BBC Radio 2 - www.bbc.co.uk/radio2

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
18.8% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

At Review Centre you can compare reviews of BBC Radio 2 written by unbiased listeners. You can also write a BBC Radio 2 review and let other Review Centre users know what you think of the station. What is your favourite show? Who is your favourite Radio 2 DJ? Do you like the Radio 2 playlist? Write a Radio 2 review and let others know what you think.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
BBC Radio 2 - www.bbc.co.uk/radio2 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for BBC Radio 2 - www.bbc.co.uk/radio2

BBC Radio 2
BBC Radio 2
BBC Radio 2
BBC Radio 2
BBC Radio 2

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Veron Kay, breath of fresh air!”

written by JackieS62 on 01/02/2023

I’ve pretty much given up listening to Radio 2 after many years of it being my go to station (still listen to Ken Bruce occasionally) but I caught Vernon Kay on the morning show, I guess he’s covering for Zoe Balls leave. He was a delight to listen to and I was sorry to have to get out of the car after my hour long journey and miss the rest of the show. He was bright, fun and take me in. More of him please and I’ll find my way back to the morning show at least.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I’ve found a new home in radio Somerset and Andy Bennett”

written by TheDisillusioned on 30/01/2023

Steve’s show had that genius of making you feel connected to him. He felt like a friendly neighbour or your favourite family friend - cosy, reassuring and welcoming. He sort of gave the same vibes that there was good and kindness in the world in the same way the Queen did. A rare thing. It added something to the day. It’s was an insult to remove him, and then a kicking in the teeth to replace him with Scott Mills. It’s the ruling regime in the film the Hunger Games I think of when the metropolis is so inward looking they only make decisions to suit themselves. The listener is so far down the list of priorities. Probably Scott Mills is best friends with someone who is shagging someone who has power somewhere … it’s ok Scott we’ll get you a nice little show… thank god the BBC aren’t funded by the tax payer… oh hang on… Anyway my silver lining is I wouldn’t have found the genius that is Andy Bennett on Radio Somerset. Give that man a show in the week please immediately. Oh and from only listening to radio 2 I no longer listen to Radio 2 at all anymore.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★☆☆☆

“Dull as dishwater”

written by SorenLarkin on 29/01/2023

Since Steve Wright’s departure from BBC Radio 2 broadcasting has hit an all time low. It was already only bearable because of Ken Bruce, (skip through Jeremy Vine) then Steve, along with Bobbi and Tim lifted the afternoon. Scott Mills has bought nothing new to the table, his show is a watered down version of Radio 1 music. Whoever made the decision get rid of Steve underestimated the wider age groups he appealed to and I fear Radio 2 will now morph into something between Radio 1 and +1. Younger age groups don’t listen to Scott’s music and older age groups (a large proportion of who are at home in the afternoon) now switch over to the other more tried, trusted and bearable presenters. Own goal BBC

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WELCOME TO THE LACKLUSTRE WORLD OF SCOTT MILLS”

written by on 27/01/2023

Radio 2 should never have allowed Scott Mills to pollute 2 hours of airtime every week day with his self-deluded brand of boring drivel. The deluge of reaction against his predictable and formulaic programme should provide Radio 2 bosses with an indication of public feeling. Unfortunately, this is probably misconstrued as ‘bring back Steve Wright’ sentiment with anybody filling this slot being subject to a negative welcome. This is not about Steve Wright. His time was up. He’s gone. Let’s stay focused. This is about bringing onboard a personality which protects the (up to this point) loyal listeners and attracts new ones of whichever audience Radio 2 thinks it should now own. Scott (have I mentioned my fiancé yet) Mills’ delivery is mind-numbingly dreary and not compensated for by his reliance on dance music however much Radio 2 thinks it might move the dial down the demographic. An interesting point is how Scott’s Radio 2 colleagues all seem to be rallying round with a gushing love-fest. Saint Scott can do no wrong in his role as saviour of Radio 2 and their other presenters seem to have been briefed to toe this particular line. Do they really believe it or are they being disingenuous? Most jobs require a three month probation period. Scott, I’m afraid your time is up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Scott Mills dumbing down Radio 2”

written by 432Moore on 27/01/2023

I simply cannot stand the way Scott Mills has destroyed the afternoon on Radio 2. I no longer listen for the two hours he is on. He has no common sense, his manner and voice are irritating at best. He tries to build suspense where there is none or it is absurd to consider it. Its almost as though he has a rent a audience who phone in to make him feel better about himself. Thank God its only two hours. This is an epic fail and a massive win for other radio stations. Please please get him off the air as soon as possible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★☆☆☆

“Lost the plot!!”

written by HopeWatson on 25/01/2023

The old working structure of the Radio 2 team has been completely decimated. Now I can barely listen, the low point of the day use to be Jeremy Vines dulcet tones jibbering on more often than not about nonsense. Now he’s climbed the ladder on what can only be described as a talentless bunch. Finger nails down a chaulk board is more soothing than listening to Sara Cox’s waffle God I miss Steve Wright

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Radio 2 is over for me”

written by iiDugan389 on 25/01/2023

Scott Mills was the final straw for me. No offence to him, but the show is awful. Full of repeated items & boring, boring, boring!! And don’t get me started on the music he plays. What the hell were they thinking? I’m baffled. Anyway I’ve rediscovered Simon Mayo on Greatest hits radio for drive time (can’t wait to tune in for Ken too). Love Graham Norton on Virgin & Boom radio otherwise. Would never have thought I’d move away from radio 2, but enough is enough. Zoe Ball was my first switch off to seek an alternative, her over the top excitement & no-one else getting a word in was so annoying. Johnny Walker & Ken whilst he’s still there, will be my only reasons for tuning in to radio 2 now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 13 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not worth listening to since Scott Mills came along!”

written by 156Foley on 24/01/2023

Radio two what were you thinking?! Scott Mills sounds like he’s from a really cheesy 90s local radio show. The music is terrible now and the whole show is very poor! Can’t listen anymore!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 12 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Boring, boring, boring ”

written by on 24/01/2023

I have absolutely nothing against Scott Mills as an individual, he seems like a nice guy but his show is mundane and very boring. Things that "blow his mind" or are "amazing" are simply everyday things that we all come across every day. The birthday game is an example of building something that is very mediocre into a supposed game, its not a game, its just annoying. Can this please be a short term contract otherwise all radio 2 regulars will be moving on.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 16 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Ageism at its best. ”

written by GregoryKemp on 23/01/2023

After axing all the legendary DJs this station no longer flows seamlessly. Doesn’t cater for all ages anymore and has become extremely dull and boring. It feels like the life has been sucked right out of it. Makes your ears bleed. It no longer grabs your attention and keeps it. Terry Wogan would be livid. It wasn’t broken and it didn’t need fixing. It was a flawless machine that flowed perfectly and drew in the listeners by the millions but not any more. Someone’s on a power trip and they’re destroying what was huge success. Will the last person to leave the building please turn off the lights.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 12 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This station has lost its way. ”

written by on 20/01/2023

With the exception of Ken Bruce this station plays irritating rubbish and has too much pointless yack. Biggest turn-offs are: Zoe Ball Scott Mills Jeremy Vine Claudia Winkleman Rylan whateverhisnameisthisweek Sad but when Ken goes in March that really will be the end.................

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 9 0
★☆☆☆☆

“After 40 years of radio 2 it Greatest hits radio for me .”

written by Chester1911 on 19/01/2023

Since the idiots at radio 2 decided to replace Steve Wright with Scott Mills who quite honestly in my opinion has less talent than an amateur hospital radio station presenter. now Ken Bruce has decided it was time to jump rather than be pushed it is now time to also jump radio stations after 40 years of daily listening Greatest hits radio will have a new listener have a look oh their website at the talent they already have and Ken will just add to that, it would be great to see Steve Wright on their list of presenters who knows. You only have to see how many very talented presenters have left in the last couple of years to see there are problems within radio 2 and the thought of my bbc licence money paying people with such little talent as Scott Mills a disgrace.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Twinkytwonk's Response to Chester1911's Review

Written on: 24/01/2023

I suspect of lot of ex radio 2 listeners would prefer Boom radio to greatest hits radio. It has less ads, a greater selection of music ( as good as radio 2 of old) and most importantly , it's relaxing to listen too

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 21 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Love Scott Mills”

written by on 18/01/2023

I didn't listen to Scott on Radio 1 but liked it when he used to fill in on Radio 2. Used to like Wrighty back in the day but became constantly irritated by his singing over songs and never naming the artists. Show was tired. I laugh at Scott and love his dry sense of humour and wit. Guess it's too subtle for some. I think the music he plays is energising for the most part although it would be good to hear a bit more of the nostalgic stuff. Personally too much music as I'd like to hear more chat Zoe Ball is like an excitable puppy and talks to us all like we're at play school. Gutted Ken is going. Love Jeremy albeit a bit tabloid and Sara Cox is lovely but again it's like listening to a show aimed at six year olds.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 19
★☆☆☆☆

“Disappointed and relieved”

written by Aude2023 on 18/01/2023

I thought it was just me and then I found this review site and realised I am not alone, thank you everyone for not making me feel like a fossil! I find I now have to turn off radio 2 between 2.00 and 4.00 now, because of the Scott Mills programme and this is after 30 years of listening. Inane chat ( with an inordinate plugging of BBC programmes, the Traitors, Happy Valley etc. etc.) A playlist which is formulaic, repetitive and really quite tedious. Makes me sad that the BBC have taken away yet another bit of enjoyment ( yes I know that Wrighty could be a bit irritating, talking over your favourite tune, but the music was good and it really was 3 hours of entertainment). So, from one ex radio 2 listener, think I'll stick to Spotify with my own playlist and no boring DJ droning on about his 'fave TV prog atm'.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 23 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible decisions lately”

written by gaz1867 on 18/01/2023

Can't wait until ken Bruce's replacement is named !!!!!! Bet it's a shocker as all recent ones have been. Should be Gary Davis or it's time for goodbye

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 14 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Radio 1.5 ( AKA Radio 2 )”

written by SqueakyRM on 18/01/2023

As a trucker, i used to listen to Radio 2 all day. Sadly i missed out on the Wogan era. But Zoe (Menopause) Ball is dreadful. Scott ( Fiancé ) Mills should be a DJ on the waltzer, he is absolutely shocking. Me Me Me and sound bites. He cant be that good else they wouldn’t have reduced his spot to 2hrs. Now Sir Ken is going !!! Cant wait to hear his replacement !! Probably stormzy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bring back Steve and team!”

written by AndrewDowney158 on 18/01/2023

Why oh why was Steve replaced with Scott??? We already have Radio 1 and don't need another!! I used to listen every day but now only tune in on Sundays for Steve's show. Steve's show had great music, banter and discussion, Scott's has none of these! Now I understand Ken Bruce is leaving also! Shame on whoever started this, you've ruined a great British institution!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 19 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Ageism ”

written by 41Brown on 17/01/2023

First you drop Steve Wright and now Ken Bruce. I will never listen to BBC radio 2 ever again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Memysdlfi's Comment

Written on: 20/01/2023

I agree absolutely awful music now Scott mills is on I have to turn it off

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 33 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Music cheesy!”

written by Hession on 17/01/2023

Not enjoying Scot Mills afternoon show, I like him but music is poor and pop and cheesy not what you would expect to find on Radio 2 - more like a local station to be honest no offence meant local stations. Seems like pop bands and not more iconic music and cheesy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 28 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BBC Radio 2 has lost its way. ”

written by SusanJE on 17/01/2023

Used to love Radio 2 but over the last few years it has lost its way. Driving Simon Mao out and putting Sarah Cox in his place. Her voice grates. Steve right taken off afternoons Scott Mills is not a patch on him. Now they are losing Ken Bruce. God knows who they will replace him with. Zoe Ball just calls everyone gorgeous. I will never listen to Jo Whiley who saw Simon Mao off. A lot of Rubbish now.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 28 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview