

Very slow to shred a load of cuttings, keeps getting bunged up, will not cut the thickness it says and after doing not a lot of work has now packed up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Load of rubbish”

Written on: 26/12/2011 by lynntilling (1 review written)

we used it twice did not cut the thickness specified and kept jamming up B&Q would not refund our money or give us an upgrade even though it was still under two year warranty we will not be buying another Bosch product

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ ”

Written on: 07/03/2011


Its light, it has a two year warranty and easy to change the blade.
Not very noisy and cheap to buy, what more do you want?
Tips
Dont overdo the soft stuff,clean after use,stand it in one of those
bulk bags to catch the chippings.
Read Fred the shed web site

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I've used various shredders over the years and have...”

Written on: 10/04/2010 by atkinson19 (2 reviews written)

I've used various shredders over the years and have come to the conclusion that to have a shredder that will "do all" is impossible unless you pay thousands. My solution is to have both the AXT 2000 with the spiral cutter and the AXT 2000 rapid. Hard material in the first and soft in the second. I never let anyone else feed the machines except me and so all is fine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have had this shredder for two years now, and I...”

Written on: 11/10/2009 by northernscot (1 review written)

I have had this shredder for two years now, and I think it is one of the best on the market.

The two previous models were disc shredders which are cheaper but useless.

This machine uses a spiral cutting machanism which deals with most shredding with ease and aplomb.

I was surprised to read reports of dismantling the machine, and it makes me wonder if the reviewer was talking about the same machine, as dismantling is an almost houly occurrence on disc shredders.

To sum up, if you need a shredder, you will struggle to find a better shredder on the market than the Bosch AXT 2000HP.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric is a very clever...”

Written on: 31/05/2009 by famdean (1 review written)

This Bosch AXT 2000 HP 200w Electric is a very clever machine. If it detects you have more than five leaves per pruning then the automatic clogging mechanism operates within minutes! in the hope it will clear itself you might try putting put a couple of larger leaf-free pieces in. Unfortunately at this stage these usually go in the top but with nothing coming out the bottom! Then you're really in trouble! The only way to clear it is to dismantle the whole darn thing (3 times so far this year). Only bought it last year but have wasted so much time trying to make it work for more than a few minutes by removing most of the leaves, alternating types of wood, thickness of cutting etc. leaving prunings to dry out first etc. I have now given up. I am going to take it up the tip with the next lot of prunings.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“The adverts for the Bosch AXT quite clearly state the...”

Written on: 06/05/2009 by bomberone (3 reviews written)

The adverts for the Bosch AXT quite clearly state the waste will be 'ready for composting' and 'material is ideal for rapid composting'. This could barely be less accurate. The waste comes out in approx 25mm long pieces which, with anything over 5mm will take AGES to compost... Doesn't perform at all well with leaves either so its just a method of compacting small branches- This product is not fit for purpose so am returning mine

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“If you have a mixture of dry and green material that...”

Written on: 24/08/2008 by nuay (1 review written)

If you have a mixture of dry and green material that you can alternate then the Bosch AXT 2000 may be satisfactory but for green material on its own it's hopeless!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE - Bosch AXT 2000 - looking at...”

Written on: 21/08/2008 by davetownbob (1 review written)

DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE - Bosch AXT 2000 - looking at the other comments I seem to not be the only one! I have tried to contact Bosh, still waiting for reply.

Up until now I have always recommended buying a good make, sorry to say that Bosh no longer makes the grade for me.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“The actual machine would be great if the spiral held...”

Written on: 17/08/2008

The actual machine would be great if the spiral held up. I would suggest only shredding cuttings of half the quoted size. Now left with the decision to scrap the machine or take a chance on a replacement spiral. Bought from new 6 months ago, so considering the short usage, cost and effort involved, a skip for the cuttings would have worked out cheaper for me.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I have loved being able to shred my waste instantly....”

Written on: 15/06/2008 by gilj (2 reviews written)

I have loved being able to shred my waste instantly. Very frustrated now it is not working. The screw blade looks chipped to me

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I had to replace two spirals on my Bosch AXT 2000 HP...”

Written on: 11/06/2008 by number one (1 review written)

I had to replace two spirals on my Bosch AXT 2000 HP in two years @ £100 each.
Both damaged by joints on 10mm twigs!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I would recommend this mulcher to anyone, even with...”

Written on: 10/03/2008 by Tim2525 (1 review written)

I would recommend this mulcher to anyone, even with palm fronds, as 99% of palm fronds only cause us annoyance by falling on the ground, when they are reasonably dry and hard.
My 2 units went under water up over the motors during recent floods and I am in contact with BOSCH Aust. and I am waiting on a reply to find a Supplier of this unit so that I can purchase another 2.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“General design is dubious - relies on a screw thread...”

Written on: 21/07/2007 by Mike Shearer (1 review written)

General design is dubious - relies on a screw thread with sharpened edges to chop material, then has a rotating cutter supposedly to clear any material that hasn't chopped. Screw thread works fine on dry brittle material, just mashes soft and fibrous stuff, which the rotating cutter fails to clear. I've disassembled my machine three times to clear it, and have tried to fix the rotating cutter to do the job it appears to have been intended for, and failed each time. The fibrous material can impact around the spindle so tightly it is tempting to clear it out by burning it with an oxy torch, instead of using chisels and multi grips to pull it out small piece by small piece.

I've been a Bosch fan for 40 years, but this machine has shaken my faith. I regret buying it because it is too fussy about what it will deal with, which isn't anywhere near what a normal garden produces to be chipped.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mike Shearer's Response to Mike Shearer's Review

Written on: 23/07/2007

I learned today (23/7/07) that the AXT is no longer in the Bosch catalogue (in Australia) tho' spare parts are still carried.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Up to now I've been a bonfire man, but with the need...”

Written on: 04/05/2007 by michaelatballonvillagecom (1 review written)

Up to now I've been a bonfire man, but with the need to preserve the atmosphere I decided to start shredding. After a lot of heavy pruning in the garden this year, I have shredded about ten wheelbarrows full of good quality garden mulch. My Bosch AXT 2000HP 200w Electric garden shredder has jammed a couple of times, but this was my fault. I'm very pleased with it, but the slugs are not, as it's difficult to slide over the mulch.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Bosch AXT2000HP 200w Electric garden shredder is...”

Written on: 25/04/2007 by geoffk (14 reviews written)

The Bosch AXT2000HP 200w Electric garden shredder is a good performer. It does jam up on soft stems, mixing these with fir cones helps, although I usually leave soft items for a few weeks to dry out then no problem. I did buy mine after trying a friends and was impressed, a real boy's toy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Overall I think this is one of the best garden tools...”

Written on: 21/03/2007 by chrissie gardener (2 reviews written)

Overall I think this is one of the best garden tools I've bought. Having read reviews on shredders before I purchased this about 8 years ago, I found most gardening programmes complained about shredders jamming, not big enough etc. I trusted the Bosch reputation and went for the most expensive one I could afford at the time plus it guaranteed to be the quietest.

I haven't been disappointed, it does what it says it does, it's not as noisy as some electric lawnmowers and it's very portable. A tip worth noting is that it says it cuts hardwood not softwood cuttings. If you bear this in mind when using it you can get away with softwood cuttings if you mix n match materials ie use rose branches or ivy (softwood) with conifer branches or rather brittly material and you won't have a problem. Whatever you do don't put roots, stones or wire into it. I usually cut several shrubs at a time as I know things like Caenothus is not well tolerated because of the small leaves but mix it with forsythia and it's a dream - have fun!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“John, I have owned an AXT 2000HP for about 8 years...”

Written on: 20/03/2007 by chrissie gardener (2 reviews written)

John, I have owned an AXT 2000HP for about 8 years and yes it does clog up but it specifically says for hardwood cuttings. The secret is to mix n match ie use roses or ivy with conifer branches (hardwood) and don't shove it all in at once. Mixture of branches fed into the shredder and it will shred without any problems. It doesn't like roots and it certainly doesn't like lots of soft leafy branches which is why it will clog. Follow the above and you'll find you'll get through piles of cut down foliage - good luck

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview