DFDS Seaways, Princess of Norway, Bergen Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
33% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Food - quality & variety

  • Entertainment on board

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
DFDS Seaways, Princess of Norway, Bergen - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for DFDS Seaways, Princess of Norway, Bergen

DFDS Seaways, Princess of Norway, Bergen

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“I had a horrifying experience on the DFDS Seaways...”

Written on: 14/11/2010

I had a horrifying experience on the DFDS Seaways Princess of Norway. The whole boat smells like cigarettes and fish. The customer service is non-existant. The food is extremely overpriced. The cabins are tiny. The boat goes back and forth and thrashes around in the water, you feel every wave. It feels very unsafe. We were delayed 4 hours. People were fighting in the hallway and there was blood everywhere, no one did anything about it. It was disgusting. I spent 250 quid to come home on trains… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I've been travelling across the North Sea since I was...”

Written on: 02/10/2010 by robertarne (2 reviews written)

I've been travelling across the North Sea since I was 1953, when I was 8 months old, and reckon this is the worst ferry I've ever been on. It felt a bit like a floating motorway service area in terms of ambience, quality and service.

There was nowhere to sit that wasn't a noisy retail area. There seemed to be smoking pretty much everywhere. Prices were high and despite that the choice of bottled beers, for example, was terrible. The draft beer wasn't available anywhere on board. The concept… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Disgusted by indoor smoking, not happy with bar...”

Written on: 25/04/2010 by Top Bunk Steve (1 review written)

Disgusted by indoor smoking, not happy with bar prices, and the queuing for embarking and disembarking at both ends (Newcastle was the worst!) has put us off even more than the cigarette stench which permeated most areas of the ship. The fact that I was pretty much stranded, with a full bladder at 3 in the morning, on the top bunk in our cabin has left me somewhat disgruntled too (lol). The food in the buffet restaurant was excellent (we paid £19 pp, not £31) but the 2-course meal on the return… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“This was our first cruise experience, so we have...”

Written on: 08/08/2009 by bobkat101 (1 review written)

This was our first cruise experience, so we have nothing to compare DFDS Seaways against. However, we were delighted to be onboard, and found the ship (MS Princess of Norway) to be in good order. Overall I would say it was clean, in a good state or repair and well managed. The cabin we had was indeed small, but to be honest, we didn't really care. Service on board was generally poor, with waiting times for food sometimes in excess of 40 minutes. The evening buffet was very good, and we really… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“the whole experiance with DFDS Seaways, Princess of...”

Written on: 07/05/2009

the whole experiance with DFDS Seaways, Princess of Norway, Bergen was the most horrendus weekend of our lives. there was a incident on the ship on the way to amsterdam and we had to be moved rooms, three of us were put into a room for 2, then the receptionist announced to whole ship on the tannoy our names and rom number so we had to move again, in 2 nights we had three rooms!! the attitude of the staff was not helpful, we had to speak to the english police on the phone in the middle of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Bergen route is now stopped. I travelled on the...”

Written on: 07/11/2008 by tynerider (3 reviews written)

The Bergen route is now stopped. I travelled on the Amsterdam mini cruise and found it excellent value
They have a two-for-one offer on at the moment at www.amsterdamminicruise.com and it works out at £67 for two people… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I would not sail on the Princess of Norway again, it...”

Written on: 09/04/2008 by glambert2 (1 review written)

I would not sail on the Princess of Norway again, it turned out to be a very expensive short break. Breakfast was cold, beer wine and spirits very expensive, smokers are made to feel like lepers, cabins far too small, noise in the cabin when the ship is sea is horrendous. The waiters are friendly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“An enjoyable mini cruise spoiled by ship to hotel...”

Written on: 09/07/2007 by George Dalgleish (1 review written)

An enjoyable mini cruise spoiled by ship to hotel transfers there and and a similar experience on our return trip with us having to hire a taxis to take us back to the ship. DFDS's failure to respond to our complaint also not too good… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“One reason we took this trip with DFDS Seaways was...”

Written on: 16/04/2007 by RLM (3 reviews written)

One reason we took this trip with DFDS Seaways was because of the nightmare of queues at airports. This was almost as bad. The consideration given to the needs of the passengers when boarding and leaving would be more appropriate in a troop ship… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Top Bunk Steve's Response to RLM's Review

Written on: 25/04/2010

I found this review very helpful because... it pretty much mirrors our own experience (19th - 22nd April 2010, Newcastle to Amsterdam). No problem with car parking, apart from the cost (£36 for 3 days), but the queing to check in was horrendous. Same as you, we tried the ferry to avoid airport check-in procedures, but this was in fact worse. Same delays disembarking at Amsterdam, and even worse when we returned to Newcastle (2 hours from docking to getting to our car. We were disgusted that smoking was allowed indoors, and none too happy with bar prices. Good points: The buffet meal was excellent (£31 pp, however we were advised to pre-book at the check-in desk, and saved £12 pp!). However, on the return journey it was £28, couldn't get in for the buffet, and the two-course meal was poor for the price (likewise the wine @ £26). Thought I would never get to see Amsterdam once I'd negotiated my climb to the top bunk. Sheer desperation to empty my bladder during the night was the only technique I had to get down again! Gave it a try, but won't be hurrying back.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
overview