Kinetico 2020c Water Softener Reviews

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
93% of users recommend this
  • Ease of Use

  • Durability

  • Style

  • Service & Support

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Kinetico 2020c Water Softener - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Kinetico 2020c Water Softener

Kinetico 2020c Water Softener
Kinetico 2020c Water Softener

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Ongoing service ”

written by Chris_Davey on 11/02/2022

Bought a couple of Kinetico 2020C units on the main land a few years ago now, and have maintained a very good relationship. Regular deliveries of salt. Really good and reliable service for years

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“KINETICO 2020 IS THE ONE”

written by Bentleyblower on 28/06/2018

In my judgement, it is as essential in the home as water itself and I speak with over 20 years experience of Kinetico. Vastly decreased limescale in pipes and huge savings on soap, shampoo and detergents. No electrical connection and no time clock etc. to go wrong. I would not be without it.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“Not really efficent”

written by ArianaHumphries on 03/11/2016

I had the said product installed 3/4 years ago. However my taps ,Showers,glass, etc have a white limey coating on them. I find this hard to remove and I feel it should not happen as the cost of installing it was 1,400Euro. It was very neatly installed so no complaints there.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“trouble”

written by Maeveu222 on 14/10/2016

After 4 yrs installed Yes the water is Good....but the system....Problem after problem....Salt build up in tank....it don't work....you drink salty water. Hoses are so ridged they kink or brake...Now for the UNDER SINK UNIT...it leaks if you just move the tank ....you fix one thing....then the other pops up...more water all over .....coupling come loose.....more water all over.....Unit shuts down...service people tell you.." we will see you next week "......$5000.00.... NO I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT TO NO ONE... I am 65...I cannot be on my hands and knees cleaning up water all the time.

Dental63's Comment

Written on: 14/10/2016

I would recommend to call your kinetico suppler 1st to investigate and rectify the problem.or contact Kinetico head office

Kind regards

Reply to this comment

Thomas51's Comment

Written on: 14/10/2016

UPDATE: The second service person on as many days came out and corrected Problem.....I am happy that he did so..as well as explain to me what I can do in
the future.... So on that regard I will Raise my review on service to 4 stars.

Reply to this comment

Dental63's Comment

Written on: 14/10/2016

Hi Again,
Thats really good news, im pleased problem was resolved, the Kinetico Is normally such a good work horse ( ive been with Kinetico 18 years with very little problem, enjoy the soft water and have a good weekend

All the best

Andrew
hawkersofteners

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Really pleased”

written by NickiGreen on 10/10/2016

Really pleased we finally made the decision to get a water softener fitted. It was fitted by Hawker Softeners Ltd in Essex and they made such a quick neat job of it even though they had to go through the wall into the garage, nothing was a problem for them. The water softener has made such a difference, everything looks cleaner in the kitchen & bathroom. The kettle which was full of lime scale now looks like new and I'm using less detergent and shampoo etc. Its really easy to keep an eye on and replace the salt. Would definitely recommend getting one.

Thomas51's Response to NickiGreen's Review

Written on: 14/10/2016

After 4 yrs installed Yes the water is Good....but the system....Problem after problem....Salt build up in tank....it don't work....you drink salty water. Hoses
are so ridged they kink or brake...Now for the UNDER SINK UNIT...it leaks if you just move the tank ....you fix one thing....then the other pops up...more water all over .....coupling come loose.....more water all over.....Unit shuts down...service people tell you.." we will see you next week "......$5000.00.... NO I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT TO NO ONE... I am 65...I cannot be on my hands and knees
cleaning up water all the time.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“INSTALLATION OF 2020C & K5 DRINKING STATION”

written by mrtall35 on 01/08/2016

I have just had the 2020c installed along with a k5 drinking water station. My initial contact for information and quotes was completed with r c owen in telford. I cannot praise the service i have received from him and his company. Nothing was to much trouble and i was given clear and concise information as to our options costs etc. What was really nice was the lack of hard sell and just somebody that was confident in the product. On the day of the installation the team arrived exactly on time and completed all work to a very high standard. We then given a detailed introduction / demonstration of the system etc. The work area was then left clean and very tidy. A little bit early to comment in detail on the system(s) as only just installed but a very good experience. I would have no problem in recommending kinetico and r c owen in particular.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Rather disappointed”

written by LillieSuarez15 on 20/07/2016

Hadsoftener for 4 months but not worked for past 4 weeks of that. When did work water was SO horribly soft was like washing in an oil slick. Did not enjoy at all. Since stopped was pleased to have normal water again but disappointed that the engineer cannot visit for a few weeks and conscious that the pipes need the softener. Would not recommend as seems a little more costly than I had expected for the salt - especially as, if not under guarantee it is over £80 to csll engineer - yet another gaqdget draining money despite the possible benefits. Wish we had not ventured into this - think carefully before deciding to have one fitted.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Works fine”

written by MariamStewart1959 on 30/06/2016

Much neater, easier to load, and more efficient than my old (1988) version.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Amazed at the Difference”

written by gauntlet on 09/06/2016

Very pleased with the Kinetico 2020c water softener. Installation was brilliantly carried out by Summerhouse Bathrooms. Staff throughout every stage were helpful and professional. Now we are using the softened water we notice a difference in every aspect of daily life. Bathing and showering is far more enjoyable and dishes that come out of the dishwasher and clothes that come out of the washing machine and sparkling and clean. Would recommend the water softener to anyone who is undecided. The cost of installation and running is far outweighed by the outstanding results.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellant product....highly recomended. ”

written by Gunnerw255 on 08/06/2016

Excellant product....highly recomended.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Kinetico Water Softener”

written by Portchesterclient on 25/05/2016

Portsmouth Water supply area I have just had a Kinetico 2020c installed by the local Kinetico agent (who services Postcode areas PO and SO) and his work was quick, efficient, clean and tidy. He explained how to operate the system and what to do in the event of a problem. There is currently a very good offer price and the difference it has made to my water is quite unbelievable. Throw away Viakal, Limelight and Shower Spray. I welcome the increased free time and hassle free use of water. No more white encrustation and limescale. Hello new shiny world. Have just used the dishwasher to clean cutlery, glassware and crockery. No added salt and no dishwasher rinse aid required. Fantastic result! Have done a wash of towels and line dried. They are soft and fluffy. Absolutely brilliant results and hopefully more to come. Currently there is an offer price applicable and itb is well worth considering. Work complete in just under 3 hours and the agent left with a very satisfied customer.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Nothing but problems ”

written by KD147 on 18/05/2016

I would not buy this water softener. Had to have a part relaxed not long after it was installed now having problems and the company I bought it from can't be bothered to call me back. Do not buy from Watercare in Whitton, their customer service after they have got your money is shocking

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“New to water softeners”

written by on 14/05/2016

Pleased to have finally found the space for a water softener - the Kinetico is one of the smallest on the market and managed to sneak it into an under sink cupboard Already seeing a reduction in the volume of products needed for washing/cleaning

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“excellent product”

written by TabithaNoble108 on 01/05/2016

Recommended by my brother. Very happy with appearance and function.I agree.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“found a system installed but switched off”

written by GiovannaGustafson176 on 18/04/2016

We moved to HA0 3LU in November and found the Kinetco 2020C switched off. since we had used the Kinetco softner before, we put some salt blocks and switched on. After 3 weeks the salt block is half but the unit is dripping and brought the bathroom half of ceiling down. Any suggestions?

Dental63's Comment

Written on: 27/04/2016

Hi
I sounds like there was a problem left on this softener when you purchased the property and this is why the owner probably left it switched off and didn't inform you.
I would switch the unit and have the unit check out / serviced.

Kind regards
Andrew Hawker
hawker softeners ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Hawker Softeners Ltd”

written by TonyLack on 15/04/2016

I have had a Kinetico water softener fitted by Hawker Softeners Ltd And cannot fault the system or the installation. The softener has made all the difference as I live in a very hard water area. The fitting was quick and made no mess at all and the instruction given was simple and easy to understand. I would recommend this product and this company to anyone wanting this type of product.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very good product”

written by pauldunican on 10/04/2016

Simple to use, was simple to install and more importantly have do what it says, the water is now brilliant.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“very neat and efficient”

written by MoniqueMaher495 on 08/04/2016

After using a Kinetico for over 10 years without any problems , switched to a different make. Had so many problems. So i phoned up Kinetico again and Love your watre installed it immediately. Delighted with it. System looks neat and easy to operate. And water feels soft already! Just one recommendation. You need to register the softner amd the serial number is not that easy to find. Many phone calls later i have it. Kinetico should put the serial number on the outside!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best We've Had”

written by HalsteadTony on 22/03/2016

The Kinetico 2020C is the third softener we've installed in 30 years and it is the best! It's compact and the block salt system is fantastically simple. Installation by Hawker Softeners from Colchester by neat and simple. After one month of operation there isn't a sign of scale (in the teapot or coffee maker) or tide marks around the shower, basins or bath or on the taps. Brilliant!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Kinetico 2020c intallation by Hawker Softeners Limited”

written by Bracken14 on 04/03/2016

Last month I had a Kinetico 2020c installed by Hawker Softeners Limited following a survey. The installation, including a soft water external tap, was completed in a professional and neat manner. The improvement in water quality was noticed within a couple of days and has continued to improve in softness, leading to less soap and detergent being required. I fully recommend both Kinetico and Hawker Softeners to anyone thinking of having a water softener fitted.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Loisgrissom on 3rd March 2018 Report this content
How often should I check it to replace the resin?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content gauntlet Written on: 05/03/2018
Do you mean the salt block? You just have to look every few weeks!
Report this content gauntlet Written on: 05/03/2018
Hard water is softened by removing the calcium and magnesium it contains. When hard water passes through the softening system's resin bed, the calcium and magnesium (hardness) ions are removed through an ion exchange process, so only softened water passes through to your home. Once the resin bed fills up with hardness ions, it must be regenerated (cleaned). Salt is typically used in the regeneration process and restores the resin to a "clean" state so the ion exchange process can begin again. GUESS THERE'S NO CHECKING NECESSARY!
Asked by Robo1947 on 25th April 2017 Report this content
I am having my new Kinetico softener installed this week. Can I drink soft water with no harmful effects?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content gauntlet Written on: 26/04/2017
Yes I think the water is fine to drink. However we installed a water filter that bypasses the softener. The water from that is great for drinking and cooking and as our water is very hard removes the lime!
Asked by Victhomas on 13th September 2016 Report this content
Our softener is about 30 years old. Is it likely that it needs servicing or even replacement? It appears to work OK but the pressure through the softener seems low. 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by RitaBatch on 2nd May 2016 Report this content
We use 2 blocks of salt in our softener. One block has finished well in advance of the other. Shall we run the machine on the remaining half block until it is finished, or does the machine always need two blocks of salt in it?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Stephen2160 on 24th April 2016 Report this content
What is the average time for salt replacement on the 2020c?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by MichaelMacMahon on 17th February 2016 Report this content
Can a water softener affect the pH reading of domestic water?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by dwatton on 21st November 2015 Report this content
Do the resin beads used in the system ever need replacing and if they do, how long should they last for before being replaced?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content kengill Written on: 24/11/2015
I have had a number of these water softeners over the years and have never had to replace the resin beads. The only thing that needs replacing are the salt blocks - frequency is dependent on individual water consumption. The system is designed to self regenerate the resin - as far as I am aware, the resin never needs replacing. To be sure you should ask a Kinetico supplier. Mine have been totally trouble free over may years. Hope this helps
Asked by sandyy on 17th August 2015 Report this content
I have a 12 year old Kinetico water softener which works perfectly fine before we moved the kitchen to the new extension. We now have a new megaflow unvented pressurised system, can I connect it back to this system?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content kengill Written on: 24/11/2015
I should have thought that as the softener is fitted to the mains water inlet to the house what happens downstream should not preclude fitting. But clearly advice from a Kinetico supplier would be relevant
Asked by Silver1111 on 14th July 2015 Report this content
Softener leaking at inlet pipe with filter. Does it have to have a special kenetico seal replacement because the one I have used has not stopped the leak. Is there another reason for it to leak at this point? Many thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by CHEWY62 on 1st June 2015 Report this content
Does the warranty cover ALL COST when a problem arise's with the system, such as a defective/ leaking tank

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Joan100 on 2nd May 2015 Report this content
I was just wondering if anyone could tell me the rough cost of the water softener and how it compares with other systems in terms of value for money and efficiency? Any information you can give me will be much appreciated. Regards

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content j-221 Written on: 06/05/2015
hi, cost of block salt, there are 2 in one pack to use in machine. it cost about £4.10 to £4.50 per pack. It depends how much water you use.hope it helps.
Asked by Raymonddiffey on 10th April 2015 Report this content
Do they have spare parts for a Kinetico 2020c?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content onetraveller Written on: 13/04/2015
I'm not sure who you mean by they, but th people who installed mine, carry some spares although he did say that in his experience they rarely go wrong
Asked by RConnorton on 5th February 2015 Report this content
Is it possible to make the water flow faster and stronger in my shower?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Barbarsharp170 on 27th November 2014 Report this content
How long is the warranty on this product?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by AlanEPayne on 12th October 2014 Report this content
Can you drink softened water?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content ColinAllinson Written on: 13/10/2014
You can drink softened water but it can contain traces of salt which is not considered ideal for health if drunk regularly. However, the amount of salt is small and, in the scale of unhealthy things we regularly expose ourselves to, it ranks very low. Ideally, have a drinking water supply that comes off before the water softener (mine goes through a Brita inline cartridge filter) but it is not 100% essential.
Report this content GrahamCastell Written on: 13/10/2014
Soft water is perfectly safe to drink but some people prefer to drink normal hard water. In most cases the engineer will recommend that one tap (or fridge connected to mains water for drinking) be retained as a hard water supply.
Report this content ICEGRIPPER Written on: 13/10/2014
Yes you can. Although it is recommended that one water outlet bypasses the softener to deliver un-softened water. Think this dates back to some research (quite a long time ago, when softeners were in their infancy)that showed that softened water can have higher than normal levels of sodium, which is not good for newborns in large quantities. We drink softened water in the ICEGRIPPER office all the time...
See All Answers
Asked by dpadgett on 6th October 2014 Report this content
My Kinetico 2020c water softener seems to be continuously regenerating i.e.there is a hissing noise from the softener and a trickle of water into the drain. How do I resolve the problem please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content ColinAllinson Written on: 07/10/2014
I am no engineer but it clearly should not be doing that. If it has been doing it since installation then I would suspect that it was not installed correctly and you should get another qualified kinetico engineer to look at it. If it has just started doing it then it may need service
Report this content Thornem Written on: 07/10/2014
Mine regenerates about once a week for about 20 minutes, in a hard water area. I get through two salt block every 6 weeks or so. It sounds as if yours may have an internal leak. I suggest you need to get a Kinetico engineer in to see what it's doing. If it's using a lot of salt that's another clue.
Report this content GrahamCastell Written on: 11/10/2014
Take the back cover off On top in centre you will see a Phillips heads screw. Put screwdriver in screw press down continue pressing and then turn clockwise for seven clicks and release . Leave for 30 mins and check if stopped.If not try once more. If no joy you will need to call your Kinetico engineer.
See All Answers
Asked by Afal on 26th April 2014 Report this content
What softener is best when there is no scope to separate the water supply for drinking or garden use?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content ColinAllinson Written on: 28/04/2014
Because some salt residues can be left in the water that has passed through a water softener, it is not ideal to use this water for either drinking or garden (salt is not good for you or plants). The ideal is to soften all water AFTER the drinking water and garden tap. What we have is a three way Brita tap where the normal hot and cold comes from after the water softner but the drinking water and garden tap comes from before the water softner and the drinking water goes through a Brita P1000 cartridge filter. However - if you are going to do this, be careful because some BRITA filter tap sets are not compatible with a water softner in the system
Asked by acotter on 26th March 2014 Report this content
Our 2020c water softener got flooded from river water, is it ok to restart and use it ?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content ICEGRIPPER Written on: 27/03/2014
We had a Kinetico 2020c installed at the ICEGRIPPER office because London water is very hard. Although we are not water softener experts our advice is based on our knowledge and use of the softener...yes, you should be able to re-start the softener and use it again because unlike an electrically operated softener the Kinetico 2020c is in effect operated by the water flow. However you might want to ensure any river water is flushed out of the softener by running clean water through it for an extended period of time and ensure all the taps it serves are open so any contaminated water is flushed away. It would also be advisable to place new salt blocks in the softener and ensure there is no debris in the salt block chamber. Hope this helps.
Report this content ColinAllinson Written on: 29/03/2014
I am also not a water softener expert but my view would be the same as ICEGRIPPER. For a definitive answer you should contact your local Kinetico installer. I dont know what part of the country you are in but, here in Telford, we have a very good and helpful installer (R C Owen) who would have no problem sorting this out.
overview