Virgin Media, Reviews - www.virginmedia.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
12% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Reliability

  • Customer Service

  • Speed Consistency

  • Value For Money

Summary

Virgin Media is now the new name for NTL. If you want to review your Digital TV experiences of either Telewest or NTL after 8th Feb 2007, here is the place to do so.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Virgin Media, www.virginmedia.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Virgin Media, www.virginmedia.com

Virgin Media, www.virginmedia.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“The company of deception’s ”

Written on: 01/04/2022 by 1953Silva (1 review written)

The company of deception’s! I am with Virgin company for 8 years and last year in November as usual I received an offer to upgrade my contracts for the same amount that I was paying already for my existing contracts. When I received the offer I needed to upgrade one account as for the other I had the remaining balance of £3.75 , so I payed £143 . Any way after this for the last 5 months they are still charging me and when I called them last month they told me that “ we’re not finding your payment of £143 “ so I did made a complaint. The lady told me that after investigation I will receive a call to tell me the results , until the that transaction will be cancelled . I was waiting the results of the investigation but no one reply to me . And this month I noticed that I have been changed again and I been fooled again. I called back on 29.03.2022 , the lady answer to my questions did found the transaction and apologises for the mistake and she told me that one of her managers will call me the same day to explain and do the refund of £130 that was taken from my account but she didn’t called me the same day she called me yesterday 31.03.2022. As I was aspecting good news… I was really disappointed at some point I become really angry as that manager was trying to tell me that the amount of money was for my other account which I paid £3.75 in December last year, so obviously I become angry as when I received the offer and spoke to other services customers advisers they all confirmed that for that contract it’s no balance left and for the other I have made the upgrade of £143 . Now this manager instead of refunding my money she was trying to tell me that I still have a balance remaining of £52 . If this company made mistakes and they lay to me, whose fault is it ? Is this company asking their employees to deceive people? Why should I and other customers pay for your employees mistakes? I been deceived and I want my money back. Stop laying and deceive your customers. Not to mention that mobile data and services are never working properly and we pay for the bad services as for broadband it same very bad service and you never receive what you are paying for . Very bad services and deceiving company not recommended at all … shame on Virgin Media UK

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Bad customer service and not very helpful”

Written on: 21/03/2022 by Marquise419 (1 review written)

Basically I have been having lots of issues with my account, and i was supposed to have a phone call this morning to sort out the issues on my account , but the lady that promised to contact me, has not contacted me at all , I should of realized that virgin media would let me down as usual , I basically would not recommend them, basically I tried to leave them completely, but they have the monopoly in our area , so even though I now have tv with sky, I can not have broadband and phone with sky I have to stay with virgin media, so basically I am stuck with virgin media

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Closed Email Address with No Warning”

Written on: 18/09/2021 by ShinyBike (3 reviews written)

Our 'friends and family' email address was closed with no warning. We're ex Virgin customers, but that's no excuse. What a major hassle to replace with another provider, and a week's worth of personal emails all disappeared into a black hole. And their online complaints procedure just links to a dead page.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST POVIDER IN THE UK”

Written on: 20/08/2021 by Alvarezii232 (1 review written)

Well just another person to say what everybody think. I have been leaving leaving in the UK for 24 years and Virgin Media is the worst provider in the all world. Richard Branson can go to space thanks to the money that they are robbing you every month and not providing the service that you pay for. If you do not want to loose your job or to loose day at work. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM NEVER EVER. we are paying a very high price foo internet and about 3 month a year if no more our internet are not working and they will never help you fixing your problem neither give you any compensation. they need to keep this money to have the BOSS leaving on his beautiful private island and to fulfil his fantasy thanks to you while you are struggling to make ends meet and loosing days at work and getting pressure from your managers because you don't have internet and each time you ask them they say that it will take 30 days and when you call back 20 days later that it will take another 30 days. Now you know. Do not make the mistake to sign up with them. GO AWAY FAST FOM ANY OFFER THEY WILL GIVE YOU.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Service”

Written on: 30/07/2021 by Deshawn281 (1 review written)

Absolutely terrible service! Ordered Internet. And instead of them doing their work, they just ask customers to go to every neighbour and collect private information, like mobile numbers, emails for them to contact neighbours if they agree them to do the work. That is ridiculous! Send letters to neighbours, send agent to talk to neighbours, maybe prepare some offers for them too! BS...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Save yourself from Virgin Media”

Written on: 05/05/2021 by rajmittal09 (1 review written)

It is the worst service anyone can get in Horley. They promised a speed of 50MBPS, and when I complained that I don't get the right speed, they said the promised speed is with an ethernet cable only and not with WIFI. We do not promise any WIFI speed; it's a myth and doesn't trust virgin media promised WIFI speed. Only if you pay an extra 4-5 GBP will you get the promised speed. Otherwise, you can pay a fine and leave. Don't really get stuck in this rabbithole. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worse Than Bad Customer Service”

Written on: 26/03/2021 by SMITHGA (1 review written)

Nothing on the website to schedule to leave or end the contract on line at the end of term without calling or in writing. Made multiple attempts to call them during the previous two weeks but their logistics are obviously insufficient to cope with the number of callers making waiting times long and inconvenient with my work commitments. When I eventually got to speak with someone, how difficult and awkward can we make it because I still decided to leave, "this is when we will end your rolling contract and you will be charged, you should have made the time to deal with it" even though their logistics and systems are poor for dealing with this easily. How is easy though to upgrade on line or by phone, somewhat convenient that. Oh and the COVID excuse for the logistics issues is wearing a bit thin in all quarters now after all big conglomerates you've had twelve months and lots of Government Grants to sort it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“stay away ”

Written on: 12/02/2021 by O'Donnelllw157 (1 review written)

Up your bills without any notice, there are no deals for existing customers, rude customer service staff and not very helpful, nuisance calls from call Centre, phone waiting time over an hour. customer service staff don't even know their own contract

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Virgin Media has the best broadband service ever,...”

Written on: 28/08/2018 by Egankr457 (1 review written)

I was sold on the VM sales pitch but now realise its just a load of bull. Being the only major cable provider they have a monopoly and their attitude is "take it or leave it." The broadband reliability and bandwidth in RG5 is pathetic and appalling. I originally had vivid 50 before VM upgraded me to Vivid 100 but rarely got more than 20mbps and that's when it worked. Very temperamental and only worked when it felt like. I've moved back to a copper wire provider last week on a basic fibre deal and have suffered no issues whatsoever and can stream movies uninterrupted for the first time in 12 months. I'm only getting up to 36mbps but connection is stable and adequate for my circumstances. Trying to speak to VM customer service to cancel my contract is another saga and yet to be resolved. Virgin Media?? Virgin Mafia, more like..!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Alas, it's time to leave the Virgin express”

Written on: 19/02/2018 by rnBowers234 (1 review written)

After 4 years of big hopes, Virgin has been a constant let down. Between too many super fibre outages to count and low download speeds, it's been a journey of let downs. Called yesterday to cancel our contract after 4 years and it took over 25 minutes just to cancel as 'only a manager' can process this. Big claims from the team manager trying to keep our custom - bad mouthing the other providers in the area while seemingly not knowing that Virgin are slower in my street, have higher outages and really poor customer service scores. Free of the price increases every 3 months too!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst ever customer service & crooks”

Written on: 25/10/2017 by ElvisGibson (1 review written)

BEWARE of their SPECIAL OFFERS. Jan 2016 received a call from Virgin Media with a special offer. I declined and stayed with Sky. Overall the Sky package was great, but expensive. December 2016 the original Virgin Media sales guy called me to offer the best ever phone, broadband/TV deal. £30 pcm for 15mths, however I was still with Sky until March 2017. No worries he said, come over to us now and we will credit your account with your Sky charges until your contact expires. Agreed and then it all went downhill. 10 months on there has been no credit on my account for the December, January, February and March Sky charges - more than £250! Billing is wrong most months and takes several (long!) phone calls in order to get it adjusted back to £30. I have to brace myself now for another call to recover over charging for August, September and October. Add insult to injury through their incompetence I have had no landline since March!! If todays phone call does not work I am taking my records, emails etc and lodging a court with the small claims court. I am sick of them. Oh and the "fast fibre optic broadband" is unbelievably slow.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Something has gone wrong with Virgin”

Written on: 20/10/2017 by ParkerKemp107 (1 review written)

I'v been with them for years, TV, Broadband, Phone and mobiles. They were always a bit more expensive and the mobile signal weak but the customer service was always excellent. I called them three times this week to ask about saving money on my package. They seem to have moved to a far-East call center and all three of the foreign staff were difficult to understand and did not understand me either. All three tried to sell me other packages when I wanted to reduce them. Didn't seem to care whether I stayed or left - so I am leaving.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Virgin customer service”

Written on: 01/10/2017 by 259Malone (1 review written)

I called Virgin to cancel my broadband and phone with them, because they are too expensive for me. The guy I spoke to just carried on trying to make me stay with them over and over again. He offered better deals, paying about half what i had paid earlier. This carried on and on. He also said he could not cancel the account because his computer was rebooting. He also said there was no way we could keep our old phone number, and so on. All this carried out for about half an hour and i got more and more exhausted. And frustrated. He actually abused me. A terrible experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Virgin Don't Give A Damn!”

Written on: 28/09/2017 by Crusader65 (4 reviews written)

Virgin are a shambles Virgin are a shambles. They consistently deliberately get our billing wrong. No one appears to understand their own billing either. You can never talk to a manager - They'll have to call you back. Presumably so that you'll know you'll be un-prepared. But don't worry, they'll not bother anyway. I received 1 call back from a manager out of 5 expected manager call backs within the last 5 months. Then he rang later than the time slot allocated & you can't make or take any calls when you are waiting for theirs. After 10 minutes of him sounding utterly bored, he told me he was finished for the day. They have refunded me some money but not all of it. They wanted to credit it to my account but it would take more than 7 months to use it. However, they are putting their prices up in November by another £4 a month so I will probably be leaving them. They finally, and reluctantly (because they don't do it - their words) agreed to send out a cheque. They couldn't just transfer into the account they took it from because they do not have a process to do this. They then informed me that I should receive that within 40, yes 40 days. I'm still waiting for a manager to ring back since 8 AM yesterday morning. I have been on the phone & on hold for over 5 1/4 hours within the last week. one day was just under 3 hours alone. They also say that you do not get any level of compensation for your time spent chasing them. They are getting paid so should be chasing the customer. This is just tactics to make you avoid ringing them. The install wasn't great either. They did it over 2 dates with 11 days inbetween. They did this badly, & left a short cable running across my garden as a trip hazard, & exposed wires hanging out of my wall. It is no wonder we've had interuptions with our service. This was back in May. They just came back to sort it in September 22nd. They should be ashamed, but they are not. They do not care. Shambles is about as polite as I can be. Avoid them. There TV packages are not as good as Sky either. When I was with Sky I had any problems solved quickly. Sky are slightly more expensive, but I always ended up paying what had been agreed, unlike with Virgin Media. Your money is important to them, but you as a customer are not treated as such. I will be cancelling.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking Service”

Written on: 25/05/2017 by JaidenCarter (1 review written)

Been with Virgin since Day 1 (signed up when it was still NTL). Service was always questionable, in particular, the broadband! Every few months the speed would slowdown to a trickle (so slow, even 4 min Youtube videos would not play). We would contact Virgin, who would then put us on a different server, sorting the problem, albeit temporarily. Recently contacted them for the umpteenth time and spoke to an extremely unhelpful and rather rude agent. I had had enough and called to cancel my contract. Ended up having a heated argument with another agent who put me through a minefield of security questions, despite the fact that I had already passed security BEFORE been put through to them!! AVOID IF POSSIBLE, they're quick to sign you up and take your money but make it difficult to leave. If it wasn't for the fact that we have a well organised paperwork file, I wouldn't have been able to answer some of the security questions and would be stuck with them for life!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“keep away”

Written on: 24/04/2017 by Humphries372 (1 review written)

Been with virgin over twenty years, upgraded my phone in February , new sim did not work, second did not work third got lost fourth finally worked then phone packed up. All these problems meant I had to call virgin, if they ever answer be prepared to be cut off, passed to another department before going to the first place again no call is quick and will not be resolved. Promises will be made but never arrive. Finally called to say I am leaving expecting after being a customer for so long they might value me oh how wrong

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“to the person I dealt with in customer relations...”

Written on: 01/04/2017 by Charnjit (1 review written)

I would have given no stars , been with too many years , poor broadband in the last year paying for 200mb most days achieving 7mb being told it's because of wireless and should use the cable , hahah my laptop and new ones don't even have this option anymore , after senior technicians etc have come no joy, finally called in to cancel 3 weeks ago spoke to rententions who agreeed to do same package at cheaper rate , then found out today They actually downgraded my services for the reduction called spoke to a man in customer relations in Swansea who doesn't know the meaning of his job title, he was unapologetic didn't want take ownership for the call and it lead me to cancel and then he became very obnoxious because I was determined to cancel and i wouldnt change my mind . he then kept me on the call for longer than necessary as power thing seriously virgin how can employ people like this, the call was made an hr ago please listen into it and do the necceasy ........but It feels good to finally leave ! freeeeeeeeedom!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Virgin should not be allowed to serve as a business.”

Written on: 31/03/2017 by Joel309 (1 review written)

Sort it out virgin there is not a single positive part of your service from technical support to billing to service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“VERY poor response from tech team”

Written on: 07/03/2017 by Campbell360 (1 review written)

I have had connection problems with VM and been forced to call their 'help line' - the assistance given was very poor - I was held on the line for nearly one hour and given inappropriate advice for my problem.I would not recommend VM

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I'm a 72 yr old pensioner and I lasted less than 48 hrs”

Written on: 18/02/2017 by Aniyahz206 (1 review written)

My daughter suggested that I sign up to VM as I was using another less known company who had been providing broadband speeds of 1.4MB and still wanting me to pay. I read the reviews on this review site and another review site but was hoping that VM would be different. Unfortunately, they proved to be awful. I signed up for broadband and the landline. Before the installation date, they arrived at my property and laid bright yellow concertina cabling across my front garden. My daughter phoned them up and asked them if they were going to bury it and they said they would and to tell the engineer to do so when he arrived. The engineer phoned my daughter asking for instructions to my property. Three times she told him that it was a house at the very top of the road on the right hand side of the road, opposite a private club and that the HOUSE had a navy blue door. My daughter is English speaking, born in the UK and I say this because three times he asked her if the property was a flat. On the fourth occasion he asked again if it was a flat, she responded that she could not further clarify as she had already explained on three occasions that it was a house. He flipped and put the phone down on her. When he found my house, he refused to bury the cabling and said someone else would do it at some other point in time. Rude is an understatement as to how he was. I was a new customer, and he treated me with absolute contempt. My daughter then spent the next hour or so trying to get VM to send someone out to bury the cabling. She then checked my online account and saw that they had added an activation fee which is all fair and well only they insisted that the amount that I would pay on my first payment would be £34.99. I was within the 14 day cooling off period, so I contacted them less than 48 hours later to cancel their services and am so happy that I have done so. I have also discovered that they are actually more expensive than the provider I was using in the 1970's. With VM I would have had to pay £99 for them to install a phone socket in my bedroom, plus extra for caller display. With the provider I am now using, caller display is free and I already have their socket in my bedroom so I do not have to pay for another one. VM are very nice when you are signing up for their services, but once they have hooked you in, they treat you with immense disrespect and act as if you need them more than they need you. The reviews on this website are correct and I would suggest that if you do decide to use them as a provider, then be prepared for rudeness and a great deal of stress when you phone their overseas call centre.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview