Hayter Harrier 48 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
28% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Hayter Harrier 48 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Hayter Harrier 48

Hayter Harrier 48
Hayter Harrier 48
Hayter Harrier 48
Hayter Harrier 48

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor all round”

written by Ramirezhk386 on 04/07/2021

I have owned this unit for a little over a year now and it came recommended. The facts tell a different story. 1. The autodrive is way too fast. Even on the slowest speed you need to be an olympic athlete to keep up with it. 2. The grass collection is truly shocking. 3. The split roller corrodes on to the shaft meaning it very soon becomes a single roller. 5. The blade brake design could use a lot of refinement. It doesn't release properly when engaging the drive which means the engine stalls half the time when engaging the blade. 6. The overall component quality is very poor. The engine itself is fine, but everything bolted to it is cheap. Personally I would never recommend this to anyone, not even my worst enemy. For the price they charge for these things it is not unreasonable to expect better, a lot better. Buy a Honda if you want the best. That's what I have done now and this hateful thing can go on EBAY. Hayter customer care is poor too. If you dare complain about these things they refer to you a dealer, who then tells you to buy something else. That about says it all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor”

written by Harleydavidson1450 on 29/04/2017

Had this Harrier for a year now, only used in a domestic garden. What a waste it is poor in every way. I now need to cut my grass every week as it cloggs up if either long or damp grass, the place where the bag sits collects up with grass, the engines floods when warm. Unfortunately I bought on line and no after sales service unless I personally take it back. Complained to Hayter but they were very dismissive. My old Flymow Venturer was far better, wish I had it reconditioned. I should have read the revues before buying

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Very dissappointing”

written by 228Sharp on 14/06/2016

In September 2015 I purchased a Harrier 48 Autodrive, to replace my previous Harrier 48, which I have owned for 15 years. I have used Hayter products for over 40 years and currently also own an ST38, ride on mower. Over time I considered the mowers outstanding and have recommended Hayter products to many friends and relatives. Sadly, I am extremely disappointed with this model and in particular with it’s grass collection. The redesign of the blade chamber as well as the reduced flue diameter that carries the clippings to the bag, has resulted in an almost constant need to stop and clear blockages every one or two lengths of my lawn. This is compounded by the increased upward angle of the bag, which allows the collected clippings to fall back towards the flue. The clogging nearly always occurs when the bag is just half full. If the grass is even slightly damp the problem is much worse. Once the flue clogs clippings are thrown out from under the skirt and the general result is a lawn which looks tatty and has to be swept. A related point is the bag is also difficult to remove up through the handle, unlike previous models, as the width between the arms has also been reduced and it tends to foul the cables. On the plus side the auto drive system is excellent but I do wonder if the fixed engine rpm may be contributory to the clogging issue. The mower is much lighter, quieter and it starts easily. All good points. However, today was the last straw. Despite my lawn being bone dry in the late afternoon, the mower was still repeatedly clogging on a medium cut. In desperation I pulled the 15 year old Harrier from the shed and away I went, non-stop, clog free, to a perfect finish and not a clipping in sight. I compared the flue size on the two mowers and frankly the difference is clear to see, the new Harrier is around 50% narrower. I have since looked at many review sites and internet forums and there appears to be a general consensus regarding the issue. I decided to write to Hayter to enquire about a modification and this is their response. “We have sold many Harrier 48 products over the last ten years since the new model was introduced in both the domestic variant and the commercial. We are not aware of a major concern with the grass collection. Airflow is paramount to the collection of grass. Several things can affect this if not set up correctly. The main one is the engine rpm. If the engine is not set at the correct speed, i.e. 2800/3000 rpm the blade will not turn quickly enough to create the full airflow. The other criteria is the correct use of the product, if the machine is set too low, going too fast and the grass too long this will also affect the collection of grass. A dirty grass bag would also affect the collection of grass, as the air produced by the blade cannot escape quickly enough and causes a backlog of grass cuttings. We would recommend in the first instance to have your Hayter dealer check and set the engine RPM.” As the mower was only a few months old I was a little disappointed with this response but, as advised, I put the mower in my car and made the 25-mile round trip to a dealer. Even before the mower was checked I was told the grass collection is “nowhere near as good as the previous model” and “lots of people experience the same problem, the best thing you can do is ensure the blade is nice and keen and mow twice at different height settings. Try the first cut without the bag.” The mower was checked, there was actually nothing wrong with it, and I returned home. It still clogs! The end result is I seem to have spent a lot of money to put in twice the effort.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★★★

“Hayter harrier 48 Pro autodrive ”

written by on 01/02/2016

I have just bought the pro version of the hayter harrier 48. After reading all the negative reviews I was anxious prior to its first time out. I needn't have been, the speed in my opinion was just right and the grass collection on damp grass was faultless. It was easy to start and felt solidly built. My previous mower was the pro honda with the roller. Although nearly twice as expensive, I felt the Honda was too heavy. The hayter not only looks good in silver but does the job just as well as the more expensive Honda.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mjmaintenance's Comment

Written on: 22/04/2016

I totally agree I've been using hayter pros since they came out and am completely happy with them usually get a couple of years trouble free and that's prob 5-7hrs a day commercial mowing! Obviously not in winter. Haven't got a clue why there's so many bad reviews

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“split roller problem”

written by sower on 13/10/2015

This is the second Harrier 48 we have hadand both have suffered from same problem.The moisture gets into drive through split roller and corrodes in no time.We got the present mower August before last and had to replace drive in the following April.If there was someway to lubricate or remove moisture after use it could be fit for purpose.We use the mower commercially five days a week but that aside if you are paying APPROX £900 you should expect to get at least a years use.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Very disappointed with new harrier 48 pro”

written by on 31/05/2015

Myself and my partner have run a garden maintenance business for nearly 20 years and have always bought Hayter machines to cut our lawns. Up until now we have been happy with each new model of the Harrier 48's that we have bought. The latest Harrier 48 pro looked smart in gun metal grey and was lighter than previous models but what a disappointment! It cannot pick up grass if it is slightly wet and you spend a lot of time stopping the machine to clear the flue of clogged up grass. When the grass is dry the flap that covers the grass box continuously rises covering you in dry grass. My eyes are permantely sore from where I'm getting grass flying into my face. Even trying to push the flap back down every few strides doesn't work. We're not very happy at all at spending nearly a thousand pounds on a poorly designed machine that doesn't do the job. We've always trusted Hayter machines and like to buy British. Maybe a Honda would be a better purchase.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor design”

written by jonwillyork on 03/10/2014

Trying to support a British company and having had the older model 48 I thought the new 48 pro would be a great machine, it isn't, it clogs with grass, the plastic underdeck is flimsy and the drive system poor. How can Hayter design and produce such a poor and flimsy machine and ask almost £1000 for it . The B&S engine is the strongest point. If Hayter want to survive they need to replace this machine now and go back to the roots of the old model, don't be surprised if Hayter go under soon if the rest of their range is as poor as the 48 pro.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not fit for purpose......they need to return to past model”

written by fransam1961 on 06/07/2014

oh dear. I have used hayter harriers 48 for over 20 years and usually each new model is an improvement over previous one...but with this current model, which actually was introduced in 2006 , hayter have lost the plot and taken their eyes off the ball...why?..perhaps accountants have influenced design budgets ..but this model is attrocious. I know,I bought one in 2006...to replace a 480v. Poorly built with fragile abs plastic underliners which are poorly attached to the main body, weak transmission which work only on level ground.(!), poor grass collection, easily choked by grass cuttings, a grass box/bag which only fills half before backing up in the excessively long mower shute. I have replaced the underside plastic 3 times since purchase...something I never needed to do on my previous Hayter Harrier 480. As for the 'variable speed' gimmick....why? never needed in past so why have it? just another thing to go wrong. The pre 2006 models had a simpler (and more accessible) side power drive take off using a beefy pulley and drive belt which worked very well and reliably so...but this model has two thin drive belts which using a variator (!) transmit drive a gearbox and then to the chain driven rollers. But.... Here is the main fault: To accomodate the 'new' gimmicky drive system, Hayter have had to reduce the distance between blade and mower body using flimsy throwplates....and this results in the problems I've mentioned above.. previously the side power take off used a better more spacious underdeck design which rarely clogged and with a stronger airflow and shorter shute filled the grassbag completely... I urge Hayter to drop (yes, drop!) the present design and revert to the heavier much better previous design ..bite the bullet and take a commercially sound decision and bring the old true brilliantly designed Hayter Harrier 480v models back!! The present model is doing the brand harm amongst private and commercial users.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fransam1961's Response to fransam1961's Review

Written on: 11/07/2014

as if all that isn't bad enough the new model has a redesigned (!) grassbox connection which is obviously designed by someone who never uses the machine.Whereas the previous model the grassbox sat firmly in a deep hook design and was actually sitting almost within the rear of the machine in the new model it now sits on two metal upright hooks which always fill up with grass debris etc...this means that the grassbox jumps off the machine frequently with any bump in lawn...I have lost count of the number of times this happened with me and the times I tripped over the fallen/dislodged grassbox....sorry guys but I have concluded that Hayter have managed the impossible..they have actually undesigned a once brilliant machine...!!.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“hond 48 pro”

written by bensid1965 on 04/06/2014

I have bought two hayter harrier 48 pros, as a garden contractor i tired of Hondas expensive parts and repair costs and the drives kept going. The Hayters wouldnt pick up the grass very well at all but any moisture and they were useless, the height controll arm broke twice, the pully jammed the lid spring back broke on both of them but it was the utter failure to pick up grass that froced me to demand a refund from the agent, i would like to give his details but i'm gonna put him and his service behind me now. Dont buy them they dont work!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“What a disappointment”

written by Bob15M on 04/06/2013

Having moved house with a large but unkempt garden I had a lawn laid this spring. My trusty 5 year old mower could no longer cope with the 1500 sq mtr lawn and so I decided it was time to upgrade an invest in a new mower that could cope with a large lawn. 2 friends independently recommended a Hayter (they had both had theirs for 10 years+) so I went to a local dealer who convinced me the Hayter Harrier 48 was the rolls Royce of lawn mowers for larger lawns. Now and again you have to treat. Yourself so I made the investment. My grass was long (but dry) so I set it on the 3rd lowest setting. After 5 metres I realised it was scalping the lawn so I set it a notch higher. I carried on and after 40 metres grass started spewing out of the side of the mower. I took off the bag which was only half full, the rest of the grass was in the gap where it flows into the bag. I had to empty the bag every time I went up or down the lawn. Then half way through mowing on one of my many restarts the start cord stuck and would not pull. I tried several times but still it was stuck. So I got my trusty old mower out to finish the job. I then read in a troubleshooting post that this can happen if grass clogs in the blade and low and behold this is what had happened. I will try again next weekend having read these are common problems. Same old thing these days, they don't make them like they used to with companies relying on reputation rather than quality.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★☆☆☆

“Hayter 48 pro not up to the job”

written by marycabbage on 18/09/2012

My old 56 Harrier was the best but finally had to go as deck was worn out and generally falling apart. Paid £970 for 48 pro model and it's a poor replacement.Hates wet grass even if short and drives very slowly. I have tweaked the engine speed up which helps a bit but this is clearly not a satisfactory solution. Certainly would not recommend for pro use.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Very Disappointed at the Harrier 48 pro 2012”

written by mattbwell on 15/09/2012

I first got it out the box and wasnt happy with the cheap feel to the plastic under the deck, I feel like it will crack within a month, and the plastic mold comes down as low as the cutter friction plate on one side! My first pull of the drive lever and the cable popped off and found the cheap blob of solder on the floor. Then I came to fold the handles down flat to put it in my car and you have to bend the clutch lever to the side because it hits the air filter. Cuts ok if your grass is short and dry, clogs up every second if long wet and mossy, and with the bad design you have to take the grass box off everytime to unblock it. after the first lawn I cut the blade was nearly warn out after hiting a few stones and a chunk out of the deck. The cut isnt as low as my old hayter.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Poor replacement for older model 48”

written by gmlindsay on 03/07/2012

I bought this mower sight unseen as a replacement for my 14 year old Hayter Harrier 48 and it is nothing like its predecessor in quality. The deck is less robust but the main issue is with the poor design of the grass box and deflector. On first use, the grass cuttings spewed forward towards the engine from a gap between the deflector plate and the deck. This continued until a build up of grass eventually sealed the gap. Hayter's first solution involved attaching a strip of foam rubber in the gap - this didn't work as the foam eventually disintegrated. Then they suggested a replacement deflector plate - this didn't work either and I'm back to a strip of foam rubber as a temporary seal. This is obviously a failure in the design and Hayter ought to be ashamed of their claim to be selling quality engineered products. Sad to see this happen to what used to be a fine company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“6 years on...Still spot on..”

written by dancoopbron on 07/05/2012

Had this for just over 6 years now. Love it. never missed a beat. On my second blade. Runs like a dream. WOuld always pick Hayter...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Looks good, but a heap of junk”

written by AshteadDave on 19/10/2011

I have 3 other Hayter mowers for my gardening business, so in June, I paid £880 for the 48 Pro. the first time used, I noticed that it appeared sluggish and the drive cable caught in my trousers and popped off, so took it back to the supplier who re-attached the cable. I used it again but found it un-acceptably slow compared with my other Hayter mowers, so again took it back to the supplier, convinced that the forward drive speed must need adjustment. He increased the engine speed to near 'red line', but I still found it slow so complained directly to Hayter. They said that the new machine has been slowed from 3.0 to 2.7 mph to stop it failing to pick up grass when the motor has been set to rev higher than design. Although this lower speed doesn’t seem much, it is noticeable over large lawns. I complained to Hayter who (eventually) agreed to fit larger gears & pulleys. My supplier carried out this work and the machine appeared to be an acceptable speed. On it's first day of use, the drive stopped working. Again I complained to Hayter, who said take it back for repair where the supplier informed me that the gearbox had broken and this regularly happens with them. I spoke to a gardener that I passed one day who had one, who also said that his gearbox broke after a few weeks of use. Once fixed, I have been using it for the past few weeks and again today, the drive cable appears to have snapped, so it will need to go back to the supplier again. At one point in August, it had cut 8 lawns, but been back to the supplier for tweaks and repairs on 4 occasions.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“had the new harrier 48 pro in march, what a waste of...”

written by on 10/05/2011

had the new harrier 48 pro in march, what a waste of £850, I`ve had £150 mountfields that have performed better. I use this mower 6 hours a day 5 days a week, build quality seems good but its ability to collect grass is pathetic. who ever designed this mower wants a kick up the rear & the sack. The shoot is far to steep as is the grass box so the grass just falls forward all the time even in perfect conditions. DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I've Been using Hayter mowers for best part of 25...”

written by darencreeksea on 18/02/2011

I've Been using Hayter mowers for best part of 25 years but the last one i got and paid a pretty penny for has been so much of a head ache i may move to other brand's my variable speed 48 has a big problem the belt is for ever coming adrift of the drive pulleys & I'm at a loose of how to solve it even the Internet and all its knowledge has not given my hope! It looks like I may end up Pushing the dam thing!!! ....answer's on a post card please!!!!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“The new model is a poor imitation of its predecessor...”

written by on 25/05/2010

The new model is a poor imitation of its predecessor which was truly the 'Rolls Royce' of lawn mowers. I have had 8 now but this is the last.
The grassbox connection is insecure and the quality of the cut and grass-lifting is unacceptable

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“This is the third similar type Hayter I have bought. ...”

written by on 16/05/2010

This is the third similar type Hayter I have bought. It gets a fair amount of use. Hayter Harrier 48, bought 2003. It is a great mower, and will tackle runaway lawns pretty well if asked, but there is a design flaw in the Blade Break Clutch.

I am about to fit the fifth clutch - that's one clutch every two years, and they are over £100 a go + fitting charges if you are getting it done for you. I fit them myself now that the machine is out of warranty.

I am a careful user. I have brought this up with Hayter, who are simply not interested. I am seriously considering a move to another brand simply because of their attitude tpwards their customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never purchase another Hayter mower again, it has a...”

written by on 11/05/2010

Never purchase another Hayter mower again, it has a fundamental flaw in its ability to collect grass when its damp/wet and will under no circumstances will it cut on its lowest cut if the grass is anything other than bone dry. I spend more time clearing the area where the grass feeds into the grass box than I do cutting the grass which is really annoying. I reckon for £500 you would expect it to fly through any length of grass and in any condition but the guy that sold it conveniently forgot to mention this obvious flaw

Dave
Lichfield

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview