Minolta X-700 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
68% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Photograph Quality

  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

Summary

Manufacturer: Konica Minolta
Features:
  • Programmed automatic or manual exposure
  • Camera body only; lens sold separately
  • Programmed auto flash
  • Date/time imprinting
  • Exposure override up to 2 stops
  • ? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
    Minolta X-700 - Ask a question now

    Media Gallery for Minolta X-700

    Minolta X-700
    Minolta X-700
    Minolta X-700
    Minolta X-700
    Minolta X-700
    Minolta X-700
    Minolta X-700

    Refine your search

    • Average Rating Over Time
    • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

    Latest Reviews

    ★★★☆☆

    “I recently bought the (x-700) from a yard sale with...”

    Written on: 11/05/2011

    I recently bought the (x-700) from a yard sale with the zoom lense and the flash for $10.00. Have not tried it out yet....BUT when I look through the view finder I cant see anything (and yes the lense cap was off...lol). So I took the lense off to find the MIRROR inside is in the UP position. What I want to know is IS that normal?? or did I buy a nice broken camera??

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Guest's Comment

    Written on: 12/06/2011

    As far as I know, the mirror locks-up when the batteries go out, so try a new battery (or new set of batteries, not sure)
    I don't know much about this Minolta, but I had the same issue on a Canon ae-1 program about a couple of years ago, the new battery did fix the problem; and no, that ain't normal, the mirror should be always down, I hope this helps a little bit, just my two cents.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Guest's Comment

    Written on: 30/06/2011

    maybe there's no battery and the mirror is in the middle of it's cycle. the model (I own one) DOEs have an instant return mirror and should go dowm after exposure.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    Read 2 Comments
    ★★★★☆

    “these are manual focus film based cameras of which...”

    Written on: 09/07/2010 by oniko (35 reviews written)

    these are manual focus film based cameras of which there are many lower level models such as the X- 300 and X-370s models

    the X-300 models are called seagulls in asia area while are centons in europe

    the X-700 is programme-manual and aperture prority SLR camera with the now minolta bayonet mount. the new sony and old minolta auto focus lenses will not fit

    why do you need one? they are small, light, run on cheap button batteries for years, very cheap , with lots of photographic control and with oodles and oodles of very cheap quality lenses around

    i have brought bodies with the great f1.7 50mm for as little as $20.00 on our local version of ebay

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Arielex's Response to oniko's Review

    Written on: 18/11/2010

    I found this review helpful because...Ican check all information regarding my Minolta SLR

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 0
    Read 1 Comment
    ★★☆☆☆

    “Over-rated as a 'real' camera. Program mode suits...”

    Written on: 31/12/2009

    Over-rated as a 'real' camera. Program mode suits absolute beginners and that's about it. The supposedly inferior X500 is a far better camera (most informative finder I've seen in an SLR). I like Minoltas - their lenses are amongst the best and make it worthwhile buying into the system. If you're on a budget, the X300 is a fine 'entry level' camera. Higher spec. XD series (aperture AND shutter priority AE!) is very decent, and there's always the XE, built in collaboration with Leica, don't you know...

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “The most coman problem on all X700 is the capcitors...”

    Written on: 20/05/2009

    The most coman problem on all X700 is the capcitors that were used in the olden days. The dry up then crack then they can not hold a charge. You have two of these in each camera. One for the circuitry and one for the shutter only. They are easily replacable and found on Ebay everyday. Onmce the old ones are out your camera should work fine again as it did the last day it was used. Having a CLA would help for most if used outside alot or in dusty conditions

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “Minolta x-700 was one of the best cameras ever made....”

    Written on: 11/01/2009

    Minolta x-700 was one of the best cameras ever made. Had a very low serial No. # " got it at the PX while station in Korea 1984. First 1000 made all black case.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “Don't have a review at this time. I was helping...”

    Written on: 23/10/2008

    Don't have a review at this time. I was helping friends move furniture out of an apartment, their family member was moving into assisted living, and different areas of the apartment had piles going to the dump, good will, etc. I noticed in the good will pile a tripod - still in the plastic wrapper. I asked if I could have it and was told sure. Then noticed a nylon bag, Tamrac. Asked if I could have that, sure. When I got home, inside was a Minolta X-700, with a 1262XXX serial number, Cosina 35-135mm lens, and the standard Minolta 50mm lens. I am getting ready to buy some batteries and film, try out the new find!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “I'm a die-hard fan of the SRT-101 and SRT-102, but if...”

    Written on: 29/05/2008 by Ratsters (1 review written)

    I'm a die-hard fan of the SRT-101 and SRT-102, but if I had to select one single manual camera, I'd go for the X-700. But then again, as I mention in the bad points, I would still carry my SRT-101, just to make sure, if the batteries fail, I could still take photos without batteries with the SRT. The same applies to digital, no batteries, no photos, so when out on a photo session, I make sure I have extra batteries, and my faithful SRT-101

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “I have had the Minolta X-700 for about 16 years and it...”

    Written on: 01/03/2008 by Malta GC (1 review written)

    I have had the Minolta X-700 for about 16 years and it is still going strong. Never had any problems. Not being used as much with the introduction of digital, but there will always be a place for 35mm SLRs.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “A super camera even 20 years later. By far the best I...”

    Written on: 19/07/2007 by makarov417 (1 review written)

    A super camera even 20 years later. By far the best I could recommend if you are looking for a manual camera where you still have to learn a few technical points to make a photo. The program settings are also great, simple to use and produce super results. Get one! Just be sure the metering system is good and you are sure to be pleased... unless you are lazy or a digital convert.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “I have used the x700 and x570 for over twenty years....”

    Written on: 13/12/2006 by grady (1 review written)

    I have used the x700 and x570 for over twenty years. They have been reliable and produced good results, I found them to be as capable as the professional competion. The x700 system is as extensive and provide as many options and accessories as any produced during its run. Lenses from 15mm to 1000mm, numerous zooms and several speciality lens enhancement system. The full system allows you to just about anything photographically that you desire. I have gone to digital but still shot my Minoltas from time to time and I would not hesitate to buy another good used x700 or x570, accessory, (Although I have nearly all that were produced) or lens at any time. There are also many third party lenes and accessories that give good results. A positive experience for me.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “The Minolta X-700 35mm SLR camera was produced for...”

    Written on: 19/03/2006 by darval 7 (1 review written)

    The Minolta X-700 35mm SLR camera was produced for over 20 years until 2001. The X 700 was a huge success among people who loved photography, and it comes at a reasonable price. The camera is easily replaceable if broken or stolen. Planned for advanced photographers of its time, it delivers excellent photos if used with Minolta's Md or Mc lenses and dedicated PX flashes. Although we're living in the digital era, I am still using this camera in all kinds of situations, and it never lets me down. Get one if you find one.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★☆☆☆

    “I loved the camera, but after I bought it I heard the...”

    Written on: 06/05/2005 by gmcgrana (1 review written)

    I loved the camera, but after I bought it I heard the shutters gave trouble and my X700 would eventually go the same way. I bought it new in 1993. I had it in Nepal, Pakistan, Iran and all over and it served me faithfully until 6 weeks ago at my sisters wedding the shutter jammed. I have several other troublesome Minolta bodies but as they were second hand I assumed that they had not been cared for!! Hence I was very disappointed as I had taken good care of the X700.
    Unfortunately I cannot recommend Minolta as a reliable camera.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “The Minolta X-700 is a Manual Focus SLR camera with 3...”

    Written on: 17/09/2004 by stanley c wong (6 reviews written)

    The Minolta X-700 is a Manual Focus SLR camera with 3 exposure control modes. Program Mode [P] where you set the lens aperture to minimum, focus and shoot. Shutter speed and aperture are selected according to a preset chart. Useful for snapshots and not much anything else. Then again, sometimes snapshots are important too. Aperture Priority Mode [A] where you set the lens aperture, focus and shoot. Good for general photography and gives you control over the Depth Of Field (DOF). Good thing the X-700 has a DOF preview button. Any manual focus camera without one is severely handicapped, IMHO. Metered/Full-Manual Mode where you set both the lens aperture and shutter speed. Good for fine control over image produced and specialized photography. Personally, I stick to Aperture Priority Mode 99% of the time. It takes 2 LR44 batteries or 1 CR-1 battery. Easy and cheap to obtain and lasts quite a bit, though much less so than the X-300 or FM3A. This is probably because I keep forgetting to switch off the main switch. I am not sure if it has an Auto-Off function like my FM3A.

    As mentioned, you have to switch on the camera and it has 2 ON positions. One ON position has that annoying beeping warning noise (which warns if you have 1/30s shutter speed or slower set). So you can select the other ON position. But having 2 ON positions is a no-no in my book. You might forget if you switched the camera on or off. A minus to me.

    Shutter speed goes up to 1/1000s, goes down to 1s and has a B (bulb) mode. +2 to -2 Exposure control. No DX code reader (very few manual focus cameras do). Recommended shutter speed shown in viewfinder (LED). Aperture of lens shown in viewfinder by means of a prism. Comes with usually spot-on center-weighted metering.

    I sold my X-300 in 1995 to buy a secondhand X700. Big mistake. I had trouble with the film advance within a few months. It seems that the shutter died too. (Did I mention that you need batteries to work this camera? No manual setting for batteryless operation like some other manual focus cameras). Had to sell the body for spare parts. Put me off the X-700 for years.

    My next camera was the EOS500N (not 100% reliable, but a great camera nonetheless). Still have it. Then a FM3A (solid piece of work! The best manual focus camera I know!). Then last year I bought back my X-300. While looking for lenses for the X-300, I was offered a mint condition X-700 with a 35-70mm lens for SGD80. The condition was incredible and though I was not too sure about the reliability of the camera, I could always sell off the body and keep the lens and still come up on top. After a couple of rolls, I found it a pretty neat package. It still irritates me with the beeping ON mode (I still sometimes forget to switch ON the other way) and the winding does not seem as robust as the FM3A. In fact, it becomes increasingly harder to wind towards the end of the roll. Something I have not noticed with any other manual advance camera.

    There has been quite a bit of gripe about reliability of this camera. I am not sure if it matters where it was made (but it probably does), as I do not know where my older X-700 was made. I would rate the assurance it gives that it would keep on clicking no matter what as below that of my X-300 and way, WAY below that of my FM3A. NOT a camera that would take rough handling IMHO.

    Why do I still use it? Minolta lenses (especially Minolta-Rokkor lenses) are great in quality, easily available in the secondhand market and can be had for a fraction of the cost of secondhand Nikon lenses. It has a DOF preview mode which my X-300 does not. With the plastic but good 35-70mm zoom that came with it, it is almost as light as my Canon 500N. In short, it has found a niche as my "good enough to use, all necessary features, good picture quality and cheap enough to lose without crying" camera. I bring it to places where I would not trust to display my FM3A to all to see.

    Buy it if you see one super cheap and are looking for good optics. Do not cry if it dies on you 2-3 months later.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 0
    ★★★★★

    “The Minolta X-700 Camera has a wide variety of...”

    Written on: 24/09/2003 by kyoshi becker (1 review written)

    The Minolta X-700 Camera has a wide variety of features including self timer, s.sp. dial, preview button, flash shoe,traditional cable relase screw, and lenses from 15mm[fisheye]-1000mm[telephoto] and a variety of macro lenses, adapters, couplers, and bellos.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 4
    ★★★★☆

    “I have read the other reviews. I bought my Minolta...”

    Written on: 18/09/2003 by mrhoudini (2 reviews written)

    I have read the other reviews. I bought my Minolta X-700 35mm SLR Camera second hand off Ebay, and it appeared to be well cared for. Since then, I have used it and it appears to be fine. I haven't had any problems so far. I know that the current X370 is now made in China, if possible make sure any manual Minolta camera you may buy is made in Japan, because they're made better.

    There aren't many quality, manual cameras you can buy new anymore. New X700s are available but rare, and the don't forget new Nikon FM3As cost are listed around £500ish. Thus, X700s are actually quite cheap.

    My one is well built, and as they used to be professional cameras, they are designed to withstand a reasonable amount of punishment. They have a fairly good feature set that includes a 1/2000s top shutter speed, DofF preview, PC flash socket, aperture priority and fully automatic modes.

    Essentially, a X700 will do everything you want a manual camera to do. It's better built than the Centons (Minolta and Pentax replicas), but is cheaper than a brand new Nikon manual. There are also extras (eg MD1 motordrive, autowinders, backs etc) that can still be found. I have never needed them though.

    Good all round camera.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Joekelly's Response to mrhoudini's Review

    Written on: 23/11/2007

    I owned a Minolta x 700 for ten years mid 80,s, I banged it about a bit to say the least, it was a great camera at the time, I had the md1 and 1.4 lens ,I used to take photos of local matches ,with a Tamron 70-210, ,great days, i just cant settle with these all singing dancing electronic wizards, when I seen one on ebay I had to have it,£35,just a nightmare getting the drive for it, someone always outbids on the last few seconds,Minolta md lenses are as good as any today,

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 2 1
    Read 1 Comment
    ★★★★★

    “I own an old SRT 101 MC II and the Minolta X-700 was...”

    Written on: 08/09/2003 by mike35803 (1 review written)

    I own an old SRT 101 MC II and the Minolta X-700 was my upgrade in 1986. The meter readings were exact and the flash support (380PX) is excellent. The body isn't that ruggadized as the SRT models but stable enough for daily use. For use with long lenses the body could have more weight (balance).

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 2
    ☆☆☆☆☆

    “I had my X-700 freeze up on me after less than a year...”

    Written on: 10/06/2003 by camerabuff. (1 review written)

    I had my X-700 freeze up on me after less than a year of use. This is when I began to read about others problems with the camera on photo.net, so I sold it with no regrets. Here's the reality:"My X700 also suddenly stopped working and had to have the electronics replaced. I had it repaired under warranty, and I ran only a few rolls through it and it died again. Same symptoms.." "I had it [X-700] about a year. Made in China. Was taking a timer picture of me. High humidity in the New England states, but the camera had been working perfect no problems. Set the timer posed heard the click. Came back to find the mirror was stuck in the picture mode. I could not wind.." "In my opinion, the minolta x700 is simply not a camera that can withstand alot of film. I put 10+ rolls a week and the advance lever always breaks, the circuitry eventually blows, or the shutter speeds do not remain precise. The circuitry recently blew.." "I've seen more than my fair share of tanked X-370s and X-700s broken from their somewhat overfragile plastic geared film transport mechanisms when rapidly advanced, or the magnets on the shutter rails starting to loose their kick, or spontaneous failure of the circuitry.." "the camera was fixed once for a shutter problem during that time (actually it was close to the end of the warrantee). Then in 98 the shutter stop working once again " "..the shutter is frozen again, almost same as happened before, I had to send it back to the store, the repair warranty had expired, I got an estimate two days ago for the cost of yet another X-700, stating the whole electrical circuit and shutter control circuit have to be replaced.."



    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Eamon's Response to 106013_camerabuff.'s Review

    Written on: 03/01/2004

    Very surprised to see this review as I've had an X-700 for about 8 years with no problems! In fact, it's so good I've recently bought a second body so that my wife and I can share the same set of lenses.
    <br>The two really strong points for the X-700 are:
    <br>i. full manual control, if you want it, or programme mode if you don't;
    <br>ii. a very wide range of excellent quality but reasonably priced lenses and accessories readily available on the second hand market.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    182950_Jg's Response to 106013_camerabuff.'s Review

    Written on: 01/02/2005

    Same sort of problems with the M 700. You load a roll of film and it will not wind. No led's are lit in the viewfinder and no shutter. My Two 700s have the same problem. DEAD

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    175565_Vijjy's Response to 106013_camerabuff.'s Review

    Written on: 31/10/2004

    I have been using Minolta X-700 since 1992. Fully satisfied. No problems till a week. The shutter release is not working. Could be due to non-use for a long time (more than 6 months I suppose) or some other problem. Learned from some web sites that this problem is be due to a bad capacitor. Trying to get it in India.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Rgrames's Response to 106013_camerabuff.'s Review

    Written on: 02/08/2004

    It occurs to me that the wide range of experiences described by users here may relate to the place of manufature of the camera. Mine was made in Japan over sixteen years ago, and has performed flawlessly. This one was made in China. Would be interesting to learn if that is the difference.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Teddy99's Response to 106013_camerabuff.'s Review

    Written on: 19/07/2004

    I agree entirely with your comments. My X700 has had little use, but up to last year behaved perfectly. I have always been pleased with the results.
    <br>Now the camera is totally unreliable. Just over a year ago the shutter became sluggish and froze. It was sent to Minolta (UK) for repair. Half way through the FIRST film since repair, the same thing happened again! Camera sent back for repair under warranty, then at the end of the SECOND film since repair, the wind on mechanism has jammed. This happened after removing the film.
    <br>Bear in mind that this camera is like new and has been very well looked after, now it appears to be a load of junk. I have loads of lenses and dedicated flash etc. Do I get it repaired again, or do I scrap it?

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 4 1
    Read 5 Comments
    ★★★★☆

    “I have learned photography on an SRT-303, 'advancing'...”

    Written on: 08/12/2002 by sassolungo. (1 review written)

    I have learned photography on an SRT-303, 'advancing' to an X-700 only a few years ago. It is comparatively lightweight, thus easy to carry, but, on the other hand, of course it gets more difficult so shoot long-axposure handheld pictures (compared to the heavier SRT, I lose about 1 EV). So far, the X-700 seems to be quite reliable, also the metre has always performed satisfactorily. The fully-automatic programme mode even works with MC lenses (not just MD). The viewfinder is sufficiently bright. When compared to X-300, the DOF preview has proven to be a real advantage. Handling is easy and self-explanatory (except setting the f-stop in programme mode, and the exposure-lock button which is the second function of the self-timer button), multiple exposures can be done with the usual trick, the touch-switch shutter release button is very practical. The exposure data are displayed in the viewfinder (yes, also the f-stop value). Good lenses can be had rather cheap, spare cameras as well. Additionally, since this is a manual-focus cameras, lenses are not only cheap but usually available for much larger apertures (the classical 50mm f/1.4 normal lens [which compared favourably even to the Leitz Summicron 50 f/2.0 in some reviews] can be had for under 100 EUR, and it is still possible to find the VERY fast 58mm f/1.2 lens on ebay). My camera has developed a problem which seems to be a weak point of all the X-*** models, viz. the frame counter/safe-load signal do not work any more. Couldn't care less. What I feel is missing when compared to my old SRT (although I very rarely use that feature) is the mirror lock-up. Even though the X-700 shutter/mirror seems to be much more quiet than the SRT one, I'd still appreciate that feature... Summary: minor flaws, but very reliable and flexible. Oh, and cheap, too.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    76736_Beth.'s Response to sassolungo.'s Review

    Written on: 02/03/2003

    I just wanted to point out that sometimes the film winder/safe load hangs and doesn't work. But if you will open the back and look above the film loader spool on the right side, there is a very small button that you can trip with a small object and then this function will work properly. You may have already tried this, just thought that I would suggest it and maybe it will work.
    <br> Beth

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    Read 1 Comment
    ☆☆☆☆☆

    “I don't know too much about cameras and when I got my...”

    Written on: 12/09/2002 by Cory. (1 review written)

    I don't know too much about cameras and when I got my Minolta X-700 35mm SLR camera I was very happy with it for about a year. I went on vacation and came back with negatives that were half exposed. It turns out that the shutter magnets went and once that happens you can get it fixed but it will keep happening every six months or so for the rest of your camera's life.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    50831_Jonnyo.'s Response to 37439_Cory.'s Review

    Written on: 14/11/2002

    I have had my camera for 2 years and have had no malfunctions whatsoever, save my own incompetence

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Verytallguy's Response to 37439_Cory.'s Review

    Written on: 30/07/2004

    I bought my X-700 when it first came out on the market in 1985(?) it is still in constant use today...19 years later. I have a digital camera, that is good for snap shots, but the quality photos still come from the X-700.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    105990_Robby.'s Response to 37439_Cory.'s Review

    Written on: 10/06/2003

    Actually, I'm not surprised you had trouble with this camera. Minolta has one of the poorest reliablity records of all the camera brands and the X-700 is one of the worst cameras for malfunctions ever made. Minolta eventually stopped making them just so they wouldn't have to deal with the warranty returns (or have to keep making parts. A real dog of a camera!

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Rgrames.'s Response to 37439_Cory.'s Review

    Written on: 21/12/2002

    I suspect the person who told you that really wanted to sell you a new camera. I have used Minolta cameras for over 25 years. The X-700 is the best. It has been rock solid for 15 years needing only occasional cleaning. Even the black coating on the body has held up well. Sorry you got talked out of a great camera.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 5 3
    Read 4 Comments
    ★★★★★

    “My wife gave me my Minolta X-700 set up for Christmas...”

    Written on: 09/08/2002 by JohnO. (1 review written)

    My wife gave me my Minolta X-700 set up for Christmas in 1986 figuring it might be a hobby I'd enjoy. Although it has always given great results the guy behind the lens didn't. It sat in the case much of the time in the late 90's. I went digital in the '99 and recently was given a project allowing for "only 35mm film".

    This X-700 is just as great a camera as it was back in '86 but thanks to digital I believe I have gotten better. I'll be taking my Minolta along with my digital from now on.

    I had seriously thought of selling it ... I am very glad I didn't!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 1
    overview