Barclays Online Banking Reviews - www.barclays.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
8% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Barclays Online Banking www.barclays.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Barclays Online Banking www.barclays.co.uk

Barclays Online Banking www.barclays.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“They just don't give a damn”

Written on: 17/06/2022 by awhite120 (3 reviews written)

My wife and I have banked with Barclays for the last forty years during which time we have had a small overdraft facility which we have never used. Out of the blue in April we received notification from them stating that they were withdrawing this facility with no reason given. Now the fact that we don't use the overdraft is irrelevant, what I wanted to know was, what financial gain Barclay were likely to make from this action so I wrote a letter, yes a letter, to the UK CEO asking him that very question. I am not nieve enough to think that my letter would get anywhere near Hammerstein but correspondence of this nature is usually taken seriously, but guess what I didn't even get an acknowledgement. Only cartel members such as Barclays can get away with such arrogant and disrespectful behaviour. Shame on you Barclays and shame on you young man.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Bad customer service”

Written on: 06/12/2021 by Dawnpin (9 reviews written)

To make things easier and faster, so I could get my Christmas present and get my son's hair cut and I could get my hair appointment and have my hair dyed washed and cut and dried , so as my bank does not have a scanning facility, but my son's Barclays Bank account has my mum wrote the cheque in my son's name, so last week he scanned the cheque and one hundred pounds went into his bank account, but the cheque was for two hundred pounds, and we are still waiting for the other one hundred pounds, and because of this I could not have my everything that I wanted for my hair and my Christmas present from my mum and dad, which will stress my mum out and she is not allowed to get stressed because she will end up in hospital again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worse bank ever for security issues”

Written on: 22/06/2021 by Irelandv424 (1 review written)

Ongoing fraudulent transactions on my account, person information hacked/changed causing security issues. I have had a number of transactions not of my own, thus money taken from my account - when requesting help to file claims and be reimbursed, Barclays failed to do so. I have never had an issue confirming security over the phone til now, when apparently my date of birth is no longer correct! Disgraceful customer service! Lack of assistance in times of need! Security issues regards personal information/data! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE EVERYONE AVOID THIS BANK, AND IF POSSIBLE I STRONGLY ENCOURAGE YOU ALL TO SWITCH TO ANOTHER ASAP!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Telephone banking is not fit for purpose ”

Written on: 28/12/2020 by Simonep13 (1 review written)

The system includes a loop that tells you it cannot do a simple thing like pay another person. It then tells you to phone the number you are on. How stupid is that! I will now write to the banking ombudsman.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Online / Telephone Banking That Fails”

Written on: 04/08/2020 by Kennedy244 (1 review written)

Tried to pay a bill online only to find that the online system does not recognize my ID. Never mind I thought I will call the online service that is automated. well this has proven most frustrating, I'm answering automated messages with NO and it selecting YES. Eventually after going around in circles for ten minutes I am put through to a automated message that says that I am now being redirected to a customer service representative. I have now been waiting on the phone for 61 minutes forced to listen to music that any lift would be ashamed to play. The service is utter utter rubbish and I will be closing my account when I can get through. Staying with NatWest who seem to offer a service and not a Barclays clock watching service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Barclays: Best bank in the UK”

Written on: 26/04/2020 by RR55 (1 review written)

Undoubtedly the best banking and customer services in the UK. Underrated and deserves a far better reputation. Never had an issue with this bank whatsoever to the opposite of all the other banks I have used through the years, where problems occur constantly. The application is also very easy to use and provides an excellent customer experience. I couldn't imagine anything that could disappoint me with this bank and it's services.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Alexdowie's Response to RR55's Review

Written on: 03/06/2020

The reviewer must work for Barclays IT department.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Truly Utterly Dreadful”

Written on: 04/03/2020

Slow, klunky, unreliable. Horrendous presentation of information. Bizarre, time wasting, error inducing navigation structure. Irritating "mouseover" screen-obscuring menus that contain almost no useful options - just Barclays Marketing links. Frequent logouts (other than timeouts) at random events such as selecting a link - never any sensible reason why given. As for support - ............ There is nothing to like about it - no redeeming features at all. I've been using online banking / share dealing for >20 years - this is by far the worst. Sadly Schwab UK were taken over by Barclays. I well know that fintech firms are capable of creating rubbish like this but how it got signed-off at Barclays is a complete mystery. Obviously, by people who never have to seriously use online banking or share dealing themselves.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Slow, slow, slow”

Written on: 16/04/2019 by 185Norris (1 review written)

Barclays on line banking is steam driven, you would have thought that in the 21st Century with the clout and technology that Barclays have they could get this working to acceptable standards. I also have an online account with Cashplus and its lightning compared to Barclays. This is not a recent issue its been like it for years. Sort it out or lose customers its that simple. Perhaps invest some of the large bonuses you pay to Directors in new technology. Just a thought!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Why even offer online banking?!?!?”

Written on: 20/11/2017 by louisebuck (1 review written)

If I could have given 0 stars I would have. I can't even get onto my online banking, apparently, the memorable word I created was wrong. How can that even be? I've been told one thing, then another then another. This bank is so inconsistent I can't believe how difficult it is to do something as simple as setting up an online account in 2017!! SAVE YOUR TIME, BREATH AND ENERGY. GO BANK ELSEWHERE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Totally disappointing on-line system”

Written on: 19/10/2017 by Heidyk342 (1 review written)

Terrible online system Time and again, the system does not allow me to make payments. I am a business owner; this is shocking All of my payments are within the agreed upon limits I spend my time for hours at a time on the phone or in a bank No point to having an online system like this Do not use them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“the worst online banking ever! ”

Written on: 04/05/2017 by Goodman117 (1 review written)

Absolutely pointless! Online banking never works! It has just taken me 1 hour to transfer money! They're completely useless on the phone and ask a million security questions and i struggle to understand what they're saying. If online doesn't get sorted then i'm going elsewhere. FURIOUS!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of Time|!|”

Written on: 21/09/2015 by Shepherd487 (1 review written)

I've spent over a year trying to sort out my online banking. It is such a pain and is so complicated with absolutely no customer support! I am going to change to a bank with better Online support and cares more for their customers. Shame on you Barclays, shame on you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disgusting company”

Written on: 22/07/2015 by Littleir432 (1 review written)

using the telephone banking system is a complete joke, they pass you to about 3 different people and they still couldnt transfer money for me, couldnt understand what i was saying, frustration is a understatement,this went on for 3 weeks, i then went on line and emptied my bank account, will never bank or recommend this company there pathetic and customer service is none existent.DO NOT USE BARCLAYS.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I couldn't remember my password, so I tried to enter...”

Written on: 05/05/2015 by llBaker415 (1 review written)

I couldn't remember my password, so I tried to enter my details to reset it. I was directed to a phone number which I refuse to pay to call. The site redirects round and round in circles. It doesn't even recognise my BASIC details!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute rubbish”

Written on: 22/04/2015 by Freeman299 (1 review written)

The Barclays online banking system is complete rubbish. The PIN Sentry machine is far too big and cumbersome to carry with you. When you try to get into the system it is normally down. It has taken me an hour and a half to try to log in with the message that the server is busy or not responding. One you do manage to get in and try to use an app the connection fails again. This is becoming so bad I have tried too contact the bank but to no avail.... All local branches have now closed so you rely on online banking there banking is the worst we have used

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NO-LINE BANKING....”

Written on: 09/04/2015 by Pageki193 (1 review written)

Barclays online banking are consistent at not having the online service working, I'll say that. I can honestly say in the last 10 times of attempting to log-in to my account, 7 times their server has been down. Absolutely dreadful. I went into the local branch (Harrogate) and once they'd realised that everything they were trying to sell, I wasn't interested in (the bank won't see this as a negative, but I do - staff need to understand people and pick up on signs that they are not interested in products when all they want is a basic bank account). Eventually I managed to open a basic account which was all I wanted. Companies push online ALL the time so when it's as unreliable as this, you wonder where they spend the money on its upkeep.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Annfrancoisse's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2021

Hello, I think they need to go back to the drawing board and fix it and I'm counting on them to do that...Now do you need to learn about:
cryptocurrencies,
how to register and buy bitcoin,
How to make payments on any platform using cryptos,
how to transfer/invest your cryptos,
mining with crypto-currencies.the list is endless.

contact: louismcnair at protonmail dot com

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Unreliable internet service”

Written on: 25/03/2015 by 454Conway (1 review written)

Very poor - frequently can't get online, or service dropped due to being too busy. Far to unreliable for effective use. Recent update very cluttered screen and user interface not intuitive.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“What has happened to Barclays online banking?”

Written on: 13/01/2015 by mummyhawke (1 review written)

Up until November last year I'd used Barclays online banking almost daily for years on both my phone and PC without any problems. Now I can't get on at all with my phone app and when I get on via the PC it just drops straight out and won't let me back in. I've spent hours on the phone to the service dept re my APP and although they can normally get it to come on when i am talking to them it drops straight out again. I'm seriously thinking of moving banks as i need online banking for my business and this is just not working. Definitely not recommended re reliability currently.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Internet banking USELESS!”

Written on: 09/01/2015 by CamillaSutton (1 review written)

Internet banking is supposed to be quick and easy but with barclays you can't even log in! Spoke to customer services (eventually) they promised it would be back online at 7pm but instead it still wasn't online 4pm th next day! Well done barclays you win the worst bank award again!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service”

Written on: 19/12/2014 by MyleeReid195 (1 review written)

That site never works .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by gretafay on 24th May 2015 Report this content
How do other users get on with Barclays Online Banking. At first I was OK with it but then I didn't log in for about 4/6 weeks and when I did every thing was altered and NOT FOR THE BETTER. Could not get all the print out of accounts that I needed - lots of items had been achieved (far too early). I have spent the past 4 weeks or so trying to get print outs and to agree my accounts. Today after spending 6 hours checking my various accounts I have given up and decided to trust Barclays and hope things are correct. Although on other comments on this site I have read that someone had money taken from their accounts incorrectly?? The lady that I have dealt with was very pleasant and printed off various accounts of mine to help and also to avoid the cost to me of paper and ink. Its a case of keeping your pecker up and not let it depress you - all the best.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by loyalroyal40 on 25th March 2014 Report this content
What is code RG21V? Call centre says go to my branch but just have not got the time.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview