British Gas Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
13% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Review your British Gas Utility Company or find whether this is the best Gas Supplier for you. With the increasing number of Gas Providers available, determining which comes out Tops can be no less than difficult. Whether it is customer service or simply the cost, make comparisons from the reviews below and be informed to make your own decision.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
British Gas - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for British Gas

British Gas
British Gas
British Gas
British Gas
British Gas
British Gas
British Gas
British Gas

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“British Gas Deny Receipt of my Credit From My Last...”

Written on: 11/08/2022 by exchefdiner7311 (11 reviews written)

I have been in dispute with British Gas virtually non stop since they took over my Gas and Electric when my previous supplier went bust last year. I have tried to use Resolver to get British Gas to rectify things, but they have stopped responding to my Resolver Case. Most of the problems have been over grossly exaggerated Direct Debits. I have lived in the same house for over 20 years with very consistent usage! Most recent problems are that British Gas have deleted and replaced the bills that were generated since they took over my accounts. Previous to doing this, my Gas account was considerably in credit and on course to reach zero by the end of the account year. - Overnight, when the bills were replaced, my Gas account went into significant debt and I cannot access the deleted bills. British Gas now deny receiving a Credit of £147.68 from my previous supplier, despite that I have an email from British Gas stating that they had this credit! This would have shown on the deleted bills, which of course I cannot access. The deletion of this credit would also explain why my Gas account went from being considerably in credit, to considerable debt overnight! I have sent British Gas a copy of their own email confirming receipt of my credit from my previous supplier, and they haven't had the common courtesy or manners to acknowledge my email. - I am tearing my hair out with them, and to say that I am angry is an understatement. I would give British Gas zero stars if it were an option!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetence And Inefficiency At It's Most Profound”

Written on: 04/08/2022 by Charlie8767 (3 reviews written)

Follow up from below (copied from Trust pilot - BG responded to say contact them!). I contacted the Exec team, they re-booked for today and it was a "no-show". Before this I was offered a poultry "goodwill gesture" for the same amount I would have been charged had I missed the technician, nothing for missed wages (zero hrs contract) stress and inconvenience caused... And this was after a very dismissive email, basically I believe they just don't care. You would think with the general public paying extortionate rates and BG getting massive profits that their customer services might be up to the mark wouldn't you. We are being taken for absolute fools.... If you see their reply as well, as though it's a 2 minute job to contact them, more like hrs!! How about, you have my contact details therefore phone me!!! (Or email, I don't mind)... I've been an HR Manager for as long as I can remember and this would not happen on my watch - heads would roll; its an absolute disgrace.... Previous review: Found out after several months we were on estimated bills. Requested technician, several weeks later and having to wait in all day and turf out everything in order for the meter/comms hub to be seen for him to look at a light and say he can't do anything. Its a known fault, why didn't someone say on the phone to check; it would have taken 2 seconds, rather than waste my time, the technicians etc. To exercurbate it further, to try and complain is painful in the extreme. The complaints email and even the CEO's are apparently full and returned, unread! I finally get a reply and it was totally unacceptable. This is a disgrace, totally incompetent, inefficient and this needs to be addressed. I'll now have to wait another several weeks to get this resolved - totally unacceptable!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Things are going downhill fast”

Written on: 04/05/2022 by Jordany238 (1 review written)

I was automatically swapped over to British Gas after my previous electricity supplier went bankrupt. in the beginning customer services seemed okay but subsequently every time I try and contact them I am left angry and frustrated. Firstly the so-called chat boxes on their website failed to provide me with a customer service operator. I would be number 20 in the queue and then wait and wait and wait and wait and wait until I was down to number three andThen suddenly there are no service operators available and nothing happens. When I try and telephone them I am always number 15 in the queue which takes forever and then I end up talking to somebody with a foreign accent who sounds helpful snd friendly but fails to help me with my complaint, problem or query. Everything that’s happened about paying is wrong. Firstly I was told I should pay a direct debit which was too low. Having had previous huge bills I queried this and insisted on making my payment bigger. Then, the huge amount I was paying has turned out to not be high enough and has had to go up even higher. In the meantime they keep asking if I want a smart meter. I said yes and then what happened was a really nice bloke came round he said I can’t have a smart meter because I’m on a three phase supply and they would give me a new date for another appointment. Well that was months ago. They’re still asking me if I want a smart meter. I say yes please and then nothing happens. It is just shocking. You can’t send emails to them either which is also annoying as I want to send a photograph of my meter to check I am sending the correct reading because I think they are counting the tenths as full kilowatt hours. It is all incredibly frustrating and annoying and irritating. So very very poor service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“What is going on with this shower!”

Written on: 30/04/2021 by Lorenzod484 (1 review written)

What is going on with this company and its Homecare operation? Does anyone know? They used to be brilliant, quick service , experienced engineers who knew what they where doing. They are now a shambles and who ever is in charge of operations should really consider their position

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Aliens or robots”

Written on: 19/11/2020 by Uniforms (1 review written)

We had b,gas for 5 years,paid direct debit and never a problem,then moved .told them we where changing to eon.eon informed me that no probs with gas ,but bgas. had blocked electric.,no reason why !!!,can not speak to anybody at bgas.just left in limbo.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“engineer not arriving”

Written on: 28/10/2020 by 696John (1 review written)

Today (28/10/20) my wife stayed in from 12 to 6, waiting for the Service Engineer to arrive for our boilers Annual Service booked at the end August this year. No Show. No messages saying he wouldn't be here, although the Lady at the Service Centre assured me that either our landline or mobile had been sent a message after I phoned to complain and try organise a second appointment, which was offered for very late January 2021,so why am I paying for an annual service? Why have the laid off so many engineers?? How many Managers are there not actually per engineer? A sure thing they wont answer that honestly!! Why does the automatic phone answering system carry on asking you questions ie Tell me about your breakdown at least twice!! I had only mentioned a Service was required. Come British Gas sort your act out!! Finally all the repairs and Services on my Heating / Hot Water System have been carried out without any problems.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid like the plague”

Written on: 30/09/2020 by dtsufc (2 reviews written)

AVOID BRITISH GAS LIKE THE PLAGUE. I've been a homecare customer for several years. They are happy to take your money every month but dont like providing the service. Annual service forming part of the package has not been completed in over 18 months, finally get a date and they dont turn up saying sorry it was cancelled (but didnt bother to text/phone/email). Try to resolve via their complaints team and got offered a further apt today. Did they turn up, of course not, they cancelled again without so much as a text/phone call/email. Thats now 2 days wasted staying in for British gas, and over £200 wasted so far this year for no service what so ever. AVOID AVOID AVOID.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid”

Written on: 19/06/2020 by MikeBenth (1 review written)

I have a boiler service annually. It worked fine at first then last year you couldn't book a service for 2 or 3 months. They phoned up twice to cancel and arrange appointments in another 2 months. My problem had an issue during lockdown. I had to get a proper plumber to service it and make repairs. They have lost the concept of what service is

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Still no gas after 7 months”

Written on: 26/02/2020 by Theysell (2 reviews written)

Our line was originally installed at the beginning of July. Obviously it's not cheap but since it was being brought close because of a new development next door, we thought it the best time to invest to switch from LPG. What a mistake that was. Whilst they connected a pipe and tap, they didn't actually install a meter, or go as far as allowing us access to, you know, actual gas. They said they'd get in touch and let us know when you could finally be bothered to deliver what we'd paid for. A month or so went by whilst we waited for the call. Nothing. So, we called them. After 45 minutes we get through to someone who knows literally nothing about British Gas. They have no record of us. Apparently there should be MPRN for our supply? Well, they didn't give us one and there's nothing on the box. And no one in their company seems to be able to do anything, anything at all, without one. they'll get back to us apparently. A couple more months go by. We call again. Takes an hour. Finally get through to someone who says they'll look into it and "it's all a bit strange". But it's not strange, it's just incompetence. And British Gas is riddled with it. After several more months, we try again, at the end of our patience. This time the customer 'service' representative takes a new approach and says we don't need that number at all and that she'll book someone in to finally complete the job. It was like all my birthdays at once! My excitement was short lived since, like too many of my birthdays, it quickly turned into disappointment and anticlimax. Unfortunately (or fortunately for him) I wasn't there and my wife dealt with the engineer. When he turned up, there's a lot of chin scratching. Firstly he can't fit a smart meter because the new fuse board is too far away. No problem there though, we didn't want one or ask for one. Then he can't actually connect the gas because it's a special high pressure supply and he's not qualified to do it. So he leaves, doubtless to find something easier than his job to occupy himself with. Wanting to find out what's next up on their merry-go-round of ineptitude, we waste another 40 minutes calling customer 'services'. Apparently this one has worked in the industry for over ten years and has never once heard of a high pressure gas supply. But she'll go and talk to someone. When she gets back it's obvious that she's had some on-the-spot training and recognises that a high pressure supply does actually exist. But she can't proceed without an electrical safety certificate. Just imagine our surprise. It's like booking a carpet fitter that walks off the job because my loft isn't insulated. My wife thought it was a joke a first. Strangely, after a short time this objection was dropped after she admitted that the fuse box had, "literally nothing to do with the gas installation" and she would look at rebooking it. But she couldn't. Because the engineer had left the job open. So, now we're out of LPG and we're stuck in a cold house (with kids), no hob, no hot water. Having to cancel appointments with our gas installer to change jets on the boiler and our hob engineer to cancel the switch of those jets. So where do we stand now? NO IDEA. Because despite an email to the CEO along with an official complaint, we have heard absolutely nothing. the sad fact is they GENUINELY DO NOT CARE. So if that's the sort of company you want to give your money to, then by all means do. If you want someone who won't leave you without a gas supply you've already paid for in the middle of winter, then I'd avoid British Gas like the plague. I will update this with a running commentary as testament to how bad a company they really are. UPDATE 26/2 - Nothing. No response to CEO email, complaint to customer services or their promise to call.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling rude disrespectful ”

Written on: 21/02/2020 by Donnagood (1 review written)

Since December have had non stop problems with smart meter have been left at times with no gas have had late engineers and lost hours at work waiting for them. No communication have had extremely bad customer service phone put down on me am leaving British Gas ASAP

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Tried to bully us Into paying without sight of a bill.”

Written on: 10/11/2019

First we heard 3 months after our tenants left was a text saying “we’re adding £45 for late payment of bill” We asked for the bill for the time that covered after the tenants left but just had bullying for payment without sight of a bill. Finally got through to someone who tried to help and told us that we could have avoided the bill in the first place if we’d been told straight away. Then a week after starting to get things sorted they involved a debt collection agency!! Their complaints team were late contacting me (past the 8 weeks allowed) and have done everything they can to avoid dealing with our issues. Up to this point they refuse to refund the charges despite it being their fault that we got them in the first place. It was their fault that we didn’t get a bill (they had a contact phone number to be able to threaten us with late payment charges but couldn’t get a bill to us!) It was their fault that my Wife ended up in tears when we received a debt collection threatening letter through the post but they couldn't care less! SHAME ON YOU BRITISH GAS!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“British Gas are truly awful”

Written on: 20/09/2019 by AblittD (1 review written)

Just had renewal notice from British Gas for Homecare. Increase of 22.5%. Whats inflation again, certainly < 3%? Phoned up to query and they suggested that I cancel. New customers get significantly better price but not available to existing customer. So cancel it is and recommend not to go anywhere near them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“very helpful”

Written on: 13/09/2019 by 179Lewis-Alt (1 review written)

Very many thanks for telephone help and advice received about my Home Care Policy, received today 13/09/19 at about 11.15 a.m.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dangerous gas fitting”

Written on: 29/08/2019

Appalling experience of a gas boiler installation. Just had to call the emergency line because of the way British Gas left my incomplete boiler in a dangerous state with a gas leak from dodgy welding and messy pipework. Contracted out to non-British Gas engineers despite the sales rep telling me how many new engineers had been trained up and were waiting to do the work. Poor stock availability, unclear pricing, poor organisation/ communication and missed appointment. I went against my better judgement to try them again, but now regretting it immensely and facing stress and phone calls to get some kind of resolution not to mention any gas or hot water. Still waiting for manager to contact despite being on the phone from 8am emailing and texting.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“What a bunch. It would seem they've beento a special...”

Written on: 21/06/2019 by GavenCooke (1 review written)

What a bunch. It would seem they've beento a special training course on how to avoid doing anything useful and how to behave like ill educated spivs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“What a British Mess”

Written on: 11/04/2019 by Helene123 (11 reviews written)

I don't use gas and the gas supply was capped when I moved into my address. This company must be one of the worst on the planet. Every quarter they want a reading that I can't give because the reading is the same as before. Nevertheless, the bills keep coming. It makes no difference how many times you tell them that they don't supply you with gas. Maybe none of their employees know what a gas supply is? I now have bad credit history when I don't actually owe any money. Younger people who can't get a mortgage must be devastated when they find out that some company is maintaining that they owe when they don't. (Am trying to get credit scoring abolished starting on Twitter.) I couldn't begin to guess how many people British Gas is attempting to defraud. I am moving just to get away from them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“the worst company ever”

Written on: 04/03/2019

I am appalled by how British Gas has been treating me over the last year. I live in a 1bed flat alone. I have a broken boiler that has not worked for over 2-3yrs. I hardly cook and I am away a lot at the weekends. I am out at work all day every day. My tariff used to be less than a £100 every 3 months for over 5 years. Since then they have put me on a fixed contract for about £74 a month. 6 months ago they claimed that I owed almost £300 due to their error in meter reading between 2-3 months IN THE SUMMER TIME. I refused to pay it because: 1. They did not write to me to inform me of their error 2. They didn't explain how I consumed so much energy when I am consuming even less since having a broken boiler... This month they have charged me over £200 and I have been told that my monthly energy bill will be £210 a month. Can someone please make it make sense? I am switching to another company but I just wanted to warn all of you.  Worst company ever! Clapham Lambeth.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“rude, ignorant, unhelpfull, over-priced, could go on...”

Written on: 19/12/2018 by philmolloy (1 review written)

moved house early 2016 updated all new info, over 30 months later new info still not logged on to account info despite numerous phone calls to their rude, ignorant , have no idea customer NON service department , prices are very expensive. in credit of over £320 but increased d/d from £80 to £129 without no warning due to there own estimation of winter consumption. last straw came when I phoned customer service 3 times: FIRST CALL- could not gain access or change details because I am not on account details??? yet they very happy to take money from me , how does that work SECOND CALL- they cut me off with in 5 seconds THIRD CALL - spoke to a totally rude, ignorant, arrogant customer service adviser . who showed me no help, unwilling to give me any advice or guidance. WHEN I SAID I WAS THINKING OF SHOPPING AROUND FOR A NEW PROVIDER SHE PUT THE PHONE DOWN ON ME. In short if you are happy to pay over priced standing prices and tariffs have your direct debits increased with no prior warning (even when you are hundreds of pounds in credit) deal with unhelpful, rude, ignorant customer services then this is the company you want to use, they wont be beaten in over pricing, taking more money from your direct debit than agreed, showing no concern when you have a problem or just want advice, the best NON-CUSTOMER SERVICES you could hope to deal with.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent Response”

Written on: 20/10/2018 by Elle1972 (1 review written)

I recently join home care for my central heating all i can say is why didnt i do it earlier I have had two visits on my system where the two engineers were excellent they would not leave until they had solved the problems. I found it easy to book online prompt attendance highly qualified personnel I would highly recommend this service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible company never trust them!”

Written on: 02/10/2018 by Stevenr120 (1 review written)

Gas card provided after a new meter did not work, They have sent me to several shops costing me money to get to with a code that does not work every time i ring them they tell me the code is right and working when it clearly is not they have refused to provide a new code and took 14 phone calls for them to send and engineer out basically Never trust these jokers bags in 3 months of being with them i have had to call them over 30 times due to different issues.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview