River Island Reviews - www.riverisland.com

★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
20% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
River Island www.riverisland.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for River Island www.riverisland.com

River Island www.riverisland.com

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely rude staff ”

Written on: 09/09/2022 by BenFarley356 (1 review written)

Went into the branch next to Oxford circus station to return a dress with the labels on and with a receipt. Not very nice e memembers off staff made me feel so embarrassed the way they embarrassed me. I did not understand the refund process and thought they would tell my options as they put refund on to a gift that I know longer have. When I asked if I could just do a transfer as I had the receipt they said know call customer service. They then said if I didn't know I should have asked bit how would I know to ask anything its job job to explain. During this embarrassing experience another member of staff I do not her name but recognised what was happening and nicely try to help as she could see how embarrassed I was. She was so very nice I then said to the two other why couldn't you have explained and been nice your colleague. And too insult me even further when I walk away from the till o then heard her laughing about it. I explained that I worked in customer service and would not speak to my customer like that. Plea if you have cctv in that store please check the time was about 12.45 pm on Friday the 9th. When I asked there names they were very reluctant to give it to me the lady with the long dark hair refused and said I've done nothing wrong.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT SHOP HERE”

Written on: 27/07/2022 by CrystalWoodruff352 (1 review written)

The worst customer services experience ever. They delivered my item very late so i emailed their customer services team for a refund on my delivery fee. I used the web form on their website to send my request as i couldn’t find a contact email address. I got an automated email back saying I could expect a reply within 24 hours. 5 days later I still have no reply. I email again, i contact their social media team, I email another one - all attempts at contact completely and totally ignored. It gets to 8 days without any contact and i decide enough is enough. I spend an hour on hold to customer services after being told I’m ‘1st in the queue’ at the start of the call. I speak with the rudest girl with the biggest attitude. When I explain the situation she tries to tell me I’ve not sent any emails and must have typed the wrong address. When I explained that I used the web form on the river island website - and suggested that must mean their link is broken - she agreed ‘well the web form must be broken then’. When I told her I’d also had automated responses from the river island email address she didn’t know how to respond, stumbled on her words, and her attitude became even worse. She gave me the email address for customer services - which is the same email address I’ve been being ignored on - to send a complaint to. I did that 2 days ago now and still no contact from the team - but I have been sent 2 emails from river island requesting feedback on ‘how their customer services team did’. It’s honestly excruciatingly embarrassing to run a business this way. No wonder river island are going under!  I’ve contacted the CEO in the hopes that he gets annoyed enough by customer emails that he actually sorts out his company’s customer services. Because they are awful. I’m on day 9 and still nothing from customer services except a request for feedback. I’ll never, ever use river island again. I hadn’t used them for years anyway because of how dated they’ve become but I figured I’d buy some work clothes. I won’t be making the mistake again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Online purchase ”

Written on: 04/07/2022 by Karolin (1 review written)

Worse online purchase experience ever. Lack of comms and totally helpless staff instore. My item was collection from store on the 18th June. Never arrived was told to try again 2 days later, which I did, again still no item and the staff who could not help only provided a customer call number. Called customer service and after a long wait was told a refund will be given which I should receive in 10days. Today is 4th july still no refund. Called customer service again to be told another 10days. I asked for a email of my refund request which the customer service opp said I will receive in 5mins. Still waiting. Terrible, poor, pathetic inadequate, useless customer service. All the trouble for a Simple sandal purchase.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Inept customer service”

Written on: 27/04/2022 by Sophis (1 review written)

They refuse to give me a refund. I sent two orders in one bag. They don't know how to track down the bag. The return department sucks, how could they just dismiss the other items? I received partial refund for the return label of one order with 3 items but in still missing refund for 5 items. They refuse to give me the money. I sent emails, I called them, I emailed the CEO and nothing. Five year olds are running this company!!!!! Horrible customer service!. I have never had any problems with ASOS or any other company. Avoid head aches, you have been warned! I should have read the reviews on Google before making a purchase. They are taking people's money, they get the items back but no refund.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible customer service/return policy”

Written on: 01/02/2022 by shopgirl1022 (1 review written)

Echoing other US orders here, there are NO free returns AND their sizing charts are GROSSLY off so you are guaranteed to order the wrong size no matter what. Then, they will not allow you to ship returns in one package, you have to do individual packages for each order costing a TON (definitely more than the items themselves). Customer service is RUDE online and completely unhelpful. Never again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling customer service!”

Written on: 01/11/2021 by Tyrells401 (1 review written)

Avoid! There is Litrally no-one to help you if your goods go missing, no matter how much you spend! They take your money, keep your parcel then disappear! So unprofessional, robbing greedy, disgusting!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst service from a management staff member ”

Written on: 28/12/2020 by RossMassey341 (1 review written)

I payed a visit to the river Island store at Bolton around 2pm, after a stressful shift at work. Working for the NHS, doing a night shift and waking up to pick some items from town centre. I seen a pair of boots in the store, black boots. The Size 7 was pricess £15 and the size I required was 5, which was priced £30. So I asked politey a staff member the actual price , which turned out to be women's wear management. She scanned the size 5 pair of boots and responded they are £20, I replied the size 7 is priced at £15. She scanned the 7 and again responded rudely they are £20. So both have been priced wrong. I advised they should be sold at the price written, she rudely reponded "well if you want the size 7 I can give that to you" I replied no i was after the size 5. She replied "well do u want the size 7 or not" I replied no. She grabbed the boots out my hand and ripped the tags off aggressively and walked off. I stood there for a few seconds as I was shocked at the horrible, disgusting and de moralising behaviour at a UK store and this being a women's wear management, description of a blonde hair woman. I went back to her and asked her name as I want to file a complaint, again she aggressively shouted " I don't need to give you that information and go online if needed and complain". I have never ever in my life been served in such a rude manner and I have travelled all over the world. Hence the reason for me to be taking out my time to email. Mentally that was not good for my health. I went home from leaving the store immediately. This is not a way of service to anyone, regarding anyone feeling stressed etc. Attached is image of the boots I had chose. And how this staff didn't even bother to price up after ripping tags off and just placing them on the glass shelf, regardless of how busy. It occurred on: 28/12/2020

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent store/complaints ”

Written on: 29/04/2020 by GPuttock1 (1 review written)

I brought a top for a freind within the Christmas extended returns period, it didn’t fit and I went in to exchange it (st Helens store) to be told by a very rude member of the team that I needed to have asked for a gift receipt to be within policy, there was no management in (eg manager or assistant manager) just an equally as rude team leader or whatever they are named. I asked to speak to her and she said there’s no point as she would say the same, my normal receipt isn’t enough. There was a board that confirmed their policy and this was incorrect! Then emailed the complaints team who said that they would refund the money if I took it into store, this was in black and white. The really nice store assistant (wish I remembered her name!) said this would be fine but she needed to check with her assistant manager, the assistant manager refused, read the email and said he doesn’t care what it says it’s his policy and it will flag back end, I asked when his store manager would be back and he would not give me her first name or when she would be back. Just that she wouldn’t be back for a while. He was EXTREMELY rude!! How he is a manager I do not know. I then continued with my complaint on email, they asked me to return the item by post and keep proof. I lost the purse with the proof which is fair enough for a few months as it was in a purse that I miss laid, I then found it and sent it off to be told I could only have a gift card of the amount, I have sent numerous pictures of a refund being promised and the company are out right refusing to do anything but a gift card! It’s appalling!! It’s £21 which is no biggy it’s just the pure principle that such A big company are atrocious!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid like the plague”

Written on: 08/02/2018 by juliekeogh (1 review written)

Bought a jumpsuit online, didn't fit so sent it back, they refused to refund because I had worn and washed it! I couldn't get in the thing so I could never have worn it, let alone washed it! Their arrogance is beyond belief, there's nothing you can do about it, was the response I got from online chat. Left a review on Trust Pilot which prompted them to open a case for me. They then go right round the houses wanting this and that information from you, for them to tell you the same thing. They have advised me to take it to a store and if they think it's ok they will refund me. I can't see a thing wrong with it but what's the betting they will, which means I've been sold a used item described as new. It's not even about the £30, it's the principal of it, to be accused of something you haven't done, I am just incensed by it, and their attitude towards customers is apalling.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Be wary, river island online acts in an under hand manner”

Written on: 01/01/2018 by 1984English (1 review written)

River island is my favourite brand so it is with a heavy heart I'm writing this terrible review...to warn others how bad the company is when it comes to online ordering and even worse customer services who will do nothing to rectify. Might as well talk to a brick wall...one might get a better response! Ordered a couple of tops and a handbag online. 3 days later received an email saying order dispatched and to wait for 'arrived' email to collect from store. 4 days later received an email saying order returned to warehouse as customer cancelled. When I queried customer services as I did no such thing as was patiently waiting for email so I can collect from store, they blamed the store saying they've not scanned the item so it's been returned back. However when I went into store to query the manager he specifically said he's not received any orders and as per company instructions they hold for 14 days before returning. Apparently my item was returned in 3 days!!! When I laid the facts to customer services they didn't have a clue what and why it's happened. Nor could they get the order back to me. Worse was the items have been sold out...so not only have I been inconvenienced big time, the company is not big enough to accept responsibility and pinning the blame on each other (store and online warehouse). The best I got from from customer services was ..."at least you've been refunded". Gee thanks how kind of them! My advice to anyone ordering online....think twice because if something goes wrong river island will do nothing to rectify!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst Online Order Service”

Written on: 22/05/2017 by ayetrib (1 review written)

I ordered couple of T-shirts online with standard Delivery option . I received an email stating a delivery date and time . I did not received my order on that day but next day morning I got an email stating order delivered . I called customer care to find out the status of my incident and they told me to wait for 48 hours to reply back . After 48 hours , again i called customer care and this time they again said the same thing but I reverted back to them stating its already 48 hours . After that , the representative started searching for my earlier complain logged before 48 hours and started speaking to his supervisor keeping me on hold . After few minutes he told me that the delivery driver forget it where he delivered my parcel . They use Hermes delivery service . They asked me to reorder and select express delivery which I can claim free later on but I asked for refund . He said he raised the request and will get email shortly but whole day passed , I did not received any email for refund . I am not sure how many times I need to call them to get the refund . The RiverIsland is one of my favourites brand but I am thoroughly disappointed with their online service . It is ridiculous that the driver of delivery service forgets where he delivered the parcel , what kind of delivery service they are offering to customer. I am not going to use online order for riverisland in future . Moreover , its time for me to change my favourite brand as I don't have time to go and buy from shop everytime .

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst ever”

Written on: 31/10/2016 by lolafashionista (1 review written)

This site/company is the worst. I purchased two tops a few months ago and they BOTH arrived defective. I still wanted the items but it had already sold out. I wrote them in a panic since you only have 14 days to return an item for a refund. After 3 days of emailing back and forth, they told me to keep the items and they would refund only one. I was a little upset but figured it would cost me less to have it fixed so I let it go. Fast forward to a recent purchase I made. I know, I didn't learn my lesson. I clearly ordered from the US site a size 7 boot. When it arrived is was a UK 7 which for those who don't know is like a US 9.5-10. No way it fits me. I emailed them once again and they had the nerve to say I ordered the UK 7 and they would not exchange it. My options were to keep the item or ship it back for $25 OVER what the item was worth that I paid for. I argued and argued but to no avail. They insisted and stopped communicating. This site not only carries defective merchandise but is also unethical in their business practices. They should be shut down.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Manic, Ridiculous, rigid, fraudulent, no empathy ”

Written on: 17/12/2015 by gblade007 (1 review written)

Bought 2 pairs of size 12 formal brogues shoes, wore it to work the next and realized it was agonizingly tight. It ill fitted shoes gave me blisters which I had to nurse for days. I ordered another yet another 2 pairs this time a size 13 while i returned the size 12 shoes.. I was refunded for one of the shoes, called up the customer service and told the shoes is not resell able - accidental damage. Manic, no empathy, force selling, rude customer services.. Ridiculous!!!!!!!!!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disability”

Written on: 01/12/2015 by CherishAshworth (1 review written)

I am a disabled wheel chair user.I tried to shop at the Longwell green store in Bristol and all I can say is I think the manager of the store needs to get in the lift in a wheelchair an try to get out on the 1st floor and buy a item in the men's department as it is impossible.i feel no compassion has been used at all .

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't bother ordering from these people. ”

Written on: 14/09/2015

Where to start..... I wish I checked reviews on the internet before ordering from these jokers. These people are running some type of scheme. They must need to hold on to capital to make their books look better than release orders at their leisure, if at all! Supposedly my order was despatched on September 1 and due to arrive by September 10. I checked the tracking number, which their courier service claims will be updated once it reaches the local destination with information from the local courier service. However, no tracking information can be found when I click on the number. So, I sent an email to customer service at RI and one to their delivery provider wnDirect. I heard back from wnDirect first and to my surprise they state they have never received my order. Several hours later I receive an email from RI and they claim international orders may take extra time, so they will only look into the order after September 22. This time I called customer service to tell them the courier service says they have not received the package. Their customer service responded, they must have received it but because they can't track it that's what they stated. WTF??? The FAQ section of their delivery provider clearly states "Each parcel that is shipped can be tracked through the wnDirect website or via in-country partners track and trace systems. Once the parcels arrive in-country retailers will receive an email notification which will include the unique tracking parcel number and a link to the in-country partner track and trace system. Through either solution retailers will get full end to end visibility of all the key events throughout the end to end journey of the your parcel, starting from the point your parcels are shipped right through to end delivery." At this stage I am preparing myself for a long fight if I don't see this package come in over the next week and still get the same push back from their customer service. I really think these people are running some type of ponzi scheme. Never in my life--and I'm 40--have I had these issues with a retailer. Ever! If you order from these people (especially Internationally) do so at your own risk. If you really must purchase something, please use your credit card instead of a debit card. Credit card companies are more efficient with dealing with fraud. Plus it's their money, not yours, which they are quicker to reimburse in your account than a bank.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“CHEAP CLOTHING”

Written on: 20/08/2015 by Dominguez42 (1 review written)

SO I PURCHASE FROM THEM 180.00EURO THE CLOTHES DIDNT FIT I TRIED ONE OF THE PANTS I BOUGHT AND IT RIPPED WHEN I WAS TRYING IT ON THEY SAID I COULD RETURN BUT I HAD TO PAY TO SEND THEM BACK DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY IT IS WORTH IT MIGHT AS WELL GO TO A CHEAP SITE AND GET MORE ITEMS

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Poor service”

Written on: 20/04/2015

I bought a top from river island 1 week ago , I wore it once,washed it and as I was ironing it noticed a hole in the back of the neck, it looked like it was were the security tag had been. I took it back to the Middlesbrough store from were I bought it . I told the assistant about the problem, her attitude was terrible she made me feel as if I had put the hole in myself. I am a 56 year old woman and not a cheeky young kid. I will never go in that shop again . I suggest river island your girls need more training on good customer service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“wost customer service ever ”

Written on: 19/04/2015

Don't bother ordering online with these clowns.your parcel will never reach and you through your money away.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“OS Returns is a Nightmare”

Written on: 21/01/2015 by RiverIslandNotSoGood (1 review written)

Terrible! I have shopped on River Island before and constantly buy their clothes all the time on ASO but after this recent "Return Attempt" I will never again shop with them. The clothes didnt fit although the same size as other orders, so i sent them back. No one was at their depot so the post office is holding it, when emailing them (8 times now) they dragged the process out asking minor details that had already been sent and now they have taken it past the 28 days timeframe and refuse to follow it up, not that they ever tried to in the first place. There goes $300+ just for shopping with a company that has great marketing/clothes but by far the worst customer experience I have ever seen. Dont bother sending them an email, they only reply with standard templates and will keep you running around for weeks. If you are having trouble they recently became a member of the Retail Ombudsman in the UK and I suggest lodging a complaint there. At least that will cost them to resolve or tip toe around your complaint.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dire - deserves zero stars”

Written on: 05/01/2015

Don't bother ordering online with these clowns. They'll blame couriers even when they haven't bothered to despatch the goods. Claim that the delivery date on the email is 'estimated' even though it doesn't say that anywhere. The @riverislandhelp twitter feed has dozens of people making identical complaints and they are being fobbed off and lied to. Just appalling customer service. River Island IT meltdown? Or just biblically poor CS? You decide!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview