Shearings Holidays Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Shearings Holidays
★★★☆☆
2.7
41.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Accommodation

  • Customer Service

  • Food

  • Facilities

  • Location

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Shearings Holidays - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Could be better!”

★★★☆☆

written by Weiver on 25/04/2024

space, between seats, differs on driver's side up to toilet, from seats on nearside. Driver verified this, saying he would report this to his boss. DID NOT LIKE being dropped off in middle of new town with little info given. LIKED Snowdon Train and Port Merion. YOU ASK FOR PLENTY OF DETAIL BUT 50 CHARACTERS MAXIMUM! Not enough space

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Christmas rhine cruise Johan strouse picked ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 18/01/2024

Picked up in hull nice ledger coach. Then changed outside dover very basic coach. Long hold up dover which made the journey 22 hours. That could not be helped. Got to the rhine boat 2am.had to pay even for water nothing in cabin. Coffee & drinks terrible also the food terrible 5 course but very small portions. Never had such a awful christmas dinner. Entertainment man on organ very dull no christmas spirit. Met nice people all thought the same. Rhine was high water. Could not be helped. But could not go to ports or trips as aranged glad to be hopenever again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Never again !!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/12/2023

Booked the Thursford Christmas Spectacular which was absolutely fantastic the rest of the holiday was not.... It took 9hrs to do a 3-4hr journey, down to the driver, not traffic. We eventually arrive at the Carlton Hotel and are rushed in to dinner because of our late arrival, which in my opinion was virtually inedible. The next night was Christmas dinner, the Turkey was OK but all veg,potatoes, stuffing balls etc were all cooked from frozen, very bland and tasteless. The next evening We asked our waitress what she would recommend, after turning her nose up at the options she said the pie would be the best. Also my opinion, the hotel needs a major overhaul, in our room the wall lights were hanging off the wall, stained carpet, broken strip light over bathroom sink, dirty black grout around the bath and shower area, permanently stained toilet seat and dust/dirt around floor edge. The bar had 2 areas taped off due to a leak causing the ceiling to fall down. Myself and my companions will not be using Shearings again or recommending. We did contact Shearings with our complaints before writing a review but feel their response was unsatisfactory.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Don't use Shearings if you want a good holiday ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Carlow1958 on 07/12/2023

3 days ago Shearings appalling Aachen Cologne Valkenburg market trip Just came back from the Aachen, Cologne and valkenburg trip. Can only say never again by coach or with shearings. The coach part of the journey is just ridiculously long, plus the convoluted journey stopping picking up people everywhere. Then being taken to stop 24 to be placed on your tour coach, not enough seats at Stop 24, queues for the toilets and over priced food outlets. The return journey was even longer due to delays of other coaches returning. Then leaving stop 24 late, given no stop anywhere till Southampton, 5 hours later, toilet on coach had not been emptied and stunk, then being turfed out at Southampton into a small mini bus. Really made the whole holiday a nightmare. Our hotel was tatty and falling apart, should be classed as 2 star, hotel staff were friendly and breakfast was good, but don't expect a decent evening meal. Our coach drivers exact words one evening was see you tomorrow at 10, if you don't die of food poisoning, and when he dropped us off at stop 24, he said think of me next week I will probably be eating the leftovers from this Week, proves how bad it was. Now the trips to the markets, Cologne we were dropped off outside the city in a dark muddy carpark, told we could not be dropped off in the city anymore, funny the Ledger holiday people were. Now we were taken to the station by the coach drivers who really had no idea where they were going, no ticket machine at the station, they said just get on, only 150 euro fine if we had been caught without a ticket, we arrived at the Dom station, one driver stayed on and the train went with his group, the Second driver wasn't sure if he was in the right place and boarded the next train, some people were confused and tried to get back on holding the doors open, very dangerous. My friend and I stayed on the platform as we had enough at this point and made our own way to the markets. Normal German markets gluwien and bratwurst everywhere. On our return to the coach it was dark, we purchased our tickets and returned to a very dark station exit, an underpass with homeless people sleeping under it and a walk to a wet and muddy unlit car park where the coach was. Not safe for people of a certain age or with walking difficulties as some were on this trip. Over half the people who returned were unaware they had to buy train tickets. Shearings your organisation is appalling. Now we had two coach drivers, only one drove the coach for the whole trip from stop 24 on the Monday to stop 24 on our return, questionable driving hours I think. The hotel we stayed in was not good, mold in the bathroom around the shower tiles, rust fittings near the toilet and the cheapest towels I've seen in a long time. The hotel area wasn't good either as there was nothing around, 25 minute bus ride to Aachen so you were really stuck to go out in the evening. Unless your driver didn't want to eat the evening meal and took you to the nearest takeaway, yes they did. So if you want a relaxing holiday at the German Markets avoid Shearings and the hotel Buachaus in Aachen. Sorry Shearings this trip is appalling.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“This firm doesn't care about people with disabilities”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Scorpio52 on 24/05/2023

We booked seating appropriate to someone with sight disability and was placed near the back of the bus without consultation with ourselves. We have one week to go and are being forced to review our going on holiday due to this. Thanks shearings for ruining our holiday !!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“They like misleading old people”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gwaller on 01/02/2023

They enjoy misleading old people, then refuse to give them anything back when the trip wasn’t anything like they said it was going to be.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Christmas in Brandenburg”

★☆☆☆☆

written by linnie65 on 25/01/2023

where to start, coach not an executive coach, hotel pleasant enough but food very sparse for Shearing's customers although other guests had good size portions of food. Itinerary not well thought out coach crew hadn't been on this tour before so had no local knowledge. Although we all knew that it was half board we did expect to be able to purchase lunch on Christmas day at the hotel but was told that this wasn't possible as the hotelier had 150 local people coming in for lunch. it was a small village with one shop so nowhere to get anything to eat or drink from breakfast time until dinner time, Christmas dinner was underwhelming consisted of turkey sliced fried potatoes and frozen veg, with the smallest slice of apple strudel to follow. Never mind the live music to look forward to but just like a pantomime oh no there isn't as Shearing's had cancelled due to cost, although on the itinerary so should have been costed already. Good bit about this trip was Christmas Eve day trip to Salzburg please beware this holiday is not as advertised and when complaining to Shearing's they really do not care, Shearing's is the poor relation of Ledger and Ridley's the poor relation of Shearing's. Please do your research before booking any holidays with Shearing's. They take your money but do not provide what they say they will provide so totally mis sell their holidays.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lorshields's Response to linnie65's Review

Written on: 31/01/2023

Totally agree. I too was on this holiday and it was definitely not as advertised. Coach too small definitely notice luxury coach, it was small and uncomfortable. Hotel needs to decide whether they want paying customers or to entertain locals. Hotel bar closed at 10pm xmas eve. xmas day unable to get a drink or snack for lunch as hotel entertaining locals. No tea or coffee facilities in rooms. No where in the small village open. Spent a lot of money on this holiday and didnt expect not being able to get a drink during the day on christmas day! Music christmas day evening was cancelled by Shearings even though advertised in brochure. Coach driver told us they wouldn't pay. The scenic train ride - if you consider Aldi, Garden Centre or Car Parks scenic!!! This is just a normal general public train. Lovely pictures of Innsbrook and Saltzberg lit up for Christmas in the brochure. Shearing take you early just before Christmas Market opens and returns before dark so dont get to see any lights which was disappointing. This holiday felt like it had been thrown together last minute. We were very disappointed. I have complained and Shearings offered £100 as a Good Will Gesture which I found insulting!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“HOGMANAY IN MELROSE AND EDINBURGH”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 12/01/2023

We didn't board the coach until 11:00 am which meant we didn't arrive at the hotel until 7:15 pm. It was an unpleasent journey as people sitting adjacent to us were very poorly and coughing and sneezing constantly. I think it's Shearings responsibility to ensure passengers are fit to travel. The driver was competent although a little quirky, she told us numerous occasions not to poo in the toilet and it was only for liquid. When we arrived in Melrose she told us that on the day of departure we had to be on the coach at 6:30 am which meant we had to have breakfast at 6:00 am the suitcases had to be outside our room at 5:00 am, we had to get up at 4:00 am to have a shower and pack. Due to the early start we decided to go to bed early, huge mistake! our room was under the ballroom and it was as though they were having the New Years Day party in our room! The Waverley Castle Hotel was awful... It's in a terrible state and requires major work. The corridors smell of damp, the wallpaper if falling off the walls, the ceilings have holes in them, the carpets are threadbare. The stair carpet needs replacing urgently. The bedrooms need decorating, the carpets are dirty the chair is knackered. The bathroom has a rusty towel rail, the toilet seat was loose... it was like riding a bucking bronco! There were handprints on the walls, can only guess this is where the toilet seat was sucessful in throwing someone off. The shower head randomly jumps off the wall! On a positive note the reception, dining room and ballroom were okay and the staff especially the manager were great. The cost of the holiday for two people was £818.00 considering the late arrival and the obscenely early departure gave us two days and on the second day there was nothing to do. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, on previous coach holidays the driver has offered an excursion at an additional cost, even a return to Edinburgh for a couple of hours would have been good. I DO NOT RECOMMEND SHEARINGS OR THE WAVERLEY CASTLE HOTEL, to be avoided!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Alfredap's Comment

Written on: 29/04/2023

Got to agree this hotel is deffo in need of TLC, a lot of it, just come back from a very shattering trip.
Staff very friendly, food sub standard, upon late arrival on way up, we were served with small portions and dried up food. After a journey of over 12hrs in a very uncomfortable coach, not a good start. However food did improve slightly
Room sub standard, bathroom in dire need of repair.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Avoid at all costs! ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Annalucey on 31/12/2022

My mum went on a coach trip with Shearings and on the way back there were not enough customers for a coach so they provided a cab. This cab driver drove my mum and other customers to a deserted street and asked them to get out and wait in the rain whilst he picked up someone else! My 73 year old mum was terrified and thought she would be stranded somewhere she did not know. He then arrived back with an underage special needs boys and drove him home with my mum and others in the car!!! He then drove them back to the station driving so fast my mum was so scared and kept asking him to slow down! When I informed Shearings they took over 4 weeks to reply to my complaint and offered my my a £20 voucher for compensation that she had to spend on another holiday from Shearings! Shearings are a disgrace and have no understanding of how these experiences make elderly people feel. They don’t care about their customers and the services are disgusting! Do not book with Shearings!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 7 0

“Discrimination”

★★☆☆☆

written by dhO'Keefe475 on 31/10/2022

Beware Shearings/Ledger discriminates against single travellers. Not allowed to book a seat on the coach as others travellers are and usually pushed to the back of the coach. Even when you give a medical reason for seating near the front, it is ignored when seats are allocated. They even discriminate when booking extra trips, I was not allowed to book an extra trip (told trip was full) but others were allowed to book after me. The included trips were very good but hotel was like 'Faulty Towers' and food inedible.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Disastrous St Ives Weekend”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ovWest114 on 25/07/2022

Everything was completely sub-standard and we were so glad to get home. We will never ever use this company again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 7 0

“Shearings coach tours valkenburg July 2022”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Alsypal on 24/07/2022

This was a budget holiday and it was certainly huge et service. Convoluted and torturous system of uk feeder coach pick up before collation at Folkestone before onward despatch to Europe. This makes for a long and arduous trip if you live north of. The M25. Cramped coach we had no window as such was claustrophobic and like being transported in a G4S prison transport truck. Coach staff on the main tour were uninterested gave little information and were just doing a driving job rather than providing a holiday/tour experience. Our hotel at resort was budget which throws up problems - no air conditioning in 38 degs heat Customer base is mainly OAP as are we but some clearly need to get out more. A bad 3xoerince of Brits abroad nearly drove us mad. Budget holiday poor service poor logistics system for people perhaps they should try transporting cattle Everything done 9n the cheap

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Vonnie54's Response to Alsypal's Review

Written on: 23/02/2023

I have just booked this break for June. We live in the east .could you tell me what time you arrived at the hotel as I see there is no evening meal for the night of arrival and also on the return journey ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 10 1

“The worst evening meal food ever served in a hotel.”

★★☆☆☆

written by rosewarne22 on 22/11/2021

Hotel was clean. Staff friendly. Room was spacious /warm [Nov 2021]The evening meal was ,frankly,disgusting. 3 nights stay. Friday was chicken breast which was tough as boots and extremely dry.[Wifes choice.] Obviously from the previous day left over and re heated.I ordered baked cod. It arrived swimming in melted butter! The veg was overcooked and mush.Mange tout was brown. Decided to try next night but leave if same. It was better. The duck was well overdone as was the vegetables. Duck in a thick brown sauce. Every one was moaning. The guys friend opposite went out to eat. Again chicken 3rd night. It was edible. Everything overcooked. Sloppy veg. We eat out a lot. This was by far the worst eating experience I have ever had in any hotel. The person heating the food is obviously incompetent. Plates were going back with little eaten. If this had been a truckstop then the drivers would lynch them. I ordered lemon sponge and received treacle. My wife the fruit cocktail. The waiter brought lemon cake and told her their was no fruit!!! What is going on here. Not a manager on site in 4 days. 1 receptionist. 2 waiters. THATS IT. Our 4th and last visit. Never again. Thanks Shearings. Stayed 3 nights self drive.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 1

“Fantastic trip to Waverley castle hotel scotland”

★★★★★

written by vzLopez66 on 12/02/2020

Had a wonderful well organised trip from Banbury oxford shire to Waverley castle hotel in Melrose Scotland ,seemless transfer plenty of info even came and called us from Resurant .Was my first time on a coach trip , I was dreading the journey and distance but was very comfy and we had comfort stops on way to stretch our legs . Our driver stood out nothing was too much trouble he was a mine of info about everything also a few jokes to pass the time ,he even helped me deceiver my Grand fathers birth certificate from 1898 in his own time above and beyond would travel with this man again he was brilliant , The trips were perfect plenty of time to roam and discover ,loved every minute , entertainment was good too got up and danced and even tried to master gay Gordon’s dance lol can’t wait to do another trip but will have to see where Mr info driver is covering , thank you Sherrings totally recommend ,also everyone was very helpful and friendly

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Saturday night entertaiment”

★★★☆☆

written by Gutierrezxl412 on 08/02/2020

Friday night entertainment was good. Saturday however was abysmal, disorganised and unacceptable. The vocalist actually performed for 45 mins, leaving the audience bewildered and waiting for more. The bar staff appeared to be in a hurry to leave,collecting glasses and unable to provide even a bag of crisps after 10.20 pm.The reception level bar was closed by 10.20,leaving us no option but to retire to our room. We had anticipated a far more entertaining weekend than was provided.All in all a very disappointing end to what could have been a great weekend break.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bad company ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by gnDugan378 on 27/01/2020

Lost 400 pounds as refused a refund. Partner has cancer but manager replys we dont want to refund it. Disgusting company report to abta DONT USE. NEVER ANSWER PHONES. Bad company AVOID AVOID

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“ Christmas in the Austrian Lake District at Hotel...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Garden_of_England on 27/12/2019

I usually try to find some positives in any holiday but I have struggled to find anything to commend this trip. The journey through the tunnel to the overnight stop in Cologne was tedious and might have been improved if the drivers had given us some information on our route but all we got was a very poor short DVD on a couple of the places with nothing of much interest. The new onboard media with WIFI was so slow, with errors when trying to login and was virtually unusable. This continued for the whole of the tour. The arrival at the Best Western in Cologne was met with no atmosphere, no Christmas spirit, no bar and no snacks available. This at 10:15 in the evening with no information on any local places to get something to eat or drink. (Hotel report on Tripadvisor). The very early shambles of a breakfast was OK. Another long tedious day with no music or entertainment followed to arrive at our second hotel in Austria for our festive Christmas break. The first information given to us was "don't come to us if there is any problem with your rooms we are not plumbers or electricians - deal with the hotel direct" - Nice and helpful! The hotel was basic with little Christmas atmosphere (report on Tripadvisor). The organised trips were seriously hampered by the bad weather and although some of us would have preferred to miss the stop in Bad Ischl we were forced to spend 2 hours in freezing pouring rain in a small shopping town. It would have been better to return to the hotel get warm and visit the pretty local town and beautiful Church but no the itinerary is inflexible! So much so we decided not to go on the next day trip so we could see the sites of the local town before everything closed up for the holidays. The journey back to the UK via the 4* hotel in Liege was equally boring and another disappointing stop (Review on Tripadvisor). Although not an expensive tour it would pay to increase the price and use a better hotel with better food for the main stop. I have travelled with Ledger, Newmarket and Crusader on Christmas trips to Germany and Austria but this offering from Shearings was by far the worst. It was our first and most likely last if the standard of this tour was anything to go by.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“5day newquay holiday nov4th-8th 2019”

★★★★★

written by Mooney290 on 15/11/2019

Beresford hotel great.Food very good.Rooms good.All the staff are excellent a credit to the hotel.trips were good.Only downside to holiday was the driver not a very pleasant chap think he needs customer service training.We enjoyed the holiday very much thank you shearing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appalling treatment of a disabled lady passenger”

★★☆☆☆

written by suzydoll68 on 24/06/2019

This was our first holiday with Shearings. After discussing the needs of our group with the assistance team at Shearings we chose to go to Morecambe. No travel issues getting to the interchange at Normanton. The driver kept us informed along the way. He explained clearly what would happen when we arrived at our hotel. The hotel itself is slowly being updated but for a 3* it was ok. All the staff we're amazing. Any request was granted without any issue. The food was plain and simple. Good choices and was always fresh and hot. We we're told the excursions we're escorted and suitable for people with mobility problems The first on Tues we we're dropped in a one street village with extremely uneven and narrow pavements and a steep hill into the carpark. DEFINITELY NOT DISABLED FRIENDLY. After almost 2 hours we were taken to aother village, famous for cheese making. The coach dropped us the opposite end of the village. The driver told us roughly where the cheese factory was. Unfortunately by the time we had managed to climb up to the main village, we barely had time for lunch then had to return to the coach. No time to walk to the cheese factory, so we missed that experience. Very disappointing. On the Weds our driver offered us an additional excurtion, which was a nice half a day bonus. On the Thurs we were really looking forward to going on the steam train featuring the UK's longest tunnel and oldest surviving viaduct still in use, while travelling 72 miles through the amazing scenery. We we're informed that we would not be travelling by steam train but by a normal desiel train. The driver didn't know why. Before leaving the coach the driver told us we had seats reserved on the front 2 carriages and a volunteer would be with us to explain the trip. We we're not accompanied by anyone from then. There was several disabled people in the group, I had to go to the ticket office to find someone to escort us over the train tracks. Once we joined the rest of our group, the railway man informed us that there was only 2 carriages running. We had reserved seats but the majority of people already sat in them refused to move. Consquently I had to stand in the entry area of the train for the whole 1 1/2 hr journey. I am a disabled lady that needs to use a stick!Shearings said it was a steam journey with escort. It is just a normal timetabled passenger train. We weren't given any information about the journey. In Shearings brouchre it does state that it may not always be possible to use the steam train.  IN THE TICKET OFFICE AT THE STATION THERE IS A NOTICE ON THE WALL SAYING ONLY TIME THE STEAM TRAIN RUNS IS WHEN IT HAS BEEN CHARTERED PRIVATELY. On Fri we set off to retrace our steps home. First stop the interchange, where accordingly to Shearings we can purchase food and drinks. PLEASE BE AWARE THAT THIS ISN'T ALWAYS TRUE. When we arrived at 1550 there wasn't any sandwiches or cooked food available, when I asked if they could do anymore I was told no. After a short wait we were told our coach was ready for boarding. We joined the rest of our group. My husband wheeled my Dad to the steps,helped him up on to the first step then turned his wheelchair slightly towards the driver stood near the luggage hold. The driver made no move towards the wheelchair, but called my husband back and told him to fold it up and lift it into the space. He finished guiding my dad onto the coach then did as asked. The driver got on the coach and we set off. He didn't take any names, or introduce himself. At the first drop off point he shouted for a couple but there was no one of that name there. He got off to make a phone call. We went to the next few stops then made our way to our drop off point. As we approached the service area, I heard a couple of passengers asking the driver if he was sure he was going to the right side. He assured them that he knew what he was doing. He pulled up and we began to get off. My husband and I were the last of our group of 6 to get off. My parents had managed to get off and they we're waiting for the wheelchaiir and bags. My mum saw me coming down the coach steps and warned me the last step was very high, I knew I would have a problem getting off. I asked for the coach to be lowered but was told it wouldn't go any lower and he didn't have a step to help me. I had no other choice but to try to lower myself down onto the steps of the coach then shuffle down the steps,until my legs were dangling over the edge and letting myself drop. I was extremely embarrassed and upset by this. During this I have hurt my knee,arm side. Again a gentleman with us insisted he was on the wrong side. The driver walked away for several minutes, when he returned to us he told us to get back on the coach because we were in the wrong place. My husband and mum got my Dad back on. The driver got back into his seat and sat smirking as my husband literally had to manhandle me up the step as I tried to pull myself up. Hurting myself again. Again he said there wasn't any step to help. By this time I was very upset. This is no way to treat a disabled person. I politely asked the driver for his name but he refused to tell me. I told him I was hurt and felt very humiliated and that his attitude was awful. He shouted at me and said he didn't care and he felt threaten by me and if I didnt shut up and sit down he was going to get me off the coach and leave me behind. As my husband helped me back to a seat, I couldn't stop myself from bursting into tears. My Dad was very upset about the whole experience and told the driver to stop it,and to get us to the right place. The driver kept coming back at him. My Dad told him if he was a younger fitter man he would put him in his place. The driver responded by saying come on then I'll soon have you. My Dad was very red and breathless, my mum stood up very distressed pleading with driver to stop it. She told him that my Dad has a heart condition and that he has got terminal cancer. The driver said SO WHAT. I DONT CARE. Absolutely disgusted

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 6

“Brilliant well worth the money”

★★★★★

written by Batchelor58 on 31/05/2019

Ive been on many shearings holidays home and abroad they are amazing so good last oct myself and a friend went on the Newcastle and Durham 5 day holiday coach driver was brilliant the excursions hotel food drink and especially the coach driver was second to none. He made the coach journey go fast and very interesting. We stopped off at the sheldon train museum on the way home and went to york for 3 hours before going to the interchange for the journey back home. We did so much in those 5 days. Definitely recommend and will be looking forward to be going with shearings again in the near future. The shearings staff portage and hotel staff amazing. Im booking another holiday soon with them Thank you worth the price of the holiday cant wait to travel with you again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by stekatlyn on 5th April 2023 Report this content
Do men in their 30's go on coach touring trips

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Japay on 29th April 2022 Report this content
Do Shearings cancel holidays short notice if not enough interest? How much notice do they give, we need to get to the U.K. for pickup?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by carlamcbean on 13th April 2019 Report this content
Hi all, were thinking of booking the half board to salou staying at the hotel festival park half board, what I'm wondering is can u upgrade to all inclusive on arrival at hotel? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by LedZepGirl on 27th February 2018 Report this content
Travelling with Shearings to the Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer from West Bromwich. Any ideas on how long the journey will take please?  And how many stops are made on the way? Many thanks.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by taylor99 on 16th September 2017 Report this content
Why are your bar prices so dear..?  Your bar people stand around doing nothing...put a happy hour on.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content joycem Written on: 19/09/2017
Well I have never found the bar prices any different to a normal pub. The bar staff are always either behind the bar or in the near vicinity. Happy hour? I don't think that is really appropriate bearing in mind the holiday itself is such good value. I have stayed at The George, Harrogate every year for many year and it is second to none and the staff are very attentive and helpful, as are the Shearing drivers. Some people complain about anything!!
Report this content taylor99 Written on: 20/09/2017
Joycem do you work for sheerings holidays ...your answer was so biased
Asked by Sandyrf57 on 24th February 2016 Report this content
Is there an age limit to go on a Shearings Holiday?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content Disappointedcouples Written on: 26/02/2016
No lots of different age groups although most we have been on they have been middle aged
Report this content magswint Written on: 26/02/2016
As far as I am aware there are no age restrictions on Shearings holidays.
Report this content joycem Written on: 19/09/2017
My daughter came with me one year when she was about 15 and she had a lovely time and conversed with people older than herself. Fair enough, most of us are 'older' but age is no barrier. We are all young at heart and that is what matters!
See All Answers
Asked by maggie1083 on 5th November 2015 Report this content
I am thinking of booking a holiday with Shearings Holidays to Menton French Riviera on 20th February, 2016. I am a single traveller. Do they cater for single travellers or will I be in the minority?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content dreamracer2005 Written on: 05/02/2016
Go - I nearly always travel alone and on coach holiday you always meet people and make new friends. YOu can have the company of fellow travellers or do you own thing. I'm off to Bournemouth today on my own for the weekend with Shearings. You'll more than likely be sat with or near the fellow travellers for meals as quite often they are at set times and your driver(s) will help answer any queries you have and there if you need to ask anything or worried at anytime.
Asked by allanjgraham on 22nd June 2015 Report this content
I'm hoping you could help me. I live in Middlesbrough my girlfriend lives near Mansfield we are wanting to go to Llandudno on one of their tours shortly. Would we both meet at the same feeder station and then travel together on the same coach? And how would we go about payment? Thank you

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Cathowden Written on: 23/06/2015
Why don't you give shearings customers service team a ring they are very accommodating and will help you with any questions you have .
Asked by Eileencorless on 12th December 2014 Report this content
We are doing a New Year break this year and would like to know what the dress code is for New Years Eve, ie dinner suits, suit and tie or smart casual for the men?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Violetsnanni on 10th October 2014 Report this content
I have recently returned from lloret de mar. I loved the location but I hated the long overnight coach journey and wouldn't do it again. Do Shearings do en route stopovers to Spain/

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by rozdee on 13th February 2014 Report this content
Thinking of booking a coach trip The Splendours of Switzerland. Is it good value? Hotel room warm enough or do we need hot water bottle? Good view from all rooms? Does one need Swiss Franks or will Euros do? Do they supply fridge, kettle in room? Many thanks.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview