Krups Nescafe Dolce Gusto Reviews

Krups Nescafe Dolce Gusto
★★★★☆
3.5
64.0% of users recommend this
  • Ease of Use

  • Durability

  • Style

  • Service & Support

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Krups Nescafe Dolce Gusto - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Krups Nescafe Dolce Gusto

Specification for Krups Nescafe Dolce Gusto

Main Features
Type Coffee & Espresso Maker
Type Coffee & Espresso Maker
Type Coffee & Espresso Maker
Type Coffee & Espresso Maker
Built-in Grinder Electric
Built-in Grinder Electric
Built-in Grinder Electric
Built-in Grinder Electric
Max. Power Electric
Max. Power Electric
Max. Power Electric
Max. Power Electric
Features Include: * Dolce Gusto - pod coffee to be used in machine * 1.3 litre water reservoir * Cappuccino, espresso, chococino, latte macchiato * Pump action * 14 bars pressure * Coffee strength control * Removable water tank * Water level indicator * Drip tray * Retro finish * Easy to clean * Starter pack not included

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Black machine - surprise is the red lead”

★★☆☆☆

written by 80Payne on 16/01/2017

I bought my second Dolce Gusto machine - one for work this time. Bought a plain black one. Big surprise scarlet red cable. Not shown on the box, or on marketing pictures - a total surprise when you open the box. Looks pretty odd. Had I known it had a red cable I would NEVER have bought it. OK have some design features but at least be open and honest about such a big feature.

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Do not buy!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KadinFitzgerald259 on 13/01/2017

I am sure the coffee is lovely, but to buy additional pods or accessories, there are limits on their website. If you want to buy some pods you MUST buy 4 boxes - no less. Most accessories are under £20, but you MUST order over £20 to place an order! A clear profit making tactic from a company that we know has no problems causing the death of thousands of children in Africa to make a profit!

Was this review helpful? 0 1

“Best Thing We've Ever Bought”

★★★★★

written by Jeffers69 on 23/10/2015

Bought this a while ago whilst it was offer at Currys (1yr) and have used it many times now as we found that the choice of pods was very good. We didn't buy the most up to date model but bought the smaller machine (piccolo) in white. The machine is so simple to use and makes a really good mug/glass of coffee that rivals some of the coffee shops we have in our area. When the machine gets a bit blocked, there is a handy little unblocking needle located at the back of the machine and a few prods with this and you're back in business. Well worth the £40 we paid for it. Dead chuffed!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Best coffee”

★★★★★

written by KatR31 on 22/07/2015

This is by far the best coffee you can make at home. I don't know how they achieve the creaminess or the foam at the top every time but it's consistency is perfect! I love all of their coffee and non coffee drinks. I also had a keurig for a long time and can honestly say that their coffee is weak and just plain bad compared to the Dolce Gusto and Iv'e tried hundreds of different keurig coffees, I am a platinum member. I just sold my keurig and am happy with the decision to just use my Dolce! I have had it for alomst 4 years and still works as good as the day I bought it! The only downside is that after buying coffees for a year at bed bath and beyond they stopped selling them in the stores and now you can only buy them online.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“expensive pods!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by GilbertTrevino on 16/04/2015

The machine is easy to use, but the pods you buy are extremely expensive, would recommend buying another machine to make cappuccinos!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“easier to make it from a packet”

★☆☆☆☆

written by debor-hicks on 11/12/2014

Hi have just unboxed krups. Nescafe dolce gusto. Very dissapointed how can krups make such an awfull pod coffee makeryou hace to use 2 pods to make a cuppachino. Lifting out the flimsy plastuc container for taking out the very hot pod that is used and replacing it with another pod and then guess how much water you hace to put in. And THEN drink n throw a very inferior coffee come on you are jocking arent you.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Faults”

★☆☆☆☆

written by martingg on 18/05/2014

Great tasting coffee whilst the machine works I am now on my 4th machine all different but if this goes wrong will not be buying another. My 1st one went under warranty and was exchange by Argos for a different model (the pump stopped working). The replacement worked until the warranty just ran out, pipe seal to the pump gave way. Brought another different model new on eBay. This one lasted a year then stopped heating. Could not find the receipt so brought another. This time from Argos. This one had just had its 1st problem blocked piecing jet. Had to look up on the internet on how to unblock does not seem to have this information in the owners manual. These machine are not cheep but do carry a 2 year warranty if you can find the receipt after that time. Need better product after care and warranty registration so this information is held on the web.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The One & Only”

★★★★☆

written by on 14/11/2013

I use it every morning to set myself up for the day. The coffee is just as good as Starbucks, Coffee etc, it's cheaper, there's no queue and it doesn't demand to know my name before I get a coffee from it - Perfect!

Voyager777's Comment

Written on: 03/12/2013

Here here!!! I have two of these unit's, one upstairs and one in the kitchen, and couldn't be without them. Very fair rating from this user, but I would give it the full 5 stars all the way.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Easy But Costly”

★★★★☆

written by DrewbyDoobyDoo on 01/10/2013

I absolutely love using my Krups machine, but it is such a pain to have to keep going to work in order to pay for the capsules... well either that or remortgaging my home! the coffee is good - better than instant, but not as good as proper cafetiere coffee because I'm not sure how fresh it really is when it comes from a pod. In any case, it's a great item for busy people or those who love to fritter away money on coffee :)

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Failed to work after 1year”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Terry71 on 17/08/2013

I purchased the coffee maker after trying my daughters . It made very good. Coffee but I found as I am retired quite expensive ,so I only used it occasionally . After using it probably about 20 times it stopped working It no longer heated the water although the indicator light came on .As the machine is over a year old it is no longer under guarantee . I will not be purchasing another coffee maker as this has been a big dissapointment. .

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Tried & Tested over 3 years”

★★★★☆

written by bop-a-lula on 09/08/2013

Our first Krupps Dolce Gusto coffee machine was purchased about 3 years ago and was very good for eleven and a half months (luckily not twelve!!) then it just stopped making coffee. As it was under guarantee, we took it back to the store and exchanged it for a brand new one. This new machine was identical in every way except that there was an additional widget enclosed. We reckon that other people must have encountered the same problems because the widget was a small piece of wire with instructions of how to poke it up the water spout if the system fails to make coffee. Ingenious! Perhaps it's a build up of coffee of maybe scale - we live in a hard-water area. We have had over two years of lovely coffee with occasional necessary cleaning. When people enjoy coffee from our Dolce Gusto, they often ask how much it costs to run and we know for certain that some friends have subsequently gone out an purchased their own. One gripe... our tap water causes scale to build up in the plastic water holder and this is quite difficult to clean easily as the hole is too small to get a hand in. Generally though, our verdict is: brilliant!

Bop-A-Lula's Response to bop-a-lula's Review

Written on: 23/06/2015

Update: a year ago it stopped working properly and we saw another one in a half price sale so we replaced our machine with an identical new one. Touch wood, it's still working well and makes good coffee several times a week.

Coffee pods prices were hiked recently to £3.99 but are often on sale at Morrisons, 3 boxes for £10.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Lovely coffee but...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 22/01/2013

I bought this machine in November 2011. It worked well, making lovely coffee, until March 2012 when there was no power to the machine. The machine went off to be repaired under warranty. It was returned within a few days working perfectly well. Since then, the machine stopped working on a further 3 occasions, with Nescafe replacing the machine in August 2012. This new machine worked until December 2012, when off it went for repair, being returned in late December. It was back for 3 weeks when it stopped working again. Nescafe assure me that I have been unlucky! It is such a shame as I do enjoy the coffee it makes.

Paulinelen's Comment

Written on: 06/02/2013

you are not unlucky - I have had several similar instances with my machines - usually they need descaling and the nozzle pricking out to get them going again. My biggest problem is that they start to leak liquid out around the capsule, I have now had three of these machines all doing the same thing. Now I have one that is leaking from the water tank.
Not my best buy - I usually manage to keep electrical goods well into their teens and these have all started to play up within 6 months of use including the one I trialed for Krups.

Reply to this comment

Shelaghmmurren's Comment

Written on: 22/05/2013

The machine is bad so is Canada's customer service

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Love It!”

★★★★★

written by bethholder779 on 16/01/2013

I love my new Nescafe Dolce Gusto! The capsules come in delicious flvors and the machine is easy to use. My mornings have been fun with my Nescafe!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Easy, good taste, many options”

★★★★★

written by lieveleentje on 03/01/2013

The coffee and the Tea are very good, easy to use! The only downside is the price of the consumables But beside that its's a great machine and easy to clean The hot and cold options are great, the icetea tastes good Also very nice is that you can prepare coffee and chocolat An Tea without mixing the tastes!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Machine is cheap”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 01/12/2012

I love the dolce gusto coffee, but my machine started to leak after 4 months. they took 3 months to repair and it started to leak 3 days after. It's a nightmare. The service is very poor and I don't recommend.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“easy to use, no cleaning need”

★★★★☆

written by manpet on 10/11/2012

I live in Greece and bought this machine (piccolo) 5 weeks ago from a multistore downtown Athens.Nestle products aren't much favored for coffee cause they are more popular with instant coffee,so for "expert" lovers of coffee this is not an option.For people like me (no expert,but i enjoy a good cup of coffee or chocolate) is an all around easy to use,no mess with a big variety of tastes.My only negative point goes for the difficulty to stop the manual machine in the right time so the outcome isn't watery.Also because i live in Greece and summertimes are very hot the option for cold drinks like Frappe and Fredo Cappuccino and ice tea is very welcomed!! but i'd prefer more options on the cold side.. also another negative point is that where i live supermarkets don't have a big variety of pods so you must go online for deliveries (which are only free of charge only if you buy more than 40 euros). All and all this is a machine i would recoment to everyone for its easy to use,quick and clean way to make a decent beverage for you or your guests

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“no product avalible ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 09/10/2012

first the machine works well, that said nescafe will not honor their points program. did not receive the free sample when purchased the machine. customer service will not answer any emails. and no local retailers will carry the capsules. even wal-mart stop carrying their products. Keurig k-cups are every where, and much more reasonably priced. i will list my Krups Nescafe Douche Gusto on craigslist and try to recoup some of my expenses.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful product, awful company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by hertsgirl on 18/09/2012

A week after the warranty ran out, this machine started leaking from every possible crevice, especially around the top where the capsules go. I called customer 'services' who were very rude and not helpful at all. I waited a week for an 'unblocking tool' (which is just a curved pin) and it did not help at all. Having descaled the machine several times, it still leaks everywhere. I called customer services again and was told that it costs £45 to repair! What a rip off!! I am refusing to pay that and will get a proper machine from a better company...just regret spending over £100 on capsules a week before the machine broke....hey ho...live and learn! Never going to buy a krups machine again.

Durhamowl's Response to hertsgirl's Review

Written on: 11/10/2012

Save your £45. Mine has just done the same(has been repaired once under warranty for same fault). What you need is a replacement capsule piercing plate part MS-622718 available from werl for about £12 inc shipping. Dead easy to fit - remove water tank and capsule holder. Engage mechanism then gently pry cast plate and seal down at front - 15 sec job.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Nescafe Dolce Gusto Ex-Store Sales Stands ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 04/07/2012

I would advise all consumers to be extremely careful when purchasing Nestle Dolce Gusto products in Canada based on my family’s personal experience, particularly when this is from a sales stand. My wife purchased a Nestle Dolce Gusto ‘Circolo’ coffee maker for me as a father’s day gift last month from a Nescafe Dolce Gusto sales stand in downtown Toronto . I was really delighted, but unfortunately it has turned out to be a an extremely disappointing situation as it appears that we fell for a sales scam organised by the Nestle Dolce Gusto team in Canada to get rid of expiring capsules through a promotion. My wife purchased the machine through a sales stand offering a promo where you get the machine for free by buying ten (10) boxes of the capsules. She was told it was a final sale; which meant that you could not return the machine, but might be able to get it exchanged if it was found to be defective etc. She had no problem with this. When I opened the gift on Father’s Day Sunday, I was very excited. However as I checked out the various capsule flavours she had purchased I noticed something very odd and pointed it out to her. All of the 10 capsule boxes she had purchased were expiring between July and September. We were shocked. I called the Nestle Dolce Gusto team in Canada to report this and the first agent Angelo acknowledged that this was disappointing but that he would do his best to get me a favourable resolution. I received a call a few days later from a supervisor who informed me that we would have to live with the capsules since it was a final sale. When I informed her that this would ordinarily refer to the machine itself and not near expired products, she stated that even if they expired, we could still drink them afterwards. I then repeated her statement to her and stated that this was an unhealthy proposition to suggest and that I was sure she wouldn’t want to be quoted publicly on this. She apologised and said she would try to ensure that something was done to correct the errors. She called me again a few days later to state that she had tried but was unable to get the capsules exchanged for new ones with longer expiry or BB dates. I informed her that as a senior executive myself with inventory management oversight, I would never subscribe to members of my team pulling a fast one on unsuspecting consumers who had relied on brand reputation and trust in purchasing products. I stated that at this stage I was more concerned with ethics and principle of the transaction rather than the 10 boxes I was now saddled with. There was definitely no way I could finish all of the capsules before their expiry date and I couldn’t give them out either. She then said she would again seek new channels of resolution and would call me back. She finally called me today to state that the outcome was unchanged and I would have to keep the capsules. Nestle has been a household brand for my family living whilst living in 5 countries in Europe and North America and the brand experience has been the main reason for this. We have never encountered such practices anywhere else and this is shocking. It is surprising that to some at Nestle Dolce Gusto, the customer experience associated with the brand doesn’t really matter as long as a quick sale is made and I’m sure there are many other individuals with a similar experience who may have kept quiet simply because of the effort it would involve. I’ve chosen to warn others from our experience to simply check the capsules for the BB or expiry dates whenever purchasing the machines outside a store environment, particularly on sales stands set up in public places. You may end up stiffed with near expiring capsules and never get the products exchanged or your money back like us. Caveat emptor!

Infinitrium's Comment

Written on: 11/10/2012

was this purchased with a credit card? You could always do a chargeback with a credit card company if that was the case

Reply to this comment

Infinitrium's Comment

Written on: 11/10/2012

Did your wife use a credit card to purchase the machine? If that was the case, she could always do a charge back with the credit card company.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Wonderful machine.”

★★★★★

written by on 14/06/2012

We have had our Dolce Gusto about 3 years now and it has been used almost every day! The espresso, cappuccino, latte and hot chocolates are wonderful. Im not fond of the lungo but that is just personal taste. Yes it is a bit noisy but you have to expect that with a coffee machine surely? Also it is very important to keep the limescale at bay with regular descaling or the pressure will drop quite considerably but that doesn't take long. Compared to a cup of instant I suppose they are a bit pricey but certainly not when compared to a coffee shop. All in all a brilliant machine. Just wish they sold the mocha capsules in the supermarket.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Shirleysuggett on 19th December 2018 Report this content
Hi my machine has a fault can you help please? It’s a manual type where you depress the red button on top, wait for the light to turn green and then push the handle to the right to get your coffee. Unfortunately the green light is now amber and I can’t find anything on line to tell me what’s wrong!

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by lorrainer1 on 26th November 2016 Report this content
Why do the chococino capsules mostly come out just milk? This has happened to 6 out of 7 capsules.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by debbiewaitt on 10th October 2014 Report this content
Have had my Dolce Gusto machine for around 3 years now and so far so good apart from the machine leaks sometimes which I can cope with, but what I detest is the curdled milk smell constantly from the head of the machine. I have scraped and cleaned as far as I can get into it. I wish you could take it apart because I do get a fair bit of rubbish as I would put it from the head which really isn't very nice at all and puts me off when I think what else is in there. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Goobradley on 25th May 2014 Report this content
If the pump doesn't work, is there a replacement part?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview