Oldham Clough Manor, Denshaw Bride Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Oldham Clough Manor, Denshaw Bride
50.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Service

  • Decor

  • Facilities

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Oldham Clough Manor, Denshaw Bride - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Oldham Clough Manor, Denshaw Bride

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Shocking Customer Service”


written by on 24/09/2012

We recently got married at the Clough Manor and I am really disappointed that I feel the need to write a negative review. Firstly I will compliment where due and say that the staff work very hard and the food is to die for. However, between booking our wedding in November last year and getting married in July we were dealt with by 3 different managers with no handover appearing to take place between each as we seemed to start again from scratch each time with no record of previous arrangements held. The night before the wedding, despite being told initially that there was a cold storage room where things such as our wedding cake could be stored in the week leading up to our wedding, I found our wedding cake (still in box thankfully) underneath the open plan staircase .... as you can imagine NOT IMPRESSED. On the morning of the wedding the power was intermittently tripping out for a few seconds at a time. I queried whether I needed to be worried and was told not to as a call had been put in to electricity northwest and not to worry as they had a generator as a back up anyway ...... if only! As we sat down to sign the register at the end of the service the lights went out .... and this time didn't come back on. We were then advised that this time the power wouldn't be coming back on .... which meant we had to walk back down the aisle with no music :( Once we were out of the room we were told that in fact there was no generator and they would have to try and arrange one. One was found some time later and with a bit of juggling the wedding breakfast went ahead (a little late, with the speeches first rather than after). Although things ran a little late the day itself was still a fabulous wedding day (with a few tears of frustration rather than wedding emotion). The only other issue that night was a number of terrible leaks throughout the building which meant some lights didn't work on the landings and buckets were placed around catching rain, when not being knocked out of the way by guests who couldn't see on their way to bed. My main issue is not the power cut, as I obviously don't hold The Clough responsible, and not even the fact that I was lied to about having a generator. I spoke to the hotel manager the morning after the wedding and he said he would speak to the owner and speak to me when we returned from our honeymoon. Once we returned I heard nothing from him until I chased him. I was then told that there was nothing the hotel could do for us as they were not responsible. When I said I was not happy with this he said he would have to speak to the owner again and would ring back the next day. This did not happen and I had to chase the callback for over a week. I eventually spoke to him after continually chasing him. He then advised me to email the owner. I did this and the owner spoke to me the same afternoon, saying that he had not been aware of the generator promise from the manager and could understand why we'd be frustrated after this false hope. He advised me he'd speak to the manager the following day and ring me back. He didn't do this and again I began the chasing process. Two weeks later after follow up emails and phone calls I eventually managed to get hold of him by phone. I explained how fed up I was in the lack of response and how all I'd ever wanted was a written apology and perhaps a goodwill gesture of an invitation for a meal or such like. I was assured that a written apology would be coming after he had finished reading 'our file' and of course they'd be inviting us for a meal on them. Again a few weeks further on we've heard nothing. This could be a lovely place if only a few lessons in good old fashioned customer service were learned. Safe to say we will be celebrating our anniversaries elsewhere and our guests are so disgusted none will be returning in the future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We booked our wedding with clough manor and had...”


written by on 25/03/2011

We booked our wedding with clough manor and had nothing but trouble! The wedding coordinator had first said we would get a discount as we were having a weekday wedding, however when we worked it all out he hadnt given us any discount! when we asked we were told there was nothing that could be done about it. We were never rang and were always chasing them up to try and confirm arrangements, when we complained we were told that they were used to dealing with more expensive weddings! this is not acceptable we paid a substantial price which was the price they suggested! Now when we booked the wedding, we sat down with stephan the coordinator and told him tat under no circumstances did we want any details too be given to anyone and i cannot explain how much we stressed this to him as my husband has a stalker. 4 weeks before the wedding, the stalker had been in contact saying that they knew where the wedding was and that clough manr had disclosed such information. we found this unbelievable and so decided to ring clough manor to see if they were giving out such details posing as a guest. low and behold they gave us all the information that anyone wanting to cause trouble would hae needed. we had to rearrange the whole day and when we requested to speak to the manager about the whole affair we were told that they would not speak to us!!!! we have seen no refund and they are not willing to assure us that this will not happen to anyone again! the place looks nice dont get me wrong but i dont want them ruiing anyone elses big day please think twice! (ps the coordinator at the crimble's peacock rom is utterly amazing and definatley worth a visit)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We could not have wished for a better day or a better...”


written by riggers73 on 17/08/2008

We could not have wished for a better day or a better venue. The wedding co-ordinator was great and the day went without a hitch because of him. The food for both the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet was exceptional - we will certainly be returning for a meal in the restaurant. The reception rooms and private bar are excellent, as are the bedrooms. If your lucky enough to have the sunshine we did there is also an excellent outdoor area leading from the private bar. The terraced gardens are a lovely backdrop for the photographs and for the children to play in afterwards. Highly recommended!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We chose to have a civil ceremony in a hotel for our...”


written by AndreaG on 22/03/2007

We chose to have a civil ceremony in a hotel for our wedding. Usually our registry office would be Dukinfield, but as our venue was Denshaw we needed to use Oldhams Registrar and were referred to them.
From beginning to end the registry office was more than helpful, upon our registration with them we were given a copy of the vows that we could chose from and advised by when we would have to decided on them. We also were advised that we would need to let them know what music we would like and if we would be having any speakers in the ceremony. They also advised us which registrar would be conducting our ceremony and asked if we would like to meet them before hand.
On the day of the wedding, they did a fantasic job, they were punctual, approachable and very kind indeed. The wedding vows went smoothly and they treated us as if we were all that mattered, even though they must conduct weddings every day and hear the same vows being said. It felt very personal and we were extremely impressed with Oldham Registry office and their wonderful registrar and assistant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site