Home Learning College Reviews - www.homelearningcollege.com

★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
82% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Home Learning College - www.homelearningcollege.com

Home Learning College - www.homelearningcollege.com
Home Learning College - www.homelearningcollege.com
Home Learning College - www.homelearningcollege.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Home Learning College”

written by 489Porter on 04/03/2018

Studied Web Design and Management. Reached exam stage after passing my modules and there were no ecam centres at all that were registered as a test centre under 'Certiport' (issues ecam vouchers I paid for) so could not sit exams. I spent 3 months looking with very poor assistance from HLC. Tried to get my money back via complaint with Financial Ombudsman- no joy whatsover! What a waste of £4k. Stay away from HLC who no longer cover Web courses - I wonder why?!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish”

written by Allisono315 on 06/04/2017

These people are hanging onto my money I enrolled for a specific course they took my money I was diagnosed with cancer and went through hell for two years along with the anxiety which is still on going. I am now taking them to court to get my money back !!! STAY AWAY FROM THEM OR PAY FOR A COURSE OF INHUMANITY

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Definitely needs improvement ”

written by MonicaPruitt on 19/12/2016

I am currently enrolled in the AAT level 2 course and so far it has been a shambles. When I first started, everything was going fine and I had my materials on time (better than most). As the course progressed, it was as if we were forgotten about. Every question asked either doesn't get a reply at all or it can take up to a week! When we completed 1 of 2 practice assessments, we were told we could book our exam. I obviously went on to do this under tutor advisement, Only to then find out we were only half way through the unit. We were not told that the exam was on the entire unit. When I went to re-book my exam as I was no where near ready, they told me I had to pay £100! When I enrolled onto the course, I was told there would be loads of interactive live classes. When we had these live classes, they were no where near long enough and only questions that were irrelevant were answered. I now cannot remember the last time we had a live class. It must have been at least 5 weeks, there has only been one recorded class. Then there is the fact that there are an obscene amount of errors in the textbooks and in the practice questions so there's no real way of knowing if you've got it right. The only way I've managed to pass so far is purely through the AAT website and finding out my own information. Considering how much money they are happily taking from me for very little in return - I would not recommend this company for the AAT course.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful is an understatement!”

written by 315York on 05/11/2016

Course books full of errors from typo's through lack of proof reading and also lack of correct content One particular textbook missed out a whole chapter which was definitely going to be assessed Exam booking process lengthy and complicated Tutors not very responsive and when they do respond they have very few words to answer your question Slow online learning campus Customer services couldn't really care what you talk to them about. Lack of interest and care When complaining, it's always your fault not theirs! Horrifically expensive, just money grabbers with no conscience. Avoid at all costs!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid!”

written by Eliza319 on 28/10/2016

course material full of errors... how are you suppose to learn!? Lack of support and help Overall un helpfull and wish i had gone elseware

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Paying money for nothing”

written by Kitz1 on 14/02/2016

I applied for course and because I did not cancel it in the 14 day period, which was before the course started, So I didn't know at that point I wasn't right for it. I am now paying £1500 pounds out for nothing I have tried to get out of it but I cant PLEASE beware of this with HOME LEARNING COLLEGE dont want them taking money off others for nothing,

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Deffinitely not for everyone ! ”

written by tamaskrfodor on 22/01/2016

Very easy at the beginning but very hard over all. Definitely not recommended to those wants everything at once. The study material is okay how ever, I always and still have my blind spots in Accounting. I mean I know what is in my book, but I always aware of something I might not know. It might be part of the course I don`t know. How ever it made me to read University books about Accounting and many other so in general I know a lot more already but still confident with my self. Like I dance on the edge. Anyway I am 100% it will help me with my future studies. I am at level 3 completed my level 2 and willing to complete level 4 with them. Remember this is not a Social Republic. The Home Learning College wants the best out of you! They don`t want you to just pass but bring out the most you are capable of. So unlike other training providers this one make sure you`ll never need to worry in the future. Teachers are there for general questions but not as a baby sitter.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“GOOD TUTOR, VERY POOR STUDENT SERVICES SUPPORT!”

written by Raident371 on 30/12/2015

I would not recommned anyone to pursue their studies with Home learning college. Although my tutor is very helpful, the Assignements are confusing and if you need any help from the student services department in regards to finances they do not help you ! Regardless if you lose your job midway during the course or even if your are experiencing financial difficulty there is no support or financial help what so ever! Save yourself the unncessary hassle!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT TOUCH WITH A BARGE POLE”

written by joannerallen on 29/10/2015

Signed up for Digital Marketing course 2 years ago. I was totally mis-sold the course. Was told someone without marketing experience would easily be able to complete it. Very untrue. The work documents are extremely confusing and I found I spent more time trying to decipher what the actual task was than completing assignments. I truly believe, had this not been the case, then I would have had more chance of completing the course in time. But, due to certain matters, I was unable to complete the course before my tuition period ran out, but was told at the start of the course the fees for extending. I've come to extend the course and have been told these prices have DOUBLED now and that I also have to pay exam fees outright before I can continue. This is all due to a new VLC platform to hold student documents, lessons etc. I asked why a new platform meant extortionate costs and the advisor couldn't even tell me!! Due to the ridiculousness of the situation they gave me the extension for the original cost, but I am still absolutely fuming that they feel it right to jack prices up for existing students. I'll now be making a formal complaint and taking this to trading standards.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid this 'education' provider at all costs.”

written by Kianaj119 on 29/03/2015

Too many gaps in the course that need supplementing with other material. Instructions become rather vague and confusing as you advance through the course. Towards the end of my final book, so much information was crammed in what appeared to be in haste which should have been introduced gradually throughout, and in digestible format to enable one to retain effectively to memory. A threadbare set up of 'tutors' who do not appear to have university background. They are unimpressive and unprofessional. Assignments were taking longer and longer to be verified and returned which forced me to pay for an extension. I became discouraged and upset with the entire handling of everything and have since abandoned the completion of my level two course. To summarize, it has been money ill spent on a course which will never prepare me adequately for the job I had set my heart on. Instead I am going to have to research other colleges where I'll be able to complete my course and if necessary progress onto a higher level. Considering that it was 'Basic' bookkeeping and this should have paved the way for me successfully to go onto the next level; alas this wasn't meant to be. A harsh and painful lesson learnt instead!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE ”

written by SiennaMcGuire24 on 25/03/2015

I enrolled with the college on advice from one agent who promised to give me a job here in England. After noting the poor customer care and I decided to drop out. They are not threatened to take me to debt correctors. Please if you enrol read the contract agreement. Even if you drop out, basing on financial position, you be made to pay.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“warning”

written by fouz on 12/03/2015

I took childcare course level 3 with home learning college.they gave me 2 years to complete it for very little fee, comparing to other colleges.They were very nice at the begining but later i only got one and half year of pain and stress. I left the college and completed my level 3 qualification in 9 months with another college. i would not recommend this college to anyone. sad no good checks are being done on these  companies. :(

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Research other education providers before parting with...”

written by Ashworthwv73 on 02/02/2015

When I started my Basic Bookkeeping course, which involves manual and then progresses onto computerised, I felt that the material provided could have been presented professionally and of higher quality. Quite a few typos and grammatical bloopers found in the books. Explanations could have been expanded with clearer examples; I felt as if the authors were getting themselves all tethered up and this left me feeling a little panicky because I was uncertain if I was grasping the concepts clearly!!! The tutors do try to help out but leave a fair bit of room for you to fathom tasks out, this doesn't help if the explanations are a bit dubious. I am attempting now to complete my computerised level and found this to be the most confusing and stressful. I have revised and re-re-re-revised my penultimate assignment since November 2014 and have re-submitted this particular paper now for the sixth time. I have less than eight weeks until I sit the final exam, eventhough I paid for a three month extension, I don't see this happening! As much as it pains me,I am going to jump this sinking ship and re-do the computerised bookkeeping elsewhere.

Lilchica1982's Comment

Written on: 08/03/2015

Hi There.

I completely agree with your comment ref home learning college. I signed up to do level 1 manual 2 computerised and sage. I made it through to assignment 5 on level one and then the hlc announced the syllabus was changing. I've since found out there's been various live class recordings which I've not been able to access due to a. Having no reminders and b. Personal commitments. Despite the fact I have phoned emailed etc the tutors about this they've not really helped. The course was incredibly expensive and I also regret doing it through the home learning college. There's no chat room as such where you can communicate which fellow students and I feel for a college and with amount of technology available now they could do a lot better to support students through there studies. I have however found the ICB very helpful and supportive. Good luck with your studies

Reply to this comment

Emaretee's Comment

Written on: 27/03/2015

After reading previous reviews, I decided to go with Training-Link, and was soooo pleased I did!! No problems, great materials, marking was prompt, fair and informative. I'd highly recommend Training-Link if you're considering any further bookkeeping study (as that's what they specialise in).

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again”

written by Dhanish on 20/01/2015

I would certainly recommend staying away from this so called college. I was told to download a software which was recommended in order to continue with the course however this didn't work as they gave me one for old windows. When i enquired about this, i didn't get much response and they even had the nerve to claim it showed on their system that it was working fine. when I replied they didn't even have the decency to reply and that was nearly two years ago. Im not able to cancel this course as it was outside the 14 day cooling off period. They were really quick to get you on the course and get your money but when you actually needed assistance, they would turn a blind eye.

Von1Uk's Response to Dhanish's Review

Written on: 23/04/2015

i had a lot of problems with them, was given the wrong books they where for a previous year i was doing sage payroll. I had a lot of problems, couldnt log into the site for a few weeks, this happened a few times.
My software (payroll) was the wrong year, i felt like the tutors wernt very sympathetic towards you if you were struggling. It took me a few years to complete my course due to this and i never passed my exam i got 83% out of 85% which was a pass and funnily enough a few others got the same results.
I took my exam in feb 2014 and havent done a re-sit as i will have to pay for current year software and a resit exam.
The exam was nothing like what we where taught either.
I would def not recommend them it cost me about £1,500 in total. I wanted to cancel a few into the course but couldnt

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Sounds promising but badly managed. (EASY JET OF...”

written by Cullen401 on 05/01/2015

Their Tutor support is quite bad, they don't really care about your performance and only there to asker your questions (I could have used google for that) Their customer service is so bad, I move in august 2013 and asked them to change my address it's now January 2015 I was contacting them 4 or 5 times asking them to change my address, they where telling me the same things all the time, send us an email and we will change it ( I been sending them email and calling them, and I was told every single time we are sorry but we didn't get any requests, please send us a new email.) And apparently that even after you bought a course and haven't finished it in their time period you need to pay more (and no i'm not talking about paying for exams) you need to pay more for the tutor support even if you don't need it (otherwise you won't be qualified to do any exams) Like this is worse experience I ever had with a company. So practically it's like easy jet sounds cheap looks like you have to do a lot of things yourself. (which normally comes from a teacher/tutor but loads of hidden charges and "surprises".) Quit disappointing. :(

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unprincipled. Unethical. Incompetent.”

written by TheBoots on 30/11/2014

I was on HLC's "Google Squared" digital marketing course (£1,500 for six months). The course content was dismal (you could have got it from two good books and watching some videos on youtube); individual assessment from (and contact with) tutors was precisely zero; sales-people (sorry, "admissions tutors") told people whatever lie they thought appropriate to gain a sale (claiming in many cases that it was "equivalent to a masters"). HLC claimed to be working with Google on this project (a major attractant for many students) but the exact nature of that link was utterly opaque and never properly explained; many people fought for refunds but were denied them; the company consistently refused to respond to or acknowledge complaints on social media, simply shut down a thread on LinkedIn which contained highly critical comment. Their employees are ill-informed and unskilled; their lecturers have no professional qualifications; the marking, such as it is, is mainly handled peer to peer; the qualification does not equate to any known qualification in education. If you're happy to pay £1,500 for a (very) basic introduction to digital marketing, run by unqualified tutors, then this is everything you've been looking for. Otherwise, steer well clear.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Refunds”

written by Slb12345 on 14/11/2014

Booked an AAT accounting course then after viewing all the info and modules found out that it wasn't the right course for me. Cancelled two days later by email and by phone. Emails only returned after 72 hours. When calling they won't give you a yes it's been cancelled say we will reply to email in 72 hours. You call a few days later and it will be done you still within the limit time to cancel. No it was to be cancelled on the day but no. Call again then get an email that it has been cancelled and that a full refund will be issued within 7 days. Wait 10 days no refund. Call again they will check with accounts then email saying they tried to refund money but couldn't. Needed bank account and sort code so they could do it. Went to the bank explained the situation and they told me that the money can and should be refunded to the credit card it was taken out of without any problem whatsoever. Called them again and was on hold for a long time. Then they couldn't refund the money because it was a large amount. The bank told me the money should only be sent back to that account that they had all the details they needed. I told them this and gave the the details again and I checked 3 times because they had entered twice numbers that I hadn't said. Told me it would be done by next week. I said why and she said they put the request to accounts and it takes a week to process. I said it's been more than 7 days already do I have to go another way to get a refund? Asked for accounts to call me back not someone from the help line she put me on hold gain the said someone would email me I said no I want a phone call today from accounts as it should be no problems in refunding the money. She said someone would call me and hanged up. Customer services isn't good at all. When you enquire about a course it takes seconds to get a reply to your emails and they call you to get you to buy the course. Then you have a problem they don't want to deal and resolve the problem. Only book a course with them if you have done your research and will not be asking for a refund.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“HAD TO PAY OVER £1000 EVEN WHEN TOO ILL TO STUDY!”

written by 119Finn on 25/06/2014

I joined HLC and about a month after I became ill and was signed off work etc, I sent letters to HLC and proof but they continued to make me pay the balance of around £1300 even though I was too poorly to study at all. I was absolutely disgusted with this company and would never recommend signing up to anything!

120Finn's Comment

Written on: 30/07/2014

to 119Finn -
what u wanna expect from them? I think u get also all the course materials. Read first T & C before signing something and HLC is not the only one online college. Check in googel next time....

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Best Distant Learning College”

written by Jaylin460 on 09/04/2014

I chose HLC through recommendations and the service provided was excellent.All manauals were very easy to refer and understand.The tutors were very helpfull in correcting any mistakes and the online forum was good.I completed all my levels 1&2 and passed becoming a AICB in a space of within 1.5 years.Great work to all the staff and tutors keep it up.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Bookkeeping courses”

written by 1954Lewis on 09/04/2014

I have recently completed my level 2 computerised bookkeeping course after a gap of around 18 months, as such the material has moved on somewhat but the older version is still available to use on the internet portal site. I particularly like the way the course has been broken down into bite sized chunks and the working assignments in the book which you mark yourself are excellent and prepare you well for the exam. I did not like the tutor marked assignments which were short answer format and sometimes badly written; these had to be answered but were not practical like the previous questions and not at all like the questions on the final exam. It felt as if the tutors were just getting an easy job and leaving us to sell mark the difficult part (I would also have liked to have received the answers in hard copy too if we were to self mark). That said I generally found the tutors very helpful and responded to queries quickly. The only delay was trying to get through the final papers ready to sit the exam, Having done 2 mocks one the ICB one, I had to wait a week for my last mock and slight corrections to be marked which meant I almost missed the curfew for exam registration. when i contacted the tutors they were very helpful about this and assisted me in progressing my exam date so i could do it before an operation. overall, I am very happy with the material and tutors help, although I wish the tutors were available for longer hours. I have so far received distinctions and look forward to starting my last 2 modules in the near future.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Lisarymer1 on 28th August 2014 Report this content
I am about to embark on a counseling diploma, I need to study at home as I'm about to have a baby. Are there any reviews please on open college?  I'm asking as the course seems to be half the price of anywhere else hence I'm wary it is a genuine site. Thank you in advance.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview